DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-28 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of the Claims as of the Final Rejection mailed June 6, 2024
Claim(s) 23 and 28 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 23 and 28 were objected to as being allowable if Applicants were able to cite support for the subject matter of said claim(s) in the Instant Application as originally filed, overcoming the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in the Final Rejection. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”). Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) in view of YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”).
Response to the Final Rejection
Responsive to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 23 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, Applicants have amended claim(s) 23 and 28. Specifically Applicants have amended claim(s) 23 and 28, by removing the limitations that were identified as containing new matter. The amendments are effective. Consequently, the rejection(s) of claim(s) 23 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, are withdrawn.
Responsive to the prior art rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. Section 103 of claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27, Applicants have made arguments in light of limitations found in independent claims. The arguments are addressed below, in section (“Response to Arguments”).
Further responsive to Final Rejection, Applicants have amended claim 24. In light of the amendments made to claim 24, the rejection of said claim under CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the prior art of record, CHEN in view of BI, fails to render obvious limitation(s) found in each of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 13. The limitation being, “…wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part…”.
As the arguments are substantially the same for each of the independent claims, this response to the arguments will focus on claim 1, for the sake of brevity.
In the Final Rejection, regarding claim 1, CHEN was found to be deficient on, “…wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part.” as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. BI was introduced to remedy the deficiency of CHEN. See Final Rejection (Final Rejection, Page(s) 9-12)
“CHEN differs from claim 1, in that CHEN is silent on wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission… Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, such that the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.”
Applicants disagree with this conclusion of obviousness and do not believe that BI remedies the deficiency of CHEN (Remarks, Page 11)
“The combination of Chen and Bi fails to render obvious claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19, and 21-28 because the combination of Chen and Bi fails to that the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. The Final Office Action acknowledges that Chen is silent on the limitation that "the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1," and relies on Bi to allegedly cure that deficiency, where Bi teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission. See Office Action, pp. 3-4. However, Bi does not cure the acknowledged deficiency….”
Applicants argue that because BI does not disclose “a second overlapping part” as recited with the remaining elements of claim 1, BI fails to remedy the deficiencies of CHEN, and thus the combination fails to render obvious the features of claim 1 (Remarks, Page 11).
“However, Bi does not cure the acknowledged deficiency because the overlapping portion removed in Bi is not shown to be the specifically defined "second overlapping part" required by claim 1…”
Applicants further provide ways in which BI fails to teach or suggest claimed “second overlapping part” (Remarks, Page 12).
“…claim 1 first recites that: "the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource" and subsequently requires that: "the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part." Claim 1 then requires: "receiving the PDSCH on a target resource, wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part." Accordingly, "the second overlapping part" in the final limitation is not an unidentified or generic overlap between a PDCCH transmission and a PDSCH transmission. The second overlapping part" is the overlapping part between (i) the first resource corresponding to the claimed PDCCH candidate set and (ii) the fourth resource for the PDSCH. Thus, the target resource is the remaining portion of that fourth resource after exclusion of that specifically defined overlapping part (i.e. claimed second overlapping part)…”
Applicants finally argue that the Final Rejection fails to provide an explanation as to why BI’s resource puncturing feature when combined with CHEN, would arrive at, “…wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part; and send the PDSCH on a target resource, wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part.” See Remarks (Page 13)
“The Office's stated rationale that a person skilled in the art would have modified Chen to
obtain the "benefits of resource puncturing" explains, at most, why puncturing might generally be
desirable. It does not explain why the person skilled in the art would define the punctured portion
according to the overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources recited in claim 1.”
In response to the arguments, first addressing, BI’s deficiency on the resource arrangements of claim 1 (i.e. the first resource, second resource, third resource, first resource…and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part…..”), it is noted that BI alone was not regarded as rendering obvious the features of claim 1, but the combination of CHEN with BI was regarded as rendering obvious the features of claim 1. Many of the resource arrangements in which Applicants find BI deficient on, are believed to be taught by CHEN (See Final Rejection page(s) 9 -11).
BI was relied upon in combination with CHEN, not teach these resource arrangements, but for motivation to arrive at, where with respect to CHEN’s target resource, fourth resource and second overlapping part, “…receiving the PDSCH on a target resource, wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part”. In response to applicant's arguments against the “BI” reference individually, applicants are reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Additionally, with respect to the argument, that the Final Rejection, only describes that resource puncturing is generally desirable, but does not explain why the person skilled in the art would define the punctured portion according to the overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources, as recited in claim 1, it is further noted that it is believed that this general case disclosed by BI, applies to the overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources of CHEN. CHEN for example teaches at least, “ receiving the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part and receiving the PDSCH on a target resource ” (See “set of linked PDCCH candidates” corresponding to first/second PDCCH candidate group, a PDCCH of the set of linked PDCCH candidates, carrying DCI that schedules a PDSCH, corresponding a fourth resource/first PDSCH, and where the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set, resources occupied by the linked PDCCH candidates, has a second overlap with the fourth resource, “…if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate…”, and where the PDSCH is received/transmitted on a target resource, “[0073] Additionally, or alternatively, in a second procedure, the UE 115-a may use a starting symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate to define during which symbols the UE 115-a expects to receive a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission scheduled by the DCI carried by the linked PDCCH candidates….[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
In light of the teachings of CHEN, the question then becomes whether it would have been obvious to arrive at wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. BI teaches a resource puncturing feature that excludes from a target PDSCH resource an overlapping part of the PDSCH resource, the overlapping part comprising overlapping PDCCH resources and PDSCH resources including the overlapping part of the PDSCH resource. ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
BI’s overlapping resource arrangement (i.e. PDSCH and PDCCH resource overlap) appears to be similar to that of CHEN’s (See CHEN which discloses receiving the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part and receiving the PDSCH on a target resource.) Thus, based upon these findings it was determined that it would have been obvious to modify CHEN with BI, to remove/exclude the overlapping PDSCH source from the target PDSCH resource as suggested by BI, to thus arrive at wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, in order take advantage of use of resource puncturing to resolve resource conflicts, such as overlapping resource allocations. Therefore, the argument that the argument, that the Final Rejection, only describes resource puncturing is generally desirable, but does not explain why the person skilled in the art would define the punctured portion according to the overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources, is not persuasive, as it is believed the general argument for resource puncturing applies to CHEN’s resource arrangement. The rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 25, 26 and 27, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) are maintained. The rejections of claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of BI in view of YANG are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 25, 26 and 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”)
In regards to claim 1, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches a method comprising:
receiving configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0007] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in another apparatus for wireless communications at a UE. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first repeated PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second repeated PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources, select to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate as a result of a resource overlap between the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate, and select a first reference for the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or a second reference for the second set of linked PDCCH candidates, or both, where selecting the first reference or the second reference, or both, is in connection with selecting to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate… [0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…”);
receiving the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part and ( “[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”); and
receiving the PDSCH on a target resource, “[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 1, in that CHEN is silent on wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, such that the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 8, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (“[0156] FIG. 10 shows a block diagram 1000 of an example device 1005 that supports managing the selection of reference PDCCH candidates in deployments featuring PDCCH repetition with overlapping SS sets…The device 1005 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1020, a network communications manager 1010, a transceiver 1015, an antenna 1025, a memory 1030, code 1035, a processor 1040, and an inter-station communications manager 1045. These components may be in electronic communication or otherwise coupled…[0159] The memory 1030 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1030 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1035 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1040, cause the device 1005 to perform various functions described herein…[0163] The communications manager 1020 may support wireless communication at an apparatus of a BS in accordance with examples as disclosed herein.”)
send configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0011] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in an apparatus for wireless communications at a BS. The apparatus may include a first interface, a second interface, and a processing system. The first interface may be configured to output an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first same PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second same PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources…[0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…”);
send the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part;
send the PDSCH on a target resource, (“[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 8, in that CHEN is silent on a feature wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, to arrive at a feature wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 8, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 15, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (“[0133] FIG. 9 shows a block diagram 900 of an example device 905 that supports managing the selection of reference PDCCH candidates in deployments featuring PDCCH repetition with overlapping SS sets…The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 920, an input/output (I/O) controller 910, a transceiver 915, an antenna 925, a memory 930, code 935, and a processor 940. These components may be in electronic communication or otherwise coupled (for example, operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, or electrically) via one or more buses (such as a bus 945)… [0136] The memory 930 may include random access memory (RAM) and read-only memory (ROM). The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 940, cause the device 905 to perform various functions described herein…[0139] The communications manager 920 may support wireless communication at a UE in accordance with examples as disclosed herein.…”):
receive configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting the same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0007] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in another apparatus for wireless communications at a UE. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first repeated PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second repeated PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources, select to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate as a result of a resource overlap between the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate, and select a first reference for the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or a second reference for the second set of linked PDCCH candidates, or both, where selecting the first reference or the second reference, or both, is in connection with selecting to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate… [0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…””);
receive the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part; and
receive the PDSCH on a target resource, “[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 15, in that CHEN is silent on wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, by arriving at wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 15, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location(See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location (See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location(See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 22, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the the method of claim 4, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 25, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 27, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN“[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one target first PDCCH candidate and the at least one target second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE, correspond to a same control resource set (CORESET), and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 2, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CORESET(See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CORESET(See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same control resource set (CORESET) (See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more first PDCCH candidates for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more first PDCCH candidates for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 21, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have the first overlapping part comprises: the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in a time domain and partially overlap in a frequency domain; or the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in both the time domain and the frequency domain(Note that Control Channel Elements, CCEs, are time and frequency resources, See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 26, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have the first overlapping part comprises: or the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in both the time domain and the frequency domain(Note that Control Channel Elements, CCEs, are time and frequency resources, See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) in view of YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”)
In regards to claim 5, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the method of claim 4, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the method of claim 4, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
In regards to claim 12, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23, 24, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476