DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/477,210 by Zhang et al. for “COMMUNICATION METHOD AND APPARATUS”, filed on 09/28/2023.
Per the 09/28/2023 Claim amendments, claims 1-20 are cancelled and claims 21-40 are newly pending. Therefore claims 21-40 now pending. The independent claims are 21, 29, 31 and 39.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 25-33 and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GAAL et al. (US20240039672A1), hereinafter GAAL.
Regarding claim 21, GAAL teaches A communication method comprising: sending, by a terminal, first information to a network device on a first carrier, (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 610, paragraphs 169-170, teach sending, by UE (i.e. terminal), capability information to BS (i.e. network device) on a first carrier.)
wherein the first information triggers measurement on at least one second carrier or at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach that based on the capability information, triggering configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules which corresponds to triggering measurement on at least one second carrier because the UE will perform transmission on at least one second carrier based on the configuration information.)
and after sending the first information, sending or receiving, by the terminal, a reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach that, after sending the capability information in step 610, sending or receiving, by the UE, a SRS transmission (i.e. reference signal) on at least one second carrier during a specified time.)
Regarding claim 22, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein: the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell; the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized; or the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized and the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell. (GAAL, paragraph 191, teaches carriers belonging to a same serving cell and a second carrier as synchronized during specified times and frequencies.)
Regarding claim 23, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the terminal and the network device establishes time-frequency synchronization with the first carrier, and terminal and the network device perform data transmission with the at least one second carrier. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach establishing time-frequency synchronization with the first carrier, and terminal and the network device perform data transmission with the at least one second carrier.)
Regarding claim 25, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, configuration information of the reference signal, wherein the configuration information of the reference signal indicates at least one type of reference signal, a reference signal on the at least one second carrier, or at least one measurement time period of the reference signal. (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach receiving configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules.)
Regarding claim 26, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates that the configuration information of the reference signal takes effect; or receiving, by the terminal, second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the configuration information of the reference signal does not take effect. (GAAL, Fig. 7, steps 740, 750, paragraphs 190-191, teach suspending transmission on a specified carrier based on in part on the capability information.)
Regarding claim 27, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 26, wherein the first indication information further indicates that a communication mode in which synchronization measurement is decoupled from data transmission is used. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach transmitting the reference signal and data on different carriers (i.e. decoupling.))
Regarding claim 28, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal, second information to the network device, wherein the second information indicates the terminal to stop sending or receiving the reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; or receiving, by the terminal, third information from the network device, wherein the third information indicates the terminal to stop sending or receiving the reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam of the at least one second carrier. (GAAL, Fig. 7, steps 740, 750, paragraphs 190-191, teach suspending (i.e. stop sending or receiving) the reference signal on at least one carrier.)
Regarding claim 29, GAAL teaches A communication method comprising: receiving, by a network device, first information from a terminal on a first carrier, (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 610, paragraphs 169-170, teach sending, by UE (i.e. terminal), capability information received by a BS (i.e. network device) on a first carrier.)
wherein the first information triggers measurement on at least one second carrier or at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach that based on the capability information, triggering configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules which corresponds to triggering measurement on at least one second carrier because the UE will perform transmission on at least one second carrier based on the configuration information.)
and after receiving the first information, receiving or sending, by the network device, a reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach that, after sending the capability information in step 610, sending or receiving, by the UE, a SRS transmission (i.e. reference signal) on at least one second carrier during a specified time.)
Regarding claim 30, GAAL teaches the method according to claim 29, wherein: the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell; the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized; or the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized and the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell. (GAAL, paragraph 191, teaches carriers belonging to a same serving cell and a second carrier as synchronized during specified times and frequencies.)
Regarding claim 31, GAAL teaches an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to: (GAAL, Fig. 10, paragraphs 228-229, teach apparatus 1000 comprising one or processors and non-transitory computer readable storage medium to be executed by the one or more processors.)
send first information to a network device on a first carrier, (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 610, paragraphs 169-170, teach sending, by UE (i.e. terminal), capability information to BS (i.e. network device) on a first carrier.)
wherein the first information triggers measurement on at least one second carrier or at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach that based on the capability information, triggering configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules which corresponds to triggering measurement on at least one second carrier because the UE will perform transmission on at least one second carrier based on the configuration information.)
and after sending the first information, send or receive a reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach that, after sending the capability information in step 610, sending or receiving, by the UE, a SRS transmission (i.e. reference signal) on at least one second carrier during a specified time.)
Regarding claim 32, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein: the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell; the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized; or the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized and the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell. (GAAL, paragraph 191, teaches carriers belonging to a same serving cell and a second carrier as synchronized during specified times and frequencies.)
Regarding claim 33, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein a terminal and the network device establishes time-frequency synchronization with the first carrier, and the terminal and the network device to perform data transmission with the at least one second carrier. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach establishing time-frequency synchronization with the first carrier, and terminal and the network device perform data transmission with the at least one second carrier.)
Regarding claim 35, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the program include further instructions to: receive configuration information of the reference signal, wherein the configuration information of the reference signal indicates at least one type of reference signal, a reference signal on the at least one second carrier, or at least one measurement time period of the reference signal. (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach receiving configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules.)
Regarding claim 36, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 35, wherein the program include further instructions to: receive first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates that the configuration information of the reference signal takes effect; or receive second indication information, wherein the second indication information indicates that the configuration information of the reference signal does not take effect. (GAAL, Fig. 7, steps 740, 750, paragraphs 190-191, teach suspending transmission on a specified carrier based on in part on the capability information.)
Regarding claim 37, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 36, wherein the first indication information further indicates that a communication mode in which synchronization measurement is decoupled from data transmission is used. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach transmitting the reference signal and data on different carriers (i.e. decoupling.))
Regarding claim 38, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 31, wherein the program include further instructions to: send second information to the network device, wherein the second information indicates a terminal to stop sending or receiving the reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; or receive third information from the network device, wherein the third information indicates a terminal to stop sending or receiving the reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam of the at least one second carrier. (GAAL, Fig. 7, steps 740, 750, paragraphs 190-191, teach suspending (i.e. stop sending or receiving) the reference signal on at least one carrier.)
Regarding claim 39, GAAL teaches an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program to be executed by the one or more processors, the program including instructions to: (GAAL, Fig. 11, paragraphs 234-235, teach apparatus 1100 comprising one or processors and non-transitory computer readable storage medium to be executed by the one or more processors.)
receive first information from a terminal on a first carrier, (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 610, paragraphs 169-170, teach sending, by UE (i.e. terminal), capability information received by a BS (i.e. network device) on a first carrier.)
wherein the first information triggers measurement on at least one second carrier or at least one beam of the at least one second carrier; (GAAL, Fig. 6, step 620, paragraphs 171-174, 177, teach that based on the capability information, triggering configuration information indicating carrier switching/rules which corresponds to triggering measurement on at least one second carrier because the UE will perform transmission on at least one second carrier based on the configuration information.)
and after receiving the first information, receive or send a reference signal on the at least one second carrier or the at least one beam. (GAAL, Fig. 6, steps 630, 640, paragraphs 178-180, teach that, after sending the capability information in step 610, sending or receiving, by the UE, a SRS transmission (i.e. reference signal) on at least one second carrier during a specified time.)
Regarding claim 40, GAAL teaches the apparatus according to claim 39, wherein: the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell; the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized; or the first carrier and the at least one second carrier are time-frequency synchronized and the first carrier and the at least one second carrier belong to a same cell. (GAAL, paragraph 191, teaches carriers belonging to a same serving cell and a second carrier as synchronized during specified times and frequencies.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAAL et al. (US20240039672A1), hereinafter GAAL, in view of SHEN et al. (US20200367107A1), hereinafter SHEN.
Regarding claim 24, although GAAL teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 21 above, GAAL does describe wherein the first information or a resource transmitting the first information meets: the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data.
SHEN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first information or a resource transmitting the first information meets: the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data. (SHEN, Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph 109, teach determining whether the first downlink BWP, the first uplink BWP, the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP are simultaneously activatable, if the first downlink BWP, the first uplink BWP, the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP are simultaneously activatable, the terminal maintains the first downlink BWP and the first uplink BWP in an activated state while activating the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of SHEN with the teachings of GAAL to configure the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data. The motivation would be to support simultaneous transmission of multiple types of services, and improving scheduling flexibility and spectrum utilization of the system (SHEN, paragraph 142).
Regarding claim 34, although GAAL teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 31 above, GAAL does describe wherein the first information or a resource transmitting the first information meets: the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data.
SHEN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the first information or a resource transmitting the first information meets: the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource used to transmit the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data. (SHEN, Fig. 2, step 202, paragraph 109, teach determining whether the first downlink BWP, the first uplink BWP, the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP are simultaneously activatable, if the first downlink BWP, the first uplink BWP, the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP are simultaneously activatable, the terminal maintains the first downlink BWP and the first uplink BWP in an activated state while activating the second downlink BWP and the second uplink BWP.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of SHEN with the teachings of GAAL to configure the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one second carrier; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to the at least one beam; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a frequency band in which the second carrier is located; the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a level to which a size of a buffer status report of to-be-sent data belongs; or the first information or the resource that transmits the first information corresponds to a service feature of to-be-sent data. The motivation would be to support simultaneous transmission of multiple types of services, and improving scheduling flexibility and spectrum utilization of the system (SHEN, paragraph 142).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412