DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14, 16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111 746 124) in view of Cholewik (US 2019/0105918) and in view of Hermann (US 10,632,757).
With regard to claim 1, Jiang discloses a system for dynamic control of fluid pressure within a fluid flow circuit [Figs. 1-2], the system comprising:
an inlet line [ink supply pipeline; Para. 0011] and an outlet line [ink return pipeline; Para. 0011];
a fluid circulation system (1) [ink barrel; Para. 0048; Figs. 1-2] configured to supply a working fluid [ink] through the inlet line [Para. 0049] and return returned working fluid through the outlet line [Para. 0049];
a fluid management device (2) [printhead; Para. 0046; Figs. 1-2] wherein the fluid management device defines a pressure-controlled point [Para. 49-50];
a first proportional valve (41) [ink supply proportional valve; Para. 0051] disposed in the inlet line and configured to selectively modulate an inlet fluid pressure in the inlet line between the first proportional valve and the fluid management device by selectively modulating a flow rate of the working fluid in the inlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030];
a first pressure sensor (31) [nozzle ink supply pressure sensor; Para. 0050] between the first proportional valve and the fluid management device and configured to measure the inlet fluid pressure in the inlet line [Fig. 2];
a second proportional valve (42) [ink return proportional valve; Para. 0051; Fig. 2] disposed in the outlet line and configured to selectively modulate an outlet fluid pressure in the inlet line between the first proportional valve and the fluid management device by selectively modulating a flow rate of the working fluid in the inlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030];
a second pressure sensor (32) [nozzle ink return pressure sensor; Para. 0050] between the fluid management device and the second proportional valve [Fig. 2] and configured to measure the outlet fluid pressure in the outlet line; and
a controller (not shown) [Para. 0061] operably coupled to the first proportional valve, the first pressure sensor, the second proportional valve, and the second pressure sensor, wherein the controller is configured to control the first proportional valve so that the inlet fluid pressure is maintained at a target inlet fluid pressure and control the second proportional valve so that the outlet fluid pressure is maintained at a target outlet fluid pressure [Para. 0061];
Jiang does not disclose wherein the fluid management device is selectively movable, relative to the fluid circulation system; the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve are disposed in the inlet line within 300 millimeters (mm) of the fluid management device; and the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve are disposed in the outlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device.
Cholewik teaches printheads rotate in a carousel [Para. 0044]; a first proportional valve (22) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an inlet line (5) [feed line; Para. 0051] immediately adjacent to a fluid management device (1) [Para. 0051; Fig. 2]; and a second proportional valve (23) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an outlet line immediately adjacent to the fluid management device [Fig. 2].
Hermann teaches a valve (304) in the inlet line situated approximately 140mm from the printhead [Col. 6; lines 41- 45].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fluid management device to be selectively movable, relative to the fluid circulation system for the purpose of allowing dynamic adjustment of the gas pressure.
It would also be obvious to utilize the first and second proportional valve of Jiang within 300 mm of the fluid management device as taught by Hermann in view of Cholewik for the purpose of keeping the volume of ink in the tube to the printhead approximately the same as the volume of ink that the printhead holds. Since Hermann teaches a valve within 140 mm, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the sensor disposed between the valve and printhead, as taught by Jiang, would result in the sensor being positioned less than or equal to 140mm of the printhead.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve in the inlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device and the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve in the outlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 2, Jiang discloses wherein the first proportional valve and the second proportional valve are actuatable independently of each other [control ink flow rate in the supply line and the ink line; Para. 0071; Fig. 2].
With regard to claim 3, Jiang discloses wherein each one of the first proportional valve and the second proportional valve is a direct-acting proportional valve [Para. 0030].
With regard to claim 5, Jiang discloses wherein the system is configured to automatically compensate for inertial effects and hydraulic head [simple structure and the ability to effectively control ink pressure and flow so that the nozzle plate on the print head obtains stable pressure and ensures stable operation of the printhead; Para. 0006].
With regard to claim 6, Jiang discloses wherein the working fluid is an incompressible fluid [ink; Para. 0011].
With regard to claim 7, Jiang discloses wherein the fluid management device comprises at least one nozzle (N) [Para. 0013] fluidically coupled to the inlet line and the outlet line and configured to dispense the working fluid [Para. 0014].
With regard to claim 8, Jiang discloses wherein the working fluid in an ink [Paras. 0011-0012]; and the fluid management device comprises a printhead configured to dispense the ink [Para. 0012].
With regard to claim 9, Jiang discloses wherein the fluid circulation system further comprises a pump (51) [Para. 0059; Fig. 2] that is selectively operable to supply the working fluid to the inlet line and return returned working fluid from the outlet line.
With regard to claim 10, Jiang does not disclose wherein the fluid circulation system further comprises a supply reservoir for supplying the working fluid and a return reservoir for storing returned working fluid.
Cholewik discloses wherein the fluid circulation system further comprises a supply reservoir (2) [feed tank; Para. 0046] for supplying the working fluid [ink; Para. 0046] and a return reservoir (3) [return tank; Para. 0046] for storing returned working fluid [Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Jiang with a supply reservoir and a return reservoir in order to remove the unused/non-ejected ink medium. [Cholewik; Para. 0020]
With regard to claim 11, Jiang discloses further comprising a plurality of fluid management devices [printheads; Para. 0037], a plurality of inlet lines [Para. 0066], a plurality of outlet lines [Para. 0066], a plurality of first proportional valves [Para. 0066], a plurality of second proportional valves [Para. 0066], a plurality of pressure-controlled points [Para. 0066], a plurality of first pressure sensors [Para. 0066], and a plurality of second pressure sensors [Para. 0066], wherein:
each one of the plurality of fluid management devices is coupled to a corresponding one of the plurality of inlet lines and a corresponding one of the plurality of outlet lines [Fig. 1];
each one of the plurality of fluid management devices defines a corresponding one of the plurality of pressure-controlled points and each one of the pressure-controlled points is different than any other one of the pressure-controlled points [Fig. 1];
each one of the first proportional valves is disposed in a corresponding one of the plurality of inlet lines and each one of the plurality of first pressure sensors is between a corresponding one of the plurality of first proportional valves and a corresponding one of the plurality of fluid management devices [Fig. 1]; and
each one of the second proportional valves is disposed in a corresponding one of the plurality of outlet lines and each one of the plurality of second pressure sensors is between a corresponding one of the plurality of fluid management devices and a corresponding one of the plurality of second proportional valves [Fig. 1].
With regard to claim 12, Jiang discloses wherein the plurality of fluid management devices are independently and selectively movable relative to the fluid circulation system [Para. 0026].
With regard to claim 13, Jiang discloses wherein: the first proportional valve is configured to modulate the inlet fluid pressure based on feedback from the first pressure sensor [Para. 0058]; and
the second proportional valve is configured to modulate the outlet fluid pressure based on feedback from the second pressure sensor [Para. 0058].
With regard to claim 14, Jiang discloses wherein the controller adjusts the first proportional valve and the second proportional valve to maintain a desired average fluid pressure and a desired fluid flow rate, between the inlet fluid pressure and the outlet fluid pressure, of the working fluid at the fluid management device [Para. 0030].
With regard to claim 20, Jiang discloses a method for dynamically controlling fluid pressure within a fluid flow circuit, the method comprising:
determining a target inlet fluid pressure in an inlet line supplying a working fluid to a fluid management device [Paras. 0030, 0036-0037];
determining a target outlet fluid pressure in an outlet line returning working fluid from the fluid management device based on a desired average fluid pressure of the working fluid at the fluid management device and a desired fluid flow rate at the fluid management device [Paras. 0030, 0036- 0037];
controlling an inlet fluid pressure to maintain the target inlet fluid pressure by actuating a first proportional valve to selectively modulate a flow rate of the working fluid in the inlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030], wherein the inlet fluid pressure is measured by a first pressure sensor [Para. 0030, 0037] and the first pressure sensor is disposed in the inlet immediately adjacent to the fluid management device [Fig. 1-2]; and
controlling an outlet fluid pressure to maintain the target outlet fluid pressure by actuating a second proportional valve to selectively modulate a flow rate of the working fluid in the outlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030], wherein the outlet fluid pressure is measured by a second pressure sensor [Para. 0030, 0037] and the second pressure sensor is disposed in the outlet immediately adjacent to the fluid management device [Fig. 1-2].
Jiang does not disclose the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve are disposed in the inlet line within 300 millimeters (mm) of the fluid management device; and wherein the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve is disposed in the outlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device.
Cholewik teaches a first proportional valve (22) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an inlet line (5) [feed line; Para. 0051] immediately adjacent to a fluid management device (1) [Para. 0051; Fig. 2]; and a second proportional valve (23) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an outlet line immediately adjacent to the fluid management device [Fig. 2].
Hermann teaches a valve (304) in the inlet line situated approximately 140mm from the printhead [Col. 6; lines 41- 45].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fluid management device to be selectively movable, relative to the fluid circulation system for the purpose of allowing dynamic adjustment of the gas pressure.
It would also be obvious to utilize the first and second proportional valve of Jiang within 300 mm of the fluid management device as taught by Hermann in view of Cholewik for the purpose of keeping the volume of ink in the tube to the printhead approximately the same as the volume of ink that the printhead holds. Since Hermann teaches a valve within 140 mm, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the sensor disposed between the valve and printhead, as taught by Jiang, would result in the sensor being positioned less than or equal to 140mm of the printhead.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve in the inlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device and the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve in the outlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111 746 124) in view of Cholewik (US 2019/0105918) and in view of Hermann (US 10/632,757) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chover Lopez (US 2019/0070860).
With regard to claim 4, Jiang does not disclose wherein fluid pressure within the fluid flow circuit is no more than 50 pounds per square inch (PSI).
Chover Lopez teaches a print device wherein fluid pressure within a fluid flow circuit [print fluid pathway; Para. 0019] is not more than 50 pounds per square inch (PSI) [between 10kPa and 50 kPa; Para. 0019]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system wherein fluid pressure within the fluid flow circuit is no more than 50 PSI in order to maintain the print fluid pressure in the fluid pathway within a target range.
Claim(s) 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111746 124), in view of Cholewik (US 2019/0105918) and in view of Hermann (US 10/632,757).
With regard to claim 16, Jiang discloses an inkjet printing system [Figs. 1 and 2] comprising: an inlet line [ink supply pipeline; Para. 0011] and an outlet line [ink return pipeline; Para. 0011]; an ink circulation system (1) [ink barrel; Para. 0048; Figs. 1-2] configured to supply ink through the inlet line [Para. 0049] and return undispensed ink through the outlet line [Para. 0049];
a printhead (2) [printhead; Para. 0046; Figs. 1-2] comprising at least one nozzle (N) [Para. 0013] fluidically coupled to the inlet line and the outlet line and configured to dispense ink [Para. 0014], wherein the printhead defines a pressure-controlled point and wherein the printhead is selectively movable, relative to the fluid circulation system [Para. 0014];
a first proportional valve (41) [ink supply proportional valve; Para. 0051] disposed in the inlet line [Fig. 2] and configured to selectively modulate an inlet fluid pressure in the inlet line between the first proportional valve and the at least one nozzle by selectively modulating a flow rate of the working fluid in the inlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030];
a first pressure sensor (31) [nozzle ink supply pressure sensor; Para. 0050] between the first proportional valve and the printhead and configured to measure the inlet fluid pressure in the inlet line [Fig. 2];
a second proportional valve (42) [ink return proportional valve; Para. 0051; Fig. 2] disposed in the outlet line[Fig. 2] and configured to selectively modulate an outlet fluid pressure in the outlet line between the first proportional valve and the at least one nozzle by selectively modulating a flow rate of the working fluid in the outlet line between any of a plurality of flow rates greater than zero [Para. 0030];
a second pressure sensor (32) [nozzle ink return pressure sensor; Para. 0050] between the printhead and the second proportional valve [Fig. 2] and configured to measure the outlet fluid pressure in the outlet line; and
a controller [Para. 0061] operably coupled to the first proportional valve, the first pressure sensor, the second proportional valve, and the second pressure sensor, wherein the controller is configured to control the first proportional valve so that the inlet fluid pressure is maintained at a target inlet fluid pressure and control the second proportional valve so that the outlet fluid pressure is maintained at a target outlet fluid pressure and wherein the controller is configure to control the at least one nozzle to selectively dispense ink onto a surface [Para. 0013];
wherein:
the first pressure sensor is disposed in the inlet line immediately adjacent to the printhead; and
the second pressure sensor is disposed in the outlet line immediately adjacent to the printhead.
Jiang does not disclose the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve is disposed in the inlet line within 300 millimeters (mm) of the printhead; the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve is disposed in the outlet line within 300 mm of the printhead.
Cholewik teaches a first proportional valve (22) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an inlet line (5) [feed line; Para. 0051] immediately adjacent to a printhead (1) [Para. 0051; Fig. 2]; and a second proportional valve (23) [shut-off valve; Para. 0051] is disposed in an outlet line immediately adjacent to the printhead [Fig. 2].
Hermann teaches a valve (304) in the inlet line situated approximately 140 mm from the printhead [Col. 6; lines 41- 45].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the fluid management device to be selectively movable, relative to the fluid circulation system for the purpose of allowing dynamic adjustment of the gas pressure.
It would also be obvious to utilize the first and second proportional valve of Jiang within 300 mm of the fluid management device as taught by Hermann in view of Cholewik for the purpose of keeping the volume of ink in the tube to the printhead approximately the same as the volume of ink that the printhead holds. Since Hermann teaches a valve within 140 mm, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art that the sensor disposed between the valve and printhead, as taught by Jiang, would result in the sensor being positioned less than or equal to 140mm of the printhead.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the first pressure sensor and the first proportional valve in the inlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device and the second pressure sensor and the second proportional valve in the outlet line within 300 mm of the fluid management device, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
With regard to claim 18, Jiang discloses wherein the first proportional valve and the second proportional valve are actuatable independently of each other [Fig. 1].
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 111 746 124) in view of Cholewik (US 2019/0105918) and in view of Hermann (US 10/632,757) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Olsen (US 2017/0259580).
With regard to claim 19, Jiang does not disclose wherein the printhead is a piezoelectric-style printhead.
Olsen teaches printheads used to eject printing fluids onto media can be piezo electric printhead or the like.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the printing system of Jiang with a piezoelectric printhead since it is known in the art that inkjet printers eject any suitable type printing fluid from printheads suitable for the intended use.
Conclusion
/TRACEY M MCMILLION/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853