DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 13-15, 17 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al. (US 2018/0146492 A1, hereinafter “Luo”).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Luo teaches a method, comprising: transmitting, by station multi-link device (STA MLD) (e.g., UE 904 of fig. 9. Figs. 1, 2, 10A, 10B, 13-15, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, and/or the like. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link, the first traffic flow being scheduled for transmission before the information is obtained, means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like.) operating in a local wireless network, at least a first portion of a first element of uplink data via a first link to one or more access point multi-link devices (AP MLDs) (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0102], ¶ [0114], the TRP 1002-1 may provide a first link 1006, and the TRP 1002-2 may provide a second link 1008. The first link 1006 and the second link 1008 may include carriers, subcarriers, channels, and/or the like, within which traffic is to be provided to the UE. One or more of the first link or the second link may be associated with 3G, 4G, LTE, 5G, NR, WiFi, and/or the like. ¶ [0116], fig. 13, ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150]); identifying, by the STA MLD, a second element of data (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0103], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150]); interrupting, by the STA MLD, the transmission of the first element of data to transmit the second element of uplink data via the first link to the one or more AP MLDs (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0100], ¶ [0103], ¶ [0104], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ (TRP or UE) for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link); and transmitting, by the STA MLD, a remaining portion of the first element of uplink data via a second link to the one or more AP MLDs (figs. 9-12, ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, ¶ [0111], the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow may include additional and/or alternative information. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0120], transmit the control information and the portion of the first traffic flow on the second link 1008. ¶ [0150], means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Luo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the second element of data comprises deterministic data that has a higher transmission priority than the first element of uplink data (¶ [0011], ¶ [0071], ¶ [0103], In some aspects, the second traffic flow may be associated with a lower latency (e.g., a lower latency threshold) and/or a higher priority than the first traffic flow. ¶ [0147] and ¶ [0150]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Luo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein both the first and second links connect the STA MLD to a first AP MLD) (figs. 9-10B, 13, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150], ¶ [0150], ¶ [0004], ¶ [0107], the TRP 902-1 may provide the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the TRP 902-2. The TRP 902-2 provides the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the UE 904. In other words, UE communicates with (i.e., is connected to) TRP 902-1 via the first link and via the second link (from the second TRP 902-2)).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Luo teaches the method of claim 3, comprising communicating, by the STA MLD and to the AP MLD, a defined preemption sequence between the first link and the second link (figs. 9-10B, 13, ¶ [0107], ¶ [0118]-¶ [0122], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150]).
Regarding claim 6, Luo teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:, the first link connects the STA MLD to a first AP MLD, and the second link connects the STA MLD to a second AP MLD (figs. 9-10B, 14, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, and/or the like. ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link, the first traffic flow being scheduled for transmission before the information is obtained, means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like).
Regarding claim 21, Lou teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the STA MLD, at least a first portion of a third element of downlink data via a third link, the third link connecting the STA MLD to a first AP MLD (figs. 5, 9-10B); and receiving, by the STA MLD, a remaining portion of the third element of downlink data via a fourth link, the fourth link connecting the STA MLD to a second AP MLD (figs. 5, 9-12, ¶ [0100], ¶ [0106], the TRP 902-1 may transmit the first traffic flow to the UE 904 on the first link. As further shown, the TRP 902-1 may transmit the second traffic flow on the first link, which may lead to interruption of the first traffic flow by the second traffic flow. ¶ [0107], the TRP 902-1 may provide control information to the TRP 902-2 for transmission on the second link. The control information may include information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow that is interrupted by the second traffic flow. In some aspects, the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow may include the portion of the first traffic flow. [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116]).
Regarding claim 22, Luo teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the first AP MLD forwards the remaining portion of the third element of downlink data to the second AP MLD in response to identifying a fourth element of downlink data, and the fourth element of downlink data comprises deterministic data that has a higher transmission priority than the third element of downlink data (figs. 9-10B, ¶ [0107], the TRP 902-1 may provide the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the TRP 902-2. The TRP 902-2 provides the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the UE 904. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0119], ¶ [0135], wherein the second traffic flow has lower latency or a higher priority than the first traffic flow.).
Regarding claim 23, Luo teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the third and fourth links operate on a same frequency band (¶ [0048], ¶ [0129]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lou in view of Zhou et al. (US 2018/0206174 A1, hereinafter “Zhou”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Luo teaches the method of claim 3.
Luo does not explicitly teach further comprising transmitting, by the STA MLD, at least one of a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), or a tag indicating the second link, to the AP MLD via the first link.
However, it is well known in the art to transmit, by the first network device, CRC to the second network device via a first link, as evidenced by ¶ [0112] and ¶ [0119] of Zhou.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to transmit, by the STA MLD, CRC to the AP MLD via the first link in the system of Lou to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
9. Claims 7-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo.
Regarding claim 7, Luo teaches the method of claim 6.
Luo does not explicitly teach wherein the second AP MLD transmits the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data to the first AP MLD.
However, Luo teaches the first network/transmitting device comprises a STA MLD (Figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], ¶ [150]). Luo further teaches the second AP MLD transmits the remaining portion of the first element of data to the receiving device (figs. 9-10B, ¶ [0107], the TRP 902-1 may provide the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the TRP 902-2. The TRP 902-2 provides the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the UE 904. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize the method of Luo for uplink communications/transmissions (i.e., to transmit, the remaining portion of the first element of data, from the STA MLD (transmitting device) to the first AP MLD (receiving device) via the second/relay AP MLD) in the system of Luo to improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 8, Luo teaches the method of claim 7.
Luo does not explicitly teach wherein the first AP MLD, upon receiving the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data, combines the remaining portion and the first portion of the first element of uplink data, and transmits the first element of uplink data to a destination.
However, Luo teaches wherein the receiving device, upon receiving the remaining portion of the first element of data, combining the remaining portion and the first portion of the first element of data (Figs. 9-12, ¶ [0120], the UE 1004 may selectively perform processing to combine signals received in the first traffic flow via the first link (e.g., an uninterrupted portion of the first traffic flow) with signals received in the portion of the first traffic flow via the second link. Figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], ¶ [150]). Luo further teaches the AP transmitting the first element of data to a destination (figs. 1, 2, 5, 6, 9-12. ¶ [0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, utilize the method of Luo for uplink transmission (i.e., to transmit, the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data, from the STA MLD (transmitting device) to the first AP MLD (receiving device) via the second AP MLD and the receiving device (i.e. first AP MLD) to combine, upon receiving the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data, the remaining portion and the first portion of the first element of uplink data received via the first link and the second link, and to transmit the first element of uplink data to a destination) in the system of Luo to improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 9, Luo teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first and second links operate on a same frequency band (¶ [0048], ¶ [0129]).
Regarding claim 18, Luo teaches the system of claim 13, wherein: the first link connects the STA MLD to a first AP MLD, the second link connects the STA MLD to a second AP MLD (figs. 9-10B, 14, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, and/or the like. ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link, the first traffic flow being scheduled for transmission before the information is obtained, means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like. ¶ [0004]).
Luo does not explicitly teach the second AP MLD transmits the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data to the first AP MLD.
However, Luo teaches the second AP MLD transmits the remaining portion of the first element of data to the receiver (figs. 9-10B, ¶ [0107], the TRP 902-1 may provide the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the TRP 902-2. The TRP 902-2 provides the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow to the UE 904. ¶ [0114]. ¶ [0004]) and the receiver combines the received data (Figs. 9-12, ¶ [0120], the UE 1004 may selectively perform processing to combine signals received in the first traffic flow via the first link (e.g., an uninterrupted portion of the first traffic flow) with signals received in the portion of the first traffic flow via the second link. Figs. 13, 14, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], ¶ [150]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize the method of Luo for uplink communications/transmission (i.e., to transmit, the remaining portion of the first element of uplink data, from the STA MLD (transmitting device) to the first AP MLD (receiving device) via the second AP MLD and to combine the uplink data received via the first link and the second link ) in the system of Luo to improve industrial applicability.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments filed on July 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
11. Applicant argues “…That is, Luo clearly describes a downlink scenario, where multiple base stations transmit downlink data to user equipment. However, Luo does not teach or suggest any user equipment interrupting the transmission of uplink data, as recited in the present claims.
Moreover, the Office argues that Luo teaches "transmitting, by the STA MLD, a remaining portion of the first element of uplink data via a second link," pointing again to Figures 9-12. Final Office Action, p. 3. As the Office notes, Luo describes transmitting "information associated with the first portion of the first traffic flow" via a second link. Id. Stated differently, Luo explains that the second TRP may transmit "control information" that is "associated with the portion of the first traffic flow that is interrupted by the second traffic." [0107]. That is, Luo contemplates transmitting a "first portion" of traffic via a first link, and then transmitting "control information" about that first portion of traffic via a second link…
Further, to expedite prosecution, claims 1, 13, and 20 have been amended to recite, in part, transmitting data by "a station multi-link device (STA MLD) operating in a local wireless network" to "one or more access point multi-link devices (AP MLDs)." In contrast, Luo describes transmissions from multiple "TRPs" to a single "user equipment" in a "wide area network" such as "a cellular network." [0038]. This does not teach or suggest the claimed communications between a single STA MLD and one or more AP MLDs in a local wireless network…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Luo teaches a method, comprising: transmitting, by station multi-link device (STA MLD) (e.g., UE 904 of fig. 9. Figs. 1, 2, 10A, 10B, 13-15, ¶ [0037], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, and/or the like. ¶ [0114], ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link, the first traffic flow being scheduled for transmission before the information is obtained, means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like. In other words, when the apparatus 1302/1302’ is the UE of figs. 1, 9 or 10, the first/second traffic flow is uplink data) operating in a local wireless network, at least a first portion of a first element of uplink data via a first link to one or more access point multi-link devices (AP MLDs) (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0102], ¶ [0114], the TRP 1002-1 may provide a first link 1006, and the TRP 1002-2 may provide a second link 1008. The first link 1006 and the second link 1008 may include carriers, subcarriers, channels, and/or the like, within which traffic is to be provided to the UE. One or more of the first link or the second link may be associated with 3G, 4G, LTE, 5G, NR, WiFi, and/or the like. ¶ [0116], fig. 13, ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150]); identifying, by the STA MLD, a second element of data (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0103], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150]); interrupting, by the STA MLD, the transmission of the first element of data to transmit the second element of uplink data via the first link to the one or more AP MLDs (figs. 9-12. ¶ [0100], ¶ [0103], ¶ [0104], ¶ [0147], ¶ [0150], the apparatus 1302/1302′ (TRP or UE) for wireless communication includes means for obtaining information indicating that a portion of a first traffic flow to be transmitted on a first link is to be interrupted by a second traffic flow to be transmitted on the first link); and transmitting, by the STA MLD, a remaining portion of the first element of uplink data via a second link to the one or more AP MLDs (figs. 9-12, ¶ [0147], The apparatus 1302′ may be a transmission device, such as the BS 110 or UE 120 of FIG. 1, the TRPs 508 of FIG. 5, the TRPs 902-1 and 902-2 or UE 904 of FIG. 9, the TRPs 1002-1 and 1002-2 or UE 1004 of FIG. 10, ¶ [0111], the information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow may include additional and/or alternative information. ¶ [0107], ¶ [0120], transmit the control information and the portion of the first traffic flow on the second link 1008. ¶ [0150], means for transmitting information associated with the portion of the first traffic flow on a second link that is different than the first link, and/or the like).
Therefore, Luo teaches the amended claims 1, 13 and 20, as set forth above.
Conclusion
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477