Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5,8, 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the claim objections are addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,10--13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al
Regarding claims 1,10 and 18; GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses 1. A method comprising:
10. An apparatus ( FIG. 1:terminal apparatuses 20-1) comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions ( [0171] A program running on an apparatus , wherein Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily read into a volatile memory, such as a Random Access Memory (RAM) while being processed, or stored in a non-volatile memory, such as a flash memory, or a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), and then read by the CPU to be modified or rewritten, as necessary) to cause the apparatus to:
18. A computer program product comprising instructions that are stored on a computer-readable medium and that, when executed by a processor instructions ( [0171] A program running on an apparatus , wherein Programs or the information handled by the programs are temporarily read into a volatile memory, such as a Random Access Memory (RAM) while being processed, or stored in a non-volatile memory, such as a flash memory, or a Hard Disk Drive (HDD), and then read by the CPU to be modified or rewritten, as necessary), cause an apparatus to:
obtaining, first physical layer control information comprising N pieces of first information, wherein N is greater than or equal to 2; obtaining, from the N pieces of first information, target information indicating a frequency domain resource of a first channel In FIG. 1, and [0044] discloses the base station transmit to the terminal (20-1) a downlink physical channels r31 such as Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH),which are used for transmitting information output from the higher layer. Wherein The PDCCH is used to transmit Downlink Control Information (DCI), wherein the downlink control information includes control information for downlink data transmission and control information for uplink data transmission. The DCI format for downlink data transmission is also referred to as downlink assignment (or downlink grant, DL Grant). The DCI format for uplink data transmission is also referred to as uplink grant (or uplink assignment, UL Grant). Wherein The downlink grant may be used for at least scheduling a PDSCH within the same slot/subframe as the slot/subframe in which the downlink grant has been transmitted. The downlink assignment in DCI format includes the following fields. For example, the relevant fields include a DCI format identifier, a frequency domain resource assignment (resource block allocation for the PDSCH, resource allocation), a time domain resource assignment, VRB to PRB mapping, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the PDSCH (information indicating a modulation order and a coding rate), a NEW Data Indicator (NDI) indicating an initial transmission or retransmission, information for indicating the HARQ process number in the downlink, a Redundancy version (RV) indicating information on redundant bits added to the codeword during error correction coding, Downlink Assignment Index (DAI), a Transmission Power Control (TPC) command for the PUCCH, a resource indicator for the PUCCH, an indicator for HARQ feedback timing from the PDSCH, and the like
estimating the first channel based on the target information [0058] The synchronization signal is used for the terminal apparatus to take synchronization in the frequency domain and the time domain in the downlink. The downlink reference signal is used for the terminal apparatus to perform the channel estimation/channel compensation on the downlink physical channel. For example, the downlink reference signal is used to demodulate the PBCH, the PDSCH, and the PDCCH. The downlink reference signal can be used for the terminal apparatus to measure the downlink channel state (CSI measurement). The downlink reference signal may include a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS).
obtaining, second physical layer control information comprising signaling information that is for sending feedback information corresponding to the first channel; and sending the feedback information based on the second physical layer control information [0030]-[0040 ]In FIG. 1, radio communication of an uplink r30 includes at least the following uplink physical channels. The uplink physical channels are used for transmitting information output from a higher layer, such as, Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) and the ACK/NACK is also referred to as a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK), a HARQ feedback, a HARQ response, or a signal indicating HARQ control information or a delivery confirmation, wherein The PUSCH may be used to transmit the HARQ-ACK in response to the downlink data and/or the channel state information.
Regarding claims 2,11 and 19; GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses all the features with respect to claims 1,10 and 18, respectively.
GOTOH further discloses performing second channel estimation on a second channel based on a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the second channel [0058] The synchronization signal is used for the terminal apparatus to take synchronization in the frequency domain and the time domain in the downlink. The downlink reference signal is used for the terminal apparatus to perform the channel estimation/channel compensation on the downlink physical channel. For example, the downlink reference signal is used to demodulate the PBCH, the PDSCH, and the PDCCH. The downlink reference signal can be used for the terminal apparatus to measure the downlink channel state (CSI measurement). The downlink reference signal may include a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS).
Regarding claims 3,12 and 20; GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses all the features with respect to claims 2,11 and 19, respectively.
GOTOH further discloses wherein estimating the first channel comprises: performing first channel estimation on the first channel based on the DMRS [0058] The synchronization signal is used for the terminal apparatus to take synchronization in the frequency domain and the time domain in the downlink. The downlink reference signal is used for the terminal apparatus to perform the channel estimation/channel compensation on the downlink physical channel. For example, the downlink reference signal is used to demodulate the PBCH, the PDSCH, and the PDCCH. The downlink reference signal can be used for the terminal apparatus to measure the downlink channel state (CSI measurement). The downlink reference signal may include a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS).
Regarding claims 4, and 13; GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses all the features with respect to claims 1, and 10, respectively.
GOTOH further discloses performing channel estimation on the first channel based on a reference signal (DMRS) corresponding to the first channel [0058] The synchronization signal is used for the terminal apparatus to take synchronization in the frequency domain and the time domain in the downlink. The downlink reference signal is used for the terminal apparatus to perform the channel estimation/channel compensation on the downlink physical channel. For example, the downlink reference signal is used to demodulate the PBCH, the PDSCH, and the PDCCH. The downlink reference signal can be used for the terminal apparatus to measure the downlink channel state (CSI measurement). The downlink reference signal may include a Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS).
Regarding claims 9, and 17; GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses all the features with respect to claims 1, and 10, respectively.
GOTOH further discloses obtaining third physical layer control information comprising a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)process number, a new data indicator (NDI) a modulation and coding scheme, a transport block size, or precoding matrix information of the first channel In FIG. 1, and [0044] discloses the base station transmit to the terminal (20-1) a downlink physical channels r31 such as Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH),which are used for transmitting information output from the higher layer. Wherein The PDCCH is used to transmit Downlink Control Information (DCI), wherein the downlink control information includes control information for downlink data transmission and control information for uplink data transmission. The DCI format for downlink data transmission is also referred to as downlink assignment (or downlink grant, DL Grant). The DCI format for uplink data transmission is also referred to as uplink grant (or uplink assignment, UL Grant). Wherein The downlink grant may be used for at least scheduling a PDSCH within the same slot/subframe as the slot/subframe in which the downlink grant has been transmitted. The downlink assignment in DCI format includes the following fields. For example, the relevant fields include a DCI format identifier, a frequency domain resource assignment (resource block allocation for the PDSCH, resource allocation), a time domain resource assignment, VRB to PRB mapping, a Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS) for the PDSCH (information indicating a modulation order and a coding rate), a NEW Data Indicator (NDI) indicating an initial transmission or retransmission, information for indicating the HARQ process number in the downlink, a Redundancy version (RV) indicating information on redundant bits added to the codeword during error correction coding, Downlink Assignment Index (DAI), a Transmission Power Control (TPC) command for the PUCCH, a resource indicator for the PUCCH, an indicator for HARQ feedback timing from the PDSCH, and the like
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claims 6-7 and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al in view of KIM et al.US 2023/0067370 A1
Regarding claims 6 and 15, GOTOH et al. US 2021/0045092 Al discloses all features with respect to claims 2 and 11, respectively
GOTOH does not disclose wherein a time-frequency resource of the second channel is M control channel elements (CCEs), and wherein M is greater than or equal to 1.
KIM et al.US 2023/0067370 Al discloses wherein a time-frequency resource of the second channel is M control channel elements (CCEs), and wherein M is greater than or equal to 1. [0089] Such DCI format is independently applicable per UE and PDCCHs of several UEs may be multiplexed within one subframe. The PDCCH is composed of an aggregate of one or several control channel elements (CCEs). The CCE is a logical allocation unit used to provide a PDCCH with a coding rate according to radio channel state. The CCE refers to a unit corresponding to 9 sets of REGs composed of four resource elements. The BS may use {1, 2, 4, 8} CCEs in order to configure one PDCCH signal and {1, 2, 4, 8} is referred to as a CCE aggregation level. [0090] The number of CCEs used to transmit a specific PDCCH is determined by the BS according to channel state. The PDCCH configured according to UE is interleaved and mapped to a control channel region of each subframe by a CCE-to-RE mapping rule. The location of the PDCCH may depend on the number of OFDM symbols for a control channel of each subframe.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GOTOH by including wherein a time-frequency resource of the second channel is M control channel elements (CCEs), and wherein M is greater than or equal to 1, as taught by KIM in order to configure one PDCCH signal (see KIM i[0089]).
Regarding claims 7, the combination of GOTOH and KIM discloses all features with respect to claim 6.
GOTOH does not disclose wherein the M CCEs are consecutive CCEs.
KIM et al.US 2023/0067370 Al discloses wherein the M CCEs are consecutive CCEs.
[0089] Such DCI format is independently applicable per UE and PDCCHs of several UEs may be multiplexed within one subframe. The PDCCH is composed of an aggregate of one or several control channel elements (CCEs). The CCE is a logical allocation unit used to provide a PDCCH with a coding rate according to radio channel state. The CCE refers to a unit corresponding to 9 sets of REGs composed of four resource elements. The BS may use {1, 2, 4, 8} CCEs in order to configure one PDCCH signal and {1, 2, 4, 8} is referred to as a CCE aggregation level. [0090] The number of CCEs used to transmit a specific PDCCH is determined by the BS according to channel state. The PDCCH configured according to UE is interleaved and mapped to a control channel region of each subframe by a CCE-to-RE mapping rule. The location of the PDCCH may depend on the number of OFDM symbols for a control channel of each subframe.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify GOTOH by including wherein wherein the M CCEs are consecutive CCEs, as taught by KIM in order to configure one PDCCH signal (see KIM [0089]).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478