Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the claim states, “imaginary lines are provided”. The renders the claim unclear as an imaginary structure cannot be claimed as being provided or part of the structure. For the sake of prosecution, the examiner will consider the claim to read, “the outer tubular portion is disposed to intersect diagonal reference lines between the two diagonally-located fixation portions”. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 3, 5 and 7-9 are rejected as above due to dependency on Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 recites the limitation "the diagonal lines" in the body of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim should read “the imaginary lines” to overcome the antecedent basis rejection. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 5 and 7-9 are rejected as above due to dependency on Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suasa (JP 200191945 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Suasa teaches a subframe structure in a vehicle including a steering rack mechanism and a subframe (Fig. 6 element 10) having a plurality of fixation portions (Fig. 6 elements 12c and 14c) fixed to a vehicle body, wherein the steering rack mechanism has an outer tubular portion (Fig. 6 element 16) extending in a vehicle width direction, and the subframe and the outer tubular portion are integrally formed (Shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses imaginary lines are provided, each connecting at least two diagonally-located ones of the plurality of fixation portions, and the outer tubular portion is disposed to intersect with the imaginary lines (Fig. 6 shows outer tubular portion 16 disposed on reference lines connecting diagonal fixation points).
Regarding Claim 3, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 2 and further discloses the subframe has paired left and right extension portions continuously extending from the outer tubular portion to the fixation portions along the diagonal lines (Shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the subframe is provided with an upper rib connecting at least one of the fixation portions to a vehicle-width-direction end portion of the outer tubular portion in the vehicle width direction (Fig. 6 structure coupling upper fixation points to the outer tubular portion).
Regarding Claim 5, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3 and further discloses the subframe is provided with an upper rib connecting at least one of the fixation portions to a vehicle-width-direction end portion of the outer tubular portion in the vehicle width direction (Fig. 6 structure coupling upper fixation points to the outer tubular portion).
Regarding Claim 6, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses a lower rib is provided at a lower surface portion of the outer tubular portion, extending downward in a vehicle up-down direction (Fig. 6 structure coupling lower fixation points to the outer tubular portion).
Regarding Claim 7, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 3 and further discloses a lower rib is provided at a lower surface portion of the outer tubular portion, extending downward in a vehicle up-down direction (Fig. 6 structure coupling lower fixation points to the outer tubular portion).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suasa (JP 200191945 A) in view of Komiya (WO 2013145549 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 6.
Suasa fails to explicitly teach a lower end portion of the lower rib is linked to a jack member having a jack-up point.
However, Komiya teaches a lower end portion of the lower rib is linked to a jack member having a jack-up point (Fig. 5 element 27).
Suasa and Komiya are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of vehicle subframes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the subframe of Suasa to have the jack-up point as disclosed by Komiya. Doing so would provide a strong point on the subframe to allow the vehicle to be safely jacked up.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suasa (JP 200191945 A) in view of Komiya (WO 2013145549 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Suasa teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 7.
Suasa fails to explicitly teach a lower end portion of the lower rib is linked to a jack member having a jack-up point.
However, Komiya teaches a lower end portion of the lower rib is linked to a jack member having a jack-up point (Fig. 5 element 27).
Suasa and Komiya are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of vehicle subframes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the subframe of Suasa to have the jack-up point as disclosed by Komiya. Doing so would provide a strong point on the subframe to allow the vehicle to be safely jacked up.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644