DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-16, and 18-20 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 15, and 20 are independent claims. Claims 5 and 17 have been canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim to foreign priority of Chinese application CN202110382817.X filed 04/09/2021. The instant application is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/079538 filed 03/07/2022.
Contingent Limitations
Section MPEP 2111.04(II) sets forth, “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met.” The following are contingent limitations which are not required to be found in the prior art under broadest reasonable interpretation. This does not necessarily include contingent limitations which are required to be found in the prior art.
Claim 1 is a method claim. All limitations including and seceding “in a case where the application switching operation is a clicking operation” are contingent limitations because they are not required in a case where the application switching operation is not a clicking operation. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require these contingent limitations. Any mapping provided for these contingent limitations is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 4 is a method claim. The limitation “in response to the sliding distance of the first sliding operation being less than a distance required to switch one split-screen application, switching one split-screen application by default” is contingent because the first sliding operation may be greater than or equal to the claimed “distance” thereby not requiring “switching one split-screen application by default”. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 4 does not require this contingent limitation. Any mapping provided for this contingent limitation is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 6 is a method claim. The limitations “in a case where the application switching operation is a drag-and-drop operation on the slider, the displaying the applications interfaces… further comprises: determining the second group… based on an end position of the drag-and-drop operation” is contingent because they are not required in a case where the application switching operation is not a drag-and-drop operation. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 6 does not require these contingent limitations. Any mapping provided for these contingent limitations is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 12 is a method claim. The limitations including and seceding “in response to a triggering operation on the combination identifier in a full-screen display state” are contingent because a triggering operation on the combination identifier is not required. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 12 does not require these contingent limitations. Any mapping provided for these contingent limitations is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 13 is a method claim. The limitations including and seceding “in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region” are contingent because a triggering operation on the combination identifier is not required. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 13 does not require these contingent limitations. Any mapping provided for these contingent limitations is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim 14 is a method claim. The limitations including and seceding “in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region” are contingent because a triggering operation on the combination identifier is not required. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 14 does not require these contingent limitations. Any mapping provided for these contingent limitations is for the sake of compact prosecution but is actually not required by the prior art to read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “in response to the sliding distance of the first sliding operation being less than a distance required to switch one split-screen application, switching one split-screen application by default.” This limitation is indefinite and illogical because switching one split-screen application despite the first sliding operation being less than “a distance required to switch one split-screen application” implies that sliding the “distance” is actually not required. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets “in response to the sliding distance of the first sliding operation being less than a distance required to switch one split-screen application, switching one split-screen application by default” as “in response to the sliding distance of the first sliding operation reaching a distance required to switch one split-screen application, switching one split-screen application by default.”
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites “displaying the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen based on the search result from the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier”. Parent claim 13 already recites “displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen; wherein the sixth group of split-screen applications comprises the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, and the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications illustrate a search result for the search content”. It is unclear if this problematic limitation of claim 14 should be interpreted as a new, separate instance or refers to the same instance as that set forth in parent claim 13. For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets the latter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lawson a method for displaying application interfaces, comprising:
displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen; wherein each group of split-screen applications comprises n adjacent split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications, m being an integer greater than or equal to n, and n being an integer greater than or equal to 2 (FIG. 3A and [0028-0029]: for example, a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications, in this case there are five as seen in navigation portion 301, are displayed in a split-screen manner in a display screen/scrollable desktop portion 302. The first group of split-screen applications includes two full applications in the scrollable desktop portion 302. Thus, in this example, m = 5 and n = 2.);
receiving an application switching operation (FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as detailed in [0030], an application switching operation occurs either via a user (i) “scroll[ing] the scrollable desktop 302, and the selection area 303 may automatically be moved in response” or (ii) “mov[ing] the selection area 303, and the scrollable desktop portion 302 automatically scrolls to show the portion within the selection area 303”; For additional details see also FIG. 1 and [0016-0018], and [0027]); and
displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split- screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation, wherein the second group of split-screen applications is partially or fully different from the first group of split-screen applications (FIG. 3B and [0030]: as exemplified in FIG. 3B, application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications is displayed based on the application switching operation. The second group is partially different from the first group seen in FIG. 3A.);
wherein a display region of the display screen comprises an interface display region and a menu bar display region, the interface display region being configured to display the application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and the menu bar display region being configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications ([0017-0018], FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as seen in the example of FIG. 3A, a display region comprises an interface display region/scrollable desktop portion 302 configured to display application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and a menu bar display region/navigation portion 301 configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications; See FIG. 2 and [0020-0027] for additional details for the scrollable desktop portion and navigation portion);
[…] the displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation comprises:
determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a target split-screen application corresponding to the target split-screen application identifier and an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged and according to a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart, wherein the second group of split-screen applications comprises the target split-screen application ([0017-0018], FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]: application switching operation involves moving the selection object, represented by selection area 303 and supported in [0027], over and encompassing the target split-screen application. This causes the transition of the selection area 303 as seen in FIG. 3A to the selection area 303 seen in FIG. 3B, which determines the second group based on the target split-screen application corresponding to the target split-screen application identifier and an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged as seen in navigation portion 301. As seen in FIG. 3B, a minimum number of applications spaced apart is 2 in accordance with the selection area 303); and
displaying the application interfaces of the second group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIG. 3B and [0030]).
Lawson does not explicitly teach in a case where the application switching operation is a clicking operation on a target split-screen application identifier in the menu bar display region. However, such contingent limitations are not required. Thus, Lawson anticipates claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Lawson further teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the application switching operation is a first sliding operation on the n application interfaces within the display screen (FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as detailed in [0030], an application switching operation occurs either via a user (i) “scroll[ing] the scrollable desktop 302, and the selection area 303 may automatically be moved in response” or (ii) “mov[ing] the selection area 303, and the scrollable desktop portion 302 automatically scrolls to show the portion within the selection area 303”; For additional details see also FIG. 1 and [0016-0018], and [0027]);
the displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation comprises:
determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation; and
displaying the application interfaces of the second group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]: based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation, the second group is determined. The application interfaces of the second group are displayed as seen in FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 4, Lawson further teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation comprises:
in response to the sliding distance of the first sliding operation *being less than a distance required to switch one split-screen application, switching one split-screen application by default (See “Contingent Limitations” above; *See 112(b) issue and interpretation; FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as detailed in [0030], an application switching operation occurs either via a user (i) “scroll[ing] the scrollable desktop 302, and the selection area 303 may automatically be moved in response” or (ii) “mov[ing] the selection area 303, and the scrollable desktop portion 302 automatically scrolls to show the portion within the selection area 303”. In the example of FIGS. 3A-B, the user for example has slid a distance required to switch one split-screen application, and thus switches one split-screen application; For additional details see also FIG. 1 and [0016-0018], and [0027].).
Regarding claim 6, Lawson in view of Yook teaches the method of claim 1. Lawson further teaches wherein a slider is further displayed in the menu bar display region, the slider being configured to frame and select the split-screen application identifiers of the n split- screen applications currently displayed; and
In a case where the application switching operation is a drag-and-drop operation on the slider ([0017-0018], FIG. 2 and [0026-0027], FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as seen in the example of FIG. 3A, a display region comprises an interface display region/scrollable desktop portion 302 configured to display application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and a menu bar display region/navigation portion 301 configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications. Selection area 303 acts as a slider configured to frame and select the split-screen application identifiers. The application switching operation involves a drag-and-drop operation on the slider, the drag-and-drop operation aligning with Applicant’s description and example in [00118] and FIG. 3 of Applicant’s Specification), the displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation further comprises:
determining the second group of split-screen applications from the m split-screen applications based on an end position of the drag-and-drop operation ([0017-0018], FIG. 2 and [0026-0027], FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Rasmussen et al. (US 9021386 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Lawson further teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation comprises:
in response to an existence of another split-screen application after the first group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the sliding direction of the first sliding operation, performing the step of determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation (FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]: there exists another split-screen application after the first group in the sliding direction associated with scrolling to the left. Based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation, the second group is determined. The application interfaces of the second group are displayed as seen in FIG. 3B);
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to no existence of another split-screen application after the first group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the sliding direction of the first sliding operation (Alternatively, using FIG. 3B for reference, the selection area 303 may already be at an end when displaying a first group of split-screen applications while a first sliding operation to the left may occur. Lawson does not explicitly detail what would happen in this case, so see the secondary reference’s teachings below).
Lawson does not explicitly teach in response to no existence of another split-screen application after the first group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the sliding direction of the first sliding operation, not responding to the first sliding operation.
Rasmussen teaches in response to no existence of another split-screen application/content item after the first group of split-screen applications/group of content items among the m split-screen applications/content items in the sliding direction of the first sliding operation, not responding to the first sliding operation (FIGS. 16R-S and Col. 45, lines 51-65: “In some embodiments, when the scrolling input places the scrolling icon beyond the stopper icon or an end of the view window, the target portion of the document is an end of the document (e.g., 2310 in FIG. 16S). Typically, when this scrolling input is received, the target portion of the document (e.g., 2310 in FIG. 16R) is at a location outside of the view window 2304, and currently displayed portion of the document is remote from the end of the document. If the currently displayed portion of the document includes the end of the document, the scrolling input described above will not cause any additional scrolling of the document”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Rasmussen so as to include in response to no existence of another split-screen application after the first group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the sliding direction of the first sliding operation, not responding to the first sliding operation. Doing so would prevent confusion to the user the order of the split-screen applications and confirm to the user that they are at an end of the order. This restricted arrangement in which scrolling does not occur past an end of the split-screen applications allows the user to more easily comprehend the linear, non-looped nature of the split-screen applications’ arrangement. In this way, the user can scroll the split-screen applications, knowing that there is a clear limit of where display of these applications ends when a first sliding operation does not cause any change.
Claim(s) 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Jin et al. (US 2015/0309689 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lawson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lawson does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function;
receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications; and
displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application.
Jin teaches receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: see the application add operation in FIG. 9 in which an application selection list/application tray 20 is displayed. Application tray 20 comprises an application identifier/icon 17 of a camera application);
receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: Note that the third screen in FIG. 9 is mislabeled as (a) but should be (c) as supported by [0160]. A triggering operation is seen in FIGS. 9(b)-(c) in which a user touches icon 17 and drags the touched icon 17 to an area of a boundary between window 12 and window 13. A target application/camera application corresponding to the target application identifier/icon 17 is added to the m split-screen applications as seen in window 19 of FIG. 9(c)); and
displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application (S840-850 of FIG. 8 and [0155-0156], FIG. 9 and [0160]: application interfaces of a third group are displayed as seen in FIG. 9(c) among the m+1 split-screen applications. The third group includes the target application which is displayed in window 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Jin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function; receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications; and displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application. Doing so would grant the user more flexibility by allowing the user to add an application as part of the split-screen applications wherein the added application was previously inaccessible among the split-screen applications. In this way, the user is able to access a greater number of split-screen applications and is not limited to a preset or predetermined group of m split-screen applications.
Regarding claim 8, Lawson in view of Jin teaches the method according to claim 7.
Jin further teaches wherein the receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list comprise:
receiving a triggering operation on a toolbar display control and displaying a toolbar, wherein the toolbar display control is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces, and the toolbar comprises an application add control; and receiving a triggering operation on the application add control, and displaying the application selection list in the display screen; or,
receiving a second sliding operation within an application add region and displaying the application selection list in the display screen, wherein the application add region is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: see second sliding operation within an application add region/left edge of a screen in FIG. 9(a) to display the application selection list/application tray 20. The application add region is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces, such as the junction of windows 11 and 12 among the n adjacent application interfaces); or,
receiving a third sliding operation of which a sliding start point is located at a predetermined edge of the display screen, and displaying the application selection list in a floating-window manner overlaid on the application interfaces of the first group of slit-screen applications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson in view of Jin by incorporating the further teachings of Jin so as to include wherein the receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list comprise: receiving a triggering operation on a toolbar display control and displaying a toolbar, wherein the toolbar display control is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces, and the toolbar comprises an application add control; and receiving a triggering operation on the application add control, and displaying the application selection list in the display screen; or, receiving a second sliding operation within an application add region and displaying the application selection list in the display screen, wherein the application add region is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces. Doing so would dedicate a specific region to trigger display of the application selection list to help prevent unintended user input triggering its display and thus prevent wasting of processing resources and display real estate. Instead, the user must precisely perform a sliding operation within an application add region to access the application selection list.
Regarding claim 9, Lawson in view of Jin teaches the method according to claim 7. Jin further teaches wherein the receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications comprise:
receiving a click operation on the target application identifier and determining the target application as a (m+1)th split-screen application; or,
receiving a drag-and-drop operation on the target application identifier, and adding the target application to the m split-screen applications and determining an order in which the m+1 split-screen applications are arranged based on an end position of the drag-and-drop operation (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: Note that the third screen in FIG. 9 is mislabeled as (a) but should be (c) as supported by [0160]. A triggering operation is seen in FIGS. 9(b)-(c) in which a user touches icon 17 and drags the touched icon 17 to an end position of an area of a boundary between window 12 and window 13. A target application/camera application corresponding to the target application identifier/icon 17 is added to the m split-screen applications as seen in window 19 of FIG. 9(c). An order in which the m+1 split-screen applications are arranged based on the end position of the drag-and-drop operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson in view of Jin by incorporating the further teachings of Jin so as to include wherein the receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications comprise: receiving a click operation on the target application identifier and determining the target application as a (m+1)th split-screen application; or, receiving a drag-and-drop operation on the target application identifier, and adding the target application to the m split-screen applications and determining an order in which the m+1 split-screen applications are arranged based on an end position of the drag-and-drop operation. Doing so would dedicate a specific drag-and-drop operation to trigger addition of the target application to help prevent unintended user input adding an application and thus prevent wasting of processing resources and display real estate. Instead, the user must precisely perform a drag-and-drop operation add the target application.
Regarding claim 10, Lawson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lawson does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen;
removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split- screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications; and
displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen.
Jin teaches after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen (FIG. 5(b) and [0139-0141]: see first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications), further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: a triggering operation is received on an interface deletion control in a target application interface/window band. The interface deletion control is in the window band, itself. As detailed, “if an input of touching the window for a preset period of time and swiping the touched window in a left or right direction is received, the device 1000 may remove the touched window from the window band”; For another example see FIG. 48 and [0304]);
removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split-screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: a split-screen application, in this case weather application, corresponding to the target application interface/window band for weather application, is removed from the m split-screen operations. A fourth group is determined. The fourth group does not include the weather application which is removed so the fourth group is from the m-1 split-screen applications. The one different split-screen application in the fourth group is the inclusion of the schedule application, which for illustrative purposes can be seen partially at the bottom of the screen in FIG. 5(a), fully in FIG. 3(a), or fully and described in FIG. 21 and [0206]; For another example, see FIG. 48 and [0304]: a first group may be seen in FIG. 48(b) to include “Gallery”, “Web clip”, “Music”, “YouTube”, and SMS as seen in FIG. 48(b). A fourth group seen in FIG. 48(c) includes these windows, except for “Web clip” which was remove, in addition to a new window for a “Map” application, the one-different split-screen application); and
displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: see fourth group displayed in FIG. 5(c); For another example see the fourth group in FIG. 48(c) and [0304]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Jin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen; removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split- screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications; and displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen. Doing so would grant the user more flexibility by allowing the user to remove an undesired or irrelevant application from the split-screen applications to reduce clutter on the display and conserve processing resources.
Regarding claim 11, Lawson teaches the method according to claim 1. Lawson does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving a triggering operation on a toolbar display control and displaying a toolbar, wherein the toolbar display control is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces, and the toolbar comprises an application exchange control; and receiving a triggering operation on the application exchange control, exchanging a display position of the two adjacent application interfaces on both sides of the toolbar display control in the display screen, and updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged; or, receiving a dragging operation on the n adjacent application interfaces in the display screen, updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged based on an end position of the dragging operation, and displaying the application interfaces of a fifth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the fifth group of split-screen applications comprises a split-screen application corresponding to a target application interface.
Jin teaches after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen (FIG. 5(b) and [0139-0141]: see first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications), further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on a toolbar display control and displaying a toolbar, wherein the toolbar display control is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces, and the toolbar comprises an application exchange control; and receiving a triggering operation on the application exchange control, exchanging a display position of the two adjacent application interfaces on both sides of the toolbar display control in the display screen, and updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged; or,
receiving a dragging operation on the n adjacent application interfaces in the display screen, updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged based on an end position of the dragging operation, and displaying the application interfaces of a fifth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the fifth group of split-screen applications comprises a split-screen application corresponding to a target application interface (FIG. 5(a)-(b) and [0140-0141]: a drag operation occurs on the n adjacent application interfaces as seen in FIG. 5(a), causing updating of an order of the m split-screen applications based on an end position of the dragging operation as seen in the transition from FIG. 5(a) to FIG. 5(b), which illustrates a fifth group of split-screen applications, comprising a split-screen application, like weather application, corresponding to a target application interface; See also similar example detailed in FIG. 7 and [0147-0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Jin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving a triggering operation on a toolbar display control and displaying a toolbar, wherein the toolbar display control is located at a junction of two adjacent application interfaces among the n adjacent application interfaces, and the toolbar comprises an application exchange control; and receiving a triggering operation on the application exchange control, exchanging a display position of the two adjacent application interfaces on both sides of the toolbar display control in the display screen, and updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged; or, receiving a dragging operation on the n adjacent application interfaces in the display screen, updating an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged based on an end position of the dragging operation, and displaying the application interfaces of a fifth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the fifth group of split-screen applications comprises a split-screen application corresponding to a target application interface. Doing so would grant greater flexibility to the user by allowing the user to change the arrangement of the m split-screen applications for a more convenient and/or appealing layout. In this way, the user can more effectively view contents of the split-screen applications arranged in a customized order. The user is not restricted to a predetermined order of the m split-screen applications, which may be less optimal in accordance with the user’s preference of what order of contents the user would like to view the split-screen applications.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Walkin (US 2022/0083214 A1), in view of Yook et al. (US 2010/0248788 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Lawson teaches the method according to claim 1.
Lawson does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on a combination save control and determining the m split-screen applications as a split-screen application combination;
generating a combination identifier of the split-screen application combination and displaying the combination identifier in an application presentation interface; and
in response to a triggering operation on the combination identifier in a full-screen display state, controlling applications in the split-screen application combination to enter a split-screen state, and displaying the n split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen.
Walkin teaches after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on a combination save control and determining the m split-screen applications as a split-screen application combination;
generating a combination identifier of the split-screen application combination and displaying the combination identifier in an application presentation interface (FIGS. 6C-E, [0302-0305], and [0425]: after displaying a first group of split-screen applications, as seen in FIG. 6C, a triggering operation/user input 602 is received on a combination save control, or an application interface, itself, as seen in FIGS. 6C-D. A combination identifier/representation 602 is generated and displayed in an application presentation interface seen in FIG. 6E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Walkin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving a triggering operation on a combination save control and determining the m split-screen applications as a split-screen application combination; generating a combination identifier of the split-screen application combination and displaying the combination identifier in an application presentation interface. Doing so would improve convenience to the user as the user is able to save a set group of split-screen applications for future use. In this way, the user does not have to manually configure the split-screen at a future instance to display the same exact split-screen applications.
Lawson in view of Walkin does not explicitly teach in response to a triggering operation on the combination identifier in a full-screen display state, controlling applications in the split-screen application combination to enter a split-screen state, and displaying the n split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen. However, this is a contingent limitation. Thus, Lawson in view of Walkin sufficiently teaches claim 12. For the sake of compact prosecution, see below.
Yook teaches in response to a triggering operation on the combination identifier in a full-screen display state, controlling applications in the split-screen application combination to enter a split-screen state, and displaying the n split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIG. 5D and [0068-0071]: a triggering operation occurs on the combination identifier for dual menu item “AB” in a full-screen display in screen 533. In response, applications are controlled to enter a split-screen state as seen in screen 535 in which n split-screen applications are displayed among m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson in view of Walkin by incorporating the teachings of Yook so as to include in response to a triggering operation on the combination identifier in a full-screen display state, controlling applications in the split-screen application combination to enter a split-screen state, and displaying the n split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen. Doing so would allow the user to efficiently access a saved combination of split-screen applications using the combination identifier. By using the combination identifier to the user’s advantage, the time, energy, and processing resources are conserved as the user does not have to reconfigure a split-screen to a desired layout previously accessed by the user. This is especially useful if the particular combination is a frequently accessed layout.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Walkin et al. (US 2022/0326816 A1, hereinafter referred to as Walkin2).
Regarding claim 13, Lawson teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein a display region of the display screen comprises an interface display region and a menu bar display region, the interface display region is configured to display the application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications (0017-0018], FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as seen in the example of FIG. 3A, a display region comprises an interface display region/scrollable desktop portion 302 configured to display application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and a menu bar display region/navigation portion 301 configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications; See FIG. 2 and [0020-0027] for additional details for the scrollable desktop portion and navigation portion).
Lawson does not explicitly teach the menu bar display region comprises a search control;
wherein after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, the method further comprises:
receiving a triggering operation on a search control and displaying a search bar, wherein the search bar comprises a search content input region and a search application identifier, the search application identifier being an application identifier of a split-screen application that supports a search function among the m split-screen application; and
in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region, displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the sixth group of split-screen applications comprises the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, and the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications illustrate a search result for the search content.
Walkin2 teaches the menu bar display region comprises a search control (FIGS. 4A6-4A7 and [0201-0202]: menu bar display region may be the region on which the user performs input 4062. The region comprises a search control as evident by the transition from FIG. 4A6 to FIG. 4A7. The search control may be represented by home screen 4002);
wherein after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen (FIGS. 4A5-A7 and [0200-0202]: after displaying of application interfaces of a first group as seen in FIG. 4A5), the method further comprises:
receiving a triggering operation on a search control and displaying a search bar, wherein the search bar comprises a search content input region and a search application identifier, the search application identifier being an application identifier of a split-screen application that supports a search function among the m split-screen application (FIGS. 4A5-A7 and [0200-0202]: after displaying of application interfaces of a first group as seen in FIG. 4A5, a trigger operation/input 4062 is received on a search control/home screen 4002. This causes display of a search bar/search input box 4064, which comprises a search content input region/region 4066 and a search application identifier, like any one of affordances of applications like application affordance 244, which is searchable and thus supports a search function among the m split-screen application.); and
in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region, displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the sixth group of split-screen applications comprises the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, and the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications illustrate a search result for the search content (FIGS. 4A7-4A9 and [0202-0203]: Search content is obtained through the search content input region/region 4066, which “accepts text input (e.g., to allow for a text-based search for a particular application, e.g., using the name of the application)” as supported in [0022]. For example, the user may search for “Notes” application and then select an affordance corresponding to the Notes application, like affordance 244. In response to obtaining a search content for “Notes” application, a sixth group of split-screen applications is displayed as seen in FIG. 4A9, the sixth group comprising the split-screen application/Notes application corresponding to the search application identifier/affordance 244. The sixth group illustrate a search result for the search content as the sixth group include Notes application in first view 4076.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Walkin2 so as to include the menu bar display region comprises a search control; wherein after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, the method further comprises: receiving a triggering operation on a search control and displaying a search bar, wherein the search bar comprises a search content input region and a search application identifier, the search application identifier being an application identifier of a split-screen application that supports a search function among the m split-screen application; and in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region, displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen, wherein the sixth group of split-screen applications comprises the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, and the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications illustrate a search result for the search content. Doing so would improve the efficiency of configuring a split-screen for the user as the user does not have to manually scroll through a list of available applications to find the relevant application. Instead, the user may be offered a means of searching for the relevant application. The ability to search for a particular application to be included in the split-screen is especially useful in cases when there may many available applications that would be too time-consuming to scroll through or when applications in a menu may be visually similar to one another and thus difficult to visually discern by the user.
Regarding claim 14, Lawson in view of Walkin2 teaches the method according to claim 13.
Walkin2 further teaches wherein in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region, the displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen comprises:
obtaining the search content in response to a content input operation in the search content input region (See “Contingent Limitations” above; FIGS. 4A7-4A9 and [0202-0203]: Search content is obtained through the search content input region/region 4066, which “accepts text input (e.g., to allow for a text-based search for a particular application, e.g., using the name of the application)” as supported in [0022]. For example, as part of a content input operation, the user may search for “Notes” application and then select an affordance corresponding to the Notes application, like affordance 244. In response to obtaining a search content for “Notes” application, a sixth group of split-screen applications is displayed as seen in FIG. 4A9, the sixth group comprising the split-screen application/Notes application corresponding to the search application identifier/affordance 244. The sixth group illustrate a search result for the search content as the sixth group include Notes application in first view 4076);
sending a broadcast message to the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, wherein the broadcast message comprises the search content and is configured to instruct the split-screen application to search content (FIGS. 4A7-4A9 and [0202-0203]: Notes application is sent an instruction/broadcast message, which comprises the search content and instructs the Notes application to search content as evident by the search box in FIG. 4A9); and
displaying the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen based on the search result from the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier (FIGS. 4A7-4A9 and [0202-0203]: Search content is obtained through the search content input region/region 4066, which “accepts text input (e.g., to allow for a text-based search for a particular application, e.g., using the name of the application)” as supported in [0022]. For example, the user may search for “Notes” application and then select an affordance corresponding to the Notes application, like affordance 244. In response to obtaining a search content for “Notes” application, a sixth group of split-screen applications is displayed as seen in FIG. 4A9, the sixth group comprising the split-screen application/Notes application corresponding to the search application identifier/affordance 244. The sixth group illustrate a search result for the search content as the sixth group include Notes application in first view 4076).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Walkin2 so as to include wherein in response to obtaining a search content through the search content input region, the displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen comprises: obtaining the search content in response to a content input operation in the search content input region; sending a broadcast message to the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier, wherein the broadcast message comprises the search content and is configured to instruct the split-screen application to search content; and displaying the application interfaces of the sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen based on the search result from the split-screen application corresponding to the search application identifier. Doing so would improve the efficiency of configuring a split-screen for the user as the user does not have to manually scroll through a list of available applications to find the relevant application. Instead, the user may be offered a means of searching for the relevant application. As set forth previously, the ability to search for a particular application to be included in the split-screen is especially useful in cases when there may many available applications that would be too time-consuming to scroll through or when applications in a menu may be visually similar to one another and thus difficult to visually discern by the user.
Claim(s) 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Yook et al. (US 2010/0248788 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lawson teaches A terminal, comprising a processor and a memory; wherein the memory stores at least one instruction, at least one segment of a program, a code set, or an instruction set, and when the at least one instruction, the at least one segment of the program, the code set, or the instruction set is loaded and executed by the processor (FIG. 1 and [0013-0018]), the processor is caused to perform:
displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen; wherein each group of split-screen applications comprises n adjacent split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications, m being an integer greater than or equal to n, and n being an integer greater than or equal to 2 (FIG. 3A and [0028-0029]: for example, a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications, in this case there are five as seen in navigation portion 301, are displayed in a split-screen manner in a display screen/scrollable desktop portion 302. The first group of split-screen applications includes two full applications in the scrollable desktop portion 302. Thus, in this example, m = 5 and n = 2.);
receiving an application switching operation (FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as detailed in [0030], an application switching operation occurs either via a user (i) “scroll[ing] the scrollable desktop 302, and the selection area 303 may automatically be moved in response” or (ii) “mov[ing] the selection area 303, and the scrollable desktop portion 302 automatically scrolls to show the portion within the selection area 303”; For additional details see also FIG. 1 and [0016-0018], and [0027]); and
displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split- screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation, wherein the second group of split-screen applications is partially or fully different from the first group of split-screen applications (FIG. 3B and [0030]: as exemplified in FIG. 3B, application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications is displayed based on the application switching operation. The second group is partially different from the first group seen in FIG. 3A.);
wherein a display region of the display screen comprises an interface display region and a menu bar display region, the interface display region being configured to display the application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and the menu bar display region being configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications ([0017-0018], FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as seen in the example of FIG. 3A, a display region comprises an interface display region/scrollable desktop portion 302 configured to display application interfaces of the n adjacent split-screen applications, and a menu bar display region/navigation portion 301 configured to display split-screen application identifiers of the m split-screen applications; See FIG. 2 and [0020-0027] for additional details for the scrollable desktop portion and navigation portion);
[…] the displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation comprises:
determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a target split-screen application corresponding to the target split-screen application identifier and an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged and according to a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart, wherein the second group of split-screen applications comprises the target split-screen application ([0017-0018], FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]: application switching operation involves moving the selection object, represented by selection area 303 and supported in [0027], over and encompassing the target split-screen application. This causes the transition of the selection area 303 as seen in FIG. 3A to the selection area 303 seen in FIG. 3B, which determines the second group based on the target split-screen application corresponding to the target split-screen application identifier and an order in which the m split-screen applications are arranged as seen in navigation portion 301. As seen in FIG. 3B, a minimum number of applications spaced apart is 2 in accordance with the selection area 303); and
displaying the application interfaces of the second group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIG. 3B and [0030]).
Lawson does not explicitly teach in a case where the application switching operation is a clicking operation on a target split-screen application identifier in the menu bar display region.
Yook teaches in a case where the application switching operation is a clicking operation on a target split-screen application identifier in the menu bar display region (FIGS. 5a and 5b and [0059-0064]: using the example of FIG. 5a, the application switching operation is a clicking operation on a target split-screen application identifier, like icon for App. C, in the menu bar display region. This causes display of a new, second group of applications seen in screen 503, like applications C and B, in contrast with the first group of applications A and B seen in screen 501).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson by incorporating the teachings of Yook so as to include in a case where the application switching operation is a clicking operation on a target split-screen application identifier in the menu bar display region. Doing so would allow the user to more precisely select an application to be included in the display. The user is offered a more simple input method of application switching via clicking and may conserve energy from swiping and navigating to the desired application.
Regarding claim 16, the Lawson in view of Yook teaches the terminal according to claim 15. Lawson further teaches Lawson further teaches wherein the application switching operation is a first sliding operation on the n application interfaces within the display screen (FIGS. 3A-B and [0028-0030]: as detailed in [0030], an application switching operation occurs either via a user (i) “scroll[ing] the scrollable desktop 302, and the selection area 303 may automatically be moved in response” or (ii) “mov[ing] the selection area 303, and the scrollable desktop portion 302 automatically scrolls to show the portion within the selection area 303”; For additional details see also FIG. 1 and [0016-0018], and [0027]);
the displaying the application interfaces of a second group of split-screen applications among the m split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen based on the application switching operation comprises:
determining the second group of split-screen applications based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation; and
displaying the application interfaces of the second group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]: based on a sliding direction and a sliding distance of the first sliding operation, the second group is determined. The application interfaces of the second group are displayed as seen in FIG. 3B).
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites a computer-readable storage medium, storing at least one computer program; wherein when the at least one computer program is loaded and executed by a processor (FIG. 1 and [0013-0018]), the processor is caused to perform operations corresponding to the terminal of claim 15 and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lawson et al. (US 2014/0333674 A1), in view of Yook et al. (US 2010/0248788 A1), and in view of Jin et al. (US 2015/0309689 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lawson in view of Yook teaches the terminal according to claim 15.
Lawson in view of Yook does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function;
receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications; and
displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application.
Jin teaches receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: see the application add operation in FIG. 9 in which an application selection list/application tray 20 is displayed. Application tray 20 comprises an application identifier/icon 17 of a camera application);
receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications (FIG. 8 and [0150-0156], FIG. 9 and [0157-0160]: Note that the third screen in FIG. 9 is mislabeled as (a) but should be (c) as supported by [0160]. A triggering operation is seen in FIGS. 9(b)-(c) in which a user touches icon 17 and drags the touched icon 17 to an area of a boundary between window 12 and window 13. A target application/camera application corresponding to the target application identifier/icon 17 is added to the m split-screen applications as seen in window 19 of FIG. 9(c)); and
displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application (S840-850 of FIG. 8 and [0155-0156], FIG. 9 and [0160]: application interfaces of a third group are displayed as seen in FIG. 9(c) among the m+1 split-screen applications. The third group includes the target application which is displayed in window 19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson in view of Yook by incorporating the teachings of Jin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving an application add operation and displaying an application selection list, wherein the application selection list comprises an application identifier corresponding to each of at least one application that is not enabled with the split-screen function; receiving a triggering operation on a target application identifier in the application selection list, and adding a target application corresponding to the target application identifier to the m split-screen applications; and displaying the application interfaces of a third group of split-screen applications among the m+1 split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen, wherein the third group of split-screen applications comprises the target application. Doing so would grant the user more flexibility by allowing the user to add an application as part of the split-screen applications wherein the added application was previously inaccessible among the split-screen applications. In this way, the user is able to access a greater number of split-screen applications and is not limited to a preset or predetermined group of m split-screen applications.
Regarding claim 19, Lawson in view of Yook teaches the method according to claim 15.
Lawson in view of Yook does not explicitly teach after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen;
removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split- screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications; and
displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen.
Jin teaches after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen (FIG. 5(b) and [0139-0141]: see first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications), further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: a triggering operation is received on an interface deletion control in a target application interface/window band. The interface deletion control is in the window band, itself. As detailed, “if an input of touching the window for a preset period of time and swiping the touched window in a left or right direction is received, the device 1000 may remove the touched window from the window band”; For another example see FIG. 48 and [0304]);
removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split-screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: a split-screen application, in this case weather application, corresponding to the target application interface/window band for weather application, is removed from the m split-screen operations. A fourth group is determined. The fourth group does not include the weather application which is removed so the fourth group is from the m-1 split-screen applications. The one different split-screen application in the fourth group is the inclusion of the schedule application, which for illustrative purposes can be seen partially at the bottom of the screen in FIG. 5(a), fully in FIG. 3(a), or fully and described in FIG. 21 and [0206]; For another example, see FIG. 48 and [0304]: a first group may be seen in FIG. 48(b) to include “Gallery”, “Web clip”, “Music”, “YouTube”, and SMS as seen in FIG. 48(b). A fourth group seen in FIG. 48(c) includes these windows, except for “Web clip” which was remove, in addition to a new window for a “Map” application, the one-different split-screen application); and
displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen (FIG. 3(b) and [0134], FIG. 5(c) and [0142]: see fourth group displayed in FIG. 5(c); For another example see the fourth group in FIG. 48(c) and [0304]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lawson in view of Yook by incorporating the teachings of Jin so as to include after the displaying the application interfaces of a first group of split-screen applications among m split-screen applications in a split-screen manner in a display screen, further comprising: receiving a triggering operation on an interface deletion control in a target application interface in the display screen; removing a split-screen application corresponding to the target application interface from the m split- screen operations, and determining a fourth group of split-screen applications from the m-1 split-screen applications, wherein there is one different split-screen application between the fourth group of split-screen applications and the first group of split-screen applications; and displaying the application interfaces of the fourth group of split-screen applications in the split-screen manner in the display screen. Doing so would grant the user more flexibility by allowing the user to remove an undesired or irrelevant application from the split-screen applications to reduce clutter on the display and conserve processing resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In Remarks, Applicant argues:
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 4, the claimed feature “can be interpreted as a fault-tolerant mechanism for user operations” and thus is “clear and consistent to the logic of interactive user design in the field” (p. 14 of Remarks).
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 14, the feature of “displaying the application interfaces of a sixth group of split-screen applications in the display screen” refers to the same display event of claim 13 (p. 17 of Remarks).
Regarding amended claim 1, “Lawson is silent on selecting the applications to be displayed based on a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart” (p. 20 of Remarks). “Yook is also silent on determining the functional view area(s) to be displayed based on the clicked application icon and a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart” (p. 21 of Remarks). Lawson and Yook fail to disclose the “determining the second group of split-screen applications” as required by the claim (p. 21 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding point (a), while claim interpretation is provided in light of the Specification, the unamended claim remains illogical and thus the 112(b) rejection is maintained. Following Applicant’s logic (p. 14 of Remarks), the claimed element of “a distance required to switch one split-screen application” would be rendered meaningless. Applicant is advised to review the claim language and make the appropriate amendments.
Regarding point (b), if claim 14 further defines limitations within claim 13, as Applicant implies (p. 17 of Remarks), claim 14 should not recite nested claim language as drafted. In this case, both “obtaining a search content” and “displaying the application interfaces” of claim 14 further define corresponding steps in claim 13 yet are improperly nested in the claim. The claim language fails to meet legal standards. Therefore, the 112(b) rejection is maintained.
Regarding point (c), note that the method of claim 1 contains contingent limitations, including the argued limitation, which is not required. However, for the sake of compact prosecution and in light of amended independent claims 15 and 20, the argument is herein addressed. Lawson teaches selecting the applications to be displayed based on a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart (FIGS. 3A-B and [0027-0030]). As seen in FIG. 3B, a principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart is 2 applications in accordance with the selection area 30. Without additional details regarding this “principle of a minimum number of applications spaced apart”, Lawson sufficiently discloses this claimed feature. The rationale to combine Lawson and Yook to arrive at amended independent claims 15 and 20, as a whole, is sufficient. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171