DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed 1/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly addressing the Affidavit filed on 1/26/2026. It is noted that the experiments performed only addressed a coating thickness of 5 micrometers and 12 micrometers. Such experiments are clearly not significant in scope to render the claimed 10-30 micrometer range distinguishing. A single data point of 12 is not sufficient to establish properties for a range of 10-30. Nothing on the lower end between 5 and 10 or above 30 has been tested. The affidavit is thus not sufficient to establish unexpected results for a range of 10-30 micrometers.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered. A new ground of rejection is presented below. The newly applied Paxton reference, specifically teaches the claimed fluorinated parylene and thickness of the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 7, 10, 11, 15, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the positioning of the tetrafluoro formula makes the claim confusing, since after the formula, the claims teach “the following formula”, wherein no formula is following.
The way claims 1 and 15 are written is confusing, since they indicate broadly ranging formulas, then limit the formula to a fluoro parylene species. Furthermore, the term fluorinated poly-(p-xylene) may include other species than that of the tetrafluoro species shown, since this can include fluorine bonded to the benzene atom instead of the carbon chain shown.
In claims 1 and 15 R1 can have different definitions. It is recommended that applicant condense the claims to show what is actually being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paxson (US 2018/0334607 in view of Ren (US 2021/0253773).
Regarding claims 1, Paxson teaches a downhole tool which comprises a coating and a dissolvable polymer, wherein the coating can comprise Parylene HT, which is the fluoro parylene taught in claim 1 (0050). The coating may have a thickness of from 10 to 100 micrometers (0045), overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed 10 to 30 micrometers claimed (see MPEP 2144.05 I). The dissolvable material may include polymers (0038, 0040). Paxson differs in not specifically the number of monomer groups in the polymer, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of monomers in the polymer in order to withstand downhole temperatures and pressures, and ensure timely delivery of the polymer to the downhole environment (see 0042 of Paxson which indicates that one of ordinary skill would provide conditions for timely delivery of the dissolvable polymer to the downhole environment and that the coating (barrier) can have low enough solubility, such that the coating has a desired lifetime (0049) ).
Paxson differs from the current invention in that the polymer is not disclosed as a polyurethane. Ren teaches that polyester-polyurethane is used as water dissolvable polymer compound in a tool for wellbore operations (0031-32). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the coating of Paxton on the soluble polymer compound of Ren, since such would give the ability to control the dissolution of the water soluble polymer in the wellbore, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Paxton teaches the coating may be conformal (0007).
Regarding claims 11, the same downhole tools are taught by Paxson (0007).
Regarding claim 12, , Paxson teaches a downhole tool within the scope of the claim (0007) which comprises a coating and a dissolvable polymer, wherein the coating can comprise Parylene N, which is poly(p-xylene) (0050). The coating may have a thickness of from 10 to 100 micrometers (0045), overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed 10 to 30 micrometers claimed (see MPEP 2144.05 I). The dissolvable material may include polymers (0038, 0040). Given that the coating has similar thickness as in the current invention, such would be expected to have similar degradation properties as claimed. Paxson differs in not specifically the number of monomer groups in the polymer, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of monomers in the polymer in order to withstand downhole temperatures and pressures, and ensure timely delivery of the polymer to the downhole environment (see 0042 of Paxson which indicates that one of ordinary skill would provide conditions for timely delivery of the dissolvable polymer to the downhole environment and that the coating (barrier) can have low enough solubility, such that the coating has a desired lifetime (0049) ).
Paxson differs from the current invention in that the polymer is not disclosed as a polyurethane. Ren teaches that polyester-polyurethane is used as water dissolvable polymer compound in a tool for wellbore operations (0031-32). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the coating of Paxton on the soluble polymer compound of Ren, since such would give the ability to control the dissolution of the water soluble polymer in the wellbore, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paxson in view of Ren as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Rytlewski (US 2007/0044958).
Regarding claim 10, Paxson is taught above. Paxson does not specifically teach that the coating is adhered to a primed surface of the soluble polymer. Rytlewski ‘958 teaches that a primer may be used when adhering a coating to a polymer for use in downhole operations (0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a primer to enhance adhesion in the invention of Paxson as taught by Rytlewski ‘958, since such is taught for the same purpose of utilizing coated polymeric material in downhole operations.
Claim 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paxson in view of Rytlewski (US 2007/0044958).
Regarding claims 15, Paxson teaches a downhole tool which comprises a coating and a dissolvable polymer, wherein the coating can comprise Parylene HT, which is the fluoro parylene taught in claim 1 (0050). The coating may have a thickness of from 10 to 100 micrometers (0045), overlapping and rendering obvious the claimed 10 to 30 micrometers claimed (see MPEP 2144.05 I). The dissolvable material may include polymers (0038, 0040). Paxson differs in not specifically the number of monomer groups in the polymer, however it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to vary the amount of monomers in the polymer in order to withstand downhole temperatures and pressures, and ensure timely delivery of the polymer to the downhole environment (see 0042 of Paxson which indicates that one of ordinary skill would provide conditions for timely delivery of the dissolvable polymer to the downhole environment and that the coating (barrier) can have low enough solubility, such that the coating has a desired lifetime (0049) ).
Paxson does not specifically teach that the coating is adhered to a primed surface of the soluble polymer. Rytlewski ‘958 teaches that a primer may be used when adhering a coating to a polymer for use in downhole operations (0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a primer to enhance adhesion in the invention of Paxson as taught by Rytlewski ‘958, since such is taught for the same purpose of utilizing coated polymeric material in downhole operations.
Regarding claim 16, the same downhole tools are taught by Paxton (0007).
Regarding claim 20, Paxton teaches that the coating may comprise thermoplastic polymers, such as acrylates and methacrylates.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paxson in view of Rytlewski (US 2007/0044958) as taught for claim 15 and further in view of Ren.
Paxson in view of Rytlewski is taught above. Paxton differs from the current invention in that a specific dissolvable polymer is not disclosed. Ren teaches that polyester-polyurethane is used as water dissolvable polymer compound in a tool for wellbore operations (0031-32). With regard to claim 18, polyester-polyurethane is a thermoplastic polymer. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the coating of Paxton on the soluble polymer compound of Ren, since such would give the ability to control the dissolution of the water soluble polymer in the wellbore, with a reasonable expectation of success.
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745