DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 1-7, 9, and 20 are cancelled. Claims 8, and 10-19 are pending. Claims 10, 12, and 14 are withdrawn. Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are under examination.
Priority
This application is a CIP of 17/157,118 filed on 1/25/2021, which is a divisional of 15/887,469 filed on 2/2/2018, which claims priority from US provisional applications 62/524,866 filed on 06/26/2017, 62/483,032 filed on 04/07/2017 and 62/453,701 filed on 2/2/2017.
Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection under USC 101 over claims 1-4, 6, 13 and 15-20 is withdrawn per applicant’s claim cancellations and amendments to claims 13 and 17.
The rejection under USC 112(a) for scope of enablement is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and claim cancellations.
The rejection under USC 112(b) for “non-physiological concentration” is withdrawn as applicant has amended the claims.
The rejection under USC 112(b) for synthetic or semi-synthetic is withdrawn as applicant has now also provided “macrolide” to the claims.
The rejection under USC 112(b) for analog is withdrawn as applicant has deleted these recitations from the claims.
The rejection under USC 112(b) over claim 20 is withdrawn per applicant’s deletion of the claim.
The rejection under USC 102 over Brown is withdrawn as applicant has amended the claims to be in scope with the description of earlier priority documents. Thus, Brown (also from applicant) is no longer prior art over the claims.
The rejection under USC 102 over Gutierrez-Huante is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to include macrolide.
The rejection under USC 103 over CN102283799 (2013; in applicant IDS) and Promega, Buffers is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments to the claims notably to provide the pH is “about 7.4”.
The rejection under USC 103 over Kaushik et al (NPJ Biofilms and Microbiomes, May 25, 2016, volume 2, pages 1-12, in applicant IDS) and Tsai is withdrawn per applicant’s amendments and arguments.
As these rejections are withdrawn, applicant’s arguments toward these rejections are now moot.
Note that applicant’s amendments to provide a pH value and adjust concentrations necessitated a further search and consideration of the prior art. Additionally, terminal disclaimers were not accepted for the reasons provided in the Terminal Disclaimer Review Decision from 7/30/2026. New and Maintained Rejections are listed below.
New Rejections – As Necessitated by Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 11, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buyck et al (Clinical Infectious Diseases, 2012, volume 55, pages 534-542) as evidenced by Thermofisher (RPMI 1640, https://www.thermofisher.com/us/en/home/technical-resources/media-formulation.114.html, downloaded 10/13/2026).
Buyck teaches macrolides show high minimum inhibitory concentrations (MICs) against Pseudomonas aeruginosa when tested in recommended media (abstract). Buyck teaches using RPMI 1640 medium to grow eukaryotic cells and to test the azithromycin MIC values (abstract). Buyck showed activity of the macrolides (azithromycin) in the media against P aeruginosa (abstract). Buyck teaches that RPMI 1640 medium, where the azithromycin is added, contains NaHCO3 (sodium bicarbonate) and has a pH of 7.4 (page 538, Influence of pH). The figure 3 legend notes the pH used was 7.4. The standard bicarbonate concentration in RPMI 1640 medium is 2 g/L or 23.81 mM of bicarbonate (evidence from ThermoFisher). Note that the cell media is separate from the macrolide antibiotic until the antibiotic is added to the media which has the bicarbonate and the pH value. The forms are considered administrable since they are added to the cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Buyck et al (Clinical Infectious Diseases, 2012, volume 55, pages 534-542) and Charles et al (Drugs, 1997, volume 53, pages 349-357) as evidenced by Thermofisher (RPMI 1640, https://www.thermofisher.com/us/en/home/technical-resources/media-formulation.114.html, downloaded 10/13/2026).
Buyck teaches the claims as discussed above.
Buyck does not teach gram positive bacteria being treated.
Charles teaches that erythromycin, azithromycin and clarithromycin have been shown to be equally effective against gram positive organisms (Summary). Charles teaches effectiveness with Streptococcal bacteria (section 4.1 and summary page 350). Charles teaches azithromycin with activity against Salmonella, Shigella and E coli (second column on page 351). Here, Charles also provides “C. trachomatis, L pneumophila and M.avium intracellulare complex (MAC)”. In section 4.2, Charles notes azithromycin being equivalent to amoxicillin and clarithromycin in patients with acute sinusitis which is commonly due to S pneumoniae among others.
One of ordinary skill in the prior art before the time of filing would have seen formulations with azithromycin like those in Buyck as being effective against some gram positive bacteria as Charles notes this effectiveness. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the method of Buyck with gram positive bacteria such as Streptococcus and obtaining reduction of the gram positive bacteria that have been reduced with azithromycin and other macrolides.
Maintained Rejections -Modified As Necessitated by Amendments
(Rejections Maintained Due to Terminal Disclaimers Not being Accepted)
Double Patenting
Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 10, 11, and 12-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10940163. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim set provides for using bicarbonate in overlapping amounts along with azithromycin (a semisynthetic antibiotic) along with the ability to kill Staphylococcus bacteria. As the claims of ‘163 teaches the components, this would allow for formulations of each of these ingredients for later combination or administration as in the form of a kit.
Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 15-17, 20-22, and 27-29 of U.S. Patent No. 11779595. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim set provides for using bicarbonate in overlapping amounts along with azithromycin (a semisynthetic antibiotic) along with the ability to kill Staphylococcus bacteria.
Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-9, and 10-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11400106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim set provides for using bicarbonate in overlapping amounts along with azithromycin (a semisynthetic antibiotic) along with the claim providing killing of bacteria and azithromycin is an antibiotic that can kill gram positive bacteria.
Claims 8, 11, 13, and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-18 of copending application 18/236,164 (now US Patent 12678454). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim set provides for using bicarbonate in overlapping amounts along with azithromycin (a semisynthetic antibiotic) along with the ability to kill Staphylococcus bacteria. ‘164 provides for kits with multiple compositions for administration.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK V STEVENS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1613