DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 28-34 are objected to because of the following informalities: the term in the preamble “The apparatus” in claims 28-34 should be “The communication apparatus” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21,23,29,27,34-35,37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krishnamurthy to (US20140177745A1)
Regarding claims 21, 27, 35, Krishnamurthy teaches a communication apparatus([0116], UE) , a method, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium,([0116] discloses a controller 520 coupled to the housing 510, audio input and output circuitry 530 coupled to the housing 510, ..a user interface 560 coupled to the housing 510, a memory 570 coupled to the housing 510, and an antenna 580 coupled to the housing 510 and the transceiver 550) comprising:
obtaining configuration information indicating first codebook subset information and second codebook subset information,([0047] the UE 110 can be configured with a first codebook associated with the first CSI-RS resource and a second codebook associated with the second CSI-RS resource) wherein the first codebook subset information is associated with a first reference signal resource subset, the second codebook subset information is associated with a second reference signal resource subset,( [0118] discloses the first CSI process associated with the first CSI-RS resource configuration and the second CSI process associated with the second CSI-RS resource configuration. The first set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) can be different from the second set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)) and the first reference signal resource subset and the second reference signal resource subset are respectively associated with different transmission configuration indication states;( [0047] A UE can be configured with multiple CSI processes to support Coordinated Multipoint (CoMP) scheduling and transmission from multiple Transmission Points (TPs). A CSI process is associated with the generation of one set of CSI which can consist of PMI for vertical or Level-1 beamforming, PMI for horizontal or Level-2 beamforming, RI, and/or CQI, based on an associated one or more CSI-RS resource(s))and sending a channel state information (CSI) report to a network device([ 0123] discloses The wireless communication device 500 can transmit a channel state information (CSI) report) wherein the CSI report is based on the first codebook subset information and the second codebook subset information( [0123] discloses the wireless communication device 500 can transmit a representation of at least one of the first precoding matrix (p) and the second precoding matrix (P). The wireless communication device 500 can transmit a channel state information (CSI) report including the representation of at least one of the first precoding matrix (p) and second precoding matrix (P)
Regarding claims 23,29,37 Krishnamurthy teaches wherein the first codebook subset information is used to determine G seventh parameters and H eighth parameters, G and H are integers greater than or equal to 1, ([0038] discloses one codebook, C.sub.H, can quantize the short-term variations of the channel matrix for an equivalent horizontal array formed by a particular virtualization of M elements within each column) and a sum of G and H is equal to M5; ([0038] where H.sub.V.sup.(n) is the channel matrix associated with the n-th vertical subset array of M vertical transmitting antenna elements, where n=1, . . . , NL. The notation .parallel..cndot.|.sub.F denotes the Frobenius norm which is the sum of the magnitude square of the matrix's elements) the second codebook subset information is used to determine J ninth parameters and K tenth parameters, J and K are integers greater than or equal to 1,([0038] discloses Another codebook, C.sub.V, can be used for spatial quantization of an equivalent vertical array to help the eNB virtualize the M elements within each column. C.sub.H can be a Release 10 codebook with possible enhancements for 4 transmit antennas (Tx) in the equivalent horizontal array, such as a codebook using a W.sub.1W.sub.2 weighting structure (precoder corresponding to a codebook entry is a matrix multiplication of two matrices, W.sub.1 and W.sub.2), where a precoding vector or matrix applies weights to signals transmitted from each antenna in an antenna array) and a sum of J and K is equal to M5;([0038] where H.sub.V.sup.(n) is the channel matrix associated with the n-th vertical subset array of M vertical transmitting antenna elements, where n=1, . . . , NL. The notation .parallel..cndot.|.sub.F denotes the Frobenius norm which is the sum of the magnitude square of the matrix's elements) and M5 is an integer greater than 1, and M5 is determined based on the configuration information([0038] discloses the eNB 120 can configure a first CSI-RS resource with M CSI-RS antenna ports and transmit CSI-RS on antenna ports corresponding to only one set of M antenna elements to enable feedback to assist Level-1 beamforming).
Regarding claim 34, Krishnamurthy teaches wherein the communication apparatus is a 34. terminal device or a chip ([0116] discloses UE..a controller 520 coupled to the housing 510, audio input and output circuitry 530 coupled to the housing 510, ..a user interface 560 coupled to the housing 510, a memory 570 coupled to the housing 510, and an antenna 580 coupled to the housing 510 and the transceiver 550)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22,28,36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnamurthy to (US20140177745A1) in view of Ge to (US 20190181929 A1)
Regarding claims 22,28,36 Krishnamurthy teaches wherein: the configuration information further indicates first rank restriction indication information and second rank restriction indication information;([0047] discloses the sub-CSI-RS resources can be configured independently or in a configuration list or a bitmap with each bit set to one indicating a predetermined CSI-RS resource for a sub-CSI-RS resource preferably in order for the L vertical subarrays. Codebook subset restriction can be independently applied for CSI associated with the first CSI-RS resource (Level-1 beamforming) and CSI associated with the second CSI-RS resource (Level-2 beamforming) of the CSI process. For example, to assist Level-1 beamforming, a codebook subset restriction can be applied to use PMI reporting corresponding to the first CSI-RS resource constrained to rank 1 feedback with possibly a subset of the rank 1 precoders) the first rank restriction indication information is used to obtain rank indicator RI information in first-type CSI information, ([0047] to assist Level-1 beamforming, a codebook subset restriction can be applied to use PMI reporting corresponding to the first CSI-RS resource constrained to rank 1 ) and the first-type CSI information has an association relationship with a channel measurement resource pair; ;([0047] discloses the sub-CSI-RS resources can be configured independently or in a configuration list or a bitmap with each bit set to one indicating a predetermined CSI-RS resource for a sub-CSI-RS resource preferably in order for the L vertical subarrays. Codebook subset restriction can be independently applied for CSI associated with the first CSI-RS resource (Level-1 beamforming) )the channel measurement resource pair is one of one or more channel measurement resource pairs determined from a reference signal resource set, ,( [0118] discloses the first CSI process associated with the first CSI-RS resource configuration and the second CSI process associated with the second CSI-RS resource configuration. The first set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) can be different from the second set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)) and the reference signal resource set comprises K reference signal resources, wherein K is an integer greater than or equal to 2; ( [0118] discloses the first CSI process associated with the first CSI-RS resource configuration and the second CSI process associated with the second CSI-RS resource configuration. The first set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) can be different from the second set of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS)) and the CSI report comprises the first-type CSI information or the second-type CSI information([ 0123] discloses The wireless communication device 500 can transmit a channel state information (CSI) report)
Krishnamurthy does not explicitly teach the second rank restriction indication information is used to obtain RI information in second-type CSI information, and the second-type CSI information has an association relationship with one of the K reference signal resources
However, Ge teaches the second rank restriction indication information is used to obtain RI information in second-type CSI information,([0006]discloses a rank indication restriction parameter related to a technical solution in this application is one or more of: TypeI-SinglePanel-RI-Restriction, TypeI-MultiPanel-RI-Restriction, TypeII-RI-Restriction, and TypeII-PortSelection-RI-Restriction) and the second-type CSI information has an association relationship with one of the K reference signal resources;( [0053] Discloses parameter used by the network device to indicate the terminal device to perform CSI reporting is a rank indication restriction (RI restriction), and the RI restriction parameter field is used to indicate, to the terminal device, PMIs and RIs corresponding to ranks (rank) that are allowed to be reported)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date to enable the system of Krishnamurthy include the second rank restriction indication information is used to obtain RI information in second-type CSI information, and the second-type CSI information has an association relationship with one of the K reference signal resources, as suggested by Ge. This modification would benefit the system to reduce signal interference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-26,30-33,38-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461