Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/01/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 06/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 31-35, 37-40, 43-46, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Deenoo et al. (US 20220394583).
Regarding claim 1, Deenoo discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (FIG. 1B, WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, non-removable memory 130, and removable memory 132; [0028]), the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to:
receive a first primary cell group (MCG) configuration and a first secondary cell group (SCG) configuration (WTRU may be configured with (e.g., the WTRU may receive) one or more multi-connectivity conditional reconfigurations, e.g., where at least one reconfiguration may be associated with an MCG and at least one reconfiguration may be associated with an SCG; [0075].
WTRU may receive a generic cell group configuration which may be used as an MCG or SCG configuration; [0090]);
receive a set of conditional SCG configurations (WTRU may be configured with a plurality of conditional reconfigurations where a second subset of the conditional reconfigurations may be associated with a secondary cell group; [0075]),
each conditional SCG configuration including a set of candidate target primary secondary cells (PSCells) (conditional secondary cell group configuration or reconfiguration may be described herein. A WTRU may be configured to apply an SCG configuration if a preconfigured condition is satisfied. The SCG configuration may include one or more of the following: a configuration of a special cell (e.g. such as an spCellConfig), which may include PSCell configuration information; [0076]),
corresponding PSCell change execution conditions (if the condition for a conditional PSCell addition and/or a conditional PSCell change is satisfied and the WTRU does not have an active SCG configuration, the WTRU may perform the conditional PSCell addition. If the condition for the conditional PSCell addition and/or the conditional PSCell change is satisfied and the WTRU has an active SCG configuration, the WTRU may perform the conditional PSCell change; [0090]), and
corresponding SCG configurations (The WTRU may receive, for each PCell CHO candidate, a list of allowed or linked PSCells and/or applicable SCG configuration(s) if a CHO is performed to a candidate (e.g., to each candidate); [0087]); and
communicate with a network, in response to an PSCell change execution condition corresponding to a first PSCell being satisfied (if the condition for a conditional PSCell addition and/or a conditional PSCell change is satisfied and the WTRU does not have an active SCG configuration, the WTRU may perform the conditional PSCell addition. If the condition for the conditional PSCell addition and/or the conditional PSCell change is satisfied and the WTRU has an active SCG configuration, the WTRU may perform the conditional PSCell change; [0090]),
based on the first MCG configuration, the first SCG configuration, and an SCG configuration corresponding to the first PSCell (CG configuration may be provided as a delta configuration to a currently configured CG (e.g., the MCG or SCG). If the CG configuration is provided with respect to the MCG and if a CHO is performed on the PCell, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to its current MCG configuration (e.g., to derive an MCG configuration after the CHO). If the CG configuration is provided with respect to the MCG and if a conditional PSCell change is performed, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to its current MCG configuration (e.g., to derive a SCG configuration after the conditional PSCell change); [0093]).
Regarding claim 2, Deenoo discloses wherein the set of conditional SCG configurations includes an associated MCG configuration and an associated SCG configuration for each candidate target PSCell, which indicates a delta relative to the first MCG configuration and the first SCG configuration (a WTRU may be configured with one or more generic CG configurations in addition to MCG-specific or SCG-specific configurations. The WTRU may identify the generic CG configurations based on explicit signaling (e.g., based on respective identities or identifiers included in the generic CG configurations, or based on the use of separate information elements (IEs) for the generic CG configurations). A WTRU may identify a generic configuration based on having been provided with a full (e.g., rather than delta) configuration for the generic CG configuration; [0091]), and
wherein to communicate based on the first MCG configuration, the first SCG configuration, and the SCG configuration corresponding to the first PSCell, the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to apply the delta relative to the first MCG configuration and the first SCG configuration (If the CG configuration is provided with respect to the MCG and if a CHO is performed on the PCell, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to its current MCG configuration (e.g., to derive an MCG configuration after the CHO). If the CG configuration is provided with respect to the MCG and if a conditional PSCell change is performed, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to its current MCG configuration (e.g., to derive a SCG configuration after the conditional PSCell change). If the CG configuration is provided as a delta configuration with respect to the SCG and if a conditional PSCell change is performed, the WTRU may apply the delta configuration to its current SCG configuration (e.g., to derive a SCG configuration after the conditional PSCell change); [0093]).
Regarding claim 3, Deenoo discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive the first SCG configuration from a source secondary node (SN) via a primary node (MN), and provide the SCG configuration corresponding to a candidate target PSCell to the UE in the set of conditional SCG configurations from a target SN via the MN (WTRU may determine its behavior based on the node (MN or SN) that configured the CPAC and/or the SRB that was used to configure the CPAC. For example, the WTRU may perform a CPAC to a candidate PSCell following a SCG failure if the CPAC candidate was configured by the SN or was configured via a certain SRB such as SRB3; [0186]).
Regarding claim 4, Deenoo discloses wherein each PSCell change execution condition is indicated by a measurement identifier with respect to a source MCG measurement configuration (A trigger condition may be associated with SRB3. A WTRU may be configured to apply an SCG configuration if the WTRU is unable to comply with a RRCReconfiguration message received over SRB3, e.g., possibly if the PSCell associated with a stored SCG configuration meets a measurement and/or suitability criterion. If the trigger condition associated with an MCG is satisfied while a conditional SCG reconfiguration is ongoing, the WTRU may be configured with the following behavior; [0097, 0104]).
Regarding claim 5, Deenoo discloses wherein for each given candidate target PSCell indicated at a first level, the set of conditional SCG configurations further includes: a group of candidate target PSCells, one or more PSCell change execution conditions corresponding to a candidate target PSCell from the group of candidate target PSCells (WTRU may consider a subset of configured conditional handover (HO) (e.g., PCell) candidates (e.g., only a subset of the configured conditional HO (PCell) candidates) that the WTRU is allowed to access to perform conditional HO based on a given active PSCell or SCG configuration. This behavior of the WTRU may also apply when a conditional PSCell configuration triggers a CHO (e.g., after or during the conditional PSCell configuration); [0085]),
a group of MCG configurations (WTRU may receive, for each PCell CHO candidate, a list of allowed or linked PSCells and/or applicable SCG configuration(s) if a CHO is performed to a candidate (e.g., to each candidate). The WTRU may receive, for example, for a PSCell candidate (e.g., for each PSCell candidate), a list of allowed or linked PCells and/or applicable MCG configuration(s) if conditional SCG reconfiguration is performed. The WTRU may receive an identifier with a cell configuration (e.g., with each cell configuration); [0087]), and
a group of SCG configurations for the UE to apply when the UE changes to the candidate target PSCell from the group of candidate target PSCells (WTRU may assume a linkage between an MCG and an SCG, e.g., if they have the same identifier or related identifiers. The WTRU may receive a table of linked PCells and/or PSCells (e.g., such as a table of cell IDs), for example, via dedicated configuration information or via a SIB. The WTRU may be configured with plurality of conditions to trigger a reconfiguration. For example, a first condition may be applied if there is a linkage between a candidate cell associated with the reconfiguration and a serving cell (e.g., a serving cell associated with the MCG and/or the SCG), and a second condition may be applied if there is no linkage between a candidate cell associated with the reconfiguration and a serving cell (e.g., a serving cell associated with the MCG and/or the SCG); [0087]).
Regarding claim 7, Deenoo discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: maintain the first MCG configuration, the first SCG configuration, and the set of conditional SCG configurations after a PSCell change (WTRU may be configured to suspend or release a CPAC configuration based on the compatibility of the CPAC configuration with a cell group. For example, the WTRU may be configured to release a CPAC configuration that is no longer compatible with a new MCG after a CHO. The WTRU may be configured with the compatibility information of the CPAC configuration with respect to a (e.g., each) CHO candidate, for example, via a linkage configuration. The WTRU may maintain those (e.g., only those) CPAC configurations associated with a CHO candidate towards which a CHO is completed successfully; [0167]).
Regarding claim 8, Deenoo discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a command for a PSCell change while evaluating the corresponding PSCell change execution conditions; perform the PSCell change in response to the command; and maintain the first MCG configuration, the first SCG configuration, and the set of conditional SCG configurations after performing the PSCell change (WTRU may be configured to suspend (e.g., autonomously suspend) a stored CPAC configuration if a CHO is completed successfully. The WTRU may stop monitoring trigger conditions associated with the suspended CPAC configuration. The WTRU may send an indication to the SCG (e.g., to a network node associated with the SCG) indicating the suspension of the CPAC configuration. The WTRU may be configured to receive a command (e.g., from the SCG) to activate and/or reconfigure the suspended CPAC configuration. The WTRU may be configured to selectively release or suspend a CPAC configuration based on the completion of a CHO. The WTRU may be configured to suspend or release a CPAC configuration based on one or more of the following conditions. The WTRU may be configured to suspend or release the CPAC configuration based on the origin of the CPAC configuration. For example, the WTRU may be configured to release or suspend those CPAC configurations received from a secondary node and maintain the CPAC configurations received from a master node. The WTRU may be configured to release or suspend those CPAC configurations received from a master node and maintain the CPAC configurations received from a secondary node; [0165-0166]).
Regarding claim 9, Deenoo discloses wherein the command includes an indication to maintain the first MCG configuration, the first SCG configuration, and the set of conditional SCG configurations after performing the PSCell change (WTRU may be configured to suspend or release a CPAC configuration based on the compatibility of the CPAC configuration with a cell group. For example, the WTRU may be configured to release a CPAC configuration that is no longer compatible with a new MCG after a CHO. The WTRU may be configured with the compatibility information of the CPAC configuration with respect to a (e.g., each) CHO candidate, for example, via a linkage configuration. The WTRU may maintain those (e.g., only those) CPAC configurations associated with a CHO candidate towards which a CHO is completed successfully; [0167]).
Regarding claim 10, Deenoo discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a command from the network to release an SCG while evaluating one or more PSCell change execution conditions from the set of conditional SCG configurations; and discard the first SCG configuration and the set of conditional SCG configurations in response to the command (WTRU may be configured with an association (e.g., a mapping) between CPAC configurations and CHO configurations. More than one CPAC configuration may be associated to a same CHO configuration and vice versa. The WTRU may be configured to activate and deactivate one or more linked CHO configurations, for example, if the serving SCG is changed due to a CPAC procedure. The WTRU may release a CHO configuration that is not linked to the current SCG. The WTRU may be configured to report an indication to the MCG (e.g., to a network node associated with the MCG) regarding the status of a CHO candidate based on a successful CPAC completion. The WTRU may be configured to perform one or more of the function described herein for (e.g., only for) CPAC configurations configured by a SCG; [0171]).
Regarding claim 31, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 3.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 9.
Regarding claim 40, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 10.
Regarding claim 43, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 44, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 2.
Regarding claim 45, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 4.
Regarding claim 46, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 5.
Regarding claim 48, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US 20220394583) in view of Wallentin et al. (US 20230403646).
Regarding claim 11, Deenoo discloses wherein the set of conditional SCG configurations further includes a set of identifiers (IDs) with one ID associated with each PSCell change (WTRU may assume a linkage between an MCG and an SCG, e.g., if they have the same identifier or related identifiers. The WTRU may receive a table of linked PCells and/or PSCells (e.g., such as a table of cell IDs); [0087]), and
the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to:
provide a corresponding ID to a target secondary node (SN) associated with the first PSCell in response to a change to the first PSCell (WTRU may transmit an indication to a SCG (e.g., to a network node associated with the SCG) if the WTRU completes a CHO successfully. The WTRU may include an identity of a new PCell in the indication. The WTRU may transmit such an indication if an SRB (e.g., SRB3) is configured towards the SCG. The WTRU may transmit such an indication if the stored CPAC configuration was received from a secondary node, e.g., if the WTRU determines that a master node is not involved in the CPAC configuration; [0162]).
Deenoo does not expressly disclose use a key derived based on the corresponding ID for communicating with the first PSCell.
In an analogous art, Wallentin discloses use a key derived based on the corresponding ID for communicating with the first PSCell (SN uses the procedure to perform configuration changes of the SCG within the same SN, e.g. to trigger the modification/release of the user plane resource configuration and to trigger PSCell changes (e.g. when a new security key is required or when the MN needs to perform PDCP data recovery). The MN cannot reject the release request of PDU session/QoS flows. The SN also uses the procedure to request the MN to provide more DRB IDs to be used for SN terminated bearers or to return DRB IDs used for SN terminated bearers that are not needed any longer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Wallentin into the system of Deenoo in order to efficiently perform transitions between the SCG activated state and the SCG deactivated state (Wallentin; [0148]).
Regarding claim 41, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 11.
Claim(s) 12 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deenoo et al. (US 20220394583) in view of Wu et al. (US 20230388891).
Regarding claim 12, Deenoo does not expressly disclose wherein the set of conditional SCG configurations includes a set of key counters with a key counter associated with each PSCell change, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: use a key derived based on the key counter associated with a PSCell change to the first PSCell for communicating with the first PSCell.
In an analogous art, Wu discloses wherein the set of conditional SCG configurations includes a set of key counters with a key counter associated with each PSCell change, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to: use a key derived based on the key counter associated with a PSCell change to the first PSCell for communicating with the first PSCell (UE shall perform the following actions upon reception of the RRCReconfiguration, or upon execution of the conditional reconfiguration (CHO or CPC): 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the masterCellGroup: 2> perform the cell group configuration for the received masterCellGroup according to 5.3.5.5; 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the masterKeyUpdate: 2> perform AS security key update procedure as specified in 5.3.5.7; 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the sk-Counter: 2> perform security key update procedure as specified in 5.3.5.7; 1> if the RRCReconfiguration includes the secondaryCellGroup: 2> perform the cell group configuration for the SCG according to 5.3.5.5; [455-0483]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features as taught by Wu into the system of Deenoo in order to efficiently handle information indicative of preferences of a UE, including situations where the UE desires to send new UE information to the RAN after the RAN has prepared a conditional mobility procedure, but the condition has not yet been satisfied (Wu; [0013]).
Regarding claim 42, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 12.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 36, and 47 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same remarks apply to claims 36 and 47 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20220338089), “SCG FAILURE HANDLING WITH CONDITIONAL PSCELL CONFIGURATION.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413