DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants elect claims 1 – 8 and 11 – 20 dated 12/29/2025 without traverse is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 10 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 – 8 and 11 – 20 are pending.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 19 and 20 fail to point out what the symbol of “SCTP” represents in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 7, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lagrange et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0056940; hereinafter Lagrange).
Regarding claim 1, Lagrange discloses a communication apparatus, which is a first donor node or included in the first donor node (see Fig. 1, IAB-donor 120), wherein the communication apparatus comprises: memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the processor (see Fig. 11, para. 0393 – 0406, communication device 1100 includes a central processing unit 1111 coupled to memory 1107 for storing computer programs to be executed…) to perform operations, comprising: generating a first data packet, wherein the first data packet includes first information, and the first information indicates a network segment to which a destination node of the first data packet belongs (see para. 0120, upper layer packets are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at the IAB-donor DU, thus forming BAP packets or data units…, Fig. 3, format of a BAP data protocol data unit (PDU) or packet, para. 0126, field 306 carries a path ID identifying the routing BAP path the BAP packet should follow to this destination in the IAB topology), or the first information indicates whether a destination node of the first data packet belongs to a network segment controlled by the first donor node; and sending the first data packet to a first node (see Fig. 1, IAB-donor communicates to IAB station 121).
Regarding claim 2, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information is carried in a routing identifier that is in a backhaul adaptation protocol layer (BAP) layer packet header of the first data packet (see Fig. 3, para. 0124, Fields 305 and 306 indicate together the BAP routing ID for the BAP packet and field 306 carries a path ID).
Regarding claim 4, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information is located in a first area of a header of the first data packet, the first data packet further includes second information, and the second information indicates that the first data packet comprises the first information (see Fig. 3, the header 30 includes field 306 which carries path ID (ex: first information), para. 0124, BAP path identity field 306, also referred to as PATH field, is located in the rightmost 10 bits).
Regarding claim 5, Lagrange discloses wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations including: sending routing configuration to the first node, wherein the routing configuration includes information about the first donor node to which the destination node of the first data packet belongs or information about the network segment to which the destination node of the first data packet belongs (see para. 0143 – 0145, The BAP routing configuration of the IAB-node comprises various routing tables, four of which are shown in FIG. 5… Field 501 defines a BAP Routing ID (concatenation of the PATH and DESTINATION fields mentioned above) while field 502 specifies the next-hop BAP Address, i.e. the BAP address of the next IAB-node along the path corresponding to the Routing ID 501).
Regarding claim 6, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information includes an identifier of the first donor node to which the destination node of the first data packet belongs, or an identifier of the network segment to which the destination node of the first data packet belongs (see para. 0126, field 306 carries a path ID identifying the routing BAP path the BAP packet should follow to this destination in the IAB topology).
Regarding claim 7, Lagrange discloses wherein the first data packet is generated based on a second data packet, and the processor is further configured to perform operations including: receiving the second data packet, wherein the second data packet includes internet protocol (IP) header information (see Fig. 2, para. 0120, upper layer packets (including IP layer packets with header info) are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at the IAB-donor DU, thus forming BAP packets or data units); and generating the routing identifier based on the IP header information (see Fig. 3, para. 0120, 0124, format of a BAP data unit with fields 305 and 306 indicate together the BAP routing ID).
Regarding claim 11, Lagrange discloses a communication apparatus, which is a first node or included in the first node (see Fig. 1, IAB station 121), wherein the communication apparatus comprises: memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the processor (see Fig. 11, para. 0393 – 0406, communication device 1100 includes a central processing unit 1111 coupled to memory 1107 for storing computer programs to be executed…) to perform operations, including: generating a first data packet, wherein the first data packet includes first information, and the first information indicates a destination node of the first data packet, or the first information indicates a network segment to which a destination node of the first data packet belongs (see para. 0121, upper layer packets are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at an initiator IAB-node (which may be an access IAB-node should the upper layer packets come from a UE), thus forming BAP packets or data units, Fig. 3, format of a BAP data protocol data unit (PDU) or packet, para. 0126, field 306 carries a path ID identifying the routing BAP path the BAP packet should follow to this destination in the IAB topology), or the first information indicates whether a destination node of the first data packet belongs to a network segment to which the first node belongs; and sending the first data packet to a second node (see Fig. 1, IAB station 121 communicates to IAB station 122).
Regarding claim 12, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information is carried in a routing identifier that is in a backhaul adaptation protocol layer (BAP) layer packet header of the first data packet (see Fig. 3, para. 0124, Fields 305 and 306 indicate together the BAP routing ID for the BAP packet and field 306 carries a path ID).
Regarding claim 14, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information is located in a first area of a header of the first data packet, the first data packet further includes second information, and the second information indicates that the first data packet includes the first information (see Fig. 3, the header 30 includes field 306 which carries path ID (ex: first information), para. 0124, BAP path identity field 306, also referred to as PATH field, is located in the rightmost 10 bits).
Regarding claim 15, Lagrange discloses wherein the first information includes an identifier of the destination node of the first data packet, or an identifier of the network segment to which the destination node of the first data packet belongs (see para. 0126, field 306 carries a path ID identifying the routing BAP path the BAP packet should follow to this destination in the IAB topology).
Regarding claim 18, Lagrange discloses wherein the first data packet is generated based on a second data packet, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations including: obtaining the second data packet; and generating the routing identifier based on one or more of a control plane F1 message type, a stream control transmission protocol (SCTP) association identifier, a terminal device identifier, an SCTP stream identifier, a non-F1 interface traffic type, and internet protocol (IP) header information that correspond to the second data packet (see Fig. 2, para. 0120, upper layer packets (including IP layer packets with header info) are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at the IAB-donor DU, thus forming BAP packets or data units, Fig. 3, para. 0120, 0124, format of a BAP data unit with fields 305 and 306 indicate together the BAP routing ID).
Regarding claim 19, Lagrange discloses wherein the first data packet is generated based on a second data packet, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations including: obtaining the second data packet; and generating the first information based on one or more of a control plane F1 message type, an SCTP association identifier, a terminal device identifier, an SCTP stream identifier, a non-F1 interface traffic type, and internet protocol (IP) header information that correspond to the second data packet (see Fig. 2, para. 0120, upper layer packets (including IP layer packets with header info) are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at the IAB-donor DU, thus forming BAP packets or data units, Fig. 3, para. 0120, 0124, format of a BAP data unit including field 306 for carrying a path ID (ex: first information)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagrange et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0056940; hereinafter Lagrange) in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0171745; hereinafter Ghanbarinejad).
Lagrange does not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 3 and 13.
Regarding claim 3, Ghanbarinejad discloses wherein the first information is carried in a reserved bit that is in a backhaul adaptation protocol layer (BAP) layer packet header of the first data packet (see Fig. 7, para. 0123, 0125, a BAP control PDU format 700 includes three separate reserved “R” bits that may be used to carry the first information).
Regarding claim 13, Ghanbarinejad discloses wherein the first information is carried in a reserved bit that is in a backhaul adaptation protocol layer (BAP) layer packet header of the first data packet (see Fig. 7, para. 0123, 0125, a BAP control PDU format 700 includes three separate reserved “R” bits that may be used to carry the first information).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lagrange, and have the features, as taught by Ghanbarinejad, where enhanced reliability through DC may facilitate better QoS by reducing connection interruptions and providing seamless connectivity in dynamic environments, as discussed by Ghanbarinejad (para. 0076).
Regarding claim 8, Lagrange discloses wherein the first data packet is generated based on a second data packet, wherein the processor is further configured to perform operations including: receiving the second data packet, wherein the second data packet includes internet protocol (IP) header information (see Fig. 2, para. 0120, upper layer packets (including IP layer packets with header info) are encapsulated by the BAP sublayer at the IAB-donor DU, thus forming BAP packets or data units); and generating the first information based on the IP header information (see Fig. 3, para. 0120, 0124, format of a BAP data unit including field 306 for carrying a path ID (ex: first information)).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lagrange et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0056940; hereinafter Lagrange) in view of Dutta (Pub. No.: US 2022/0116319; hereinafter Dutta).
Lagrange does not disclose the claimed features as recited in claim 20.
Regarding claim 20, Dutta discloses wherein the SCTP association identifier is based on one or more of an IP address of the first node, a port number of the first node (see para. 0184, a SCTP packet includes a Source Port field and a Destination Port field… The Source Port is the port number of the sender which is used by the receiver in combination with the source IP address to identify the SCTP association to which this SCTP packet belongs), an IP address of a donor node of the first node, and a port number of the donor node of the first node.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lagrange, and have the features, as taught by Dutta, in order to support reliability of an overlay may be configured to support reliable delivery of overlay packets based on a reliable transport layer, as discussed by Dutta (para. 0079).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473