DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1-16-2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The remarks states that a terminal disclaimer was provided; however, no terminal disclaimer is attached.
Regarding applicant’s argument “While the cited portions of 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 relied upon by the Office Action may describe use of a request type "handover of emergency bearer services" in certain circumstances, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 does not disclose the claimed two-stage retry progression from a regular "handover" request type to a "handover of emergency bearer services" request type responsive to an attach reject for the transfer of the same onqoinq emergency session. Otherwise said, even if 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 is read as disclosing that a UE may set a request type to "handover of emergency bearer services," it still lacks any disclosure or suggestion of the sequence of "while the emergency session is ongoinq between the UE and the first network, receiving... a first attach request message," in response "transmitting... an attach reject message," followed by "receiving... the second attach request message comprising a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message" with a difference request type "set to "handover of emergency bearer services" for the ongoing emergency session."”; the examiner’s position is that 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 does disclose the claimed two-stage retry progression from a regular "handover" request type to a "handover of emergency bearer services" request type responsive to an attach reject for the transfer of the same onqoinq emergency session; the first stage is the handover request is disclosed in section 6.5.1.2 and the second stage is when handling a network rejection as disclosed in section 6.5.1.4.2-3 and 6.5.3.4.2 which may result in a second attach request message comprising a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message with request type set to "handover of emergency bearer services" for the ongoing emergency session.
Applicant submits: “claim 8 requires "that the second attach request message comprises an attach type not set to 'EPS emergency attach'," which is contrary to 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0. While the cited portions of 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 may use the words "not set to EPS emergency attach," it is not disclosed in the same context as claimed, that is, in the "second attach request message" as claimed in claim 1… "for initiating a PDN connection for emergency bearer services" with attach type not set to "EPS emergency attach" is the one the network cannot accept. In other words, the cited text in Section 5.5.1.2.5B does not teach the claim 8 requirement in the claimed temporal position, i.e., that the second attach request, sent responsive to an attach reject, has an attach type not set to "EPS emergency attach".”; the examiner’s position is that the relied portion of section 5.5.1.2.5B is for an attach for initiating a PDN connection for emergency bearer services not accepted by the network; thereby, it is in the same context of a second attach request.
Additionally, the steps mentioned will bring the same predictable result of making a PDN connection whether the request it is for a handover or a first rejected connection. The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection of record stands.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,812,318 and 10/880,802. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are generally broader with the exception of the network component of the second network. However, although the above-mentioned patent does not explicitly recite a network component, it is clear that whatever component in the second network doing the steps would be a network component of the second network and/or intended use for claims 9; thereby, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0.
As to claim 1, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses a method for transferring an ongoing emergency session from a first network to a second network [The UE shall set the request type to "handover of emergency bearer services" when a PDN connection for emergency bearer services is to be transferred from a WLAN to the 3GPP access network or when the UE supporting N1 mode requests transfer of an existing emergency PDU session in 5GS.] (see section 6.5.1.2), the method comprising:
while the emergency session is ongoing between a user equipment (UE) and the first network, receiving, by a network component in the second network from the UE, a first attach request message, the first attach request message comprising a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message with request type set to "handover" [the UE shall send a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message to the MME… If the UE supports N1 mode and the request type is: "handover" or "handover of emergency bearer services"] (see section 6.5.1.2);
transmitting, from the network component to the UE in response to receiving the first attach request message, an attach reject message [the MME shall send a PDN CONNECTIVITY REJECT message to the UE] (see section 6.5.1.4.1);
receiving, by the network component from the UE responsive to the attach reject message, a second attach request message, the second attach request message comprising a PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message with request type set to "handover of emergency bearer services" for the ongoing emergency session [The UE shall set the request type to "handover of emergency bearer services" when a PDN connection for emergency bearer services is to be transferred from a WLAN to the 3GPP access network or when the UE supporting N1 mode requests transfer of an existing emergency PDU session in 5GS….If the PDN CONNECTIVITY REJECT message is due to an ESM failure notified by EMM layer (i.e., EMM cause #19 "ESM failure" included in an ATTACH REJECT message), the UE may include a different APN in the PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message… the UE is allowed to initiate an attach procedure or PDN connectivity procedure if the procedure is for emergency bearer services] (see section 6.5.1.2, 6.5.1.4.1-6.5.1.4.3, 6.5.3.4.2); and
transmitting, by the network component to the UE, an attach accept message for transferring the ongoing emergency session from the first network to the second network [the MME shall send the ACTIVATE DEFAULT EPS BEARER CONTEXT REQUEST message together with ATTACH ACCEPT] (see section 6.4.1.2, 6.5.1.3). 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 is not clear which networks in the steps; however, it would be obvious that handover can go from one network to the other and vice versa. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the steps apply to go from one network to the other and vice versa for the simple purpose of continuing the communication as needed.
As to claim 2, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second attach request message is an emergency attach request message [The UE shall set the request type to "handover of emergency bearer services" when a PDN connection for emergency bearer services is to be transferred from a WLAN to the 3GPP access network or when the UE supporting N1 mode requests transfer of an existing emergency PDU session in 5GS….If the PDN CONNECTIVITY REJECT message is due to an ESM failure notified by EMM layer (i.e., EMM cause #19 "ESM failure" included in an ATTACH REJECT message), the UE may include a different APN in the PDN CONNECTIVITY REQUEST message… the UE is allowed to initiate an attach procedure or PDN connectivity procedure if the procedure is for emergency bearer services] (see section 6.5.1.2, 6.5.1.4.1-6.5.1.4.3, 6.5.3.4.2.
As to claim 3, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the attach reject message comprises an evolved packet system (EPS) mobility management (EMM) cause code [If the PDN CONNECTIVITY REJECT message is due to an ESM failure notified by EMM layer (i.e., EMM cause #19 "ESM failure" included in an ATTACH REJECT message) (see section 6.5.1.4.1).
As to claim 4, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the EMM cause code is #19 and indicates EPS Session Management (ESM) failure [If the PDN CONNECTIVITY REJECT message is due to an ESM failure notified by EMM layer (i.e., EMM cause #19 "ESM failure" included in an ATTACH REJECT message)] (see section 6.5.1.4.1).
As to claim 5, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first network is a fifth generation (5G) network and wherein the second network is a fourth generation (4G) network. [The UE shall set the request type to "handover of emergency bearer services" when a PDN connection for emergency bearer services is to be transferred from a WLAN to the 3GPP access network or when the UE supporting N1 mode requests transfer of an existing emergency PDU session in 5GS.] (see section 6.5.1.2). 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 is not clear which networks in the steps; however, it would be obvious that handover can go from one network to the other and vice versa. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the steps apply to go from one network to the other and vice versa for the simple purpose of continuing the communication as needed.
As to claim 6, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first network is part of a fifth generation system (5GS) and wherein the second network is part of an EPS [The UE shall set the request type to "handover of emergency bearer services" when a PDN connection for emergency bearer services is to be transferred from a WLAN to the 3GPP access network or when the UE supporting N1 mode requests transfer of an existing emergency PDU session in 5GS.] (see section 6.5.1.2). 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 is not clear which networks in the steps; however, it would be obvious that handover can go from one network to the other and vice versa. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention that the steps apply to go from one network to the other and vice versa for the simple purpose of continuing the communication as needed.
As to claim 7, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the emergency attach request message comprises an attach type set to "EPS emergency attach" (see section 5.5.1.2.1, 6.5.1.2, 6.5.1.4.1-6.5.1.4.3, 6.5.3.4.2, Table D.1.1).
As to claim 8, 3GPP TS 24.301 V16.4.0 discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second attach request message comprises an attach type not set to "EPS emergency attach" (see section 5.5.1.2.5B, Table D.1.1).
Regarding claims 9-16, they are the respective network component claims of method claims 1-7. Therefore, claims 10-16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above. Please note that inherently devices require a processor and memory to accomplish a process.
Regarding claims 17-20, they are the respective non-transitory computer readable storage medium claims of method claims 1-4. Therefore, claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647