DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 6/10/2026 has been entered. In response to amendment filed on 6/10/2026, claim 4- 7 are cancelled, claims 1, 16 and 20 are amended. Claims 1- 3 and 8- 20 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 6/10/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Examiner has considered reference Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0410026 A1). Liu states in Fig. 2 about 201 a first network-side device (i.e. first BS) sends a first handover request to a second network-side device (i.e. second BS), wherein the first network-side device is applied to a first network, the second network-side device is applied to a second network, a terminal is attached to the first network, and the first handover request contains first terminal information of the terminal; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] The first terminal information includes at least one of the following: 1) grade of a terminal; 2) priority of a terminal; 3) service level of a terminal; 4) Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal, such as latency information, transmission reliability information; 5) type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal; 6) Core network identifier of a core network registered by a terminal (i.e. used to identify a network to which a terminal can be attached such as closed subscriber group ID (i.e. here “ type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal” or “ service level of a terminal” or “Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal” can be a data service type; for UE identifier it can be grade of terminal see [0082- 0083] about determining by the second network-side device that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation is: when the second network-side device detects that the grade of the terminal is a predetermined grade, the second network-side device determines that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation and predetermined grade may be set in advance, for example, the grade of the terminal may be any one or more of 0-15 (i.e. UE identifier); terminal information itself can be a UE ID; see [0094- 0095].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 3, 8, 10- 12, 16- 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0240385 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0410026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lohr teaches a method for managing one or more base stations, the method comprising the steps of:
a first base station determining characteristics of one or more data streams between the first base station and one or more user equipment (UE) (see [0089]… upon handover of a mobile node (i.e. UE) from a source radio cell (i.e. having a first base station) to a target radio cell, a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station (i.e. second base station) controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell);
transmitting data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams to a second base station (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell….);
the second base station receiving data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter (i.e. characteristics) in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell); and
the second base station allocating radio resources of the second base station based on the received characteristics (in context with [0089- 0090] refer to [0091]….the target base station schedules the mobile node based on the second information on the Quality of Service parameter).
But Lohr fails to teach about wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and also fails to state about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station.
However Liu states in Fig. 2 about 201 a first network-side device (i.e. first BS) sends a first handover request to a second network-side device (i.e. second BS), wherein the first network-side device is applied to a first network, the second network-side device is applied to a second network, a terminal is attached to the first network, and the first handover request contains first terminal information of the terminal; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] The first terminal information includes at least one of the following: 1) grade of a terminal; 2) priority of a terminal; 3) service level of a terminal; 4) Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal, such as latency information, transmission reliability information; 5) type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal; 6) Core network identifier of a core network registered by a terminal (i.e. used to identify a network to which a terminal can be attached such as closed subscriber group ID (i.e. here “ type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal” or “ service level of a terminal” or “Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal” can be a data service type; for UE identifier it can be grade of terminal see [0082- 0083] about determining by the second network-side device that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation is: when the second network-side device detects that the grade of the terminal is a predetermined grade, the second network-side device determines that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation and predetermined grade may be set in advance, for example, the grade of the terminal may be any one or more of 0-15 (i.e. UE identifier); terminal information itself can be a UE ID; see [0094- 0095]. This way determined characteristics (i) and (ii) in handover request message having terminal information. Further teaches about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; see [0079] In part 202, the second network-side device receives the first handover request, obtains the first terminal information, determines that the first terminal information meets a predetermined condition for initiating a handover operation, and configures a resource prepared for handover to the second network for the terminal.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Lohr to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, further comprising the step of: the second base station providing a data stream to a UE using the allocated radio resources; Lohr see [0151]... the source eNodeB, i.e. the eNodeB that controlled the UE in the source radio cell before handover, reports QoS measurements of the UE's configured radio bearers to the target eNodeB in the target radio cell. The scheduler in the target eNodeB can use this information for a more efficient QoS-aware scheduling after handover; further see [0152]… target eNodeB would start scheduling the UE with the default QoS indicator, i.e. QoS indicator 1 in the exemplary scheduling method shown in FIG. 7.
Regarding claim 3, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the step of allocating resources further comprises the step of setting up, configuring and/or reconfiguring one or more data radio bearer (DRB) between the UE and the second base station; Lohr see [0153]... it shall be clear that the radio bearers established in the source radio cell between the mobile node and the source eNodeB before handover are the same as the radio bearers established in the target radio cell between the mobile node and the target eNodeB.
Regarding claim 8, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, further comprising the steps of the second base station:
determining that there are insufficient radio resources available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics; and
in response refusing to admit the UE access to the second base station; Lohr see [0069] In case the quality of the current radio link gets below a quality threshold, the source eNodeB decides to hand over the UE to a neighbor target cell which is reported to provide a better radio link quality.
Regarding claim 10, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first base station and the second base station are within adjacent cell sites; Lohr see [0089] and Figs. 5 8 and 9.
Regarding claim 11, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, wherein the characteristics of the one or more data streams comprising any one or more of: quality of service (QoS), latency, bandwidth, periodicity, error rate, priority, cyclic data patterns, round trip delay, jitter, data volume, and data rate variation; Lohr see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter (i.e. characteristics) in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell.
Regarding claim 12, Lohr in view of Bala teaches as per claim 1 wherein the one or more data streams between the base station and one or more UE are uplink and/or downlink data streams; Lohr in context with [0162] (…according to which the UE reports QoS measurements to the target eNodeB (i.e. uplink), has the advantage over the embodiment, according to which the source eNodeB reports QoS measurements to the target eNodeB, ..) refer to [0089]… upon handover of a mobile node (i.e. UE) from a source radio cell (i.e. having a first base station) to a target radio cell, a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station (i.e. second base station) controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell.
Regarding claim 16, Lohr teaches a telecommunications system comprising: a first base station; and a second base station, wherein the first base station comprises means adapted to execute the steps of: determining characteristics of one or more data streams between the first base station and one or more user equipment (UE) (see [0089]… upon handover of a mobile node (i.e. UE) from a source radio cell (i.e. having a first base station) to a target radio cell, a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station (i.e. second base station) controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell);
transmitting data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams to a second base station (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell….);
the second base station comprises means adapted to execute the steps of: receiving the data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter (i.e. characteristics) in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell); and
allocating radio resources of the second base station based on the received characteristics (in context with [0089- 0090] refer to [0091]….the target base station schedules the mobile node based on the second information on the Quality of Service parameter).
But Lohr fails to teach about wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and also fails to state about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station.
However Liu states in Fig. 2 about 201 a first network-side device (i.e. first BS) sends a first handover request to a second network-side device (i.e. second BS), wherein the first network-side device is applied to a first network, the second network-side device is applied to a second network, a terminal is attached to the first network, and the first handover request contains first terminal information of the terminal; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] The first terminal information includes at least one of the following: 1) grade of a terminal; 2) priority of a terminal; 3) service level of a terminal; 4) Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal, such as latency information, transmission reliability information; 5) type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal; 6) Core network identifier of a core network registered by a terminal (i.e. used to identify a network to which a terminal can be attached such as closed subscriber group ID (i.e. here “ type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal” or “ service level of a terminal” or “Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal” can be a data service type; for UE identifier it can be grade of terminal see [0082- 0083] about determining by the second network-side device that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation is: when the second network-side device detects that the grade of the terminal is a predetermined grade, the second network-side device determines that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation and predetermined grade may be set in advance, for example, the grade of the terminal may be any one or more of 0-15 (i.e. UE identifier); terminal information itself can be a UE ID; see [0094- 0095]. This way determined characteristics (i) and (ii) in handover request message having terminal information. Further teaches about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; see [0079] In part 202, the second network-side device receives the first handover request, obtains the first terminal information, determines that the first terminal information meets a predetermined condition for initiating a handover operation, and configures a resource prepared for handover to the second network for the terminal.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Lohr to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 16, wherein the means of the second base station are further adapted to execute the step of: providing a data stream to a UE using the allocated radio resources; Lohr see [0151]... the source eNodeB, i.e. the eNodeB that controlled the UE in the source radio cell before handover, reports QoS measurements of the UE's configured radio bearers to the target eNodeB in the target radio cell. The scheduler in the target eNodeB can use this information for a more efficient QoS-aware scheduling after handover; further see [0152]… target eNodeB would start scheduling the UE with the default QoS indicator, i.e. QoS indicator 1 in the exemplary scheduling method shown in FIG. 7.
Regarding claim 20, Lohr teaches a non-transitory computer program product having stored thereon computer executable instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computer, cause the computer to carry out a method for managing one or more base stations, the method comprising the steps of: a first base station determining characteristics of one or more data streams between the first base station and one or more user equipment (UE) (see [0089]… upon handover of a mobile node (i.e. UE) from a source radio cell (i.e. having a first base station) to a target radio cell, a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station (i.e. second base station) controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell);
transmitting data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams to a second base station (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell….);
the second base station receiving data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams (see [0089]… a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter (i.e. characteristics) in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell); and
the second base station allocating radio resources of the second base station based on the received characteristics (in context with [0089- 0090] refer to [0091]….the target base station schedules the mobile node based on the second information on the Quality of Service parameter).
But Lohr fails to teach about wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and also fails to state about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station.
However Liu states in Fig. 2 about 201 a first network-side device (i.e. first BS) sends a first handover request to a second network-side device (i.e. second BS), wherein the first network-side device is applied to a first network, the second network-side device is applied to a second network, a terminal is attached to the first network, and the first handover request contains first terminal information of the terminal; see [0076]; now refer to [0077] The first terminal information includes at least one of the following: 1) grade of a terminal; 2) priority of a terminal; 3) service level of a terminal; 4) Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal, such as latency information, transmission reliability information; 5) type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal; 6) Core network identifier of a core network registered by a terminal (i.e. used to identify a network to which a terminal can be attached such as closed subscriber group ID (i.e. here “ type of a terminal, such as a Machine type communication (MTC) terminal, an ultra reliable & low latency communication (URLLC) terminal, a low cost terminal” or “ service level of a terminal” or “Quality of Service (QoS) level of a service of a terminal” can be a data service type; for UE identifier it can be grade of terminal see [0082- 0083] about determining by the second network-side device that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation is: when the second network-side device detects that the grade of the terminal is a predetermined grade, the second network-side device determines that the first terminal information meets the predetermined condition for initiating the handover operation and predetermined grade may be set in advance, for example, the grade of the terminal may be any one or more of 0-15 (i.e. UE identifier); terminal information itself can be a UE ID; see [0094- 0095]. This way determined characteristics (i) and (ii) in handover request message having terminal information. Further teaches about the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; see [0079] In part 202, the second network-side device receives the first handover request, obtains the first terminal information, determines that the first terminal information meets a predetermined condition for initiating a handover operation, and configures a resource prepared for handover to the second network for the terminal.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Lohr to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first base station determines a category for each of the one or more data streams, the category comprising (i) a UE identifier or group of UE identifiers and (ii) a data service type and the second base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before admitting the UE access to the second base station; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 9, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0240385 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0410026 A1) in view of Ganapathy et al. (US Pub. No. 2014/0315557 A1), hereafter Suresh.
Regarding claim 9, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 8, but Lohr fails to state about a third base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before allocating radio resources based on the received characteristics and admitting the UE access to the third base station instead of the second base station; however Suresh teaches in [0009] about…Moreover, if insufficient communication resources are available to support the mobile communication device and/or access control/membership verification fails then the mobility procedure is rejected and a failure indication is propagated back to the source home base station which then has to attempt handover of the mobile communication device to another base station (home or macro). This results in further delay and additional energy consumption; further see Fig. 5 wherein Source HeNB as a first base station, 3G HNB/3G CN as a second base station and other UMTS macro cell or HNB as a third base station. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Suresh with the teachings of Lohr in view of Liu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism a third base station determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before allocating radio resources based on the received characteristics and admitting the UE access to the third base station instead of the second base station; greater way resources can be utilized/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 19, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 16, further comprising a third base station comprising means adapted to execute the steps of:
receiving the data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams (Lohr see [0089]… upon handover of a mobile node (i.e. UE) from a source radio cell (i.e. having a first base station) to a target radio cell, a Quality of Service parameter of a radio bearer configured for the mobile node is measured in the source radio cell and signalled to the target base station (i.e. second base station) controlling the target radio cell. The target base station can then determine information on the Quality of Service parameter in the target radio cell based on the signalled measurement of the Quality of Service parameter measured in the source radio cell); but Lohr fails to state about determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before allocating radio resources based on the received characteristics and admitting the UE access to the third base station instead of the second base station, wherein the means of the first base station are further adapted to execute the step of: transmitting the data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams to the third base station, and the means of the second base station are further adapted to execute the steps of: determining that there are insufficient radio resources available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics; and in response refusing to admit the UE access to the second base station; however Suresh teaches in [0009] about…Moreover, if insufficient communication resources are available to support the mobile communication device and/or access control/membership verification fails then the mobility procedure is rejected and a failure indication is propagated back to the source home base station which then has to attempt handover of the mobile communication device to another base station (home or macro). This results in further delay and additional energy consumption; further see Fig. 5 wherein Source HeNB as a first base station, 3G HNB/3G CN as a second base station and other UMTS macro cell or HNB as a third base station. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Suresh with the teachings of Lohr in view of Liu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein determining that sufficient radio resources are available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics before allocating radio resources based on the received characteristics and admitting the UE access to the third base station instead of the second base station, wherein the means of the first base station are further adapted to execute the step of: transmitting the data describing the determined characteristics of the one or more data streams to the third base station, and the means of the second base station are further adapted to execute the steps of: determining that there are insufficient radio resources available to provide the data stream to the UE according to the received characteristics; and in response refusing to admit the UE access to the second base station; greater way resources can be utilized/managed to carry our more reliable communication in the communication system.
Claim(s) 13- 14, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0240385 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0410026 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Pub. No. 114268418 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, Lohr fails to state about wherein the step of the first base station determining characteristics of one or more data streams between the first base station and one or more UE further comprises an application server providing the characteristics of the data stream, wherein the application server generates the one or more data streams; however Chen states in abstract about .. the message transmission method comprises the following steps that a game server generates a game instruction; the game server sends the generated game instruction to the base station; in response to the received game instruction, the base station sends the game instruction to the mobile terminal; in response to the received game instruction, sending, by the mobile terminal, a first PUCCH message to the base station on a first frequency band; in response to the received first PUCCH message, determining, by the base station, a signal quality of a reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message based on the reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message; if the signal quality of a reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message is lower than a signal quality threshold…It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Lohr in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the step of the first base station determining characteristics of one or more data streams between the first base station and one or more UE further comprises an application server providing the characteristics of the data stream, wherein the application server generates the one or more data streams; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Lohr in view of Liu and Chen teaches as per claim 13, wherein the application server provides the characteristics to a core network and the core network provides the characteristics to the first base station; already stated above in Chen base station is a part of a core network..
Regarding claim 18, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 16, Lohr fails to state about an application server configured to provide the one or more data streams; however Chen states in abstract about .. the message transmission method comprises the following steps that a game server generates a game instruction; the game server sends the generated game instruction to the base station; in response to the received game instruction, the base station sends the game instruction to the mobile terminal; in response to the received game instruction, sending, by the mobile terminal, a first PUCCH message to the base station on a first frequency band; in response to the received first PUCCH message, determining, by the base station, a signal quality of a reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message based on the reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message; if the signal quality of a reference sequence included in the first PUCCH message is lower than a signal quality threshold… It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Lohr in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about an application server configured to provide the one or more data streams; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lohr et al. (US Pub. No. 2010/0240385 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0410026 A1) in view of Spapis et al. (WO 2022106019 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Lohr in view of Liu teaches as per claim 1, Lohr fails to state about wherein the one or more data streams are any one or more of: augmented reality; virtual reality; extended reality data streams; and cloud gaming; however Spapis states in Abstract and Fig. 3 [0034- 0036] about .. A handover of a user equipment (UE) executing an extended reality (XR) application over a connection with a source base station comprises, in response to deciding to handover the UE, sending, by the source base station, a handover request to a target base station. The handover request comprises an XR context specifying a current state of the XR application. XR context information may also be utilized at the level of an Edge Data Network in order to resource adequate resources of a target Edge Application Server to support execution of the XR application after the handover; see Abstract. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Lohr in view of Liu to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the one or more data streams are any one or more of: augmented reality; virtual reality; extended reality data streams; and cloud gaming; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Banks et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0334614 A1) teaches in [0012] about determining to handover the UE between the first base station and the second base station based on the at least one handover parameter. Thus, the handover parameter may be used by one or more of: the UE; the first base station; and the second base station in order to effect a handover decision. In one embodiment, the step of determining may comprise: comparing a first link quality and a second link quality using the at least one handover parameter… The first and second link qualities may be compared against each other, optionally with a hysteresis parameter being applied so that the link quality associated with the target (new) base station must exceed the link quality associated with the currently serving base station by at least the hysteresis parameter value. Optionally, an offset may be applied in addition, so that the link quality associated with the target base station exceeds the link quality associated with the currently serving base station by at least the sum of the hysteresis parameter value and an offset value. Additionally or alternatively, the first link quality may be compared with a first threshold and the second link quality may be compared with a second threshold. The first and second thresholds may be the same or different. In embodiments, the handover parameter may relate to the suitability of the target base station for a specific service or user.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479