DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “38” (page 8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“does no longer received” be changed to either --does no longer receive-- or --no longer receives-- (page 2, line 22);
“is moves” be changed to --moves-- (page 10, line 5).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 211468411 U; paragraph numbers pointed out below correlate to attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Lee et al. (US 4243127 A). Chen et al. discloses a working machine (autonomous vehicle), comprising:
(claim 1) an emergency stop actuator (including emergency stop switch #3, emergency stop switch button #7) arranged on an exterior surface of the working machine (autonomous vehicle; figures 1-5), the emergency stop actuator being electrically connected to an electric power system (figures 6-10), wherein the electric power system is configured to cut off a power supply to a motor upon actuation of the emergency stop actuator (paragraphs 0080-0084);
a frame structure (including first substrate #1, second substrate #2, actuation mechanism #6) connected to the working machine (autonomous vehicle), the frame structure comprising an abutment surface (including surface of actuation mechanism #6 that presses emergency stop switch button #7; figure 2; paragraphs 0060-0067);
wherein the frame structure (#1, 2, 6) is operatively arranged to move from a first position in which the abutment surface (including surface of actuation mechanism #6 that presses emergency stop switch button #7) is arranged at a distance from the emergency stop actuator (#3, 7), to a second position in which the abutment surface is in abutment with the emergency stop actuator to thereby actuate the emergency stop actuator (figure 2; paragraphs 0053-0066);
(claim 2) wherein the frame structure (#1, 2, 6) comprises a stationary portion (including first substrate #1) fixedly connected to the working machine (autonomous vehicle), and a movable portion (including second substrate #2, actuation mechanism #6) movable relative to the working machine (figures 1-5; paragraphs 0053-0067);
(claim 3) wherein the abutment surface (including surface of actuation mechanism #6 that presses emergency stop switch button #7) is arranged on the movable portion (#2, 6; figures 1-5; paragraphs 0053-0067);
(claim 4) wherein the exterior surface is arranged on the stationary portion (#1) of the frame structure (#1, 2, 6; figures 1-5);
(claim 6) wherein the frame structure further comprises a biasing member (including elastic member #4, supporting column #10) arranged between the stationary portion (#1) and the movable portion (#2; figures 1-5; paragraphs 0056-0059, 0068-0073);
(claim 7) wherein the biasing member is a helical spring (elastic member #4; figures 1-5);
(claim 8) wherein the frame structure comprises a first frame portion (including first substrate #1 and/or second substrate #2) arranged in parallel with the working machine (autonomous vehicle), and a second frame portion (including connecting rod #9, support column #10, elastic member #4, and/or body link #A) connected to the working machine, the second frame portion being arranged perpendicular to the first frame portion (figures 1-5; paragraphs 0056-0073);
(claim 9) wherein the first frame portion (including first substrate #1 and/or second substrate #2) is pivotably connected to the second frame portion (including connecting rod #9, support column #10, elastic member #4, and/or body link #A; pivotal connection formed via hinged connection; paragraphs 0063-0064; figures 1-5);
(claim 10) wherein the first frame portion comprises a pair of first frame portion members (including first substrate #1 and/or second substrate #2 on front and/or rear of autonomous vehicle; paragraph 0082);
(claim 11) wherein the abutment surface (including surface of actuation mechanism #6 that presses emergency stop switch button #7) is arranged on a first one of the pair of first frame portion members (including first substrate #1 or second substrate #2), and a second one of the pair of first frame portion members is pivotably connected to the second frame portion (pivotal connection formed via hinged connection; paragraphs 0063-0064; figures 1-5);
(claim 13) wherein the frame structure is formed by a truss construction (truss construction can include first substrate #1, second substrate #2, actuation mechanism #6, connecting rod #9, support column #10, body link #A, and/or other components of the front and/or rear frame structure of the autonomous vehicle; figure 1-5);
(claim 14) wherein the working machine (autonomous vehicle) further comprises a service brake (emergency brake) electrically connected to the electric power system and configured to assume an engaged state in which the working machine is prevented from moving, and a disengaged state in which the working machine is allowed to move, wherein the electric power system is configured to control the service brake to assume an engaged state upon actuation of the emergency stop actuator (#3, 7; has the ability to so perform; figures 6-10; discussed throughout specification);
(claim 15) wherein the working machine (autonomous vehicle) is an autonomously controlled working machine comprising an autonomously controlled propulsion and steering system electrically connected to the electric power system (autonomous/unmanned vehicle including steering system and driving motor discussed throughout specification).
Chen et al. discloses an electronic control unit (ECU) connected to and controlling the braking system and the motor during an emergency stop situation (discussed throughout specification), but does not specifically disclose an electric traction motor configured to apply a torque on at least one wheel of the working machine during propulsion. Lee et al. teaches a working machine (vehicle) comprising an electric traction motor (#198) configured to apply a torque on at least one wheel (#20) of the working machine during propulsion, an electric power system (including electrical controller #202) electrically connected to the electric traction motor, the electric power system being configured to, during propulsion, supply electric power to the electric traction motor, and an emergency stop actuator (including safe-off switch #194) being electrically connected to the electric power system, wherein the electric power system is configured to cut off the electric power supply to the electric traction motor upon actuation of the emergency stop actuator (figure 2; column 14, line 39-column 16, line 20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the working machine of Chen et al. to include an electric traction motor configured to apply a torque on at least one wheel of the working machine during propulsion, as taught by Lee et al., so as to efficiently propel the working machine during non-emergency driving, and quickly interrupt power supply to a vehicle wheel to help prevent movement of the working machine during an emergency stop situation (Lee et al.: Abstract; column 14, line 39-column 16, line 20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The allowable subject matter of claim 5 is wherein the exterior surface is a plate arranged in parallel with the abutment surface, in combination with other features of preceding claims 1, 2, and 4. Chen et al. (CN 211468411 U) specifically discloses that the exterior surface of the working machine is arranged at an acute angle with the abutment surface (including surface of actuation mechanism #6 that presses emergency stop switch button #7; figure 2; paragraphs 0060-0067);
The allowable subject matter of claim 12 is wherein the first one of the pair of first frame portion members is arranged vertically above the second one of the pair of first frame portion members, in combination with other features of preceding claims 1, 8, 10, and 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses vehicle emergency stop actuators.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614B