DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed March 9, 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-6, 9-10, and 14-20 were previously pending; claim 4 was cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, and 14-20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 9, 2026 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 7-9 of Remarks) amends the independent claims to overcome the prior 102 rejection. Therefore, a new rejection is applied below necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO (CN 103915921 A) in view of ISHIKAWA (JP 2011130529 A).
Regarding claim 1, XIAO teaches:
A motor rotor(Fig 2; 10)[abstract], comprising:
an iron core yoke(Fig 2/4; 11);
a spoke plate(Fig 4; 11’); and
at least two permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12),
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11) is in a disk shape[pg 1; 18-21], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 4; 12)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 4; 11)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 4 [pg 3; 42-48]), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12) (as shown in Fig 4 )
and reluctance of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is less than that of the first permanent magnet(Fig 4; 12b)( several magnetic pole trough along the axial direction of the rotor are arranged rotor magnetic asymmetry to form direct axis and quadrature axis inductance are not equal, to produce reluctance torque; reluctance torque could not be produce without the difference in material [0038]).
XIAO does not teach:
wherein the motor rotor further comprises a first permanent magnet, the first permanent magnet is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets and the spoke plate, and reluctance of the spoke plate is less than that of the first permanent magnet.
ISHIKAWA teaches:
A motor rotor(Fig 3; 11), comprising:
an iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71);
a spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76); and
at least two permanent magnets(Fig 3/6; 41),
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71) is in a disk shape[shown in Fig 3], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 6; 71)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 3 and 6), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 6; 75/76) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 6; 41) (as shown in Fig 6 ), and
wherein the motor rotor (Fig 3; 11)further comprises a first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43), the first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43) is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)and the spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XIAO by adding first permanent magnets circumferentially between the other permanent magnet and the spoke plate as taught by ISHIKAWA in order to improve the rotors magnetic flux lens (concentration) effect. [0039 ISHIKAWA].
Regarding claim 2, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein a size of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) in the axial direction is greater than a size of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) in the circumferential direction(relationship in size shown substantially in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 3, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein there are at least two spoke plates(Fig 4; 11’) between two adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12), and the at least two spoke plates (Fig 4; 11’)are spaced apart in the circumferential direction(shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 9, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 4:
wherein the motor rotor further comprises an iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) and a joint portion(Fig 4; 16’), the iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) is located on a side that is of the permanent magnet (Fig 4; 12)and that is away from the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11), the joint portion(Fig 4; 16’) is connected to the iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) and the spoke plate(Fig 4; 11’)(connection takes place through the peripheral surface), and the first permanent magnet (Fig 4; 12b)is located between the joint portion (Fig 4; 16’)and the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11).
Regarding claim 10, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the at least two permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12) are stacked in the axial direction(Shown in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 14, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1:
wherein the motor rotor (Fig 2; 10)further comprises an iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) and a flux barrier(Fig 4; 13), the iron core pole piece (Fig 4; 16)and the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11) are disposed at an interval, the flux barrier(Fig 4; 13) is connected to the iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) and the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 1`), the iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16), the flux barrier(Fig 4; 13), and the iron core yoke (Fig 4; 11)enclose an accommodating cavity(Fig 5; 131), and one permanent magnet(Fig 4; 12) is located in the accommodating cavity.
Regarding claim 15, XIAO teaches the motor rotor according to claim 14:
wherein a size of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’)in the axial direction is greater (shown in Fig 4)than a distance between a surface that is of the iron core pole piece(Fig 4; 16) and that is away from the permanent magnet (Fig 4; 12)and the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO (CN 103915921 A) in view of ISHIKAWA (JP 2011130529 A), in further view of LIU (CN 111355323 A).
In regards to claim 5, XIAO in view of ISHIKAWA teaches the motor rotor according to claim 1.
Combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA does not teach:
wherein the spoke plate comprises a limiting surface, and the limiting surface is in contact with the first permanent magnet, so that the spoke plate and the first permanent magnet are fastened in the axial direction.
LIU teaches:
wherein the spoke plate (Fig 2; 2) comprises a limiting surface(Fig 2; 2’), and the limiting surface (Fig 2; 2’)is in contact with the first permanent magnet(Fig 3; 3), so that the spoke plate(Fig 3; 2) and the first permanent magnet (Fig 3; 3)are fastened in the axial direction[pg 4; 1-14].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA by adding the limiting surface, limiting portion, and main portion of the spoke plate taught by LIU in order to improve the motor's weakening ability, and be easy to process and realize, suitability for mass production. [pg 3; 21-24 LIU].
In regards to claim 6, XIAO, in view of LIU, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 5.
XIAO does not teach:
wherein the spoke plate comprises a main portion and a limiting portion, the main portion is connected to the iron core yoke, the limiting portion is on a side that is of the main portion and that is away from the iron core yoke, and the limiting surface is located at the limiting portion.
LIU teaches:
wherein the spoke plate(Fig 2; 2) comprises a main portion (Fig 2; 2a)and a limiting portion(Fig 2; 2b), the main portion (Fig 2; 2a)is connected to the iron core yoke(Fig 2; 1), the limiting portion (Fig 2; 2b)is on a side that is of the main portion (Fig 2; 2a)and that is away from the iron core yoke(Fig 2; 1), and the limiting surface (Fig 2; 2’)is located at the limiting portion(Fig 2; 2b).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIAO (CN 103915921 A) in view of ISHIKAWA (JP 2011130529 A), in further view of JING (CN 102624115 A).
In regards to claim 16, XIAO teaches:
A motor [pg 1; 34-38], comprising:
a stator(Fig 2; 20);
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11) is in a disk shape[pg 1; 18-21], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 4; 12)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 4; 11)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 4 [pg 3; 42-48]), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12) (as shown in Fig 4 )
and reluctance of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is less than that of the first permanent magnet(Fig 4; 12b)( several magnetic pole trough along the axial direction of the rotor are arranged rotor magnetic asymmetry to form direct axis and quadrature axis inductance are not equal, to produce reluctance torque; reluctance torque could not be produce without the difference in material [0038]).
XIAO does not teach:
a rotating shaft; and
wherein the motor rotor further comprises a first permanent magnet, the first permanent magnet is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets and the spoke plate, and reluctance of the spoke plate is less than that of the first permanent magnet.
ISHIKAWA teaches:
A motor rotor(Fig 3; 11), comprising:
an iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71);
a spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76); and
at least two permanent magnets(Fig 3/6; 41),
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71) is in a disk shape[shown in Fig 3], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 6; 71)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 3 and 6), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 6; 75/76) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 6; 41) (as shown in Fig 6 ), and
wherein the motor rotor (Fig 3; 11)further comprises a first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43), the first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43) is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)and the spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XIAO by adding first permanent magnets circumferentially between the other permanent magnet and the spoke plate as taught by ISHIKAWA in order to improve the rotors magnetic flux lens (concentration) effect. [0039 ISHIKAWA].
Combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA does not teach:
a rotating shaft.
JING teaches:
A motor(Fig 1; 1), comprising:
a stator (Fig 1; 40);
a rotating shaft(Fig 1; 30); and
a motor rotor (Fig 1; 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA by adding the shaft, transmission, and electrical vehicle taught by JING in order to provide a power component for an electric vehicle. [pg 7; 45-47 JING].
In regards to claim 17, XIAO teaches:
A motor [pg 1; 34-38], comprising:
a stator(Fig 2; 20);
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 4; 11) is in a disk shape[pg 1; 18-21], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 4; 12)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 4; 11)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 4 [pg 3; 42-48]), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12) (as shown in Fig 4 )
and reluctance of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) is less than that of the first permanent magnet(Fig 4; 12b)( several magnetic pole trough along the axial direction of the rotor are arranged rotor magnetic asymmetry to form direct axis and quadrature axis inductance are not equal, to produce reluctance torque; reluctance torque could not be produce without the difference in material [0038]).
XIAO does not teach:
An electric vehicle, comprising:
a transmission shaft;
wheels; and
wherein the transmission shaft is connected to the motor and the wheels,
a rotating shaft; and
wherein the motor rotor further comprises a first permanent magnet, the first permanent magnet is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets and the spoke plate, and reluctance of the spoke plate is less than that of the first permanent magnet.
ISHIKAWA teaches:
A motor rotor(Fig 3; 11), comprising:
an iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71);
a spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76); and
at least two permanent magnets(Fig 3/6; 41),
wherein the iron core yoke(Fig 3; 71) is in a disk shape[shown in Fig 3], the iron core yoke comprises an axial direction and a circumferential direction(axial and circumferential directions are innate to annular shaped devices), wherein the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)are fastened to the iron core yoke (Fig 6; 71)and sequentially spaced apart in the circumferential direction(as shown in Fig 3 and 6), and wherein the spoke plate (Fig 6; 75/76) is located between adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 6; 41) (as shown in Fig 6 ), and
wherein the motor rotor (Fig 3; 11)further comprises a first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43), the first permanent magnet (Fig 6; 43) is located in the circumferential direction between one of the at least two permanent magnets (Fig 6; 41)and the spoke plate(Fig 6; 75/76).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify XIAO by adding first permanent magnets circumferentially between the other permanent magnet and the spoke plate as taught by ISHIKAWA in order to improve the rotors magnetic flux lens (concentration) effect. [0039 ISHIKAWA].
Combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA does not teach:
An electric vehicle, comprising:
a transmission shaft;
wheels; and
wherein the transmission shaft is connected to the motor and the wheels,
a rotating shaft.
JING teaches:
An electric vehicle[pg 1; 19-21], comprising:
a transmission shaft;
wheels; and
a motor (Fig 1; 1), wherein the transmission shaft is connected to the motor and the wheels[pg 7; 45-47],
wherein the motor (Fig 1; 1) comprises:
a stator (Fig 1; 40);
a rotating shaft(Fig 1; 30); and
a motor rotor (Fig 1; 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination XIAO/ISHIKAWA by adding the shaft, transmission, and electrical vehicle taught by JING in order to provide a power component for an electric vehicle. [pg 7; 45-47 JING].
In regards to claim 18, XIAO, in view of ISHIKAWA, in further view of JING, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 17:
wherein a size of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) in the axial direction is greater than a size of the spoke plate (Fig 4; 11’) in the circumferential direction(relationship in size shown substantially in Fig 4).
In regards to claim 19, XIAO, in view of ISHIKAWA, in further view of JING, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 17:
wherein there are at least two spoke plates(Fig 4; 11’) between two adjacent permanent magnets(Fig 4; 12), and the at least two spoke plates (Fig 4; 11’)are spaced apart in the circumferential direction(shown in Fig 4).
In regards to claim 20, XIAO, in view of ISHIKAWA, in further view of JING, teaches the motor rotor according to claim 17:
wherein the motor rotor (Fig 2; 10)further comprises a first permanent magnet(Fig 4; 12b), the first permanent magnet (Fig 4; 12b)is located between one permanent magnet (Fig 4; 12a)and the spoke plate(Fig 4; 11’), and the reluctance of the spoke plate is less than that of the first permanent magnet(the permanent magnet is an injection mold; these are known to have a higher reluctance than iron [pg 4; 30-31]).
Citation of Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. Prior Art:
YAN (US 20230006490 A1): Permanent magnet layout with primary and secondary magnets that fall between a spoke plate and themselves.
HOU (US 20240128814 A1): Permanent magnet layout with primary and secondary magnets that fall between a spoke plate and themselves (after effective filing date).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834