DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a recording unit”, “a projection unit”, and “an irradiation unit” in claim 1, “a control unit” in claims 2 and 7, “a transport unit” in claim 8, and “a projection unit” in claim 9.
The specification describes the “recording unit” 16, “projection unit” 19, “irradiation unit” 41, “transport unit” 15 has physical hardware units. “Control unit” 20 is a CPU. As such, the units have sufficient structure, therefore no 35 USC 112(b) rejection will be made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anzai et al. (US 2016/0283831).
Regarding claim 1, Anzai discloses a recording apparatus comprising:
a support unit including a support surface configured to support a medium (see Figs. 1 and 2 and paras 29 and 31, tray 4 is a support surface);
a recording unit configured to perform recording on the medium supported by the support unit (see para 32, recording head 7); and
a projection unit configured to project an image onto the support surface (see paras 37, 48, 50-52, and 60, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4),
wherein the projection unit includes an irradiation unit configured to irradiate the support surface with light, and a light blocking portion configured to block a part of the light emitted from the irradiation unit (see paras 48 and 50-60, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion),
the light blocking portion includes at least one light blocking region configured to block the part of the light emitted from the irradiation unit (see Fig. 6 and paras 60-62, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion), and
the projection unit is configured to project a reference position image onto the support surface by blocking the part of the light emitted by the irradiation unit with the at least one light blocking region, the reference position image indicating a reference position of the medium supported by the support surface (see paras 48 and 50-62, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion).
Regarding claim 9, Anzai discloses a support unit including a support surface configured to support a medium (see Figs. 1 and 2 and paras 29 and 31, tray 4 is a support surface); and
a projection unit configured to project an image onto the support surface (see paras 37, 48, 50-52, and 60, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4),
wherein the projection unit includes an irradiation unit configured to irradiate the support surface with light, and a light blocking portion configured to block a part of the light emitted from the irradiation unit (see paras 48 and 50-60, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion),
the light blocking portion includes at least one light blocking region configured to block the part of the light emitted from the irradiation unit (see Fig. 6 and paras 60-62, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion), and
the projection unit is configured to project a reference position image onto the support surface by blocking the part of the light emitted by the irradiation unit with the at least one light blocking region, the reference position image indicating a reference position of the medium supported by the support surface (see paras 48 and 50-62, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, which is a light blocking portion).
Regarding claim 2, Anzai further discloses a control unit configured to control the irradiation unit (see paras 472, 44, and 48, CPU 20 controls all of recording apparatus 1, including projection unit 12),
wherein the irradiation unit includes a first light source and a second light source, the first light source is located with a distance between the first light source and the at least one light blocking region being a first distance, the second light source is located with a distance between the second light source and the at least one light blocking region being a second distance longer than the first distance (see paras 51-52, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4),
the control unit is configured to perform control to switch to any one of a plurality of modes, the plurality of modes include a first mode and a second mode, the first mode is a mode in which both the first light source and the second light source are turned on, and the second mode is a mode in which the first light source is turned on and the second light source is turned off (see paras 48 and 51-59, CPU 20 can switch between controlling projections units 12a and 12b and projection units 12c and 12d, the projection units controlling different directions).
Regarding claim 4, Anzai further discloses a holding unit holding the light blocking portion with the light blocking portion being movable with respect to the irradiation unit, wherein the reference position image includes a first reference position image and a second reference position image different from the first reference position image (see Figs. 2 and 5 and paras 51-56, projection unit 12 projects a reference line 16 on to medium M on tray 4 via a line-shaped slit 32, the projection unit 12 is movable),
the at least one light blocking region includes a first light blocking region configured to form the first reference position image and a second light blocking region configured to form the second reference position image, and the holding unit holds the light blocking portion with a light blocking region disposed at a position closest to the irradiation unit being switchable between the first light blocking region and the second light blocking region (see paras 60-62, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projections units 12a and 12b and projection units 12c and 12d, the projection units controlling different directions).
Regarding claim 5, Anzai further discloses a transport unit configured to transport the medium in a transport direction (see para 31, transportation unit 3 transport the medium M),
wherein when a direction intersecting the transport direction is a width direction, the reference position image is an image that enables identification of a reference position of an end portion of the medium in the width direction (see paras 48 and 50-62, intersection directions are determined and reference positions are determined as an outline of a medium).
Regarding claim 6, Anzai further discloses a holding unit holding the light blocking portion with the light blocking portion being movable in the transport direction with respect to the irradiation unit (see paras 60-62, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projections units 12a and 12b and projection units 12c and 12d, the projection units controlling different directions).
Regarding claim 7, Anzai further discloses a control unit configured to control the irradiation unit (see paras 472, 44, and 48, CPU 20 controls all of recording apparatus 1, including projection unit 12); and
a position detection unit configured to detect a position of the light blocking portion, wherein the control unit controls the irradiation unit based on a result detected by the position detection unit (see paras 44 and 50-62, projection unit 12 is made up of a plurality of projection units that irradiate light, projections units 12a and 12b and projection units 12c and 12d, the projection units controlling different directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Anzai as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ishizuka (US 2014/0209654), cited in the IDS dated 9/28/23.
Anzai discloses a transport unit configured to transport the medium in a transport direction (see para 31, transportation unit 3 transport the medium M).
Anzai does not disclose expressly wherein the transport unit includes a transport belt configured to support the medium to be transported, the support unit includes the transport belt, and the support surface is a surface at which the transport belt supports the medium.
Ishizuka discloses wherein the transport unit includes a transport belt configured to support the medium to be transported, the support unit includes the transport belt, and the support surface is a surface at which the transport belt supports the medium (see Fig. 1 and paras 42, 44, and 59-60, a transport belt 10 transports a medium).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the transport belt, as described by Ishizuka, with the system of Anzai.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide transportation of a medium inside of a printing device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Ishizuka with Anzai to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681