Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 30, 2026.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification repeatedly uses the word “alkylidene” to mean “alkylene”. See, for example, [0029] of the instant specification
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 1 and 7 use the word “alkylidene” to mean “alkylene.” Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and therefore include the same limitation.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be read as reciting “alkylene.”
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 uses the word “percentage” to mean “mass fraction.” Appropriate correction is required. Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1 and therefore include the same limitation.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be read as reciting “mass fraction.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2019/0074538 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery with an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent (EC-PC-PP), a lithium salt (LiPF6), a nitrile substance (succinonitrile), and a compound represented by Formula 1 of the instant claim for R1=O and R2=a C3 alkylene group (propane sultone), with b=0.05 and c=0.03 (5 g of succinonitrile and 3 g of propane sultone in 100 g of electrolyte, respectively) (Lee Example 4, [0123]), each of which falls within the ranges of the instant claim.
Lee does not teach a reduced voltage amplitude during high temperature cycling. However, limitations directed to charging conditions are considered intended use limitations. Absent structural differences between a claim and a prior art material or article, a recitation of the claimed material or article’s intended use cannot alone patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2114 I-II, citing, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). Thus, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as Lee’s is, it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II, citing In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claims 3, 5, and 10, Lee does not teach the claimed voltage reduction process. However, limitations directed to charging conditions are considered intended use limitations. Absent structural differences between a claim and a prior art material or article, a recitation of the claimed material or article’s intended use cannot alone patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. See MPEP 2114 I-II, citing, e.g., Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). Thus, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, as Lee’s is, it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II, citing In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 6, the nitrile substance is succinonitrile (Lee Example 4, [0123]).
Regarding claim 7, the Formula 1 additive is propane sultone, which has R1=O and R2=a C3 alkylene group (Lee Example 4, [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, the Formula 1 additive is 1,3-propane sultone (Lee Example 4, [0123]).
Regarding claim 9, b=0.05 (Lee Example 4, [0123]), which falls within the range of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Lee does not explicitly disclose the claimed capacity retention and thickness change. Lee teaches that it is desirable to maximize capacity retention and minimize swelling by appropriate electrolyte selection (Lee [0092] and [0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to maximize capacity retention and minimize swelling (i.e. thickness increase) as much as possible, including to values within the ranges of the instant claims.
Conclusion
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722