DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of the present application is a continuation of Application No. 18/052,278, filed on November 3, 2022.
Examiner's Notes
3. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Preliminary Amendment
4. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of the preliminary amendment on September 28, 2023. Claims 1-20 have been cancelled; claims 21-40 are new.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 21-40 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2021-0258999).
Regarding claim 21, Xu et al. teach the method performed by a base station (paragraph [0049] lines 1-18; Examiner’s Notes: base station, e.g., Macro BS 110a, depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station” in the instant application), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information of a scheduling cell for one or more rows of a TDRA cell index table (paragraph [0076] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: UE 120a depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
the time domain resource assignment (TDRA) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “time domain resource allocation (TDRA);”
in fact, transmitting, to UE 120a, configuration for a scheduling cell for the row index of a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information of a scheduling cell for one or more rows of a TDRA cell index table” in the instant application); and
transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field configured to indicate time domain resource allocations for multiple cells (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the single DCI message 705 illustrated in FIG. 7 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information (DCI);”
in fact, transmitting, to the UE, the single DCI message including a single TDRA index value within a single TDRA field corresponds to multiple cells, e.g., Cells 0 and 1, as illustrated in FIG. 7 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field configured to indicate time domain resource allocations for multiple cells” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 22, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein the configuration information for the one or more rows of the TDRA cell index table is provided via radio resource control (RRC) (paragraph [0077] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the RRC message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “radio resource control (RRC);”
in fact, the configuration (e.g., in an RRC message) that indicates the TDRA table as illustrated in FIG. 7 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the configuration information for the one or more rows of the TDRA cell index table is provided via radio resource control (RRC)” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 23, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein each row of the TDRA cell index table includes one or more indices each corresponding to a different TDRA table of a potentially scheduled cell (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the different TDRA table in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a different TDRA table;”
in fact, the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message, as illustrated in FIG. 7, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field configured to indicate time domain resource allocations for multiple cells” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 24, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a row of the TDRA cell index table comprises an explicit indication for each cell potentially scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables, the multiple sets of TDRA parameters are associated with a same row index in different TDRA tables (i.e., each TDRA parameter set [row] of values comprises an explicit scheduling indication of a cell) in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 25, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a row of the TDRA cell index table comprises an indication that at least one cell from a set of cells potentially scheduled by the DCI is not scheduled (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “a single TDRA index value of 0 may indicate that a row index of 1 is to be used for both a first cell (Cell 0) scheduled by the single DCI message and a second cell (Cell 1) scheduled by the single DCI message. As shown by reference number 713, the first cell may be associated with a first TDRA table (e.g., according to a configuration). As shown by reference number 720, the second cell may be associated with a second (e.g., different) TDRA table (e.g., according to a configuration). As shown by reference number 725, in some aspects, the first TDRA table and the second TDRA table may have different sets of TDRA parameters associated with the same row index. As shown, a row index of 1 in the first TDRA table for the first cell (e.g., having a specific SCS, such as 15 kHz) indicates a K0 value of 1, an S value of 1, and an L value of 6. As further shown, a row index of 1 in the second TDRA table for the second cell (e.g., having an SCS that is twice that of, or some other multiple of, the SCS of the first cell. such as 30 kHz) indicates a K0 value of 2. an S value of 2, and an L value of 12. Thus, the single TDRA index value of 0 may indicate a first set of TDRA parameters (e.g., a K0 value of 1, an S value of 1, and an L value of 6) for the first cell, and may indicate a second set of TDRA parameters (e.g., a K0 value of 2, an S value of 2, and an L value of 12) for the second cell (and such a set of TDRA parameters, indicated by an index table row value, may reveal that the cell, out of the referenced set of cells, is not scheduled)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 26, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a row of the TDRA cell index table comprises an implicit indication for each cell scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message. In some aspects, the multiple sets of TDRA parameters are associated with a same row index in different TDRA tables (i.e., each TDRA parameter set [row] of values comprises an implicit scheduling indication of a cell)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 27, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a mapping between the row of the TDRA cell index table and each of the cells scheduled by the DCI is based on a sequential manner according to a scheduled cell index (paragraph [0102] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the mapping based on cell identifiers of the scheduled cells and the mapping may be specified in a sequential manner in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 28, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein the TDRA cell index table comprises a joint TDRA table (paragraph [0102] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: “the base station 110 may [prior to receiving the DCI], to the UE 120, a configuration…that indicates a mapping of scheduled cells and sets of TDRA parameters (i.e., a joint TDRA table)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 29, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein each row of the joint TDRA table comprises multiple time domain resources (paragraph [0102] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: “the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a configuration…that indicates a mapping of scheduled cells and sets of TDRA parameters (i.e., a joint TDRA table). In example 900, the base station 110 indicates that a first set of TDRA parameters associated with a row index [each row] (shown as TDRA parameters associated with the “First” cell in the TDRA table 925) is mapped to Cell 0, and that a second set of TDRA parameters associated with the row index (shown as TDRA parameters associated with the “Second” cell in the TDRA table 925) is mapped to Cell 1 (i.e., multiple time domain resources/parameters associated to a singular row of a joint TDRA table)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 30, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein each row further comprises an explicit indication of time domain resources to cells potentially scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message. In some aspects, the multiple sets of TDRA parameters are associated with a same row index in different TDRA tables (i.e., each TDRA set [row] comprises an explicit indication of time domain resources/parameters)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 31, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein each row further comprises an implicit indication of time domain resources to cells scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message. In some aspects, the multiple sets of TDRA parameters are associated with a same row index in different TDRA tables (i.e., each TDRA set [row] comprises an implicit indication of time domain resources/parameters)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 32, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a mapping between the joint TDRA table and each of the cells scheduled by the DCI is based on a sequential manner according to a scheduled cell index (paragraph [0102] lines 1-17; Examiner’s Notes: the mapping based on cell identifiers of the scheduled cells and specified in a sequential manner in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 33, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a single DCI bitfield is used to indicate to multiple TDRA tables corresponding to cells scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single DCI message includes a single TDRA index value within a single TDRA field (i.e., a single DCI bitfield)…the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 34, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a size of the single DCI bitfield is fixed regardless of the number of cells scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0084] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: “the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a configuration…that indicates a number of bits (implicitly independent of the number of scheduled cells) to be included in the single TDRA field (e.g., a bit length, bit width, or bit size of the field)” in the prior art teaches this limitation) and
a number of bits corresponding to each cell is based on the number of cells scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0102] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: “the single DCI message may include a single TDRA index value within a single TDRA field, which may conserve signaling overhead and may conserve network resources. In example 900, the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters associated with a single row index of a single TDRA table. Each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, may correspond to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message. For example, as shown by reference number 910, the single TDRA index value (shown as 0) may indicate a first set of TDRA parameters 915 (e.g., a K2 value of 0, an S value of 0, and an L value of 14) for a first scheduled cell (e.g., Cell 0) and may also indicate a second set of TDRA parameters 920 (e.g., a K2 value of 0, an S value of 0, and an L value of 7) for a second scheduled cell (e.g., Cell 1). The first set of TDRA parameters and the second set of TDRA parameters may be included in a single TDRA table 925. In some aspects, the number of bits in the TDRA field is based at least in part on the number of rows (i.e., and therefore, the number of cells scheduled) in the single TDRA table 925” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 35, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein a size of the single DCI bitfield is fixed regardless of the number of cells scheduled by the DCI (paragraph [0084] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: “the base station 110 may transmit, to the UE 120, a configuration…that indicates a number of bits (implicitly independent of the number of scheduled cells) to be included in the single TDRA field (e.g., a bit length, bit width, or bit size of the field)” in the prior art teaches this limitation) and
a number of bits corresponding to each cell is fixed (paragraph [0085] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the number of bits included in the TDRA field of the single DCI message may be based at least in part on a number of rows in a TDRA configured for a cell (e.g., for any cell) on which a communication is scheduled by the single DCI message. In some aspects, all cells scheduled by the single DCI message may be required to be configured with TDRA tables having the same number of rows (e.g., a same number of rows for a downlink TDRA table for single DCI scheduling downlink communications, or a same number of rows for an uplink TDRA table for single DCI scheduling uplink communications). For example, if all of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message have TDRA tables with 16 rows (sometimes referred to as entries), then the TDRA field may contain four bits (the number of bits corresponding to each cell is fixed to 4, for instance)” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 36, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein the single DCI bitfield corresponds to a same row in multiple different TDRA tables (paragraphs [0120] lines 1-11 & [0121] lines 1-7; Examiner’s Notes: the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables and the multiple sets of TDRA parameters are associated with a same row index in different TDRA tables in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 37, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein the UE is configured with multiple TDRA tables each TDRA table corresponding to a different combination of scheduled cells (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single DCI message includes a single TDRA index value within a single TDRA field…the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 38, Xu et al. further teach the method, the base station is configured to schedule multiple cells via a single DCI (paragraph [0076] lines 1-19; Examiner’s Notes: the TDRA table to be used in association with the TDRA index value indicated in the single DCI message in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 39, Xu et al. further teach the method, wherein the DCI is mapped to a TDRA table and wherein the TDRA table indicates which cells are schedule by the DCI (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: “the single TDRA index value indicates multiple sets of TDRA parameters in corresponding multiple TDRA tables. In this case, each set of TDRA parameters, of the multiple sets of TDRA parameters, corresponds to a different cell of the multiple cells scheduled by the single DCI message” in the prior art teaches this limitation).
Regarding claim 40, Xu et al. teach the processor of a base station (paragraph [0049] lines 1-18; Examiner’s Notes: base station, e.g., Macro BS 110a, depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station” in the instant application) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information of a scheduling cell for one or more rows of a TDRA cell index table (paragraph [0076] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: UE 120a depicted in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “a user equipment (UE);”
the time domain resource assignment (TDRA) in the prior art teaches the limitation of “time domain resource allocation (TDRA);”
in fact, transmitting, to UE 120a, configuration for a scheduling cell for the row index of a time domain resource assignment (TDRA) table, as illustrated in FIG. 1 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information of a scheduling cell for one or more rows of a TDRA cell index table” in the instant application); and
transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field configured to indicate time domain resource allocations for multiple cells (paragraph [0082] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the single DCI message 705 illustrated in FIG. 7 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “downlink control information (DCI);”
in fact, transmitting, to the UE, the single DCI message including a single TDRA index value within a single TDRA field corresponds to multiple cells, e.g., Cells 0 and 1, as illustrated in FIG. 7 of the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, to the UE, downlink control information (DCI) comprising a single time domain resource allocation (TDRA) field configured to indicate time domain resource allocations for multiple cells” in the instant application).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Etemad et al. (US 9,572,063) is cited to show the radio resource control (RRC) signaling for configuring the user equipment to obtain and report channel state information for the downlink channels so that a target user equipment experiences enhanced signal reception and reduced interference;
Lo (US 2018/0020441) is cited to show the collaborative transmission in a wireless communication system, wherein the control information indicates time-frequency resources allocated or assigned for data transmission by the transmitter.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2473