DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Per Applicant's amendment of claim 17 to depend from claim 1, the restriction between claims 1-16 and 17-20 is withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/29/2026 has been entered. Amendments to claims 1, 9, and 17 are acknowledged. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome some of the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/27/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “fingerprint identification unit” and “pulse wave identification unit” in claims 1 and 9.
Fingerprint identification does not have a disclosed equivalent.
Pulse wave detection unit will be interpreted as a light emitting and light receiving component per claims 2 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 9 disclose the limitation “fingerprint identification unit”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Para [0086] of applicant’s specification states the fingerprint identification unit is “is non-under-screen fingerprint identification” and “capacitive fingerprint identification”, but does not disclose a specific sensor or structure for sensing a fingerprint.
Claims 2-8 and 10-16 are rejected due to dependency.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “fingerprint identification unit” in claims 1 and 9 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Para [0086] of applicant’s specification states the fingerprint identification unit is “is non-under-screen fingerprint identification” and “capacitive fingerprint identification”, but does not disclose a specific sensor or structure for sensing a fingerprint. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a fourth light-transmitting portion and a fifth light-transmitting portion.” However, claim 5 depends on claim 2, which does not disclose a light transmitting portion. As no first, second, or third light-transmitting portion is disclosed, it is unclear what the fourth and fifth portions are referring to.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “a sixth light-transmitting portion… a seventh light-transmitting portion… an eighth light-transmitting portion.” However, claim 6 depends on claim 4 which does not disclose a light transmitting portion. As no first through fifth light-transmitting portion are disclosed, it is unclear what the sixth, seventh, and eighth portions are referring to.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “a fourth light-transmitting portion and a fifth light-transmitting portion.” However, claim 5 depends on claim 10, which does not disclose a light transmitting portion. As no first, second, or third light-transmitting portion is disclosed, it is unclear what the fourth and fifth portions are referring to.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “a sixth light-transmitting portion… a seventh light-transmitting portion… an eighth light-transmitting portion.” However, claim 14 depends on claim 12 which does not disclose a light transmitting portion. As no first through fifth light-transmitting portion are disclosed, it is unclear what the sixth, seventh, and eighth portions are referring to.
Claim 17 recites the limitation “a fingerprint identification unit”. However, Claim 17 also recites the limitation “performed by the biological detection module according to claim 1,”. As claim 1 also recites a fingerprint identification unit, it is unclear if the unit disclosed by claim 17 is an additional unit or the same unit disclosed in claim 1.
Claims 2-4, 7-8, 10-12, and 15-16 are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Qing et al. (CN 216854667U).
Regarding claim 1, Qing discloses a biological detection module (title), comprising: a packaging layer (Fig 7 element 34), on which a light-transmitting part is provided (Fig 7 element 343, [0053]: “The light guide plate 343 is used to guide the light signal emitted by the light source for image display”); a fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 320, [0071]: " the photosensitive component 320 may be a fingerprint sensor chip (also known as an optical fingerprint chip, sensor, sensor chip, chip, etc.).") and a pulse wave detection unit disposed within the packaging layer (Fig 7 element 320, 311 and 312 [0012]: “The third region is used to receive the first optical signal… convert the first optical signal and the second optical signal into the first PPG signal”, [0073]: “a first light source 311 and a second light source 312”); and a substrate (Fig 7 element 345), the fingerprint identification unit and the pulse wave detection unit being disposed on the substrate and connected to the substrate ([0057]: "The steel plate 345 has an opening in the area corresponding to the photosensitive component 320."), wherein the pulse wave detection unit directly faces the light-transmitting part (Fig 7 wherein the top of element 320 directly faces element 343).
Regarding claim 2, Qing further discloses wherein the pulse wave detection unit comprises a light emitting component and a light receiving component (Fig 7 elements 311 and 312, [0073]: “the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may include a first area where a first light source 311 and a second light source 312 alternately emit light signals to the user's finger,”, and element 320 [0012]: “The third region is used to receive the first optical signal”); the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located on a same side of the fingerprint identification unit; or, the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7, wherein 311 and 312 are on opposing sides of 320), or, in a case that the fingerprint identification unit comprises a first fingerprint identification unit and a second fingerprint identification unit, the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located between the first fingerprint identification unit and the second fingerprint identification unit.
Regarding claim 3, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located on the same side of the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 311 and the right side of element 320, [0083]: “the fingerprint recognition device may further include a second filter 351 and a third filter 352, wherein the second filter 351 is disposed above the second region for transmitting the first light signal and for filtering out light signals other than the first light signal”), or in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located between the first fingerprint identification unit and the second fingerprint identification unit, both transmittance of a first light-transmitting portion and transmittance of a second light-transmitting portion are greater than that of a third light-transmitting portion (Fig 7 regions of element 343 over element 320, consistent with applicant’s specification para [0069]: "Based on a positional relationship between the light emitting component 7 and the fingerprint identification unit 4 and between the light receiving component 8 and the fingerprint identification unit 4…. both transmittance of the first light-transmitting portion 11 and transmittance of the second light-transmitting portion 12 are greater than that of a third light-transmitting portion 13", wherein differences in transmittance are dependent only on the positional relationship between the emitting and receiving component) wherein the first light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light emitting component (Fig 7), the second light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light receiving component (Fig 7), and the third light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part connects the first light-transmitting portion and the second light-transmitting portion (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 4, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit, the light-transmitting part covers the light emitting component, the light receiving component, and the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 343).
Regarding claim 5, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit, the light-transmitting part comprises a fourth light-transmitting portion and a fifth light-transmitting portion (Fig 7 element 343), the light emitting component directly faces the fourth light-transmitting portion, and the light receiving component directly faces the fifth light-transmitting portion (Fig 7 element 343, wherein element 343 covers the entirety of sensor element 320).
Regarding claim 6, Qing further discloses wherein both transmittance of a sixth light-transmitting portion and transmittance of a seventh light-transmitting portion are greater than that of an eighth light-transmitting portion, wherein the sixth light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light emitting component, the seventh light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light receiving component and the fingerprint identification unit, and the eighth light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part connects the sixth light-transmitting portion and the seventh light-transmitting portion (Fig 7, [0086]: "the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may include only the second and third regions, or the second and third regions may be part of the fingerprint sensor chip 320. That is to say, in addition to the second and third regions, the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may also include other regions.", and wherein per applicant’s specs para [0069], relationships between transmittance are based on the positional relationships of the components).
Regarding claim 7, Qing further discloses wherein the light-transmitting part is made of a hard optical sheet material ([0054]: "The light guide plate 343 can utilize high-tech materials with extremely high reflectivity and no light absorption to print light guide points on the bottom surface of optical-grade acrylic sheets"); or, the light-transmitting part is provided with an ink coating having light transmittance.
Regarding claim 8, Qing discloses wherein an outer surface, of the light-transmitting part, directly facing the light receiving component is provided with a filter layer, wherein the filter layer is configured to filter out light that enters the light receiving component and exceeds a wavelength band of light to be received by the light receiving component ([0013]: “a second filter disposed above a second region of the fingerprint sensor chip, for transmitting the first light signal and for filtering out light signals other than the first light signal; and a third filter disposed above a third region of the fingerprint sensor chip, for transmitting both the first and second light signals and for filtering out light signals other than the first and second light signals.”).
Regarding claim 9, Qing discloses an electronic device, comprising a biological detection module (title); and a housing (Fig 7 element 331), the biological detection module being disposed on the housing ([0061]: “or it can be positioned below the edge area of the protective cover 331… in the chin area of the electronic device.”); wherein the biological detection module comprises: a packaging layer (Fig 7 element 34), on which a light-transmitting part is provided (Fig 7 element 343, [0053]: “The light guide plate 343 is used to guide the light signal emitted by the light source for image display”); a fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 320, [0071]: " the photosensitive component 320 may be a fingerprint sensor chip (also known as an optical fingerprint chip, sensor, sensor chip, chip, etc.).") and a pulse wave detection unit disposed within the packaging layer (Fig 7 element 320, 311 and 312 [0012]: “The third region is used to receive the first optical signal… convert the first optical signal and the second optical signal into the first PPG signal”, [0073]: “a first light source 311 and a second light source 312”); and a substrate (Fig 7 element 345), the fingerprint identification unit and the pulse wave detection unit being disposed on the substrate and connected to the substrate ([0057]: "The steel plate 345 has an opening in the area corresponding to the photosensitive component 320."), wherein the pulse wave detection unit directly faces the light-transmitting part (Fig 7 wherein the top of element 320 directly faces element 343).
Regarding claim 10, Qing further discloses wherein the pulse wave detection unit comprises a light emitting component and a light receiving component (Fig 7 elements 311 and 312, [0073]: “the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may include a first area where a first light source 311 and a second light source 312 alternately emit light signals to the user's finger,”, and element 320 [0012]: “The third region is used to receive the first optical signal”); the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located on a same side of the fingerprint identification unit; or, the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7, wherein 311 and 312 are on opposing sides of 320), or, in a case that the fingerprint identification unit comprises a first fingerprint identification unit and a second fingerprint identification unit, the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located between the first fingerprint identification unit and the second fingerprint identification unit.
Regarding claim 11, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located on the same side of the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 311 and the right side of element 320, [0083]: “the fingerprint recognition device may further include a second filter 351 and a third filter 352, wherein the second filter 351 is disposed above the second region for transmitting the first light signal and for filtering out light signals other than the first light signal”), or in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are located between the first fingerprint identification unit and the second fingerprint identification unit, both transmittance of a first light-transmitting portion and transmittance of a second light-transmitting portion are greater than that of a third light-transmitting portion (Fig 7 regions of element 343 over element 320, consistent with applicant’s specification para [0069]: "Based on a positional relationship between the light emitting component 7 and the fingerprint identification unit 4 and between the light receiving component 8 and the fingerprint identification unit 4…. both transmittance of the first light-transmitting portion 11 and transmittance of the second light-transmitting portion 12 are greater than that of a third light-transmitting portion 13", wherein differences in transmittance are dependent only on the positional relationship between the emitting and receiving component) wherein the first light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light emitting component (Fig 7), the second light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light receiving component (Fig 7), and the third light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part connects the first light-transmitting portion and the second light-transmitting portion (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 12, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit, the light-transmitting part covers the light emitting component, the light receiving component, and the fingerprint identification unit (Fig 7 element 343).
Regarding claim 13, Qing discloses wherein in a case that the light emitting component and the light receiving component are respectively located on two opposite sides of the fingerprint identification unit, the light-transmitting part comprises a fourth light-transmitting portion and a fifth light-transmitting portion, the light emitting component directly faces the fourth light-transmitting portion, and the light receiving component directly faces the fifth light-transmitting portion (Fig 7 element 343, wherein element 343 covers the entirety of sensor element 320).
Regarding claim 14, Qing further discloses wherein both transmittance of a sixth light-transmitting portion and transmittance of a seventh light-transmitting portion are greater than that of an eighth light-transmitting portion, wherein the sixth light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light emitting component, the seventh light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part corresponds to the light receiving component and the fingerprint identification unit, and the eighth light-transmitting portion is a portion where the light-transmitting part connects the sixth light-transmitting portion and the seventh light-transmitting portion (Fig 7, [0086]: "the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may include only the second and third regions, or the second and third regions may be part of the fingerprint sensor chip 320. That is to say, in addition to the second and third regions, the fingerprint sensor chip 320 may also include other regions.", and wherein per applicant’s specs para [0069], relationships between transmittance are based on the positional relationships of the components).
Regarding claim 15, Qing further discloses wherein the light-transmitting part is made of a hard optical sheet material ([0054]: "The light guide plate 343 can utilize high-tech materials with extremely high reflectivity and no light absorption to print light guide points on the bottom surface of optical-grade acrylic sheets"); or, the light-transmitting part is provided with an ink coating having light transmittance.
Regarding claim 16, Qing discloses wherein an outer surface, of the light-transmitting part, directly facing the light receiving component is provided with a filter layer, wherein the filter layer is configured to filter out light that enters the light receiving component and exceeds a wavelength band of light to be received by the light receiving component ([0013]: “a second filter disposed above a second region of the fingerprint sensor chip, for transmitting the first light signal and for filtering out light signals other than the first light signal; and a third filter disposed above a third region of the fingerprint sensor chip, for transmitting both the first and second light signals and for filtering out light signals other than the first and second light signals.”).
Regarding claim 17, Qing further discloses receiving a first input by a first user on a biological detection module ([n0045]: “The input/output interface 140 can be used to receive instructions or data input from a user”), wherein the biological detection module comprises a fingerprint identification unit and a pulse wave detection unit (Fig 7 element 320, [0071]: " the photosensitive component 320 may be a fingerprint sensor chip (also known as an optical fingerprint chip, sensor, sensor chip, chip, etc.).", Fig 7 element 320, 311 and 312 [0012]: “The third region is used to receive the first optical signal… convert the first optical signal and the second optical signal into the first PPG signal”, [0073]: “a first light source 311 and a second light source 312”); in response to the first input, obtaining a finger pressing state of the first user obtained by the fingerprint identification unit and pulse wave data acquired by the pulse wave detection unit ([n0014]: “wherein the fingerprint sensor chip is used to receive the first optical signal, and the biometric sensor chip is used to receive the first optical signal and the second optical signal and to convert the first optical signal and the second optical signal into the first PPG signal and the second PPG signa”); determining the pulse wave data as target pulse wave data in a case that the finger pressing state of the first user meets a preset condition ([n0011]: “a first filter is also included, disposed above the first region, for transmitting the first optical signal and the second optical signal, and for filtering out optical signals other than the first optical signal and the second optical signal.”); and obtaining health indicator data of the first user based on the target pulse wave data ([n0048]: “The biometric information detection system 170 is used to detect the user's biometric information, which includes, but is not limited to, parameters such as the user's heart rate, blood oxygen saturation, blood pressure, and HRV. These parameters can be obtained by testing the user's photoplethysmography (PPG). In other words, the biometric information detection system 170 in this embodiment can be used to detect the user's PPG signal and obtain one or more of the user's biometric information based on the calculation and analysis of the PPG signal.”).
Regarding claim 18, Qing discloses wherein the determining the pulse wave data as target pulse wave data in a case that the finger pressing state of the first user meets a preset condition comprises one of the following: controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data and determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data in a case that the finger pressing state of the first user meets a pulse wave acquisition trigger condition ([n0107]: “after successful fingerprint recognition, the user can choose whether to activate other biometric information detection functions. If the user chooses to activate other biometric information detection functions, the user can press the fingerprint recognition area again to start detecting the user's other biometric information.”, wherein the preset condition can be either successful recognition or user input); controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data, determining whether the finger pressing state of the first user meets the pulse wave acquisition trigger condition in a process of acquiring the pulse wave data, and in a case that the pulse wave acquisition trigger condition is met, determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data; or controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data, and in a case that a difference between a finger pressing state of the first user at an end time of acquisition of the pulse wave data and a finger pressing state of the first user at a beginning time of the acquisition of the pulse wave data is less than a preset threshold, determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data.
Regarding claim 19, Qing discloses wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, implement the steps of the biological detection control method of claim 17 ([n0142]: “if the integrated unit is implemented as a software functional unit and sold or used as an independent product, it can be stored in a computer-readable storage medium.”).
Regarding claim 20, Qing discloses wherein when determining the pulse wave data as target pulse wave data in a case that the finger pressing state of the first user meets a preset condition, the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, implement one of the following: controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data and determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data in a case that the finger pressing state of the first user meets a pulse wave acquisition trigger condition controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data, determining whether the finger pressing state of the first user meets the pulse wave acquisition trigger condition in a process of acquiring the pulse wave data, and in a case that the pulse wave acquisition trigger condition is met, determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data ([n0106]: “After passing through the backlight module 34, the first light signal is received by the photosensitive component 320 and converted into a corresponding electrical signal, i.e., a fingerprint recognition signal. Based on this fingerprint signal, fingerprint image data can be obtained, and fingerprint matching verification can be further performed… , after successful fingerprint recognition, the user can choose whether to activate other biometric information detection functions. If the user chooses to activate other biometric information detection functions, the user can press the fingerprint recognition area again to start detecting the user's other biometric information.”); or controlling the pulse wave detection unit to acquire the pulse wave data, and in a case that a difference between a finger pressing state of the first user at an end time of acquisition of the pulse wave data and a finger pressing state of the first user at a beginning time of the acquisition of the pulse wave data is less than a preset threshold, determining the pulse wave data as the target pulse wave data
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) Applicant argues on pages 9 and 10 that the disclosed “capacitive fingerprint identification” in paras [0050] and [0086] provides structure to the “fingerprint identification unit”. However, per para [0050], the “working principle” is based on capacitance, further reiterated in para [0086], wherein the identification is a capacitive identification. Neither paragraph provides structure to the unit itself, only the method that may be used for identification. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s amendment to remove “fixedly” from claims 1 and 9 renders the limitation definite, and the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to applicant’s arguments on page 11 regarding the “fourth/fifth/sixth/eighth light transmitting portion”, while the specification may state that the terms first and second are not necessarily sequential, it additionally states that the terms are “used to distinguish similar objects”. As such, the presence of a fourth light transmitting portion implies that there are three additional similar objects, which is not stipulated by the claim limitation. The rejection is thus maintained.
Regarding applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102, the filing date of Qing (CN 216854667 U) is 03/12/2021, which is before the priority date of the present application (3/20/2021). As such, Qing qualifies as prior art and is the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Murakami (US20170330400A1) – discloses a method of detecting health indicator data based on fingerprint identification
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVYA SHOBANA BALAJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791