DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-28 have been examined are pending.
Response to Remarks/Comments
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as of the Non-Final Rejection (“NF”) mailed September 24, 2025 was as follows: Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”). Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) in view of YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”).
Responsive to the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103, Applicants have amended each of independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 15. Applicants also have added claim(s) 21-28. Claim(s) 3, 6-7, 10, 13-14, 17 and 20 have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-16, 18-19 and 21-28 are pending. Further responsive to the prior art rejection(s), Applicants have made arguments in light of the amended claims, highlighting features found in amended independent claim(s) 1, 8, and 15. The arguments focus on claim 1 in particular. Thus, the rebuttal to the arguments will focus on the same, the arguments are addressed below.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicants argue that the prior art combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) fail to render obvious the features of amended claim 1. In particular, Applicants argue that CHEN in view of BI fail to teach and/or suggest a feature to receive the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for PDSCH, wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource having a second overlapping part; and receiving the PDSCH on a target resource, wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part.
Specifically, Applicants argue that the prior art combination of CHEN in view of BI fails to render obvious claim 1, because the prior art combination fails to teach and/or suggest the feature wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. Applicants point out supposed deficiencies CHEN and BI with respect to said feature. With respect to CHEN, Applicants argue that CHEN does not suggest a feature to exclude overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources from a scheduled PDSCH resource and receive the PDSCH on a remaining resource (See Remarks, Page 12). With respect to BI, Applicants also argue that BI does not remedy the deficiencies of CHEN, as BI also does not teach a feature to exclude overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources from a scheduled PDSCH resource and receive the PDSCH on a remaining resource (See Remarks, Page 14).
Regarding the aforementioned arguments, where the prior art of record fails to teach wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, because the prior does not exclude overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources from a scheduled PDSCH resource, it is noted the feature where the scheduled PDSCH resource (i.e. claimed fourth resource) excludes the overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources, is not claimed, and thus is not required. The claim only requires that the second overlapping part be excluded. The excluded portion including overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources is not specified by the claim. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features (i.e. excluding overlapping PDCCH candidate set resources from a scheduled PDSCH resource) of the invention, it is noted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, with respect to said feature it is noted that it was found that the prior art combination of CHEN in view of BI was found to suggest wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as BI’s teaching of excluding an overlapping part (i.e. overlapping PDSCH part, which is removed via puncturing) from schedule PDSCH transmission, in combination with CHEN was found to render obvious the feature in question. See where BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDSCH/PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus, the argument that the combined teachings of CHEN in view of BI, fail to teach and/or suggest wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, and thus fail to suggest claim 1 is not persuasive. Additionally, the arguments for independent claim(s) 8 and 15 are also found to be unpersuasive for the substantially the same reasoning provided with respect to claim 1, as applicants argue that the prior art of record fails to render obvious claim(s) 8 and 15 for the same reasoning provided with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Referring to claim(s) 23 and 28, which recite the following:
“23. (New) The method of claim 2, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises one first PDCCH candidate, and the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two second PDCCH candidates, wherein the one first PDCCH candidate and one of the two second PDCCH candidates meet the first condition, and wherein the first PDCCH is received on the other one of the two second PDCCH candidates that does not meet the first condition.”
“28. (New) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises one first PDCCH candidate, and the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two second PDCCH candidates, wherein the one first PDCCH candidate and one of the two second PDCCH candidates meet the first condition, and wherein the first PDCCH is received on the other one of the second PDCCH candidates that does not meet the first condition.”
It is noted that in the Specification as originally there was support found for where the first PDCCH is received on first and/or second PDCCH candidates based on meeting the first condition. However, the specification is silent on the first PDCCH with respect to not meeting the first condition.
“[0163] For example, with reference to FIG. 4, for a PDCCH #1 that is independently transmitted (PDCCH repetition transmission is not configured), a first PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by a terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #1, and for a PDCCH #2a and a PDCCH #2b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a second PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #2a and a PDCCH candidate #2b, and the PDCCH candidate #1 and the PDCCH candidate #2a meet the case #1 of the foregoing first condition. If the terminal device receives a first PDCCH on any PDCCH candidate in the PDCCH candidate set, and the first PDCCH indicates a second resource corresponding to the first PDSCH, the terminal device determines that a target resource is a resource obtained by removing the resources corresponding to the PDCCH candidate #1, the PDCCH candidate #2a, and the PDCCH candidate #2b from the second resource, and receives the first PDSCH on the target resource.”
“[0165] For example, with reference to FIG. 6, for a PDCCH #1a and a PDCCH #1b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a first PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by a terminal device includes a PDCCH #1a and a PDCCH #1b, and for a PDCCH #2a and a PDCCH #2b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a second PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #2a and a PDCCH candidate #2b, and the PDCCH #1a and the PDCCH #2b meet the case #1 of the foregoing first condition. If the terminal device receives a first PDCCH on any PDCCH candidate in the PDCCH candidate set, and the first PDCCH indicates a second resource corresponding to the first PDSCH, the terminal device determines that a target resource is a resource obtained by removing the resources corresponding to the PDCCH #1a, the PDCCH #1b, the PDCCH candidate #2a, and the PDCCH candidate #2b from the second resource, and receives the first PDSCH on the target resource.”
“[0166] For example, with reference to FIG. 7, for a PDCCH #1 that is independently transmitted (PDCCH repetition transmission is not configured), a first PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by a terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #1, and for a PDCCH #2a and a PDCCH #2b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a second PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #2a and a PDCCH candidate #2b. An aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #1 is 8, and an aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #2a is 16. The PDCCH candidate #1 and the PDCCH candidate #2a meet the case #1 of the foregoing first condition. If the terminal device receives a first PDCCH on any PDCCH candidate in the PDCCH candidate set, and the first PDCCH indicates a second resource corresponding to the first PDSCH, the terminal device determines that a target resource is a resource obtained by removing the resources corresponding to the PDCCH candidate #1, the PDCCH candidate #2a, and the PDCCH candidate #2b from the second resource, and receives the first PDSCH on the target resource.”
“[0167] For example, with reference to FIG. 8, for a PDCCH #1 that is independently transmitted (PDCCH repetition transmission is not configured), a first PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by a terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #1, and for a PDCCH #2a and a PDCCH #2b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a second PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #2a and a PDCCH candidate #2b. An aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #1 is 16, and an aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #2a is 8. The PDCCH candidate #1 and the PDCCH candidate #2a meet the case #1 of the foregoing first condition. If the terminal device receives a first PDCCH on any PDCCH candidate in the PDCCH candidate set, and the first PDCCH indicates a second resource corresponding to the first PDSCH, the terminal device determines that a target resource is a resource obtained by removing the resources corresponding to the PDCCH candidate #1, the PDCCH candidate #2a, and the PDCCH candidate #2b from the second resource, and receives the first PDSCH on the target resource.”
“[0168] For example, with reference to FIG. 9, for a PDCCH #1a and a PDCCH #1b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a first PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #1a and a PDCCH candidate #1b, and for a PDCCH #2a and a PDCCH #2b that are repeatedly transmitted twice, a second PDCCH candidate group in a PDCCH candidate set monitored by the terminal device includes a PDCCH candidate #2a and a PDCCH candidate #2b. An aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #1a is 8, and an aggregation level of the PDCCH candidate #2b is 16. The PDCCH candidate #1a and the PDCCH candidate #2b meet the case #2 of the foregoing first condition. If the terminal device receives a first PDCCH on any PDCCH candidate in the PDCCH candidate set, and the first PDCCH indicates a second resource corresponding to the first PDSCH, the terminal device determines that a target resource is a resource obtained by removing the resources corresponding to the PDCCH candidate #1a, the PDCCH candidate #1b, the PDCCH candidate #2a, and the PDCCH candidate #2b from the second resource, and receives the first PDSCH on the target resource.”
Thus, the subject matter of claim(s) 23 and 28 has been determined to contain new subject matter (i.e. wherein the first PDCCH is received on the other one of the second PDCCH candidates that does not meet the first condition) as the claimed subject matter does not appear to be supported by the specification as originally filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26 and 27, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”)
In regards to claim 1, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches a method comprising:
receiving configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0007] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in another apparatus for wireless communications at a UE. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first repeated PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second repeated PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources, select to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate as a result of a resource overlap between the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate, and select a first reference for the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or a second reference for the second set of linked PDCCH candidates, or both, where selecting the first reference or the second reference, or both, is in connection with selecting to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate… [0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…”);
receiving the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part;
receiving the PDSCH on a target resource, “[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 1, in that CHEN is silent on wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, such that the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 8, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (“[0156] FIG. 10 shows a block diagram 1000 of an example device 1005 that supports managing the selection of reference PDCCH candidates in deployments featuring PDCCH repetition with overlapping SS sets…The device 1005 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 1020, a network communications manager 1010, a transceiver 1015, an antenna 1025, a memory 1030, code 1035, a processor 1040, and an inter-station communications manager 1045. These components may be in electronic communication or otherwise coupled…[0159] The memory 1030 may include RAM and ROM. The memory 1030 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1035 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1040, cause the device 1005 to perform various functions described herein…[0163] The communications manager 1020 may support wireless communication at an apparatus of a BS in accordance with examples as disclosed herein.”)
send configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0011] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in an apparatus for wireless communications at a BS. The apparatus may include a first interface, a second interface, and a processing system. The first interface may be configured to output an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first same PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second same PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources…[0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…”);
send the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part;
send the PDSCH on a target resource, (“[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 8, in that CHEN is silent on a feature wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, to arrive at a feature wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 8, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 15, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) teaches an apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to (“[0133] FIG. 9 shows a block diagram 900 of an example device 905 that supports managing the selection of reference PDCCH candidates in deployments featuring PDCCH repetition with overlapping SS sets…The device 905 may include components for bi-directional voice and data communications including components for transmitting and receiving communications, such as a communications manager 920, an input/output (I/O) controller 910, a transceiver 915, an antenna 925, a memory 930, code 935, and a processor 940. These components may be in electronic communication or otherwise coupled (for example, operatively, communicatively, functionally, electronically, or electrically) via one or more buses (such as a bus 945)… [0136] The memory 930 may include random access memory (RAM) and read-only memory (ROM). The memory 930 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 935 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 940, cause the device 905 to perform various functions described herein…[0139] The communications manager 920 may support wireless communication at a UE in accordance with examples as disclosed herein.…”):
receive configuration information of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidate set for transmitting a first PDCCH, wherein the PDCCH candidate set corresponds to a first resource and comprises a first PDCCH candidate group and a second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises at least one first PDCCH candidate, wherein the second PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more second PDCCH candidates, wherein the two or more second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting the same downlink control information (DCI), and wherein a second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and a third resource corresponding to at least one second PDCCH candidate have a first overlapping part (“[0007] Another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this disclosure can be implemented in another apparatus for wireless communications at a UE. The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory. The instructions may be executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to receive an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate that are associated with first repeated PDCCH information and a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate that are associated with second repeated PDCCH information, where the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate occupy a same set of resources, select to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate as a result of a resource overlap between the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate, and select a first reference for the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or a second reference for the second set of linked PDCCH candidates, or both, where selecting the first reference or the second reference, or both, is in connection with selecting to monitor the first PDCCH candidate instead of the third PDCCH candidate… [0064] In some implementations, however, the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of the linked PDCCH candidates. For example, the UE 115 may receive, from the BS 105, an indication of a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate and an indication of a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and the UE 115 may select to monitor a subset of either the first set of linked PDCCH candidates or the second set of linked PDCCH candidates if a PDCCH candidate of the first set overlaps with (for example, uses a same set of resources as) a PDCCH candidate of the second set. In some implementations, for instance, the first PDCCH candidate and the third PDCCH candidate may occupy a same set of resources and the UE 115 may accordingly select to monitor one of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (as the UE 115 may be unable to decode two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources)…””);
receive the first PDCCH on the first PDCCH candidate group or the second PDCCH candidate group, wherein the first PDCCH indicates a fourth resource for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and wherein the first resource corresponding to the PDCCH candidate set and the fourth resource have a second overlapping part; and
receive the PDSCH on a target resource, “[0077] Additionally, or alternatively, in a seventh procedure, the UE 115-a and the BS 105-a may rate-match a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI carried over the linked PDCCH candidates around the linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than a first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate. In this seventh procedure, the UE 115-a may select the reference PDCCH candidate in accordance with which of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates has a later (or latest) starting symbol relative to a remainder of the linked and monitored PDCCH candidates. Such a rate-matching of the PDSCH around the set of linked PDCCH candidates if the PDSCH has a starting symbol that is the same as or later than the first symbol of the reference PDCCH candidate is illustrated by and described in more detail with reference to FIG. 6.”).
CHEN differs from claim 15, in that CHEN is silent on wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving sending a PDSCH transmission on a resource shared (“overlapping”) with a PDCCH transmission. BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) teaches removing an overlapping part from a resource shared between a PDSCH transmission and a PDCCH transmission, in order obtain a resource used for the PDCCH transmission ([Abstract] “The present disclosure provides a mapping and resource allocation method for R-PDSCH, including: when resources allocated for an R-PDCCH overlap with resources allocated for the R-PDSCH, data of the R-PDSCH is not mapped or sent on over-lapped resources, or the data of the R-PDSCH to be sent on the over-lapped resources is punctured; the data of the R-PDSCH is mapped and sent on all or partial resources which are not occupied by the R-PDCCH; a receiving end receives data according to the mapping method for the R-PDSCH; wherein a resource allocation mode corresponding to a shared channel in an LTE system is reused or a grouping-tree resource allocation mode is used to allocate resources for the R-PDSCH. The present disclosure is well applicable to a link between an eNode-B and a relay node, and the resource allocation mode is flexible, the signalling overhead is lowered, therefore, not only the backward compatibility is ensured, but also the problem of mapping and resource allocation of the R-PDSCH is solved.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of BI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify resource allocation feature of CHEN, by arriving at wherein the target resource is a remaining resource of the fourth resource excluding the second overlapping part, as similarly seen in the resource allocation feature of BI, to thus arrive at claim 15, in order to take advantage of the benefits of resource puncturing.
In regards to claim 2, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location(See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location (See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 16, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate meet a first condition, and wherein the first condition comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate have a same start control channel element (CCE) location(See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 22, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the the method of claim 4, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 25, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 27, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN“[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 17, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one target first PDCCH candidate and the at least one target second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CCE, correspond to a same control resource set (CORESET), and have a same scrambling code sequence (See CHEN “[0079] In some examples, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring for a PDCCH candidate as a result of two PDCCH candidates occupying a same set of resources. For example, and as illustrated in FIG. 2, the PDCCH candidate 210-a and the PDCCH candidate 215-a may occupy a same set of resources and, as such, the UE 115-a may select to decode one of the PDCCH candidate 210-a or the PDCCH candidate 215-a (and not both). In some aspects, for example, if the PDCCH candidate 210-a overlaps with the PDCCH candidate 215-a in a same CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a same serving cell using a same set of CCEs, if the PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling, and if corresponding DCI formats for the PDCCH candidates have a same size, the UE 115-a may select to monitor the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively smaller SS set index (and likewise select to refrain from monitoring for the PDCCH candidate associated with a relatively larger SS set index). In other words, the UE 115-a may refrain from monitoring (or not count towards monitoring) a PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.1 using a set of CCEs in a CORESET on an active downlink BWP for a serving cell if there is another PDCCH candidate for a search space s.sub.i<s.sub.j in the CORESET on the active downlink BWP for the serving cell using a same set of CCEs (if the two PDCCH candidates have identical scrambling and if DCI formats corresponding to the two PDCCH candidates have a same size”).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 2, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CORESET(See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same CORESET(See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first condition further comprises that the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the at least one second PDCCH candidate correspond to a same control resource set (CORESET) (See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards claim 6, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 13, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the two second PDCCH candidates are for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more first PDCCH candidates for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the first PDCCH candidate group comprises two or more first PDCCH candidates for transmitting same downlink control information (DCI) (See CHEN “[0025] In some systems, a base station (BS), or one or more components of a BS, may transmit downlink control information (DCI) to a user equipment (UE) over a downlink control channel, such as a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), with repetition. For example, the BS, or one or more components of the BS, may transmit a same DCI over each of multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI. As such, the UE may monitor for the DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates and, in some examples, may combine multiple received instances of the DCI prior to decoding (which may increase a likelihood for the UE to successfully decode the DCI). In such examples in which the UE receives multiple instances of the same DCI over the multiple PDCCH candidates, the UE and the BS may define a reference PDCCH candidate from which any scheduling information or scheduling restrictions obtained from the DCI are measured or defined.”).
In regards to claim 21, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the method of claim 1, wherein the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have the first overlapping part comprises: the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in a time domain and partially overlap in a frequency domain; or the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in both the time domain and the frequency domain(Note that Control Channel Elements, CCEs, are time and frequency resources, See CHEN “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 24, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have the first overlapping part comprises: the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in a time domain and partially overlap in a frequency domain; or the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in both the time domain and the frequency domain(Note that Control Channel Elements, CCEs, are time and frequency resources, See CHEN,“[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
In regards to claim 26, CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) suggest the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate have the first overlapping part comprises: the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in a time domain and partially overlap in a frequency domain; or the second resource corresponding to the at least one first PDCCH candidate and the third resource corresponding to the at least one second PDCCH candidate completely overlap in both the time domain and the frequency domain(Note that Control Channel Elements, CCEs, are time and frequency resources, See CHEN, “[0026] In some examples, however, the UE may refrain from monitoring one or more PDCCH candidates of the multiple PDCCH candidates that are linked for the repetition of the DCI as a result of a resource conflict (such as due to conflicting resource assignments). For example, the BS may configure the UE with a first set of linked PDCCH candidates including a first PDCCH candidate and a second PDCCH candidate as well as a second set of linked PDCCH candidates including a third PDCCH candidate and a fourth PDCCH candidate and, if the first PDCCH candidate overlaps with the third PDCCH candidate in a same control resource set (CORESET) using a same set of control channel elements (CCEs), the UE may select to decode either the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate (and may drop the non-selected PDCCH candidate). The UE and the BS, however, may lack a well-defined procedure for defining which of the first PDCCH candidate or the third PDCCH candidate is the monitored PDCCH candidate and for defining whether the UE and the BS still consider the dropped PDCCH candidate as part of the PDCCH candidates that are linked for repetition. Such a lack of definitive behavior for the UE and the BS may result in the UE and the BS operating in accordance with different communication timelines if the UE and the BS select different reference PDCCH candidates, which may reduce a likelihood for successful communication between the UE and the BS.”).
Claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) in view of YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”)
In regards to claim 5, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the method of claim 4, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the method of claim 4, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
In regards to claim 12, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
In regards to claim 19, the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) is silent on the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving resource allocation in cellular communication networks. YANG (“US 20190166589 A1”) teaches where a first aggregation level of at least one target first PDCCH candidate is 16 and wherein a second aggregation level of at least one target second PDCCH candidate is 8 (“[0110] Operations 1100 begin, at 1102, where the base station generates coded bits for a PDCCH message (e.g., NR-PDCCH message) for transmission at a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16). At 1104, the base station transmits the PDCCH message to a UE using a decoding candidate from a first search space for the first aggregation level comprising time and frequency resources that overlap with time and frequency resources of a decoding candidate from a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH transmission. [0112] Operations 1200 begin, at 1202, where the UE identifies decoding candidates from a first search space for a first aggregation level (e.g., AL-16) and a second search space for a second aggregation level (e.g., AL-8). The decoding candidates of the first and second search spaces are designed to ensure there is no ambiguity regarding what aggregation level has been used for a corresponding PDCCH (e.g., NR-PDCCH) transmission. At 1204, the UE monitors for a PDCCH message transmitted using a decoding candidate from at least one of the first or second search spaces.”).
Thus based upon the teachings of YANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource allocation feature of the combination of CHEN (US 20220312381 A1) in view of BI (“US 20120263097 A1”) to arrive at the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 16, wherein a second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 8, or wherein the first aggregation level of the at least one first PDCCH candidate is 8, and the second aggregation level of the at least one second PDCCH candidate is 16, as similarly seen in YANG in order to provide benefit of additional flexibility in the resource configuration of the PDCCH candidates.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23 and 28 would be allowable if Applicants are able to cite support for the subject matter of said claim(s) in the Instant Application as originally filed, overcoming the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476