DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is in response to the Pre-Appeal Brief Conference request filed on 09/05/2025. The present application is being examined under the AIA first to invent provisions.
1a. Status of the claims:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 09/05/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The applicant’s argument is convincing a new non-final is made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would
have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated
by the manner in which the invention was made.
4. Claims 1 -2, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MU et al. (hereinafter “MU”) (CN 109361526 A), in view of HUANG et al. (hereinafter “HUANG”) (WO 2019141120 A1).
Regarding claim 1, MU discloses a Policy and Charging Rules Function (PCRF) system ( a Policy and Charging Rules Function (PCRF) is disclosed (MU , page 2, 4th paragraph starting with 4 G network, in order to realize load…), comprising:
one or more processors; and a memory having stored thereon instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors ( a memory storing instructions that are executed by a processor (MU , page 4, the paragraph before the last starting with the fourth aspect, there is provided ), cause the one or more processors to:
receive a 4G communication session initiation request for a 4G session ( a user initiating session request being routed to a 4 G support environment ( MU , page 2, paragraph 4 starting with 4G network, in order to realize load ); and receive an AF message routed to the PCRF based on the binding record ( receiving a requested message sent by AF, and an AF message is routed to the correct PCRF (MU , page 10, 5th paragraph starting with updating the binding information…continued with the following paragraphs starting with step sS1-S3 ( or step S1-S3 ).
MU does not disclose in response to the 4G communication session initiation request, issue a session binding request directed to a Binding Support Function (BSF), the session binding request directing the BSF to create a binding record linking the 4G session to the PCRF to enable routing of Application Function (AF) messages to the PCRF via the BSF.
HUANG discloses in response to the 4G communication session initiation request, issue a session binding request directed to a Binding Support Function (BSF) ( a 4G session initiated request is sent to a BSF ( HUANG , page 4, the paragraph before last starting with When the AF initiates the request..; in page 4, paragraph 5 starting 5G (5.sup. .. where the session is disclosed being a 4G session ), the session binding request directing the BSF to create a binding record linking the 4G session to the PCRF to enable routing of Application Function (AF) messages to the PCRF via the BSF ( a 4G session binding data is created using the 4G session initiated request that was sent to a BSF and 4G session initiated request is forwarded to PCF that is a function of PCFR according to the mapping relationship ( HUANG , page 5, second paragraph starting with Step S201: During the PDU session..; in page 4, paragraph 5 starting 5G (5.sup. ..) where the session is disclosed being a 4G session; in page 4 second paragraph starting with As shown in FIG 1A,.. , PCRF is disclosed having a function of policy control).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate HUANG’s teachings with MU’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to forward efficiently a request to the correct PCRF by using session binding data that forward the request to the appropriate PCF by using mapping relation that maps to the proper PCF.
Regarding claim 2, MU and HUANG disclose the PCRF system of claim 1, wherein the PCRF operates within a wireless network having the BSF configured to direct 4G AF messages to the PCRF system and 5G AF messages to a policy control function (PCF) ( 4G message directed to PCRF and 5G message directed to PCF , MU page 2, paragraph 2 starting with thus, in the routing method of policy ))
Regarding claim 11, claim 1 is substantially similar to claim 1, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 2, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 18, MU and Aravamudhan disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the AF message includes an Rx interface message(Rx interface message is disclosed (MU, page 10, paragraph 11 staring with Step 5…)).
4. Claims 3-5, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MU, in view of HUANG, and further in view of Aravamudhan et al. (hereinafter “Aravamudhan discloses”) (US 2018/0309800 A1).
Regarding claim 3, MU and HUANG disclose the PCRF system of claim 2.
MU in view of HUANG do not disclose wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive the 4G communication session initiation request from a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW).
Aravamudhan discloses wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive the 4G communication session initiation request from a Packet Data Network Gateway (PGW) ( Aravamudhan, [0018], receiving a session setup message using PGW at the initial stage ; where the session is disclosed being in a 4 G environment in [0015]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Aravamudhan’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to route information request to the correct PCRF by using a DRA node having the binding information that route an AF message to the correct PCRF.
Regarding claim 4, MU and HUANG disclose the PCRF system of claim 3.
MU in view of HUANG do not disclose wherein the 4G communication session initiation request includes a Credit Control Request – initial (CCR-I) message.
Aravamudhan discloses wherein the 4G communication session initiation request includes a Credit Control Request – initial (CCR-I) message ( Aravamudhan, [0027], a session initiated by a subscriber sending a CCR message request in a 4G environment ; where the session is disclosed being in a 4 G environment in [0015]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Aravamudhan’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to route information request to the correct PCRF by using a DRA node having the binding information that route an AF message to the correct PCRF.
Regarding claim 5, MU and Aravamudhan disclose the PCRF system of claim 4, wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive the CCR-I message as a Gx interface message over a Diameter protocol ( Diameter routing Agent rout Policy charging Rules using a DRA interface session (MU page 2, paragraph 4 starting with 4G network, in order to realize load balancing… ) DRA gx interface session see abstract..).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 3, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 5, thus the same rationale applies.
5. Claims 6-10, 14-16, and 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MU, in view of HUANG, in view of Aravamudhan, and further in view of Cakulev et al. (hereinafter “Cakulev”) (US 2021/0385302 A1).
Regarding claim 6, MU, HUANG, and Aravamudhan disclose the PCRF system of claim 5.
MU in view of HUANG and in view of Aravamudhan do not disclose wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: issue the session binding request as an Nbsf_Management_Register service operation request.
Cakulev discloses wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: issue the session binding request as an Nbsf_Management_Register service operation request (Cakulev , [0029]; [0030], Nbsf interface is used in register binding information associated session between BSF and a network device).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cakulev’s teachings with MU’s teachings, in view of HUANG’s teachings, and in view of Aravamudhan’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to register efficiently information in the binding request by register the information in the Nbsf that registered the binding information efficiently.
Regarding claim 7, MU, HUANG , Aravamudhan, and Cakulev disclose the PCRF system of claim 6, in addition MU discloses wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a response from the BSF including a bindingId corresponding to the binding record (binding record stored at PCRF, MU, page 10 paragraph 3 starting with Specially, the DRA after receiving the first..)); and store the bindingId at the PCRF (binding record stored at PCRF, MU, page 10 paragraph 3 starting with Specially, the DRA after receiving the first..)).
Regarding claim 8, MU, HUANG, Aravamudhan, and Cakulev disclose the PCRF system of claim 7.
MU in view of HUANG do not disclose wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a Credit Control Request – update (CCR-U) message from the PGW; and in response to receiving the CCR-U message.
Aravamudhan discloses wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a Credit Control Request – update (CCR-U) message from the PGW; and in response to receiving the CCR-U message ( Aravamudhan, [0043], PGW communicate CCR message, and establishes ( or Updates) a session in response to the message ).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Aravamudhan’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to route information request to the correct PCRF by using a DRA node having the binding information that route an AF message to the correct PCRF.
MU in view of HUANG and in view of Aravamudhan do not disclose issue an Nbsf_Management_Update service operation request directed to the BSF, the Nbsf_Management_Update service operation request including the bindingId and directing the BSF to update the binding record.
Cakulev discloses issue an Nbsf_Management_Update service operation request directed to the BSF (Cakulev , [0010], updating request provides BSF is disclosed ( in [0029] BSF includes Nbsf), the Nbsf_Management_Update service operation request including the bindingId and directing the BSF to update the binding record (Cakulev , [0030], updating of binding information with BSF disclosed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cakulev’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings and in view of Aravamudhan’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to register efficiently information in the binding request by register the information in the Nbsf that registered the binding information efficiently.
Regarding claim 9, MU, HUANG, Aravamudhan, and Cakulev disclose the PCRF system of claim 8.
MU in view of HUANG do not disclose wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a Credit Control Request – terminate (CCR-T) message from the PGW; and in response to receiving the CCR-T message.
Aravamudhan discloses wherein the instructions comprise further instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive a Credit Control Request – terminate (CCR-T) message from the PGW; and in response to receiving the CCR-T message ( Aravamudhan, [0043], PGW communicate CCR message, and establishes ( or terminates) a session in response to the message ).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Aravamudhan’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to route information request to the correct PCRF by using a DRA node having the binding information that route an AF message to the correct PCRF.
MU in view of HUANG and in view of Aravamudhan do not disclose issue an Nbsf_Management_Deregister service operation request directed to the BSF, the Nbsf_Management_Deregister service operation request including the bindingId and directing the BSF to deregister the binding record
Cakulev discloses issue an Nbsf_Management_Deregister service operation request directed to the BSF (Cakulev , [0012], deregistration request provides BSF is disclosed ( in [0029] BSF includes Nbsf), the Nbsf_Management_Deregister service operation request including the bindingId (Cakulev , [0031], deregistration of list of binding information with BSF is disclosed ( in [0029] BSF includes Nbsf) and directing the BSF to deregister the binding record (Cakulev , [0030], deregistration of binding information with BSF disclosed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cakulev’s teachings with MU’s teachings in view of HUANG’s teachings and in view of Aravamudhan’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to register efficiently information in the binding request by register the information in the Nbsf that registered the binding information efficiently.
Regarding claim 10, MU, HUANG, Aravamudhan, and Cakulev disclose the PCRF system of claim 9, wherein the AF message includes an Rx interface message (Rx interface message is disclosed (MU, page 10, paragraph 11 staring with Step 5…)).
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is substantially similar to a combination of claims 6 and 7, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 15, MU, HUANG, Aravamudhan, and Cakulev disclose the method of claim 14.
MU in view of HUANG do not disclose wherein the 4G communication session initiation request includes a Credit Control Request – initial (CCR-I) message.
Aravamudhan discloses wherein the 4G communication session initiation request includes a Credit Control Request – initial (CCR-I) message ( Aravamudhan, [0027], a session initiated by a subscriber sending a CCR message request in a 4G environment ; where the session is disclosed being in a 4 G environment in [0015]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Aravamudhan’s teachings with MU’s teachings, in view of HUANG’s teachings, and in view of Cakulev’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to route information request to the correct PCRF by using a DRA node having the binding information that route an AF message to the correct PCRF.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is substantially similar to a combination of claim 8, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is substantially similar to a combination of claim 9, thus the same rationale applies.
Regarding claim 19, MU, HUANG, and Aravamudhan disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising: issuing, from an AF or DRA (Diameter routing agent) ( Diameter routing Agent rout Policy charging Rules using a DRA interface session (MU page 2, paragraph 4 starting with 4G network, in order to realize load balancing… ) DRA gx interface session see abstract..).
MU in view of HUANG and in view of Aravamudhan do not disclose an Nbsf_Management_Discovery service operation directed to the BSF for the binding record to route the Rx interface message; and routing, from the AF or DRA, the RX interface message to the PCRF based on the binding record.
Cakulev discloses an Nbsf_Management_Discovery service operation directed to the BSF for the binding record to route the Rx interface message (Cakulev , [0010], updating request provides BSF is disclosed ( in [0029] BSF includes Nbsf); and routing, from the AF or DRA, the RX interface message to the PCRF based on the binding record(Cakulev , [0030], updating of binding information with BSF disclosed).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Cakulev’s teachings with MU’s teachings, in view of HUANG’s teachings, in view of HUANG’s teachings, and in view of Aravamudhan’s teachings. One skilled in the art would be motivated to combine them in order to register efficiently information in the binding request by register the information in the Nbsf that registered the binding information efficiently.
Conclusion
/MARIEGEORGES A HENRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2455
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457