DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 12-16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Laforce et al. (11,220,150).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Laforce et al. (11,220,150) in figures 1-7, disclose an axle assembly a frame (510), which can be used for an electric work vehicle. The axle assembly comprises an electric drive system (100) including an electric motor (106) configured to generate rotational energy, a first axle hub (136) configured to be rotationally driven by the electric motor, a first axle shaft (112) including a first end and a second end. The first end of the first axle shaft coupled to the electric motor such that the first axle shaft transmits a first portion of the rotational energy generated by the electric motor to the first axle hub. Laforce et al. also disclose a first gear train (406) coupled between the second end of the first axle shaft and the first axle hub. The first gear train configured to increase a torque of the first portion of the rotational energy transmitted by the first axle shaft to the first axle hub (col.5, lines 52-65). Laforce et al. also disclose a second axle hub (138) configured to be rotationally driven by the electric motor, a second axle shaft (114) including a first end and a second end. The first end of the second axle shaft coupled to the electric motor such that the second axle shaft transmits a second portion of the rotational energy generated by the electric motor to second axle hub. Laforce et al. also disclose a second gear train (410) coupled between the second end of the second axle shaft and the second axle hub, the second gear train configured to increase a torque of the second portion of the rotational energy transmitted by the second axle shaft to the second axle hub (col. 5-6).
Regarding claims 2, Laforce et al. in figure 7A, disclose a frame or the frame (510) of the electric work vehicle, which is supported on the first and second axle hubs.
Regarding claims 3, 14, Laforce et al. in figure 6-7A, disclose the frame of the electric work vehicle, which is unsupported on the first and second axle shafts.
Regarding claim 4, 15, Laforce et al. in figures 1-5, disclose the axle assembly extending along a longitudinal direction from the first axle hub to the second axle hub; and the first and second gear trains are positioned closer to the first and second axle hubs than to the electric drive system along the longitudinal direction, respectively.
Regarding claim 5, 16, Laforce et al. in figures 1-5, disclose the first end of the first axle shaft, which is coupled to a first side of the electric drive system and the first end of the second axle shaft is coupled to a second side of the electric drive system.
Regarding claim 6, Laforce et al. in figures 1-5, disclose the axle assembly extending along a lateral direction from a forward end of the axle assembly to an aft end of the axle assembly; and the electric drive system is at least partially aligned with the first and second axle shafts in the lateral direction.
Regarding claims 8, 18, Laforce et al. in figures 3, 7, disclose a housing in which the electric motor, the first axle shaft, the first gear train, the second axle shaft, and the second gear train are positioned.
Regarding claim 12, Laforce et al. in figure 7, disclose the first axle shaft comprises a first flexible member (not number) and the second axle shaft comprises a second flexible member (not number).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laforce et al. as applied to claims 1, 12 above, and further in view of Nishida (9,764,644).
Regarding claim 7, Laforce et al. in figure 7, disclose the electric drive system further including a gearbox (a first gear assembly 108 should be in a gear housing or a gearbox), but fail to show an inverter.
Nishida (9,764,644) in figures 1-6, disclose a vehicle comprising an inverter (105). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Laforce et al. by further comprising the inverter disclosed by Nishida in order to convert the power from DC to AC.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record don’t disclose the axle assembly comprising a first gear train comprising an input gear coupled to the first axle shaft, an output gear coupled to the first axle hub, and an intermediate gear. The axle assembly also comprises a second gear train comprises an input gear coupled to the second axle shaft, an output gear coupled to the second axle hub, and an intermediate gear.
Conclusion
/HAU V PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615