DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC, 112 (b): Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the Remarks, with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1-7, 11-17 have been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC, 103: Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended the limitation: wherein the IP address request information comprises a prior IPv4 address, a prior IPv6 address, or a prior IPv6 prefix to wherein the IP address request information comprises a previously assigned IPv4 address, a previously assigned IPv6 address, or a previously assigned IPv6 prefix, which is disclosed by Teyeb at fig. 9, step 110, and p. [0132]-[0133]: a request Xn Signaling from Source Donor-CU 20 to Target Donor-CU 30 comprises handover request with additional information, wherein the additional information may comprise an IP address. The IP address is inherently an IPv4, or an IPv6 address.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Teyeb et al (hereinafter “Teyeb”), US Pub. No. 2023/0269644 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Teyeb discloses wireless communication methods and systems, and more specifically to inter-Centralized Unit (CU) migration in an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network, the wireless systems and methods comprise: a processor implemented in a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) donor (fig. 17 illustrates an IAB node comprising a processor 510); and a transceiver, coupled to the processor (transceiver 540 coupled to processor 510), configured to: transmit, to a second IAB donor, an Xn Application Protocol (XnAP) message comprising an Internet Protocol (IP) address request information (fig. 9, step 110, and p. [0132]-[0133]: a request Xn Signaling from Source Donor-CU 20 to Target Donor-CU 30 comprises handover request with additional information, wherein the additional information may comprise an IP address), wherein the IP address request information comprises a previously assigned IPv4 address, a previously assigned IPv6 address, or a previously assigned IPv6 prefix (fig. 9, step 110, and p. [0133]: the additional information may comprise an IP address, the IP address is inherently an IPv4, or an IPv6 address); and receive, from the second IAB donor, an IP address information (fig. 9, step 115, and p. [0142]-[0143]: The source donor-CU20 (i.e. CU1) will get the information about the new IP addresses and will use them from there on instead of the old IP addresses), wherein a wireless device is configured to migrate from the first IAB donor to the second IAB donor (p. [0049], abstract: A source IAB, node 20 sends a handover request (110) from the source IAB node 20 to a target IAB node 30 to which a Mobile Termination (MT) 10 of an IAB node is to be migrated. The handover request 110 comprises an indication of a proxied inter donor IAB node migration of the MT 10 to the target IAB node 30).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Teyeb discloses wherein the IP address information comprises at least one of an IP address information of an IAB node, an IP address information of the first IAB donor, or an IP address information of the second IAB donor (p. [0142]: The target donor-DU will allocate the IP addresses, and send them to the target donor-CU30. The source donor-CU20 (i.e. CU1) will get the information about the new IP addresses and will use them from there on instead of the old IP addresses).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Teyeb discloses wherein the XnAP message comprises an XnAP handover request message (p. [0132]: XnAP handover preparation message (i.e. handover request message)).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Teyeb discloses wherein the IP address request information is included in a Radio Resource Control (RRC) Context Information Element (IE) in the XnAP handover request message (fig. 6, [0025]-[0027]: the XnAP handover request comprises RRC context setup request and context setup response).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Teyeb discloses wherein the IP address request information is included in a HandoverPreparationInformation message in the XnAP handover request message (p. [0052]: the handover request comprises an XnAP handover preparation message).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Teyeb discloses wherein the IP address request information comprises at least one of a number of requested IPv4 addresses, a number of requested IPv6 addresses, a usage of an IPv6 prefix, a usage of the requested IPv4 addresses, a usage of the requested IPv6 addresses (fig. 9, step 110, and p. [0133]: the additional information may comprise an IP address, the IP address disclosed by Teyeb is inherently at least one of IPv4 or IPv6 address).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Teyeb discloses wherein the IP address information comprises at least one of an IP address for IP security (IPsec) for F1-U traffic, an IP address for IPsec for F1-C traffic, an IP address for IPsec for non-F1 traffic, a prior IP address for IPsec for the F1-U traffic, a prior IP address for IPsec for the F1-C traffic, a prior IP address for IPsec for the non-F1 traffic, an IP address for a General Packet Radio Service (GPRS) Tunneling Protocol (GTP) endpoint, or a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) address for an IAB node (see p. [0009]: The full user plane F1-U (GTP-U/UDP/IP) is terminated at the IAB node (like a normal DU) and the full control plane F1-C (F1-AP/SCTP/IP) is also terminated at the IAB node (like a normal DU). In the above cases, Network Domain Security (NDS) has been employed to protect both UP and CP traffic (IPsec in the case of UP, and Datagram Transport Layer Security (DTLS) in the case of CP). IPsec could also be used for the CP protection instead of DTLS).
Regarding claims 18-19, Teyeb discloses wherein the wireless device is configured to migrate from the first IAB donor to the second IAB donor via a third IAB donor that is associated with the previously assigned IPv4 address, the previously assigned IPv6 address, or the previously assigned IPv6 prefix (see fig. 5, case (C), p. [0019]: UE is configured to migrate from the IAB node E to the IAB node D via the IAB DU(3), wherein an IPsec is used for securing the F1-U tunnel/connection between the Donor-CU(1) and IAB-node (E) DU, then it might be possible to use existing IP address along the path segment between the Donor-CU(1) and SeGW).
Conclusion
THAI HOANG D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/THAI DINH HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463