DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 2025-12-23 is acknowledged. Claims 11-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), and new claims 26-39 fall within the elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10, 26, 27, 29-31, 35, and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0073755 to Yan et al. (“Yan”).
As to claim 1 (and similarly applied to claims 26 and 35), Yan discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figs. 6a-b and 8, User Equipment (UE)), comprising: at least one memory (Fig. 8 and ¶¶0176-0177); and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory (Fig. 8 and ¶¶0176-0177) and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: receive a conditional handover configuration for a handover to one of multiple candidate target primary cells (PCells), the conditional handover configuration including multiple candidate target primary secondary cells (PSCells) associated with each candidate target PCell in the conditional handover configuration (Figs. 6a-b, step 604; ¶¶0117-0132); perform, in response to a conditional handover execution condition being satisfied, a conditional handover from a source PCell to a target PCell from the multiple candidate target PCells (Figs. 6a-b, step 609; ¶0144); select a PSCell from the multiple candidate target PSCells configured in the conditional handover configuration for the target PCell, based on a PSCell selection execution condition; and communicate with a network on the target PCell and the selected PSCell (Figs. 6a-b, steps 609 and 610; ¶¶0144-0147 and ¶0151).
As to claim 2 (and similarly applied to claim 27), Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor (Yan, Fig. 8 and ¶¶0176-0177), wherein the conditional handover configuration is comprised in a radio resource control message and indicates one or more of: the multiple candidate target PCells, a corresponding conditional handover execution condition for each of the multiple candidate target PCells, a set of the multiple candidate target PSCells for each of the multiple candidate target PCells, a corresponding PSCell selection execution condition for each of the multiple candidate target PSCells, a target configuration for a primary cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG) for each combination of a candidate target PCell and candidate target PSCell, or a combination thereof (Yan, Figs. 6a-b, step 604; ¶¶0117-0132).
As to claim 4 (and similarly applied to claims 29 and 36), Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: simultaneously initiate evaluation of conditional handover execution conditions and PSCell selection execution conditions (Yan, ¶0158; ¶0170, "Alternatively, the UE may performing a cell selection procedure based on a predefined criteria to select cell as a second target PCell among a cell group at least including: a set of candidate PSCells associated with the first target PCell, the one or more candidate PCells, and each corresponding set of candidate PSCells associated with the one or more candidate PCells…"; and ¶0172).
As to claim 5 (and similarly applied to claims 30 and 37), Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to perform one of: access the target PCell and the selected PSCell simultaneously in response to the conditional handover execution condition being satisfied simultaneously with the PSCell selection execution condition (Yan, ¶0158; see also ¶0015, and ¶0172); access, in response to the conditional handover execution condition being satisfied, the target PCell while continuing to evaluate the PSCell selection execution conditions for candidate target PSCells associated with the target PCell; or remain, after the PSCell selection execution condition is satisfied, on the source PCell until the conditional handover execution condition is satisfied.
As to claim 6 (and similarly applied to claims 31 and 38), Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: initiate a conditional handover execution condition evaluation prior to a PSCell selection execution condition evaluation (Yan, ¶¶0144-0145 and ¶0166).
As to claim 10, Yan discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit or receive via the at least one transceiver (Yan, Fig. 8 and ¶¶0176-0177).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0261056 to Gürsu et al. (“Gürsu”).
As to claim 3 (and similarly applied to claim 28), Yan discloses apparatus of claim 2.
Yan does not disclose: wherein the conditional handover configuration includes: a measurement configuration from a source primary node (MN), wherein each corresponding PSCell selection execution condition is indicated with a measurement identifier (ID) associated with the measurement configuration from the source MN.
However, Gürsu discloses: wherein the conditional handover configuration includes: a measurement configuration from a source primary node (MN), wherein each corresponding PSCell selection execution condition is indicated with a measurement identifier (ID) associated with the measurement configuration from the source MN (¶0138, ¶0187).
Yan and Gürsu are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: hand-off or reselection arrangements, including conditional handover; control or signaling for completing hand-off, including transmission or use of information for re-establishing radio link, in case of dual connectivity, and using simultaneous multiple data streams; and/or determination of parameters used for hand-off, e.g. determination of neighbor cell lists. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yan to incorporate the teachings of Gürsu to include: wherein the conditional handover configuration includes: a measurement configuration from a source primary node (MN), wherein each corresponding PSCell selection execution condition is indicated with a measurement identifier (ID) associated with the measurement configuration from the source MN. Doing so would "link measurement objects with a respective reporting configuration. By configuring multiple measurement identifiers, it is possible to link more than one measurement object to the same reporting configuration, as well as to link more than one reporting configuration to the same measurement object. The measurement identifier may be used as a reference number in the measurement report" (Gürsu, ¶0183). This would be advantageous because it would improve communication efficiency and reliability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 32, and 39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 9 depend on claim 7 and are objected to for the same reasons as claim 7.
Claims 33, 34 depend on claim 32 and are objected to for the same reasons as claim 32.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Yan teaches the apparatus of claim 6 (and similarly claims 31 and 38), but neither Yan nor Gürsu, separately or in combination, teach “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: initiate the PSCell selection execution condition evaluation in response to completion of a fraction of a time to trigger (TTT) corresponding to a continuous period of time during which the conditional handover execution condition is to be met for the conditional handover to occur” as claimed in claim 7 (and similarly in claims 32 and 39).
Additionally, the nearest prior art identified by the examiner in a thorough search is as follows: U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0121689 to Lim et al. teaches multiple measurements taken during a time-to-trigger duration (Figs. 7B and 8C; ¶¶0128-0131; ¶0138); and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0358693 to Conceicao et al. teaches “criteria for the event may be met for a duration specified in the timeToTrigger parameter before the conditions for the criteria are considered to be fulfilled and the WTRU executes the conditional reconfiguration evaluation” (¶0093). However, the prior art does not teach, separately or in combination, “wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: initiate the PSCell selection execution condition evaluation in response to completion of a fraction of a time to trigger (TTT) corresponding to a continuous period of time during which the conditional handover execution condition is to be met for the conditional handover to occur” as claimed in claim 7 (and similarly in claims 32 and 39).
References Cited
Gürsu, Halit Murat et al. (2025). Dual connectivity (US 2025/0261056 A1). Filed 2023-08-02.
Yan, Le et al. (2024). Method and apparatus for performing handover procedure (US 2024/0073755 A1). Filed 2020-12-31.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bergström, Mattias et al. (2026). Radio network node, user equipment, and methods performed therein (US 12543099 B2). Filed 2022-01-13.
Conceicao, Filipe et al. (2025). Multi-hop conditional handover (US 20250358693 A1). Filed 2023-04-28.
Da Silva, Icaro L. J. et al. (2024). Ue, network node and methods for handling mobility information in a communications network (US 20240040461 A1). Filed 2020-07-03.
Da Silva, Icaro Leonardo J. et al. (2024). Inter-secondary node conditional cell change and measurement configuration (US 20240098611 A1). Filed 2022-01-28.
Kim, Myoungsoo et al. (2025). Method and apparatus for conditional mobility based on measurement prediction in a wireless communication system (US 20250317809 A1). Filed 2023-06-15.
Kim, Sangwon et al. (2022). Method and apparatus for mobility execution in wireless communication system (US 20220377631 A1). Filed 2021-01-06.
Lim, Yongtae et al. (2024). Electronic device performing handover and operation method thereof (US 20240121689 A1). Filed 2023-12-07.
Matin, Sharif Ahsanul et al. (2025). Reducing errant measurement report timer deactivation using layer 3 filter augmentation (US 12206464 B2). Filed 2021-09-24.
Qui, Liwei et al. (2026). Methods, apparatus and computer-readable medium related to conditional cell change (US 20260019912 A1). Filed 2023-08-08.
Selvaganapathy, Srinivasan et al. (2024). Early evaluation for conditional reconfiguration (US 20240340729 A1). Filed 2022-07-07.
Teyeb, Oumer et al. (2025). Wtru mobility and cell reselection in energy savings networks (US 20250392973 A1). Filed 2023-08-04.
Teyeb, Oumer et al. (2026). Methods, architectures, apparatuses and systems for measurement reporting and conditional handover (US 20260012874 A1). Filed 2023-08-01.
Wallentin, Pontus et al. (2023). Measurement triggering based on data traffic (US 20230217280 A1). Filed 2021-06-23.
Xie, Fang (2026). Information transmission method, information reception method and apparatuses (US 12520214 B2). Filed 2021-06-09.
Xiong, Yi et al. (2026). Method for conditional handover and communication device (US 12520220 B2). Filed 2021-01-14.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649