DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 6, change “is liquid propane” to -- is propane --
In Claim 11, change “A recreational vehicle having a dual fuel range, the recreational vehicle comprising: a range” to -- A recreational vehicle, comprising: a dual fuel range -- (or equivalent)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, 14-20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell (US 2019/0346151 A1) in view of Bowles et al. (US 2006/0090741 A1) (hereinafter “Bowles”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bell teaches of a range (10) for a recreational vehicle (“recreational vehicle”) (see at least Abstract, [0047] and Fig. 2, 4, 7), comprising:
an oven (“oven” - 20) and a stove top (“gas cooktop” - 24), wherein the oven is an electric oven (“electric oven”) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0050], [0067] and Figs. 2-3) and the stove top includes one or more gas burners (26) (see at least [0050], [0065] and Fig. 7);
wherein the oven is configured to operate on a first fuel type (electricity of the “electric oven”) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0067] and Figs. 2-3), wherein the first fuel type is electricity (electricity of the “electric oven”) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0067] and Figs. 2-3); and
wherein the one or more gas burners (26) are configured to operate on a second fuel type different from the first fuel type (“gas”), wherein the second fuel type is a gas (“gas”) (see at least [0050], [0065] and Fig. 7).
Bell fails to explicitly teach that the oven includes one or more electrical cooking elements that are configured to operate on the first fuel type of electricity.
Bowles discloses a relatable a range (10) (see at least [0015] and Fig. 1) comprising an oven (52) and a stove top (14) (see at least [0015], [0018] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the oven includes one or more electrical cooking elements (64, 68, 120) (see at least [0019], [0041]-[0043] and Figs. 2, 6) and the stove top includes one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1); wherein the one or more electrical cooking elements are configured to operate on a first fuel type (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the first fuel type is electricity (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2); and wherein the one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) are configured to operate on a second fuel type different from the first fuel type (“gas”), wherein the second fuel type is a gas (“gas”) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1). Bowles teaches that the electric heating elements, in addition to a fan (78) that facilitates convection heating, can operate off of a “standard 120 volt household power supply” as opposed to a special 240 volt outlet and thus provide the advantage of, inter alia, being able to safely heat the oven with a common “120 volt household power supply” with the added functionality of convection cooking (see at least [0021], [0041] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Bell by configuring the existing electric oven to comprise one or more electrical cooking elements, in addition to a convection fan, that are configured to operate on the first fuel type of electricity as is taught by Bowles. Doing so would have enabled safe heating of the oven with a common 120 volt household power supply while adding the functionality of convection cooking. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 2, Bowles also teaches of a fan (79) that would be used in the oven of the combined apparatus (see at least [0041]-[0042], Figs. 2, 6 and the rejection for Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 4, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) but Bell fails to explicitly teach that the oven includes one or more reflective heat surfaces. However, this limitation is also taught by Bowles.
Bowles also teaches that the oven (52) includes one or more reflective heat surfaces (“deflector 76”) and that such a surface helps to deflect heat towards the center of the oven while providing a location for temperature measurement (see at least [0021]-[0022] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus taught by implementing one or more reflective heat surfaces into the existing oven as is also taught by Bowles. Doing so would have provided means for deflecting heat towards the center of the oven while providing a location for temperature measurement. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 5, Bowles also teaches that the one or more electrical cooking elements of the combined apparatus (64, 68) are electrically connected to a 120 volt power supply (“120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Bell also teaches that the second fuel type is propane (“propane”) (see at least [0004], [0028], [0042] and Fig. 7).
Regarding Claim 7, Bell also teaches that the range of Claim 1 is in combination with a recreational vehicle (“recreational vehicle”) (see at least Abstract, [0047] and Fig. 2, 4, 7). Thus, the combination of Bell and Bowles would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 8, Bell also teaches that the range of Claim 1 may be used in a non-residential housing application (non-residential housing application such as a “recreational vehicle” in the form of a “mobile home”) (see at least Abstract, [0047] and Fig. 2, 4, 7).
Regarding Claim 10, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) but fail to explicitly teach of “another oven having one or more gas burners”. However, it has been held that a mere duplication of parts that does not produce a new and unexpected result has “no patentable significance” (see below). Therefore, merely duplicating parts in the prior art in a way that that would not have produced a new and unexpected would have constituted an obvious modification.
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
In the instant case, duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners (see at least [0043] and Fig. 2 of Bell and note that the oven may be a gas and electric “combination thereof” with one or more gas burners; also note that Bowles additionally teaches of the oven having one or more gas burners as is shown in Fig. 2) such that two ovens would be present as opposed to only one would have produced the expected result of increasing available cooking capacity (via the increase in available cooking space) (see at least [0043] and Figs. 2-3 of Bell). Thus, it is clear that merely duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners would not have produced a new and unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the combined apparatus by duplicating the existing oven that already has one or more gas burners such that two ovens would be present as opposed to only one as claimed since such modification would have constituted an obvious duplication of parts which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 11, Bell teaches of a recreational vehicle (“recreational vehicle”) (see at least Abstract, [0043], [0047] and Fig. 2, 4, 7), comprising:
a dual fuel range (10) having a stove top (“gas cooktop” - 24) and an oven (“oven” - 20), wherein the oven is an electric oven (“electric oven”) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0050], [0067] and Figs. 2-3) and the stove top includes one or more gas burners (26) (see at least [0050], [0065] and Fig. 7);
a gas connection (“In certain cases, the gas may be stored as a liquid in a pressurized container, and operatively-connected to the gas range”) in communication with the one or more gas burners of the stove top (see at least [0042] and Figs. 2, 7); and
an electrical connection in communication with the oven (electrical connection of the “electric oven”) (see at least [0043] and Fig. 2).
Bell fails to explicitly teach that the oven includes one or more electrical cooking elements that are in communication with the electrical connection.
Bowles discloses a relatable a range (10) (see at least [0015] and Fig. 1) comprising an oven (52) and a stove top (14) (see at least [0015], [0018] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the oven includes one or more electrical cooking elements (64, 68, 120) (see at least [0019], [0041]-[0043] and Figs. 2, 6) and the stove top includes one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1); wherein the one or more electrical cooking elements are in communication with an electrical connection configured to supply a first fuel type (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the first fuel type is electricity (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2); and wherein the one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) are configured to operate on a second fuel type different from the first fuel type (“gas”), wherein the second fuel type is a gas (“gas”) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1). Bowles teaches that the electric heating elements, in addition to a fan (78) that facilitates convection heating, can operate off of a “standard 120 volt household power supply” as opposed to a special 240 volt outlet and thus provide the advantage of, inter alia, being able to safely heat the oven with a common “120 volt household power supply” with the added functionality of convection cooking (see at least [0021], [0041] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the apparatus taught by Bell by configuring the existing electric oven to comprise one or more electrical cooking elements, in addition to a convection fan, that are in communication with an electrical connection and configured to operate on electricity as is taught by Bowles. Doing so would have enabled safe heating of the oven with a common 120 volt household power supply while adding the functionality of convection cooking. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 12, Bowles also teaches of a fan (79) that would be used in the oven of the combined apparatus (see at least [0041]-[0042], Figs. 2, 6 and the rejection for Claim 1 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 11 (see the rejection for Claim 11) but Bell fails to explicitly teach that the oven includes one or more reflective heat surfaces. However, this limitation is also taught by Bowles.
Bowles also teaches that the oven (52) includes one or more reflective heat surfaces (“deflector 76”) and that such a surface helps to deflect heat towards the center of the oven while providing a location for temperature measurement (see at least [0021]-[0022] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus taught by implementing one or more reflective heat surfaces into the existing oven as is also taught by Bowles. Doing so would have provided means for deflecting heat towards the center of the oven while providing a location for temperature measurement. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 15, Bowles also teaches that the one or more electrical cooking elements of the combined apparatus (64, 68) are electrically connected to a 120 volt power supply (“120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Bowles also teaches that the one or more electrical cooking elements (64, 68, 120) that would be used in the combined apparatus are configured to operate on a 15 amp, 20 amp, 30 amp, 50 amp, and/or 60 amp power supply (as is evident from the disclosure that the electric heating elements, in addition to the fan (78) that facilitates convection heating, can operate off of a “standard 120 volt household power supply” wherein a standard 120 volt household power supply is rated at 15 amp - see at least [0024], Fig. 2 and the rejection for Claim 11 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 11 (see the rejection for Claim 11) but fail to explicitly teach of “another oven having one or more gas burners, wherein the one or more gas burners of the another oven is in communication with the gas connection”. However, it has been held that a mere duplication of parts that does not produce a new and unexpected result has “no patentable significance” (see below). Therefore, merely duplicating parts in the prior art in a way that that would not have produced a new and unexpected would have constituted an obvious modification.
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
In the instant case, duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection (see at least [0043] and Fig. 2 of Bell and note that the oven may be a gas and electric “combination thereof” with one or more gas burners; also note that Bowles additionally teaches of the oven having one or more gas burners as is shown in Fig. 2) such that two ovens would be present as opposed to only one would have produced the expected result of increasing available cooking capacity (via the increase in available cooking space) (see at least [0043] and Figs. 2-3 of Bell). Thus, it is clear that merely duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners would not have produced a new and unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the combined apparatus by duplicating the existing oven that already has one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection such that two ovens would be present with one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection as opposed to only one as claimed since such modification would have constituted an obvious duplication of parts which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 18, Bell teaches of a method of operating a range (10) for a recreational vehicle (“recreational vehicle”) (see at least Abstract, [0047] and Fig. 2, 4, 7), comprising the steps of:
providing a range (10) having one or more burners (26) in a stove top (“gas cooktop” - 24) and an electric oven (“oven” - 20) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0050], [0067] and Figs. 2-3);
providing electricity to the electric oven (electricity of the “electric oven”) (see at least [0028], [0043], [0067] and Figs. 2-3); and
providing gas (“gas”) to the one or more gas burners in the stove top (see at least [0050], [0065] and Fig. 7).
Bell fails to explicitly teach of providing one or more electrical cooking elements in the oven and of providing electricity to the one or more electrical cooking elements.
Bowles discloses a relatable a range (10) and method for using the same (see at least [0015] and Fig. 1), wherein the range comprises an oven (52) and a stove top (14) (see at least [0015], [0018] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the oven includes one or more electrical cooking elements (64, 68, 120) (see at least [0019], [0041]-[0043] and Figs. 2, 6) and the stove top includes one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1); wherein the one or more electrical cooking elements are in communication with an electrical connection configured to supply a first fuel type (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2), wherein the first fuel type is electricity (electricity of “120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Figs. 1-2); and wherein the one or more gas burners (22, 24, 26, 28) are configured to operate on a second fuel type different from the first fuel type (“gas”), wherein the second fuel type is a gas (“gas”) (see at least [0016] and Fig. 1). Bowles teaches that the electric heating elements, in addition to a fan (78) that facilitates convection heating, can operate off of a “standard 120 volt household power supply” as opposed to a special 240 volt outlet and thus provide the advantage of, inter alia, being able to safely heat the oven with a common “120 volt household power supply” with the added functionality of convection cooking (see at least [0021], [0041] and Fig. 2).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method taught by Bell by configuring the existing electric oven to comprise one or more electrical cooking elements, in addition to a convection fan, that are in communication with an electrical connection and configured to operate on electricity as is taught by Bowles. Doing so would have enabled safe heating of the oven with a common 120 volt household power supply while adding the functionality of convection cooking. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 19, Bowles also teaches that the one or more electrical cooking elements of the combined method (64, 68) are electrically connected to a 120 volt power supply (“120 volt power supply 86”) (see at least [0024] and Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 20, Bowles also teaches that the one or more electrical cooking elements (64, 68, 120) that would be used in the combined method are configured to operate on a 15 amp, 20 amp, 30 amp, 50 amp, and/or 60 amp power supply (as is evident from the disclosure that the electric heating elements, in addition to the fan (78) that facilitates convection heating, can operate off of a “standard 120 volt household power supply” wherein a standard 120 volt household power supply is rated at 15 amp - see at least [0024], Fig. 2 and the rejection for Claim 18 above).
Regarding Claim 23, Bowles also teaches that the combined method would include a step of air frying food within the oven (air frying via “convection” from fan (79) - see at least [0023]-[0024], Fig. 2 and the rejection for Claim 18 above).
Regarding Claim 24, Bell and Bowles teach the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection for Claim 18) but fail to explicitly teach of “another oven” having one or more gas burners and of providing gas to the one or more gas burners in the another oven. However, it has been held that a mere duplication of parts that does not produce a new and unexpected result has “no patentable significance” (see below). Therefore, merely duplicating parts in the prior art in a way that that would not have produced a new and unexpected would have constituted an obvious modification.
In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
In the instant case, duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection (see at least [0043] and Fig. 2 of Bell and note that the oven may be a gas and electric “combination thereof” with one or more gas burners; also note that Bowles additionally teaches of the oven having one or more gas burners as is shown in Fig. 2) such that two ovens would be present as opposed to only one would have produced the expected result of increasing available cooking capacity (via the increase in available cooking space) (see at least [0043] and Figs. 2-3 of Bell). Thus, it is clear that merely duplicating the existing oven of the prior art that already has one or more gas burners would not have produced a new and unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the combined method by duplicating the existing oven that already has one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection such that two ovens would be present with one or more gas burners in communication with the gas connection as opposed to only one as claimed since such modification would have constituted an obvious duplication of parts which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Claims 3, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell and Bowles further in view of Conde Zelocuatecatl et al. (US 2023/0213203 A1) (hereinafter “Conde”).
Regarding Claim 3, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) but fail to explicitly teach that the one or more electrical cooking elements are one or more graphite heating elements.
Conde discloses a relatable range (10) with an electric oven (300) and a cooktop (40) of gas burners (41) (see at least [0026], [0032]-[0033] and Figs. 1-3). The electric oven (300) comprises one or more graphite heating elements (320) disposed therein (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3). Conde teaches that “The graphite bake element 320, such as are manufactured by Midea, enable full heat-up time from zero to approximately 2300 degrees Fahrenheit measured at the surface of the element in less than about one second. This performance is many times faster than standard heat elements, and also several times faster even than quartz elements” (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing electrical cooking elements to be in the form of graphite heating elements as is taught by Conde. Doing so would have made the cooking elements heat up significantly faster. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 13, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 11 (see the rejection for Claim 11) but fail to explicitly teach that the one or more electrical cooking elements are one or more graphite heating elements.
Conde discloses a relatable range (10) with an electric oven (300) and a cooktop (40) of gas burners (41) (see at least [0026], [0032]-[0033] and Figs. 1-3). The electric oven (300) comprises one or more graphite heating elements (320) disposed therein (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3). Conde teaches that “The graphite bake element 320, such as are manufactured by Midea, enable full heat-up time from zero to approximately 2300 degrees Fahrenheit measured at the surface of the element in less than about one second. This performance is many times faster than standard heat elements, and also several times faster even than quartz elements” (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing electrical cooking elements to be in the form of graphite heating elements as is taught by Conde. Doing so would have made the cooking elements heat up significantly faster. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 21, Bell and Bowles teach the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection for Claim 18) but fail to explicitly teach that the one or more electrical cooking elements are one or more graphite heating elements.
Conde discloses a relatable range (10) with an electric oven (300) and a cooktop (40) of gas burners (41) in addition to a method for using the same (see at least [0026], [0032]-[0033] and Figs. 1-3). The electric oven (300) comprises one or more graphite heating elements (320) disposed therein (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3). Conde teaches that “The graphite bake element 320, such as are manufactured by Midea, enable full heat-up time from zero to approximately 2300 degrees Fahrenheit measured at the surface of the element in less than about one second. This performance is many times faster than standard heat elements, and also several times faster even than quartz elements” (see at least [0033] and Fig. 3).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined method by configuring the existing electrical cooking elements to be in the form of graphite heating elements as is taught by Conde. Doing so would have made the cooking elements heat up significantly faster. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bell and Bowles further in view of Wiker et al. (US 2011/0269085 A1) (hereinafter “Wiker”).
Regarding Claim 9, Bell and Bowles teach the range of Claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1) but fail to explicitly teach that the controller is configured to operate the range with respect to an air conditioning unit and/or a refrigerator (Note that the limitation of the controller being “configured to operate the range with respect to an air conditioning unit and/or a refrigerator” is being interpreted as the controller being capable of operating the range in addition to an air conditioning unit and/or a refrigerator.).
Wiker discloses a relatable cooking system comprising a cooking apparatus (20) disposed within a “kitchen” space that includes a refrigerator (1015) that is used for food storage to facilitate cooking (see at least [0145]-[0146] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24). Wiker teaches of a universal controller (42) that is used to independently control/send power to each item in the kitchen including the cooking apparatus and the refrigerator (see at least Abstract, [0145]-[0147] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24). Thus, such a controller provides the advantage of enabling a user to control all elements of the cooking system from a single controller (see at least Abstract, [0145]-[0147] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined apparatus by configuring the existing controller to have the capability of operating the existing range in addition to (at least) a refrigerator as is taught by Wiker. Doing so would have provided an accompanying refrigerator that would be able to store food to facilitate cooking and would have provided a single controller that would be capable of independently controlling all appliances including the range and refrigerator. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Regarding Claim 22, Bell and Bowles teach the method of Claim 18 (see the rejection for Claim 18) but fail to explicitly teach of managing power supply to the range to the detriment of other electrical devices within the recreational vehicle (Note that the limitation “managing power supply to the range to the detriment of other electrical devices within the recreational vehicle” is being interpreted as distributing power to the range that could otherwise go to other electrical devices within the recreational vehicle.).
Wiker discloses a relatable cooking system comprising a cooking apparatus (20) disposed within a “kitchen” space that includes a refrigerator (1015) that is used for food storage to facilitate cooking in addition to a method for using the same (see at least [0145]-[0146] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24). Wiker teaches of a universal controller (42) that is used to independently control/send power to each item in the kitchen including the cooking apparatus and the refrigerator such that power supply is managed to the cooking apparatus to the detriment of other electrical devices within the kitchen space such as the refrigerator (see at least Abstract, [0145]-[0147] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24). Thus, such a controller provides the advantage of enabling a user to control all elements of the cooking system from a single controller (see at least Abstract, [0145]-[0147] and Figs. 1, 3A and 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have further modified the combined method by configuring the existing controller to have the capability of operating the existing range in addition to (at least) a refrigerator as is taught by Wiker such that power supply would be managed to the cooking apparatus to the detriment of other electrical devices present (such as the refrigerator) as is taught by Wiker. Doing so would have provided an accompanying refrigerator that would be able to store food to facilitate cooking and would have provided a single controller that would be capable of independently controlling all appliances including the range and refrigerator. Note that such modification would have necessarily resulted in managing power supply to the range “to the detriment of other electrical devices within the recreational vehicle” as claimed since power would be distributed to the range that could otherwise go to other electrical devices within the recreational vehicle (such as the refrigerator). Thus, such modification would have necessarily resulted in the invention as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art is considered relevant to this application in terms of structure and use:
Dumenil (US 2021/0310664 A1)
Ahuja (US 6,943,324 B2)
Bell, Jr. (US 6,431,628 B1)
/BENJAMIN W JOHNSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3762 12/13/2025
/STEVEN B MCALLISTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762