Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aomori (JP 2017161604 A) in view of Yoon (KR 20110078319 A)
Regarding claim 1, Aomori teaches a display panel (at least Fig.1,6C,9 and 16), comprising: a carrier 110 having a patterned region (divisions, partitions that are pixels) that is disposed on a surface of the carrier and corresponds to a plurality of sub-pixel structures (see in Aomori: The partition wall 130 divides the plurality of lower electrodes 121 and the plurality of light emitting units 122 for each sub-pixel); an encapsulation material layer (binder 31 in Figure 1 and disclosed in Aomori: The wavelength conversion layer 30 includes a binder 31 and a plurality of phosphor particles 32 dispersed inside the binder 31 ) disposed on a portion of the patterned region; and a first color conversion layer disposed on the portion of the encapsulation material layer and comprises a plurality of first color conversion capsules that are configured to convert a light-emitting color of the sub-pixel structures into a first light-emitting color.
(see in Aomori: The wavelength conversion layer 30 includes a wavelength conversion layer 30R that absorbs excitation light, converts it into red light, and emits it, and a wavelength conversion layer 30G that absorbs excitation light, converts it into green light, and emits it. The wavelength conversion layer 30R includes a red phosphor 32R. The wavelength conversion layer 30G includes a green phosphor 32G).
Aomori teaches the below configurations
but does not explicitly teach: partial surfaces of some of the first color conversion capsules are exposed from the encapsulation material layer.
Yoon discloses a light emitting chip with color conversion capsules are exposed from the encapsulation material layer with the bottom portions embedded in the encapsulation (see Fig. 30 and Fig.32: 1549 that are partially exposed wherein the bottom portions are immersed within the encapsulation 1548, see in Yoon: a wavelength conversion layer 1548 containing a phosphor 1549 for converting the wavelength of light emitted from the light emitting diode chip 1545 is formed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expose partial surfaces of the first color conversion capsules from the encapsulation material layer, as disclosed in Yoon, in the device of Aomori in order to improve the light extraction efficiency.
(See in Yoon: Even in such a structure, since the layer made of the phosphor particles 1549 is positioned on the optical structure composed of the high refractive index layer 1547 and the low refractive index region 1546, the effect of improving the light extraction efficiency according to the present invention can be sufficiently expected).
Regarding claim 2, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches a display panel, wherein the encapsulation material layer is also disposed on another portion of the patterned region, and the display panel further comprises: a second color conversion layer disposed on the another portion of the encapsulation material layer and comprises a plurality of second color conversion capsules that are configured to convert the light-emitting color of the sub-pixel structures into a second light-emitting color; wherein partial surfaces of some of the second color conversion capsules are exposed from the encapsulation material layer (from the combined teachings of Aomori in view of Yoon. Also see in elements 30R and 30G in Aomori wherein: wavelength conversion layer 30 includes a wavelength conversion layer 30R that absorbs excitation light, converts it into red light, and emits it, and a wavelength conversion layer 30G that absorbs excitation light, converts it into green light, and emits it. The wavelength conversion layer 30R includes a red phosphor 32R. The wavelength conversion layer 30G includes a green phosphor 32G).
Regarding claim 5, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches a display panel, wherein the encapsulation material layer comprises a cured adhesive photoresist material (the limitations of cured and the photoresist material is drawn to the method of making the device and is therefore not germane to the device claim), and the first color conversion capsules are adhered and fixed to a side of the encapsulation material layer that is separate from the carrier (see resin encapsulation 19 in Yoon wherein all such binders/encapsulants that hold phosphor particles are considered to have some degree of adhesion property; further Aomori teaches well known photoresist steps applicable to formation of any layer for the light emitting device, see in Aomori: The photosensitive resin film 50A can be formed using a known positive photoresist. Here, as the photosensitive resin film 50A, a film obtained by forming a positive photoresist TGMR-950 (manufactured by Tokyo Ohka Kogyo Co., Ltd.) with a film thickness of about 10 μm by spin coating is used
and
Regarding cured adhesive see in Yoon: As a material for forming the binder 31, a curable resin having light transmittance can be used and in Yoon: The manufacturing process of the package according to the present embodiment is not limited thereto, but when the low refractive index region 1546 is formed of a transparent resin such as epoxy or a silicone resin, the high refractive index layer 1547 and the wavelength conversion layer 1548 are formed. It can be formed through a continuous application and curing process and
For example, the resin packaging part 2936 may be formed through UV (ultraviolet) curing or thermal curing after injecting a gel-type epoxy resin or silicone resin containing red and green phosphors into the receiving groove of the package body 2927. Can be.).
Regarding claim 7, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches a display panel, further comprising: a light-absorbing layer disposed on the carrier and surrounding the patterned region, wherein the light-absorbing layer separates the sub-pixel structures on the surface of the carrier (see in Aomori in Fig.11: The seed layer 21 can be made of, for example, a mixture obtained by mixing Pd fine particles serving as a catalyst for electroless plating with a resin material such as a photosensitive resin or polyimide. Such a mixture may be mixed with a color material such as carbon black, a dye, or a pigment.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aomori (JP 2017161604 A) in view of Yoon (KR 20110078319 A) and further in view of Ikeda (US 20210098663 A1)
Regarding claim 3, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches the first light-emitting color is different from the second light-emitting color (from teachings of Aomori in:
The wavelength conversion layer 30 includes a wavelength conversion layer 30R that absorbs excitation light, converts it into red light, and emits it, and a wavelength conversion layer 30G that absorbs excitation light, converts it into green light, and emits it. The wavelength conversion layer 30R includes a red phosphor 32R. The wavelength conversion layer 30G includes a green phosphor 32G;
but is silent regarding a volume of each of the second color conversion capsules is larger than a volume of each of the first color conversion capsules.
Ikeda teaches a light emitting device wherein:
[0077] Similar to in the second embodiment, in the light emitting device 4 of the fourth embodiment, the first light emitting element 21 and the third light emitting element 23 to emit blue light may have volumes greater than volumes of the second light emitting element 22 and the fourth light emitting element 24 to emit green light.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the volumes, as disclosed in Ikeda, in the device of Aomori in view of Yoon in order to compensate for the blue light absorbed by the wavelength converting members ([0074] in Ikeda).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aomori (JP 2017161604 A) in view of Yoon (KR 20110078319 A) and further in view of Sluzky (US 20020140338 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches the first color conversion layer has a first side connected to the encapsulation material layer and a second side that is separate from the encapsulation material layer:
as shown by arrows in Yoon:
but is silent regarding:
the first color conversion capsules are stacked on the encapsulation material layer and the partial surfaces of of the second color conversion capsules exposed from the encapsulation material layer are disposed on the second side.
Further Sluzky teaches a general description of exposing some phosphor particles in a stack of phosphor particles (elements 100 and 161 in Fig.11 and 12 and Fig.7 and last line of [0055]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the stack of phosphor particles wherein some of them are exposed, as disclosed in Sluzky, in the device of Aomori in view of Yoon ,in order to optimize the light extraction efficiency (from teachings of Yoon; see rejection in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Aomori in view of Yoon and Sluzky teaches a display panel, wherein the first color conversion capsules are closely adjacent to each other (from the teachings of Sluzky in elements 100 and 161 in Fig.11 and 12 and Fig.7, which is a well-known technique of closely packing the color conversion particles).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aomori (JP 2017161604 A) in view of Yoon (KR 20110078319 A) and further in view of Kim (US 20190025655 A1)
Regarding claim 8, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a thickness direction of the carrier, a height of the first color conversion layer is less than or equal to a height of the light-absorbing layer.
Kim teaches a display device (Fig.11) wherein a thickness direction of the carrier, a height of the first color conversion layer 230a is less than or equal to a height of the light-absorbing layer (220a in Fig.11 and [0155] in Kim: The display device having the light-blocking partition 220a) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the material as disclosed in Kim, in the device of Aomori in view of Yoon, in order to prevent crosstalk between the pixels (which is a well-known technique in the art).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aomori (JP 2017161604 A) in view of Yoon (KR 20110078319 A) and further in view of Yoshida (US 20140021503 A1)
Regarding claim 9, Aomori in view of Yoon teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding the first color conversion capsules comprise polystyrene, ethylene polymer, acrylic resin, silicon oxide resin, carbonate, a mixture thereof, or a copolymer thereof.
Yoshida discloses: Furthermore, a surface of the quantum dot phosphor is coated with an acrylic resin film or a silicon oxide, to thereby suppress the deterioration in quantum dot phosphors due to photo-oxidation and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the material as disclosed in Yoshida, in the device of Aomori in view of Yoon, in order to prevent deterioration of the phosphor quantum dots.
Other art
US 20210398959 A1 [0003] In display panels of the prior art, after transferring micro LED chips on thin-film transistor (TFT) substrates, color filter layers are formed thereon. Color filter layers need to be formed with black retaining walls or black matrices by a yellow light process to prevent crosstalk between sub-pixels.
US 20230143818 A1,
US 20120082777 A1 discloses: [0005] It is publicly known that a surface of the phosphor particle is not entirely covered with the binding agent and the surface of the phosphor particle is partially exposed.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875