DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For claim 1, Applicant states the prior art does not disclose “a second indication of whether the second AP is configured to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission”. However, Park discloses as previously cited that the master AP transmits to multiple Slave APs an indication that it is able to transmit to multiple APs (users) during the multi-AP transmission (“Payload: MAC address and resource allocation information of each Slave AP”, additionally, a Multi-AP participation bit, see Fig 30), which itself is an indication that the second AP is configured to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 300-315, 86, 72, Fig 30). Therefore, since the prior art appears to disclose the claimed limitation, the rejections under the prior art are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (WO 2021/141211)(cited on IDS)[Citations are directed to provided translation US 2023/0103807)[R1].
For claim 1, R1 discloses receiving, by a first access point (AP) from a second AP, a first frame comprising a first indication of a primary channel of the second AP (paragraphs 322-323 master AP transmits an allocation frame to the slave AP to indicate channel allocated, Fig 30); transmitting a multi-AP buffer status report poll (MBSRP) frame (paragraphs 300-304, 309, 314 Fig 30AP transmits a request frame to slave aps); receiving a multi-AP buffer status report (MBSR) frame comprising: a buffer status report (BSR) (paragraphs 301-310, 86, 72); and a second indication of whether the second AP is configured to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 301-310, 86, 72); allocating, based on the second indication and based on the second AP being configured to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission, a frequency channel to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission, wherein the frequency channel allocated to the second AP is the primary channel of the second AP (paragraphs 309-315); and transmitting a multi-AP schedule announcement (MSA) frame (paragraphs 309-315).
For clam 2, R1 discloses transmitting, based on the second indication, a third frame comprising a frequency allocation, wherein the frequency allocation is to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 300, 305, 309, 313-317).
For claim 3, R1 discloses the first AP is a slave AP and the second AP is a master AP (paragraphs 294-295, 300-305, 309).
For claim 4, R1 discloses the MBSRP frame is configured to poll, during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) obtained by the first AP, the second AP for buffered traffic for a multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-304).
For claim 5, R1 discloses the MSA frame comprises the frequency channel allocated to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 300, 305, 309, 313-317).
For claim 6, R1 discloses the primary channel of the second AP corresponds to a default channel a default channel configured for transmission of beacon frames by the second AP (paragraphs 279-287).
For claim 7, R1 discloses transmitting a fourth frame polling the second AP for buffered traffic for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 309-315).
For claims 8 and 15, R1 discloses the BSR for the multi-AP transmission indicates a traffic identifier (TID) for traffic having a non-empty queue size at the second AP (paragraphs 86, 312-314).
For claim 9, R1 discloses allocating the primary channel of the second AP, or another channel, to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission, if the second AP does not intend to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 300, 305, 309, 313-317).
For claim 11, R1 discloses the multi-AP transmission is a Coordinated Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (COFDMA) transmission (paragraphs 283-287).
For claim 12, R1 discloses the second AP transmits a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) during the multi-AP transmission, and wherein the PPDU comprises at least one of: a broadcast frame, a multi-cast frame, or an individually addressed data frame (paragraphs 326-329).
For claim 13, R1 discloses receiving, by a first access point (AP) from a second AP, a first frame comprising a first indication of a primary channel of the second AP (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315); receiving a second frame comprising: a buffer status report (BSR) for a multi-AP transmission during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) obtained by the first AP (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315, 86, 72); and a second indication of whether the second AP intends to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315, 86, 72); and transmitting, based on the second indication, a third frame comprising a frequency allocation, wherein the frequency allocation is to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315).
For claim 14, R1 discloses transmitting a fourth frame polling the second AP for buffered traffic for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315).
For claim 16, R1 discloses the second frame comprises a multi-AP buffer status report (MBSR) frame (paragraphs 300-315).
For claim 17, R1 discloses transmitting, by a first access point (AP), a first frame comprising a first indication of a primary channel of the first AP (paragraphs 322-323 master AP transmits an allocation frame to the slave AP to indicate channel allocated); receiving a multi-AP buffer status report poll (MBSRP) frame wherein the MBSRP frame is configured to poll, during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) obtained by the first AP, the second AP for buffered traffic for a multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 300-304, 309, 314 AP transmits a request frame to slave aps); transmitting a multi-AP buffer status report (MBSR) frame comprising: a buffer status report (BSR) (paragraphs 301-310, 86, 72); and a second indication of whether the first AP intends to transmit to multiple users during the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 301-310, 86, 72); and receiving, based on the second indication, a multi-AP schedule announcement (MSA) frame (paragraphs 309-315) comprising a frequency channel allocation to the first AP for the multi-AP transmission, wherein the frequency channel allocation to the first AP is the primary channel of the first AP (paragraphs 309-315).
For claim 18, R1 discloses the first frame comprises a coordination request frame to join a multi-AP set of the second AP (paragraphs 300, 305, 309, 313-317).
For claim 19, R1 discloses receiving, by the first AP from the second AP, a fourth frame polling the first AP for buffered traffic for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315).
For claim 20, R1 discloses the second AP allocates, based on the second indication, a frequency channel to the first AP for the multi-AP transmission (paragraphs 296, 300-305, 309-315).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1 in view of Coordinated OFDMA Operation (cited on IDS)[R2].
For claim 10, R1 does not explicitly state determining whether the primary channel of second AP is allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission; and allocating the primary channel of the second AP to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission, if the primary channel of the second AP is not allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission. However, R2 discloses determining whether the primary channel of second AP is allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission; and allocating the primary channel of the second AP to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission, if the primary channel of the second AP is not allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission (slide 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to determining whether the primary channel of second AP is allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission; and allocating the primary channel of the second AP to the second AP for the multi-AP transmission, if the primary channel of the second AP is not allocated to another AP for the multi-AP transmission taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a known technique in a similar device, to allow for increase system flexibility, to allow for more efficient resource usage, and design choice.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463