DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 06/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-17 remain pending in the application and Claims 4-17 were withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 2-3 are canceled. Claim 1 was amended and support for amendments are found in the original claims and Specification. Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1 has have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 05/19/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-3 in the telephone interview on 05/12/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has not met the burden of proof in that the permanent press clothing rationale and the “oxidation reaction” rationale are unsupported. This is not found persuasive because Examiners must provide reasons to support their conclusions, but need not cite documents (MPEP 803(II)). In particular, there are a number of ways to arrive at an ester besides reacting esterification or transesterification with butanetetracarboxylic acid. For example, the carboxylic acid could be reacted to form the salt form, and then reacted with the alcohol. Furthermore, it is necessary to search for the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions because different search queries would be required. For example, a search for the invention of Group III would involve utilizing the search query "plasticizer" which would not result in finding prior art pertinent the invention of Group I and II, which do not require the plasticizer of Group III. Additionally, the different groups have a separate classification as shown in the Non-Final office action mailed on 05/19/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 4-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Greenwald et al. (US 2843466 A; hereafter as “Greenwald”).
Greenwald teaches tetraesters [Column 2, Lines 11-12, 45-48], corresponding to the compound of Claim 1, comprising:
tetra alkyl esters of 1,2,3,4-butanetetracarboxylic acid (compound shown below) [Column 1, Lines 41-56; Column 3, Lines 1-6], corresponding to the tetraester of 1,2,3,4-butanetetracarboxylic acid of Claim 1; and
[Col. 1, Line 50]
Wherein R, R’, R’’, and R’’’ represent branched amyl radicals [Col. 1, Lines 51-56] thereby corresponding to the isopentyl radical are 3-methylbutyl radicals as required by Claim 1. Greenwald further teach the R, ‘, R’’, R’’’ can be of like configuration [Col. 1 Line 5] thereby reading on the claimed 100 mol% as required by Claim 1.
Furthermore, Greenwald teaches a genus containing 7 species, which includes amyl-groups, which is itself three isomers. This totals a genus of about 10 species, which is finite and one of ordinary skill in the art would instantly envisage each of them. The genus may be so small that, when considered in light of the totality of the circumstances, it would anticipate the claimed species or subgenus. See MPEP 2131.02(III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenwald et al. (US 2843466 A; hereafter as “Greenwald”).
Greenwald teaches the compound of Claim 1 as set forth above and incorporated herein by reference.
Greenwald further teaches a tetraester of n-amyl [Example C; Table 1].
However, Greenwald does not explicitly teach the 3-methylbutyl isomer of Claim 1.
Nevertheless, isomers of n-amyl, including the claimed 3-methybutyl isomer, are obvious variants of one another. It is the examiner' s position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to expect similar beneficial results with compounds having only isomeric differences. Case laws holds that isomers are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09, In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Furthermore, Greenwald specifically teaches an embodiment including a 2-ethyl-butyl group, a homolog of the claimed 3-methybutyl group. In this case, the two chemical groups only differ by a single CH2- group. If such a prior art species or subgenus is structurally similar to that claimed, its disclosure may provide a reason for one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the claimed species or subgenus from the genus, based on the reasonable expectation that structurally similar species usually have similar properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also In re Deuel, 51 F.3d 1552, 1558, 34 USPQ2d 1210, 1214 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (“Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. For example, a prior art compound may suggest its homologs because homologs often have similar properties and therefore chemists of ordinary skill would ordinarily contemplate making them to try to obtain compounds with improved properties.”). See MPEP 2144 .08.
Response to Arguments
The previous grounds of rejection are modified in view of the amendments to the claims. To the extent that the Applicant’s argument arguments filed 06/22/2026 are still relevant, they are addressed below.
Applicant argues (1) Greenwald fails to disclose the claimed compound. However, attention is directed to the disclosure above, wherein Greenwald disclose the claimed compound. More specifically, Greenwald teaches tetraesters [Column 2, Lines 11-12, 45-48], comprising: tetra alkyl esters of 1,2,3,4-butanetetracarboxylic acid [Column 1, Lines 41-56; Column 3, Lines 1-6], wherein R, R’, R’’, and R’’’ represent branched amyl radicals [Col. 1, Lines 51-56] that can be of like configuration [Col. 1 Line 5] thereby reading on the claimed compound and rendering it anticipated. Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues (2) Greenwald fails to disclose or suggest any advantageous plasticizing properties realized therefrom. However, evidence of secondary results are not relevant to an anticipation rejection and an improved compound does not mean the compound is unexpected. See MPEP 2131.04 and MPEP 716.02(a). Furthermore, the claimed invention is drawn to a compound, not a plasticizing compound, thus, it is unclear how the plasticizing composition data is relevant to the claimed compound. It is also noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the plasticizing properties) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In addition, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Thus, the Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DORIS LING/Examiner, Art Unit 1764
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764