DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 21-25 in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patel et al. (US PG Pub No. 2018/0318079 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Patel discloses a system comprising: a docking coil (Figs. 2A-2C, anchoring device 1) configured to dock with an implant (Paragraph [0082], “secure a prosthetic valve in place’) within a portion of a patient's body (Paragraph [0083], “introduced into the patient’s heart”) and including a leading portion (Figs. 2A-2C, lower coil 12b) extending to a leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) and having an orientation (Paragraph [0085]); and a docking coil sleeve (Fig. 2A-2C, delivery catheter 24) having an interior lumen (Paragraph [0084], “hollow tube”) configured for the docking coil (1) to slide within (Paragraphs [0084 and 0085]) and including a leading portion (Fig. 2B, flexible distal section 25, See annotated Fig. 2B below) extending to a leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) and having an orientation (Paragraph [0085], “The flexible distal section 25 can also be bent into the same or in a different curved configuration”) that is different than the orientation (Paragraph [0085]) of the leading portion (12b) of the docking coil (1), the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) of the docking coil sleeve (24) configured to slide (Paragraphs [0084 and 0085]) relative to the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) of the docking coil (1) to deflect the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) of the docking coil (1) or the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B below) of the docking coil sleeve (24) radially inward (See annotated Fig. 2B below) or outward (Paragraph [0077], Paragraph [0085], flexible distal section 25).
Regarding claim 22, Patel discloses wherein the orientation of the leading portion (12b) of the docking coil (1) is configured to form a diameter that is less than a diameter (Paragraph [0084], “delivery catheter 24 is large enough to house and deploy an anchoring device, such as the anchoring device 1”, therefore the diameter of the coil is less than the diameter of the sleeve) of the leading portion (25) of the docking coil sleeve (24), and sliding the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil (1) distally relative (See annotated Fig. 2B above) to the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil sleeve (24) deflects the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil sleeve (24) radially inward (See annotated Fig. 2B above).
Regarding claim 23, Patel discloses wherein sliding the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil (1) proximally relative (Paragraphs [0085 and 0087], removal of 24 after 1 was places), to the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil sleeve (25) deflects the leading tip (See annotated Fig. 2B above) of the docking coil sleeve (24) radially outward (Paragraphs [0085 and 0087], when 24 is removed it is opposite of when inserting).
Regarding claim 24, Patel discloses wherein the leading portion (12b) of the docking coil (1) has a preset radius of curvature (Paragraph [0078], Figs. 2A-2B).
Regarding claim 25, Patel discloses wherein the leading portion (24) of the docking coil sleeve (24) has a preset radius of curvature that is larger (Paragraph [0084], “delivery catheter 24 is large enough to house and deploy an anchoring device, such as the anchoring device 1”, therefore the radius of curvature of the sleeve is larger than the coil’s) than the preset radius of curvature (Paragraph [0078], Figs. 2A-2B) of the leading portion (12b) of the docking coil (1).
Conclusion
/K.L.C./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/MELANIE R TYSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774