DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/18/2023 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley et al. (US 2014/0002365 A1, hereinafter Ackley), in view of Poiesz et al. (US 20170011215 A1, hereinafter Poiesz) and further in view of Faulkner et al. (US 2019/0268385 Al, hereinafter Faulkner).
Regarding Claim 1, Ackley discloses, a communication device (see e.g., “a mobile
computing device 100”, Fig. 1, [0043]), comprising:
a main body (see e.g., Fig. 1, mobile device 100) having: a persistent display configured
to selectively hold static text and images indefinitely without electricity, wherein the persistent display (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display.”, [0047] and/or “Electronic paper, e-paper and electronic ink are display technologies which are designed to mimic the appearance of ordinary ink on paper…Motorola makes one cell phone with an e-ink display known as the E3”, [0006] and/or “e-ink, is particularly useful for e-books because it has low refresh rates…The low refresh rates also reduce the power requirements for displaying text and images…some e-ink technologies require very little or no refresh at all and so can even hold the static text and images indefinitely without using electricity”, [0007]) includes one of an electrophoretic display, a microencapsulated electrophoretic display, an electrowetting display, an electrofluid display, an interferometric modular display, a plasmonic electronic display, and an electronic paper display (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display”, [0047]);
a processor (see e.g., Fig. 1, processor 104);
a memory in communication with the processor and the persistent display (see e.g., Fig. 1, memory 106 and/or “Processor 119 can be any microprocessor capable of accessing information stored in memory unit 106”, [0045]; Examiner’s notes” Processor 119 corresponds to processor 104), the memory having a tangible, non-transitory computer readable memory with processor-executable instructions stored thereon (see e.g., “processor…accessing information stored in memory unit 106, performing actions based on instructions using information from memory unit 106 or some other source”, [0045]),
Ackley fails to explicitly disclose, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor, render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects;
and a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Poiesz discloses, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor (see e.g., “one or more processors and a computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the computing device to perform operations”, [0004]), render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects (see e.g., “The output device(s) may be coupled to at least one processor of the computing device 200 and may include, for example, a display screen…screen may be, for example…an e-ink screen, and/or any other suitable device for presenting a graphical user interface”, Fig. 2, [0040] and/or “the example GUI 500 is a GUI for a social media application…device displays, as a graphical element of the GUI 500, a permission request 502 that includes a dialog explaining that the social media application would like to access a camera of the computing device. The permission request 502 also includes a first selectable option 504 to allow access and a second selectable option 506 to deny access…”, Fig. 5, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley with Poiesz, in order to interact with the GUI such as by selecting a selectable option via touchscreen of the computing device, where the GUI may include one or more checkboxes and selectable options (Please see Poiesz, paragraph [0057]).
Ackley and Poiesz combined fail to explicitly disclose, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor Faulkner discloses, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory (see e.g., “Communication interface(s) 206 may represent, for example, network interface controllers ("NICs") or other types of transceiver devices to send and receive communications over a network”, Fig. 2, [0064] and/or “The components of the device 200 are operatively connected, for example, via a bus…”, Fig. 2, [0059]), the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI (see e.g., “FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary presentation GUI 500 configured to display a persistent view that includes four distinct regions, sections, areas, or grids 506 that each correspond to a particular participant of a communication session 104”, [0094] and/or “the communication session 104 may be implemented between a number of client computing devices 106(1) through 106(N) (where N is a positive integer number having a value of two or greater) that are associated with the system 102 or are part of the system 102”, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley and Poiesz with Faulkner, in order to observe interactions between participants that are co-located and/or participants that are located at disparate locations and respectively associated with disparate communication session GUIs (Please see Faulkner, paragraph [0071]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Poiesz, in view of Faulkner, and further in view of Saarimaki et al. (US 2012/0250517 Al, hereinafter Saarimaki).
Regarding Claim 2, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display.
In the same field of endeavor, Saarimaki discloses, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention- grabbing applications on the persistent display (see e.g., “…platform 121 sets a parameter based the activated operational mode that the applications 107 access to determine the functionality of each application to enable or disable on the user end and what content distractions are blocked and what are passed to the UE 101 user interface. In step 307, the specific applications 107 enable or disable the functionality and blocking of distractions based on the set parameter to control the level of functionality of the UE 101 and disturbance of the user”, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Saarimaki, in order to prevent distraction of consumers as a result of their communication device whether they are at home, work, school, a library, movies, restaurant etc., particularly situation that otherwise requires no distraction of consumers (Please see Saarimaki, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding Claim 3, Faulkner and Saarimaki combined disclose, wherein the
predetermined attention-grabbing applications include at least one of electronic mail applications, internet browser applications, social media applications, advertisements, and news feeds (see Saarimaki e.g., “an event associated with the UE 101 is incoming disturbance content. In one embodiment, the incoming disturbance content is a phone call. In another embodiment, the incoming disturbance is a SMS. In one embodiment, the event is an internal disturbance event such as an appointment alert from a calendar application running on the UE 101. In one embodiment, the disturbance content is a traffic report or weather report from navigation or weather applications, respectively. In another embodiment, the incoming disturbance is an e-mail…”, [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Saarimaki, in order to prevent distraction of consumers as a result of their communication device whether they are at home, work, school, a library, movies, restaurant etc., particularly situation that otherwise requires no distraction of consumers (Please see Saarimaki, paragraph [0002]).
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Poiesz, in view of Faulkner, and further in view of ORDING et al. (US 2012/0216139 Al, hereinafter Ording).
Regarding Claim 4, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the plurality of modules includes a dialer module configured to render a dialer interface on the persistent display, the dialer interface configured to display a phone number entry field, an array of numerals and symbols, a manually-entered phone number, a new contact icon, a dialer call icon, and a dialer text icon,
wherein the phone number entry field is configured to receive the manually-entered phone number from the user,
wherein the array of numerals and symbols disposed adjacent the phone number entry field and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to input the phone number at the phone number field,
wherein the new contact icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to the new contact interface for creating a contact based on the phone number,
wherein the dialer call icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a call interface for establishing a phone call with the phone number, and
wherein the dialer text icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a new message interface for composing a text message to the phone number.
In the same field of endeavor, Ording discloses, wherein the plurality of modules includes a dialer module configured to render a dialer interface on the persistent display (see e.g., Dial Icon, Fig. 29), the dialer interface configured to display a phone number entry field (see e.g., “In response to the user activating the number keys in dial pad 2902 (e.g., by finger taps on the number icons), the touch pad displays the selected digits 2904”, Fig. 29, [0545]), an array of numerals and symbols , a manually-entered phone number (see e.g., “In response to the user activating the number keys in dial pad 2902 (e.g., by finger taps on the number icons), the touch pad displays the selected digits 2904”, Fig. 29, [0545]), a new contact icon (see e.g., “create a new contact with the phone number (e.g., if the gesture is applied to icon 2826)”, Fig. 28, [0542]) a dialer call icon (see e.g., “to the user activating the call icon 2906, the phone module dials or transmits the selected digits”, Fig. 29, [0545]), and a dialer text icon (see e.g., “initiate creation of a text message or other instant message to the phone number (e.g., if the gesture is applied to icon 2825)”, Fig. 28D, [0542]),
wherein the phone number entry field is configured to receive the manually-entered phone number from the user (see e.g., “In response to the user activating the number keys in dial pad 2902 (e.g., by finger taps on the number icons), the touch pad displays the selected digits 2904”, Fig. 29, [0545]),
wherein the array of numerals and symbols disposed adjacent the phone number entry field and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to input the phone number at the phone number field (see e.g., “In response to the user activating the number keys in dial pad 2902 (e.g., by finger taps on the number icons), the touch pad displays the selected digits 2904”, Fig. 29, [0545]),
wherein the new contact icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to the new contact interface for creating a contact based on the phone number (see e.g., “create a new contact with the phone number (e.g., if the gesture is applied to icon 2826)”, Fig. 28D, [0542]),
wherein the dialer call icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a call interface for establishing a phone call with the phone number (see e.g., “In response to the user activating the number keys in dial pad 2902 (e.g., by finger taps on the number icons), the touch pad displays the selected digits 2904. In some embodiments, the phone module automatically adds the parentheses and dashes to the selected digits to make the number easier to read. In response to the user activating the call icon 2906, the phone module dials or transmits the selected digits”, Fig. 29, [0545]), and
wherein the dialer text icon is disposed adjacent a periphery of the persistent display and configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a new message interface for composing a text message to the phone number (see e.g., “initiate creation of a text message or other instant message to the phone number (e.g., if the gesture is applied to icon 2825)”, Fig. 28D, [0542] and/or “In response to the user selecting text message icon 2682 in FIG. 26M (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon), the touch screen displays a user interface (e.g., UI 2600N, FIG. 26N) for choosing a phone number associated with the contact for a text message or other instant message, such as the contact's work number 2686 or home number 2688. In response to the user selecting one of the contact's phone numbers, the touch screen displays a UI for creating and sending a message to the selected phone number (e.g., UI 600A in FIG. 6A)”, Fig. 26M, [0528]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Ording, in order to increase the effectiveness, efficiency and user satisfaction with portable multifunction devices, by use of touch-screen-display electronic devices with more transparent and intuitive user interfaces for translating imprecise user gestures into precise, intended commands that are easy to use, configure, and/or adapt (Please see Ording, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 5, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the plurality of modules includes a phone module configured to render a phone interface configured to display a list of recent conversations, a dialer icon, a search icon, and a new text icon,
wherein the list of recent conversations is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a conversation interface for reading a previous conversation,
wherein the dialer icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a dialer interface for entering a phone number,
wherein the search icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a search interface for searching a contact, and
wherein the new text icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a new message interface for composing a new message.
In the same field of endeavor, Ording discloses, wherein the plurality of modules includes a phone module configured to render a phone interface configured to display a list of recent conversations (see e.g., “user interface 500 includes the following elements, or a subset or superset thereof: [0217] 402, 404, and 406, as described above; [0218] "Instant Messages" or other similar label 502: [0219] Names 504 of the people a user is having instant message conversations with (e.g., Jane Doe 504-1) or the phone number if the person's name is not available (e.g., 408-123-4567 504-3); [0220] Text 506 of the last message in the conversation; [0221] Date 508 and/or time of the last message in the conversation; [0222] Selection icon 510 that when activated (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transition to a UI for the corresponding conversation (e.g., FIG. 6A for Jane Doe 504-1); [0223] Edit icon 512 that when activated (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transition to a UI for deleting conversations (e.g., FIG. 7); [0224] Create message icon 514 that when activated (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transition to the users contact list (e.g., FIG. 8A); and [0225] Vertical bar 516 that helps a user understand what portion of the list of instant message conversations is being displayed”, Fig. 5, [0216]-[0025]), a dialer icon (see e.g., “to the user activating the call icon 2906, the phone module dials or transmits the selected digits”, Fig. 29, [0545]), a search icon (see e.g., “and text input module 134, the browser module 147 may be used to browse the Internet, including searching…”, [0154] and/or “the search module 151 may be used to search for text, music, sound, image, video, and/or other files in memory 102 that match one or more search criteria (e.g., one or more user-specified search terms)”, [0158] and/or “Search term entry box 3972 (FIG. 39H) for inputting search terms for web searches”, [0728]), and a new text icon (see e.g., “initiate creation of a text message or other instant message to the phone number (e.g., if the gesture is applied to icon 2825)”, Fig. 28D, [0542]),
wherein the list of recent conversations is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a conversation interface for reading a previous conversation (see e.g., “FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary user interface for listing instant message conversations on a portable multifunction device in accordance with some embodiments. In some embodiments, user interface 500 includes the following elements, or a subset or superset thereof: [0217] 402, 404, and 406, as described above; [0218] "Instant Messages" or other similar label 502: [0219] Names 504 of the people a user is having instant message conversations with (e.g., Jane Doe 504-1) or the phone number if the person's name is not available (e.g., 408-123-4567 504-3); [0220] Text 506 of the last message in the conversation; [0221] Date 508 and/or time of the last message in the conversation; [0222] Selection icon 510 that when activated (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transition to a UI for the corresponding conversation (e.g., FIG. 6A for Jane Doe 504-1)”, Fig. 1, [0216]-[0222]),
wherein the dialer icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a dialer interface for entering a phone number (see e.g., “Other number icon 812 that when activated (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transfer to a UI for entering a phone number for instant messaging, such as a phone number that is not in the user's contact list (e.g., UI 900, FIG. 9)”, [0320]),
wherein the search icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a search interface for searching a contact (see e.g., “[0218] "Instant Messages" or other similar label 502: [0219] Names 504 of the people a user is having instant message conversations with (e.g., Jane Doe 504-1) or the phone number if the person's name is not available (e.g., 408-123-4567 504-3)”, Fig. 5, [0218]-[0219] and/or “In conjunction with touch screen 112, display system controller 156, contact module 130, graphics module 132, and text input module 134, the search module 151 may be used to search for text, music, sound, image, video, and/or other files in memory 102 that match one or more search criteria (e.g., one or more user-specified search terms)”, [0158] and/or “the name 504 used for an instant message conversation is determined by finding an entry in the user's contact list 137 that contains the phone number used for the instant message conversation. If no such entry is found, then just the phone number is displayed (e.g., 504-3)”, [0226]), and
wherein the new text icon is configured to be selectively pressed by the user to navigate to a new message interface for composing a new message (see e.g., “In response to the user selecting text message icon 2682 in FIG. 26M (e.g., by a finger tap on the icon), the touch screen displays a user interface (e.g., UI 2600N, FIG. 26N) for choosing a phone number associated with the contact for a text message or other instant message, such as the contact's work number 2686 or home number 2688. In response to the user selecting one of the contact's phone numbers, the touch screen displays a UI for creating and sending a message to the selected phone number (e.g., UI 600A in FIG. 6A)”, [0528]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Ording, in order to increase the effectiveness, efficiency and user satisfaction with portable multifunction devices, by use of touch-screen-display electronic devices with more transparent and intuitive user interfaces for translating imprecise user gestures into precise, intended commands that are easy to use, configure, and/or adapt (Please see Ording, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the plurality of modules includes a conversation module configured to render a conversation interface, the conversation interface configured to display a communication received by the transceiver from at least one of the different device and an external device, and wherein the communication includes at least one of text messages received by the transceiver from the different user of the different device, alternative communication from a third-party application being executed on at least one of the different device and the external device, events saved to the memory by the user, call history of calls made and received via the transceiver, and voicemail from the different user of the different device saved to the memory.
In the same field of endeavor, Ording discloses, wherein the plurality of modules includes a conversation module configured to render a conversation interface (see e.g., “Instant messages icon 602 that when activated ( e.g., by a finger tap on the icon) initiates transition to a UI listing instant message conversations (e.g., UI 500); [0234] Instant messages 604 from the other party, typically listed in order along one side of UI 600A”, Fig. 6A, [0233]-[0234]), the conversation interface configured to display a communication received by the transceiver from at least one of the different device and an external device (see e.g., “Instant messages 604 from the other party, typically listed in order along one side of UI 600A”, [0234]), and wherein the communication includes at least one of text messages received by the transceiver from the different user of the different device (see e.g., “Instant messages 606 to the other party, typically listed in order along the opposite side of UI 600A to show the back and forth interplay of messages in the conversation”, Fig. 6A, [0235]), alternative communication from a third-party application being executed on at least one of the different device and the external device, events saved to the memory by the user (see e.g., “FIG. 49F shows date and time wheels with a single month and date column, an hour column, a minutes column, and an AM/PM column for inputting date and time information for calendar events”, [1071], call history of calls made and received via the transceiver (see e.g., “In some embodiments, in response to the user activating All icon 2810, the touch screen displays a list of all recent calls (e.g., UI 2800A, FIG. 28A). In some embodiments, in response to the user activating Missed icon 2812, the touch screen displays a list of recent missed calls ( e.g., UI2800B, FIG. 28B)”, Fig. 28A-28-D, [0537], and voicemail from the different user of the different device saved to the memory (see e.g., “Phone 138, which may include an indicator 414 of the number of missed calls or voicemail messages”, [0187]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Ording, in order to increase the effectiveness, efficiency and user satisfaction with portable multifunction devices, by use of touch-screen-display electronic devices with more transparent and intuitive user interfaces for translating imprecise user gestures into precise, intended commands that are easy to use, configure, and/or adapt (Please see Ording, paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein at least one of the plurality of modules is configured to render a digital keyboard interface on the persistent display, and wherein the digital keyboard interface when rendered is displayed with a landscape orientation relative to a shape of the persistent display.
In the same field of endeavor, Ording discloses, wherein at least one of the plurality of modules is configured to render a digital keyboard interface on the persistent display, and wherein the digital keyboard interface when rendered is displayed with a landscape orientation relative to a shape of the persistent display (see e.g., “in response to a tap or other predefined user gesture on URL entry box 3908, the touch screen displays an enlarged entry box 3926 and a keyboard 616 ( e.g., UI 3900B, FIG. 3900B in portrait viewing and UI 3900E, FIG. 39E in landscape viewing)”, [0769]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Ording, in order to increase the effectiveness, efficiency and user satisfaction with portable multifunction devices, by use of touch-screen-display electronic devices with more transparent and intuitive user interfaces for translating imprecise user gestures into precise, intended commands that are easy to use, configure, and/or adapt (Please see Ording, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley in view of Poiesz, in view of Faulkner, and further in view of Hubner et al. (US 2010/0061662 Al, hereinafter Hubner).
Regarding Claim 7, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the conversation interface is further configured to display a notification that an image was received from the different user of the different device and to not display the image on the persistent display.
In the same field of endeavor, Hubner discloses, wherein the conversation interface is further configured to display a notification that an image was received from the different user of the different device and to not display the image on the persistent display (see e.g., “The notification may be transmitted once the server 110 has received an image from the portable electronic device 106”, [0057] and/or “The emergency dispatcher may receive a notification that the server 110 has received images from the portable electronic device 106. Such notification may consist of a link or other form of notification on the computer 118. The notification may be through a pop-up type message on the screen of the computer 118. The notification may be a combination of a message and a link… The emergency dispatcher may access the server 110 to retrieve the image data using the provided link”, [0057]; Examiner’s note: providing link for accessing the server to retrieve the image using the link corresponds to not displaying the image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Hubner, in order to transmit images from a portable electronic device to another portable electronic device and/or image data may be provided to a dispatcher for access and viewing the image data from a server using provided links (Please see Hubner, paragraphs [0001] and [0012]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley in view of Poiesz, in view of Faulkner, and further in view of Colley (US 2013/0082824 Al, hereinafter Colley).
Regarding Claim 9, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, the main body further comprising a haptic feedback system in communication with the persistent display, and wherein the haptic feedback system is configured to emit a vibratory feedback where the user contacts one of the interactable objects displayed on one of the plurality of interfaces.
In the same field of endeavor, Colley discloses, the main body further comprising a haptic feedback system in communication with the persistent display, and wherein the haptic feedback system is configured to emit a vibratory feedback where the user contacts one of the interactable objects displayed on one of the plurality of interfaces (see e.g., “Some apparatuses provide visual feedback to help the user to know what element they have selected in the GUI of an electronic device. Some apparatuses employ haptic or vibratory feedback upon selecting an element in the GUI of an electronic device.”, [0107] and/or “…the apparatus responds by providing a first feedback response, in this case a haptic or vibratory response”, [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Colley, in order to provide feedback to help the user to know when an element in the GUI of an electronic device is selected (Please see Colley, paragraph [0107]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley in view of Poiesz, in view of Faulkner, and further in view of Nicolas et al. (US 7,551,899 B1, hereinafter Nicolas).
Regarding Claim 10, Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, the plurality of modules further including a fuzzy logic unit configured to receive a portion of a telephone number manually entered by the user with the purpose-driven GUI and to approximate a remaining portion of the telephone number based on variables, wherein the variables include at least one of previously entered telephone numbers, telephone numbers of missed calls, and telephone numbers of contacts stored in the memory.
In the same field of endeavor, Nicolas discloses, the plurality of modules further including a fuzzy logic unit configured to receive a portion of a telephone number manually entered by the user with the purpose-driven GUI and to approximate a remaining portion of the telephone number based on variables, wherein the variables include at least one of previously entered telephone numbers, telephone numbers of missed calls, and telephone numbers of contacts stored in the memory (see e.g., “The intelligently selected digits 310 may be in reverse video, highlighted, bold, underlines, right of a cursor, or use any other indication distinguishing them from the user dialed digits. As the number is being dialed, the actual digits dialed 300 are checked against phone numbers stored in one or more lists. The lists may be maintained on the Palm™ 200, or may be stored in any retrievable location (phone network storage, for example). If a matching number is found, the remaining digits of the matching number are displayed as the intelligently selected digits 310. FIG. 4 provides an example address/phone book containing names 400 and numbers 410 stored in the Palm™ 200. In the example of FIG. 3, using the address list of FIG. 4, after the user enters 2, a match is found to the number 202-952-4315 (Michel Bonansea) 420. The first digit "2" is displayed in normal font, and the remaining…”, col. 4, lines 51-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Faulkner with Nicolas, in order to provide fast access to numbers being dialed by a user, by matching digits dialed by a user to phone numbers maintained in one or more lists of phone number such as phone address book, recently dialed number, numbers from received calls, missed call numbers and other lists maintained by the phone device (Please see Nicolas, col. 2, lines 1-8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Poiesz, in view of Saarimaki, in view of PAHLAVAN et al. (US 2010/0269057 Al, hereinafter Pahlavan), and further in view of Faulkner.
Regarding Claim 11, Ackley discloses, a communication device (see e.g., “a mobile
computing device 100”, Fig. 1, [0043]), comprising:
a main body (see e.g., Fig. 1, mobile device 100) having:
a persistent display configured to selectively hold static text and images indefinitely
without electricity, wherein the persistent display (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display.”, [0047] and/or “Electronic paper, e-paper and electronic ink are display technologies which are designed to mimic the appearance of ordinary ink on paper…Motorola makes one cell phone with an e-ink display known as the E3”, [0006] and/or “e-ink, is particularly useful for e-books because it has low refresh rates…The low refresh rates also reduce the power requirements for displaying text and images…some e-ink technologies require very little or no refresh at all and so can even hold the static text and images indefinitely without using electricity”, [0007]) includes one of an electrophoretic display, a microencapsulated electrophoretic display, an electrowetting display, an electrofluid display, an interferometric modular display, a plasmonic electronic display, and an electronic paper display (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display”, [0047]);
a processor (see e.g., Fig. 1, processor 104);
a memory in communication with the processor and the persistent display (see e.g., Fig. 1, memory 106 and/or “Processor 119 can be any microprocessor capable of accessing information stored in memory unit 106”, [0045]; Examiner’s notes” processor 119 corresponds to processor 104), the memory having a tangible, non-transitory computer readable memory with processor-executable instructions stored thereon (see e.g., “processor…accessing information stored in memory unit 106, performing actions based on instructions using information from memory unit 106 or some other source”, [0045]),
Ackley fails to explicitly disclose, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor, render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display, wherein each of the plurality of modules is configured to generate a refresh request upon a user interacting with one of the interactable objects rendered on the persistent display, and wherein the curated platform further has a graphics driver configured to
i) receive the refresh request from one of the plurality of modules that is rendering an active interface of the plurality of interfaces, and the active interface displaying content, and
ii) refresh the active interface upon receiving the refresh request, wherein refreshing of the active interface includes removing at least one of a portion and an entirety of the content displayed on the active interface; and
a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Poiesz discloses, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor (see e.g., “one or more processors and a computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the computing device to perform operations”, [0004]), render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects (see e.g., “The output device(s) may be coupled to at least one processor of the computing device 200 and may include, for example, a display screen…screen may be, for example…an e-ink screen, and/or any other suitable device for presenting a graphical user interface”, Fig. 2, [0040] and/or “the example GUI 500 is a GUI for a social media application…device displays, as a graphical element of the GUI 500, a permission request 502 that includes a dialog explaining that the social media application would like to access a camera of the computing device. The permission request 502 also includes a first selectable option 504 to allow access and a second selectable option 506 to deny access…”, Fig. 5, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley with Poiesz, in order to interact with the GUI such as by selecting a selectable option via touchscreen of the computing device, where the GUI may include one or more checkboxes and selectable options (Please see Poiesz, paragraph [0057]).
Ackley and Poiesz combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display, wherein each of the plurality of modules is configured to generate a refresh request upon a user interacting with one of the interactable objects rendered on the persistent display, and wherein the curated platform further has a graphics driver configured to
i) receive the refresh request from one of the plurality of modules that is rendering an active interface of the plurality of interfaces, and the active interface displaying content, and
ii) refresh the active interface upon receiving the refresh request, wherein refreshing of the active interface includes removing at least one of a portion and an entirety of the content displayed on the active interface; and
a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Saarimaki discloses, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention- grabbing applications on the persistent display (see e.g., “…platform 121 sets a parameter based the activated operational mode that the applications 107 access to determine the functionality of each application to enable or disable on the user end and what content distractions are blocked and what are passed to the UE 101 user interface. In step 307, the specific applications 107 enable or disable the functionality and blocking of distractions based on the set parameter to control the level of functionality of the UE 101 and disturbance of the user”, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz with Saarimaki, in order to prevent distraction of consumers as a result of their communication device whether they are at home, work, school, a library, movies, restaurant etc., particularly situation that otherwise requires no distraction of consumers (Please see Saarimaki, paragraph [0002]).
Ackley, Poiesz and Saarimaki combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein each of the plurality of modules is configured to generate a refresh request upon a user interacting with one of the interactable objects rendered on the persistent display, and wherein the curated platform further has a graphics driver configured to
i) receive the refresh request from one of the plurality of modules that is rendering an active interface of the plurality of interfaces, and the active interface displaying content, and
ii) refresh the active interface upon receiving the refresh request, wherein refreshing of the active interface includes removing at least one of a portion and an entirety of the content displayed on the active interface; and
a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Pahlavan discloses, wherein each of the plurality of modules is configured to generate a refresh request upon a user interacting with one of the interactable objects rendered on the persistent display (see e.g., “a user input may comprise coordinates of a location where the user touches the local GUI 702 or 706 on the display 560… for example, using a pointer device. The local view module 540 can determine which graphical control object is selected by the user based on the graphical control object in the local GUI 702 and 706 corresponding to the coordinates of the user inputs… if the user touches the local GUI 702 or 706 (e.g., using a finger) at a location corresponding to a refresh button in the local GUI 702 and 706, then the local view module 540 generates a command message for the server 204 to refresh the web page”, Fig. 5B, [0087]), and
wherein the curated platform further has a graphics driver configured to i) receive the refresh request from one of the plurality of modules that is rendering an active interface of the plurality of interfaces, and the active interface displaying content (see e.g., “The local view module 540 can determine which graphical control object is selected by the user based on the graphical control object in the local GUI 702 and 706 corresponding to the coordinates of the user inputs… if the user touches the local GUI 702 or 706 (e.g., using a finger) at a location corresponding to a refresh button in the local GUI 702 and 706, then the local view module 540 generates a command message for the server 204 to refresh the web page.”, [0087] and/or “the agent module 322 on the server 204 receives the command message and issues a command to the application control module 325 to control the application 327 based on the command message. For example, if the command message is to refresh the web page, then the agent module 322 instructs the application control module 325 to reload the web page on the web browser application 327”, [0088]), and
ii) refresh the active interface upon receiving the refresh request, wherein refreshing of the active interface includes removing at least one of a portion and an entirety of the content displayed on the active interface (see e.g., “when the user input comprises a selection of a button ( e.g., refresh button) in the local GUI ( e.g., based on coordinates of a user's touch on the display 560), the local view module 540 may determine the function (e.g., refresh current web page) associated with the selected button. In one aspect, these functions are predetermined. The local view module 540 then generates a command message based on the determined function”, [0089] and/or “when the user input comprises a selection of a button ( e.g., refresh button) in the local GUI ( e.g., based on coordinates of a user's touch on the display 560), the local view module 540 may determine the function (e.g., refresh current web page) associated with the selected button.”, [0089] and/or “The client remote access module 452 receives the updated display output data of the remote application 327 and sends the updated display output data to the remote view module 535. The remote view module 535 then generates an updated image of the display output of the remote application, which is displayed within the remote application view 704 of the display 560”, [0092]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz and Saarimaki with Pahlavan, in order generate command messages based on user input such as user touching locations corresponding to a refresh button and local view module generating a command message for the server to refresh the web page (Please see Pahlavan, paragraph [0087]).
Ackley, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Pahlavan combined fails to explicitly disclose, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor Faulkner discloses, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory (see e.g., “Communication interface(s) 206 may represent, for example, network interface controllers ("NICs") or other types of transceiver devices to send and receive communications over a network”, Fig. 2, [0064] and/or “The components of the device 200 are operatively connected, for example, via a bus…”, Fig. 2, [0059]), the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI (see e.g., “FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary presentation GUI 500 configured to display a persistent view that includes four distinct regions, sections, areas, or grids 506 that each correspond to a particular participant of a communication session 104”, [0094] and/or “the communication session 104 may be implemented between a number of client computing devices 106(1) through 106(N) (where N is a positive integer number having a value of two or greater) that are associated with the system 102 or are part of the system 102”, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Pahlavan with Faulkner, in order to observe interactions between participants that are co-located and/or participants that are located at disparate locations and respectively associated with disparate communication session GUIs (Please see Faulkner, paragraph [0071]).
Claims 12, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Jacob et al. (US 2009/0258209 Al, hereinafter Jacob), in view of Poiesz, in view of Saarimaki, and further in view of Faulkner.
Regarding Claim 12, Ackley discloses, a communication device (see e.g., “a mobile
computing device 100”, Fig. 1, [0043]), comprising:
a main body (see e.g., Fig. 1, mobile device 100) having:
a persistent display configured to selectively hold static text and images indefinitely without electricity and having a haze level between 52 percent and 66 percent (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display.”, [0047] and/or “Electronic paper, e-paper and electronic ink are display technologies which are designed to mimic the appearance of ordinary ink on paper…Motorola makes one cell phone with an e-ink display known as the E3”, [0006] and/or “e-ink, is particularly useful for e-books because it has low refresh rates…The low refresh rates also reduce the power requirements for displaying text and images…some e-ink technologies require very little or no refresh at all and so can even hold the static text and images indefinitely without using electricity”, [0007]), wherein the persistent display includes one of an electrophoretic display, a microencapsulated electrophoretic display, an electrowetting display, an electrofluid display, an interferometric modular display, a plasmonic electronic display, and an electronic paper display (see e.g., “display unit 160 can include a visual display capable of displaying data transmitted from processing unit 104. Display unit 140 and 160 can include…e-paper, or other bi-stable display, a CRT display or any other type of visual display”, [0047]);
a processor (see e.g., Fig. 1, processor 104);
a memory in communication with the processor and the persistent display (see e.g., Fig. 1, memory 106 and/or “Processor 119 can be any microprocessor capable of accessing information stored in memory unit 106”, [0045]; Examiner’s notes” processor 119 corresponds to processor 104), the memory having a tangible, non-transitory computer readable memory with processor-executable instructions stored thereon (see e.g., “processor…accessing information stored in memory unit 106, performing actions based on instructions using information from memory unit 106 or some other source”, [0045]),
Ackley fails to explicitly disclose display having a haze level between 52 percent and 66 percent.
In the same field of endeavor Jacob disclose, display having a haze level between 52 percent and 66 percent (see e.g., “compositions or TPVs are also useful for making a variety of other articles, especially applications that need clarity, general examples of which include overmolding of other metal or plastic products having writing underneath including cap liners, cell phones…”, [0046] and/or “The compositions and/or TPVs described herein possess a Haze value (ASTM 1003-00) of less than 65 or 60 or 55%”, [0044] and/or “In one embodiment, fillers are present in an identity and/or amount which maintains a Haze value of 65% or less, or 60% or less, for the composition. In certain embodiments, the composition is translucent or transparent, preferably translucent, either in its cured or uncured state”, [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley with Jacob, in order to use less expensive polyolefin-based materials in making a translucent or transparent composition that are flexible and useful for making cell phones (Please see Jacob, paragraphs [0003] and [0046]).
Ackley and Jacob combined fails to explicitly disclose, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor, render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects,
wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display; and
a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Poiesz discloses, the processor-executable instructions defining a curated platform having a plurality of modules that, upon being executed by the processor (see e.g., “one or more processors and a computer-readable medium having stored thereon program instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the computing device to perform operations”, [0004]), render on the persistent display a purpose-driven graphical user interface (GUI) having a plurality of interfaces with interactable objects (see e.g., “The output device(s) may be coupled to at least one processor of the computing device 200 and may include, for example, a display screen…screen may be, for example…an e-ink screen, and/or any other suitable device for presenting a graphical user interface”, Fig. 2, [0040] and/or “the example GUI 500 is a GUI for a social media application…device displays, as a graphical element of the GUI 500, a permission request 502 that includes a dialog explaining that the social media application would like to access a camera of the computing device. The permission request 502 also includes a first selectable option 504 to allow access and a second selectable option 506 to deny access…”, Fig. 5, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley and Jacob with Poiesz, in order to interact with the GUI such as by selecting a selectable option via touchscreen of the computing device, where the GUI may include one or more checkboxes and selectable options (Please see Poiesz, paragraph [0057]).
Ackley, Jacob and Poiesz combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display; and
a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor, Saarimaki discloses, wherein the curated platform is configured to minimize distractions to the user by not rendering predetermined attention-grabbing applications on the persistent display (see e.g., “…platform 121 sets a parameter based the activated operational mode that the applications 107 access to determine the functionality of each application to enable or disable on the user end and what content distractions are blocked and what are passed to the UE 101 user interface. In step 307, the specific applications 107 enable or disable the functionality and blocking of distractions based on the set parameter to control the level of functionality of the UE 101 and disturbance of the user”, [0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Jacob and Poiesz with Saarimaki, in order to prevent distraction of consumers as a result of their communication device whether they are at home, work, school, a library, movies, restaurant etc., particularly situation that otherwise requires no distraction of consumers (Please see Saarimaki, paragraph [0002]).
Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz and Saarimaki combined fails to explicitly disclose, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory, the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI.
In the same field of endeavor Faulkner discloses, a transceiver in communication with the processor and the memory (see e.g., “Communication interface(s) 206 may represent, for example, network interface controllers ("NICs") or other types of transceiver devices to send and receive communications over a network”, Fig. 2, [0064] and/or “The components of the device 200 are operatively connected, for example, via a bus…”, Fig. 2, [0059]), the transceiver configured to permit interpersonal communication between a user of the communication device and a different user of a different device using the purpose-driven GUI (see e.g., “FIG. 5 illustrates an exemplary presentation GUI 500 configured to display a persistent view that includes four distinct regions, sections, areas, or grids 506 that each correspond to a particular participant of a communication session 104”, [0094] and/or “the communication session 104 may be implemented between a number of client computing devices 106(1) through 106(N) (where N is a positive integer number having a value of two or greater) that are associated with the system 102 or are part of the system 102”, Fig. 1, [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki with Faulkner, in order to observe interactions between participants that are co-located and/or participants that are located at disparate locations and respectively associated with disparate communication session GUIs (Please see Faulkner, paragraph [0071]).
Regrading Claim 18, Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner combined discloses, wherein the persistent display is a low refresh rate display (see Ackley e.g., “e-ink, is particularly useful for e-books because it has low refresh rates compared to other low-power display technologies, such as LCD. The low refresh rates allow for a more stable image, since there is no need to refresh the image constantly which can make an e-ink display more comfortable to read…”, [0007] and/or Fig. 1, E-Ink Display unit 160).
Regrading Claim 20, Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner combined discloses, wherein the persistent display is an electronic paper display (see Ackley e.g., “the invention comprises a combination of a transparent electronic paper display…”, [0068] and/or “for displaying text and images that is becoming increasing popular on account of e-books is electronic paper. Electronic paper, e-paper and electronic ink are display technologies which are designed to mimic the appearance of ordinary ink on paper”, [0006]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Jacob, in view of Poiesz, in view of Saarimaki,, in view of Faulkner and further in view of Martisauskas et al. (US 2016/0349123 A1, hereinafter Martisauskas).
Regarding Claim 13, Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, the persistent display further comprising a display base panel and a glass layer disposed adjacent the display base panel, the glass layer having an etched surface.
In the same field of endeavor Martisauskas discloses, the persistent display further comprising a display base panel and a glass layer disposed adjacent the display base panel, the glass layer having an etched surface ( see e.g., “An enclosure 102 can form an outer surface or partial outer surface for the internal components of the electronic devices 100, 200. The enclosure 102 at least partially surrounds a display 104”, Figs. 1-2, [0026] and/or “a cover glass 108 can be disposed over a top surface of the display 104 or the electronic device 100”, Figs. 1-2, [0029] and/or “if a tapered surface is to be formed in the cover glass, the respective surface of the cover glass can be etched (e.g., chemically or laser)…”, [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner with Martisauskas, in order to protect the internal components from moisture and contaminants such as dirt, sand, and dust. Moreover, it is desirable that the enclosure provide this protection in a variety of environments and at different atmospheric pressures (Please see Martisauskas, paragraph [0003]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Jacob, in view of Poiesz, in view of Saarimaki,, in view of Faulkner and further in view of Omote et al. (US 2013/0153393 A1, hereinafter Omote).
Regarding Claim 16, Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the low refresh rate display has a refresh rate below thirty frames per second.
In the same field of endeavor Omote discloses, wherein the low refresh rate display has a refresh rate below thirty frames per second ( see e.g., “the first frame-like light-blocking layer 5, made of screen printing films, is formed on the peripheral portion of the rear surface of the transparent glass substrate 4”, [0053] and/or “The first frame-like light-blocking layer 5 of the cover glass 2 may include, as a binder, resins such as polyvinyl resin, polyamide resin, polyester resin, polyacrylic resin, polyurethane resin, polyvinyl acetal resin, polyester-urethane resin, or alkyd resin, and a coloring ink containing an appropriate color pigment or dye as a colorant”, [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner with Omote, in order to provide a cover glass having an excellent visibility of having a sharp outline of the display screen seen through the cover glass, and having a sense of unity in appearance at portions surrounding the display screen (Please see Omote, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ackley, in view of Jacob, in view of Poiesz, in view of Saarimaki,, in view of Faulkner and further in view of Juenger (US 2008/0100598 A1, hereinafter Juenger).
Regrading Claim 19, Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner combined fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the low refresh rate display has a refresh rate below thirty frames per second.
In the same field of endeavor Juenger discloses, wherein the low refresh rate display has a refresh rate below thirty frames per second ( see e.g., “a display can be set to a low refresh rate of approximately thirty (30) Hertz or less for static or non-moving content…”, [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teachings of Ackley, Jacob, Poiesz, Saarimaki and Faulkner with Juenger, in order to reduce power consumption of flat panel displays within information handling systems (Please see Juenger, paragraph [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 14, none of prior arts of record, alone or in combination teaches, “ wherein the persistent display further includes a first optical clear adhesive (OCA) layer disposed on the display base panel and between the display base panel and the glass layer,
a front light film layer disposed on the first OCA layer and between the first OCA layer and the glass layer,
a second OCA layer disposed on the front light film layer and between the front light film layer and the glass layer,
a capacitive film layer disposed on the second OCA layer and between the second OCA layer and the glass layer,
a third OCA layer disposed on the capacitive film layer and between the capacitive film layer and the glass layer, and
a blackout paint layer disposed on the third OCA layer and between the third OCA layer and the glass layer.”.
Regarding claims 15 and 17, as these claims further define features in claim 14, they are also objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Ghali et al. (US 2016/0170250 A1) disclose ELECTRONIC DEVICE STACK ASSEMBLY.
/FARID SEYEDVOSOGHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2645