DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 1, 5- 8 , 12 and 14 are objected to to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “the number of particles… in the first polymer” but should recite “a number of particles… of the first polymer.” Claims 5 and 6 respectively recite the dimensionless parameters P/W1 and K/W1. However, these variables “air permeability value P,” “surface density W1,” and “porosity K” are typically expressed in units of [time/volume], [mass/area], and [%]. These units do not cancel one another to yield dimensionless values as recited in the claims. Claim 7 recites “a mass ratio of the first polymer to the first auxiliary adhesive is 2.5 to 18.” This limitation is unclear because it could be interpreted as requiring a range of ratios, i.e., “a mass ratio is… 2:5:1 to 18:1” or as requiring the exact ratio of 2.5:18. For examination purposes, the first interpretation will be assumed since the examples in the instant specification include more of the first polymer than the first auxiliary adhesive. Claim 8 recites “a mass ratio of the second polymer to the second auxiliary adhesive is 5 to 20.” This limitation is unclear because it could be interpreted as requiring a range of ratios, i.e., “a mass ratio is… 5:1 to 20:1” or as requiring the exact ratio of 5:20. For examination purposes, the first interpretation will be assumed since the examples in the instant specification include more of the second polymer than the second auxiliary adhesive. Claim 12 recites “the second coating layer,” but parent claim 1 only requires a first coating layer. For examination purposes, claim 12 will be treated as if it depends on claim 8. Claim 14 recites “vinylidene fluoride” twice as a possible candidate material for the first polymer. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 1, 7-8, 10, 12-14, and 1 7 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017/0288192 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Chen discloses a separator ( 10 , FIG. 1 , [0029]) , comprising a substrate ( 12 , FIG. 2, [0029]) and a first coating layer (organic coating 16 , FIG. 2, [0029]) provided on at least one surface of the substrate ( 12 ) ; the first coating layer ( 16 ) comprising a first polymer (organic polymer particles, [0009]) . Chen does not disclose the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer being 10 to 30. However, Chen teaches that the first coating layer (organic coating) comprising the first polymer (organic polymer particles) should have an island or strip morphology ([0101]) in which the coating covers 1%-95% of the surface on which it is provided ([0015]). Chen further teaches that the length of the first polymer particles can be controlled to give the desired coverage, and also effects the thickness of the coating layer and therefore its ion conductivity and strength ([0099] -[0101] ). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer to obtain the coverage taught by Chen ([0015]) while balancing the effects of particle length on ion conductivity and strength ([0099]-[0101]) , including to a range corresponding to 10 to 30, with a reasonable expectation of success . Regarding claim 3 , Chen teaches wherein a coating surface density W1 of the first coating layer of the separator is 0.4g/m 2 to 2g/m 2 (overlapping range of 0.06 g/m 2 to 7 g/m 2 [0045]-[0046] , establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]; Embodiment 1-3 has coating density of 1.3 g/m 2 , see Table 1 on p. 3). Regarding claim 7 , Chen teaches wherein the first coating layer further (organic coating 16 ) comprises a first auxiliary adhesive (binder, [0009]) ; the first auxiliary adhesive comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of homopolymers or copolymers of acrylonitrile or acrylic acid ([0012]); and a mass ratio of the first polymer ( organic polymer particle) to the first auxiliary adhesive (binder) is 2.5 to 18 (overlapping range of 0.05 to 19, [0119], establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]). Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the mass ratio of the first polymer to the first auxiliary adhesive, including to a range corresponding to 2.5 to 18, because Chen teaches that the binder content should be high enough to provide adhesive strength but not so high as to reduce ion mobility ([0117]-[0118], see [MPEP § 2144.05(II)A]). Regarding claim 8 , Chen teaches wherein the separator ( 10 ) further comprises a second coating layer ( 16 ) , the first coating layer ( 16 ) and the second coating layer ( 16 ) are respectively provided on two sides of the separator ( 10 ) (top and bottom sides in FIG. 2) , the second coating layer comprises a second polymer (organic polymer particles, [0009]) and a second auxiliary adhesive (binder, [0009]) , and the mass ratio of the second polymer to the second auxiliary adhesive is 5 to 20 (overlapping range of 0.05 to 19, [0119], establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]) . Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the mass ratio of the first polymer to the first auxiliary adhesive, including to a range corresponding to 5 to 20 , because Chen teaches that the binder content should be high enough to provide adhesive strength but not so high as to reduce ion mobility ([0117]-[0118], see [MPEP § 2144.05(II)A]). Regarding claim 10 , Chen teaches wherein based on the total mass of the first coating layer, a mass percentage content of the first polymer (organic polymer particles) is 85% to 95%, and a mass percentage content of the first auxiliary adhesive (binder) is 5% to 15% (overlapping ranges of 5% to 95%, [0119]; the first coating layer comprises only the organic polymer particles and the binder so a range of 5 wt % - 95 wt % of the binder necessarily corresponds to a range of 95 wt % - 5 wt % of the organic polymer particles) . Regarding claim 12 , Chen teaches wherein a coating surface density W2 of the second coating layer of the separator is 0.1g/m 2 to 1g/m 2 (overlapping range of 0.06 g/m 2 to 7 g/m 2 [0045]-[0046], establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]) . Regarding claim 13 , Chen teaches wherein based on the total mass of the second coating layer, a mass percentage content of the second polymer is 88% to 92.5%, and a mass percentage content of the second auxiliary adhesive is 7.5% to 12% (overlapping ranges of 5% to 95%, [0119]; the second coating layer comprises only the organic polymer particles and the binder so a range of 5 wt % - 95 wt % of the binder necessarily corresponds to a range of 95 wt % - 5 wt % of the organic polymer particles) . Regarding claim 14 , Chen teaches wherein the first polymer (organic polymer particles) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of homopolymers or copolymers of vinylidene fluoride, vinylidene fluoride, hexafluoropropylene, acrylic acid, acrylate, styrene, and butadiene ([0012]). Regarding claim 17 , Chen discloses an electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery, [0017]) , comprising a separator ( 10 , FIG. 2, [0029]) , the separator comprises a substrate ( 12 , FIG. 2, [0029]) and a first coating layer (organic coating 16 , FIG. 2, [0029]) provided on at least on surface of the substrate ( 12 ), the first coating layer ( 16 ) comprising a first polymer (organic polymer particles, [0009]). Chen does not disclose the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer being 10 to 30. However, Chen teaches that the first coating layer (organic coating) comprising the first polymer (organic polymer particles) should have an island or strip morphology ([0101]) in which the coating covers 1%-95% of the surface on which it is provided ([0015]). Chen further teaches that the length of the first polymer particles can be controlled to give the desired coverage, and also effects the thickness of the coating layer and therefore its ion conductivity and strength ([0099]-[0101]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer to obtain the coverage taught by Chen ([0015]) while balancing the effects of particle length on ion conductivity and strength ([0099]-[0101]), including to a range corresponding to 10 to 30, with a reasonable expectation of success. Regarding claim 18 , Chen teaches wherein the separator ( 10 ) further comprises a second coating layer ( 16 , FIG. 2, [0029]) , the first coating layer ( 16 ) and the second coating layer ( 16 ) are respectively provided on two sides of the separator ( 10 ) (see FIG. 2) , the second coating layer ( 16 ) comprises a second polymer (organic polymer particles, [0009]) and a second auxiliary adhesive (binder, [0009]) , and a mass ratio of the second polymer to the second auxiliary adhesive is 5 to 20 (overlapping range of 0.05 to 19, [0119], establishes a prima facie case of obviousness [MPEP § 2144.05(I)]) . Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the mass ratio of the first polymer to the first auxiliary adhesive, including to a range corresponding to 5 to 20, because Chen teaches that the binder content should be high enough to provide adhesive strength but not so high as to reduce ion mobility ([0117]-[0118], see [MPEP § 2144.05(II)A]). . Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017/0288192 A1) , as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Naka (US 2022/0149479 A1) . Regarding claim 2 , Chen does not disclose wherein an air permeability value P of the separator is 500sec/100mL to 10000sec/100mL. Naka teaches a separator ([0045]), wherein an air permeability value of the separator is 10 sec/100mL to 3000 sec/100mL ([0050]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the air permeability value P of the separator of Chen, including to a range of 500sec/100mL to 3000sec/100mL because Naka teaches that increasing P ensures good strength while decreasing P improves ion permeability ([0050]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Regarding claim 4 , Chen does not disclose wherein a porosity K of the separator is 30% to 65%. Naka teaches a separator ([0045]), wherein a porosity K of the separator is 30% to 65% (overlapping range of 30% to 80%, [0051]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the separator of Chen to have a porosity of 30% to 65% because Naka teaches that separators having a porosity of 30% to 80% are known in the art ([0051]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Regarding claim 5 , Chen teaches wherein a coating surface density W1 of the first coating layer of the separator is of 0.06 g/m 2 to 7 g/m 2 ([0045]-[0046]), but does not disclose wherein an air permeability value P of the separator and a surface density W1 of the first coating layer satisfy the following relationship: P/W1=500 to 6500. However, Chen teaches that the coating surface density W1 is related to the flexibility and ion conductivity of the separator ([0045]-[0047]). Naka teaches a separator ([0045]), wherein an air permeability value of the separator is 10 sec/100mL to 3000 sec/100mL and is related to the strength and ion permeability of the separator ([0050]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the coating surface density W1 and the air permeability value P, thereby satisfying the relationship P/W1=500 to 6500 , in order to achieve a desired balance between flexibility, strength, and ion conductivity as taught by Chen ([0045]-[0047]) and Naka ([0050]). Regarding claim 6 , Chen teaches wherein a coating surface density W1 of the first coating layer of the separator is of 0.06 g/m 2 to 7 g/m 2 ([0045]-[0046]), but does not disclose wherein a porosity K of the separator and a surface density W1 of the first coating layer satisfy the following relationship: K/W1=0.15 to 1.4. However, Chen teaches that the coating surface density W1 is related to the flexibility and ion conductivity of the separator ([0045]-[0047]). Naka teaches a separator ([0045]), wherein a porosity K of the separator is 30% to 80% ([0051]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the separator of Chen to have a porosity of 30% to 80 % because Naka teaches that separators having a porosity of 30% to 80% are known in the art ([0051]), and to have optimized the coating surface density W1 to achieve a desired balance between flexibility and ion conductivity as taught by Che, thereby satisfying K/W1=0.15 to 1.4 . Claims 9, 16, 19 , and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017/0288192 A1), as applied to claim s 7 and 17 above, and further in view of Ameyama (US 2017/0263907 A1). Regarding claim 9 , Chen does not disclose wherein an adhesion strength of the first coating layer is 4N/m to 20N/m. Ameyama teaches a separator ([0017]), comprising a substrate (base material, [0017]) and a first coating layer (thermoplastic polymer, [0017]) provided on at least one surface of the substrate , wherein an adhesion strength of the separator is 4N/m to 20N/m ([0320]-[0321]) . A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the first coating layer of Chen to have an adhesion strength of 4N/m to 20N/m because Ameyama teaches that this range ensures excellent adhesiveness, blocking resistance, and handling property of the separator ([0320]-[0321]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Regarding claim 16 , Chen teaches d) the separator ( 10 ) further comprises a heat-resistant layer (inorganic coating 14, FIG. 2, [0029]) , the heat-resistant layer ( 14 ) is provided between the substrate ( 12 ) and the first coating layer ( 16 ) , the heat-resistant layer ( 14 ) comprises inorganic particles ([0016]). Chen does not disclose wherein the separator satisfies: a) the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer is 20 to 30; b) a coating surface density W1 of the first coating layer of the separator is 0.4g/m 2 to 1g/m 2 ; an air permeability value P of the separator is 1000sec/100mL to 5000sec/100mL; and d) and a particle size Dv50 of the inorganic particles is 5µm to 35µm. However, Chen teaches that the first coating layer (organic coating) comprising the first polymer (organic polymer particles) should have an island or strip morphology ([0101]) in which the coating covers 1%-95% of the surface on which it is provided ([0015]). Chen further teaches that the length of the first polymer particles can be controlled to give the desired coverage, and also effects the thickness of the coating layer and therefore its ion conductivity and strength ([0099]-[0101]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have optimized the number of particles with a maximum length of 10µm to 30µm in the first polymer in any area of 250µm*200µm on a surface of the first coating layer to obtain the coverage taught by Chen ([0015]) while balancing the effects of particle length on ion conductivity and strength ([0099]-[0101]), including to a range corresponding to 20 to 30, with a reasonable expectation of success. Ameyama teaches a separator ([0017]), comprising a heat-resistant layer (porous layer, [0271]), the heat-resistant layer comprises inorganic particles ([0271]), and a particle size of the inorganic particles is 0.1 µm to 10 µm ([0282]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have used inorganic particles having a particle size Dv50 of 5 µm to 10 µm in the heat-resistant layer of Chen because Ameyama teaches inorganic particles having a diameter of 0.1 µm to 10 µm ([0282]) as suitable for use in a separator. Regarding claim 19 , Chen teaches a positive electrode (cathode, [0017]), but does not disclose wherein an adhesion strength of the first coating layer with the positive electrode is 4N/m to 20N/m . Ameyama teaches a separator ([0017]), comprising a substrate (base material, [0017]) and a first coating layer (thermoplastic polymer, [0017]) provided on at least one surface of the substrate , wherein an adhesion strength of the separator with an electrode is 4N/m to 20N/m ([0320]-[0321]) . A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the first coating layer of Chen to have an adhesion strength of 4N/m to 20N/m with the positive electrode because Ameyama teaches that this range ensures excellent adhesiveness, blocking resistance, and handling property of the separator ([0320]-[0321]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Regarding claim 20 , Chen teaches a negative electrode (anode, [0017]), but does not disclose wherein an adhesion strength of the first coating layer with the negative electrode is 4N/m to 20N/m . Ameyama teaches a separator ([0017]), comprising a substrate (base material, [0017]) and a first coating layer (thermoplastic polymer, [0017]) provided on at least one surface of the substrate , wherein an adhesion strength of the separator with an electrode is 4N/m to 20N/m ([0320]-[0321]) . A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have formed the first coating layer of Chen to have an adhesion strength of 4N/m to 20N/m with the negative electrode because Ameyama teaches that this range ensures excellent adhesiveness, blocking resistance, and handling property of the separator ([0320]-[0321]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Claim 1 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017/0288192 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Bai (CN-104157811-A, a machine translation is attached and referenced below). Regarding claim 11 , Chen teaches wherein a Dv50 of the first polymer (organic polymer particles) is 3µm to 16µm (overlapping range of 1 µm to 150 µm , [0101]; 5 µm to 10 µm in Embodiments 1-1 to 1-4, Table 1 on p. 3), but does not disclose wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90°C to 150°C . Bai teaches a separator ([0012]), comprising a substrate (microporous membrane, [0012]) and a first coating layer (microsphere-based coating, [0012]) provided on at least on surface of the substrate, the first coating layer comprising a first polymer (polymer microsphere, [0012]), wherein a softening point of the first polymer is 90 °C to 140 °C ([0031]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have selected a polymer having a softening point of 90 °C to 140 °C in the separator of Chen because Bai teaches that doing so improves battery safety because the polymer can melt or swell to prevent short circuits in a battery when the battery temperature rises ([0031]). Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2017/0288192 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Arora (US 2017/0012266 A1). Regarding claim 15 , Chen teaches wherein the second polymer (organic polymer particles) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of homopolymers or copolymers of styrene, acrylic acid, and butadiene ([0012]) and the Dv50 of the second polymer is 0.2 µm to 8 µm (overlapping range of 1 µm to 150 µm , [0101]) . Chen teaches wherein the second auxiliary adhesive (binder) comprises polyacrylonitrile ([0012]), but does not disclose wherein the second auxiliary adhesive comprises at least one of carboxymethyl cellulose sodium or dimethylsiloxane . Arora teaches a separator ([0001]) comprising an adhesive, wherein the adhesive comprises polyacrylonitrile or carboxymethyl cellulose sodium ([0040]). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to have modified the separator of Chen by substituting carboxymethyl cellulose sodium for polyacrylonitrile because Arora teaches that both substances are known adhesives used in battery separators ([0040]). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved [MPEP § 2143, B ]. Further, Chen teaches that the separator may be modified beyond the disclosed embodiments ([0157]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CHRISTINE C. DISNEY whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1076 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-5:30 MT . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Tiffany Legette-Thompson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7078 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.C.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723