DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS have been filled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered but not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below:
Applicant’s arguments and the Examiner’s response:
Applicant’s arguments: Applicant’s arguments page 7-8, stated, “Batra does not disclose the features of claim 1, as currently amended, because Batra does not disclose, among other things, state information identifying a state of one or more components of a first wireless device, or using an isochronous wireless channel to transmit such state information. As an initial matter, Applicant notes that the state information described by Batra is state information identifying a state of the isochronous channel. The state information described by Batra is not state information identifying a state of components of a wireless device. As described in Applicant's Specification, a state and configuration of components of a wireless device, such as buttons, may be mapped to a state machine, and such information may be represented as state information. Batra's description of a state of an isochronous channel does not disclose these features. Moreover, the Office Action makes reference to a portion of Batra that describes advertisement channels used to convey information about starting and stopping of isochronous data. (Batra, paragraph 0065). Applicant submits that the described use of advertisement channels to transmit synchronization information of an isochronous channel does not disclose transmitting, via an isochronous wireless channel, state information identifying a change in a state of components of a wireless device. For at least these reasons, Applicant submits that Batra does not disclose state information, as currently claimed, or generating a data packet to transmit, via an isochronous wireless channel”
Examiner’s response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner’s rejections are based on the recited claim limitations and the examiner must interpret under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI). However, applicant’s arguments geared towards the subject matter that does not include in the claim limitations. Therefore said arguments are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Batra et al (US 2017/0244576 A1), hereinafter, “Batra”.
.
Regarding claim 1, Batra discloses: A method (fig 5, para [0058], describe a method of transferring isochronous data to a sink device) comprising: determining, using a processing device (fig 5, para [0058], where, “The source device 510 further broadcasts synchronization information associated with the first isochronous stream 530 via a first advertising channel 532”), state information identifying a state of one or more components of a first wireless device (fig 9, para [0077]-[0078], where, the wireless device 900 includes the components 904-924, where, the state informations of the components are identified);
determining, using the processing device, that a data packet should be sent to a second wireless device based on an identified change in the state of the one or more components of the first wireless device (fig 5, para [0060], where, the changes in the events or state associated with the isochronous data and conveying the state changes related to the isochronous data via the advertising channels, where, the wireless device 900 includes the components 904-924, where, the state informations of the components are identified); and
generating, using the processing device (fig 9, para [0080], where, the DSP 920 (equivalent to “processing device”) can be configured to generate a packet to be transmitted via the transmitter 910 and/or the transceiver 914), a data packet for transmission from the first wireless device (fig 5, para [0058]-[0059], where, “Source Device 410” equivalent to “first wireless device”) to the second wireless device (fig 5, para [0058]-[0059], “Sink Device 520” equivalent to “second wireless device”);
wherein the data packet is configured to transmit, via an isochronous wireless channel (fig 5-7, para [0058]-[0059], “Source Device 410” equivalent to “first wireless device” sends isochronous stream/data to the “Sink Device 520” equivalent to “second wireless device”, where, “the isochronous data to be transmitted via one or more isochronous channels 534, 536, 544”, para [0060]), the state information identifying the change in the state of the one or more components of the wireless device (fig 5-7 and fig 6A-C, para [0065]-[0066], where, “which may include one or more isochronous slots 642 in which the source device is scheduled to broadcast isochronous data packets via the isochronous channel 640” and “the source device may be configured to use the update slot 644 to convey state information associated with the isochronous channel 640”, para [0063]-[0064], fig 6A-B, where, the source and sink device includes the components, such as sleep clock, where, the state informations of the components are identified); such that data transmitted via the isochronous wireless channel represents a change in a status of the one or more components included in the first wireless device (fig 5, para [0060], where, the sink device 520 and 522 would continue to receive the synchronous information where, the state is associated with the isochronous data conveyed via the advertising channel 532 and 542 conveying the state changing information related to the isochronous data, where, the Source Device 510 (equivalent to “first wireless device”) includes the components Sink Device 520 and 522, see further para [0061], fig 6A-C and fig 7).
Regarding claim 10, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding information processing system, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto. Additionally, the claim includes a transceiver. However, Batra discloses a transceiver (fig 9, Transmitter-Receiver 914).
Regarding claim 16, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding packet classification device, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto. Additionally, the claim includes a processing element. However, Batra discloses a processing element (fig 9, Processor 904).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 17, Batra discloses: wherein the determining that the data packet should be sent further comprises: identifying the change in the state information based on an input received from a user at the first wireless device (fig 8, para [0076], where, “whenever a state change occurs on the isochronous channel, the broadcasting source device may convey the state change via the update sub-event”).
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 18, Batra discloses: 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining that a data packet should be sent is performed by a link layer of the first wireless device (fig 6A, para [0063], where, “the advertising packets 612 transmitted via the primary advertising channels 610 may indicate a Link Layer data channel used to transmit the auxiliary advertising packet 622”), wherein the data packet is a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) data packet (fig 5, para [0058] and Table-US-00004, where, “Bluetooth LE Isochronous Transports Logical Transport Logical Link(s) Support Physical Link Support Overview ICO and ICL Low Energy-Stream LE isochronous Unidirectional or Data Channels (LE-S) physical link bidirectional channels to transfer isochronous data in a point-to-point connection), and wherein a header of the BLE data packet is configured to store the state information (fig 8-9, para [0074] and claim 18, where, “a memory configured to store information associated with the isochronous channel, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to remove the information associated with the isochronous channel from the memory in response to the state information indicating that the isochronous channel has transitioned to a terminated state”).
Regarding claims 4-5, 13 and 19, Batra discloses: 4. The method of claim 1 further comprising: wherein the processing elements (fig 9, Processor 904) are further configured to (fig 9, para [0078]): receive an acknowledgement message from the second wireless device (fig 2, para [0040], where, receive response message equivalent to “acknowledgement”); determine that a data packet should not be sent based, at least in part, on the state information and the acknowledgement message (fig 6A, para [0067], where, determine updating transmission flag in the data packet and the isochronous channel 640 may be used to broadcast isochronous data within an isochronous stream that may (or may not) include one or more additional time-related isochronous channels); and perform one or more power saving operations in response to determining that a data packet should not be sent (fig 6A-C, para [0070], where, “the isochronous data is not present in the one or more isochronous slots 642 and the update sub-event is not present in the update slot 644 upon termination. Accordingly, the isochronous channel 640 may be removed from memory at the source device and the sink device(s) such that the source device would need to initiate procedures to prepare and activate the isochronous channel 640 and the sink device(s) would need to again listen to the periodic advertising stream 630 to transfer isochronous data via the isochronous channel 640”).
Regarding claims 6, 14 and 20, Batra discloses: wherein the power saving operations further comprise: setting the isochronous wireless channel to a low power mode (fig 5, para [0058] and Table-US-00004, where, “Bluetooth LE Isochronous Transports Logical Transport Logical Link(s) Support Physical Link Support Overview ICO and ICL Low Energy-Stream LE isochronous Unidirectional or Data Channels (LE-S) physical link bidirectional channels to transfer isochronous data in a point-to-point connection; also supports unidirectional channels to transfer isochronous data in point-to-multipoint connections ICL Control Low Energy Broadcast LE isochronous Unidirectional Channel Control (LEB-C) physical link”).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Batra discloses: The method of claim 5 further comprising: determining the isochronous wireless channel should be terminated (fig 6A, para [0067], where, “indicate a transition from the active state (e.g., to an inactive or terminated state)”); and switching to an additional isochronous wireless channel (fig 5, para [0060], where, “the sink devices 520, 522 may be required to switch between listening to the advertising channels 532, 542 and the isochronous channels 534, 536, 544”).
Regarding claim 8, Batra discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the determining that a data packet should be sent is performed by a link layer of the first wireless device (fig 6A, para [0063], where, “the advertising packets 612 transmitted via the primary advertising channels 610 may indicate a Link Layer data channel used to transmit the auxiliary advertising packet 622”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra et al (US 2017/0244576 A1), hereinafter, “Batra” in view of Lee et al (US 20250113397 A1), hereinafter, “Lee”.
Regarding claim 9, Batra discloses: The method of claim 1 (Batra: fig 5, para [0058], describe a method of transferring isochronous data to a sink device), Batra does not explicitly teach: wherein the first wireless device is a gaming controller, and wherein the second wireless device is a gaming console.
Lee teaches: wherein the first wireless device is a gaming controller, and wherein the second wireless device is a gaming console (fig 8, para [0240], where, “A control point procedure for ULL transmission configuration may also be added. In this instance, an input report (e.g., game controller input) is performed on the LE ISO channel. Further, an output report (e.g., game controller force feedback vibration, LED effect) is performed on the LE ISO channel”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use “wherein the first wireless device is a gaming controller, and wherein the second wireless device is a gaming console” as taught by Lee into Batra in order to provide data information to the client device (Lee: para [0054]).
Conclusion
Prior Art considered but not used: Batra; Vishal et al. (US 2016/0112951 A1), “Communication Between Wireless Devices Capable of Communicating using Multiple MAC Protocols”.
/NIZAM U AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461