Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 5/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 3-16 set forth in the preliminary amendment submitted 8/04/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6, filed 8/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6, of the remarks, filed on 8/04/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, that “The amendments to the claims are believed to obviate the rejections. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 (stated above), filed 8/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention have been fully considered and is persuasive. Because applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation which makes the claim language clear. Therefore, the rejection of Claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/16/2025 has been withdrawn as set forth below.
5. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 6-8, filed 8/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 4, 6- 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘524 A1 in view of Khitun in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200081079 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 6-8, of the remarks, filed on 8/04/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 4, 6- 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘524 A1 in view of Khitun in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200081079 A1, that “Applicant submits that, at a minimum, none of the cited references disclose or suggest that the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode which (Remarks-Page 6) excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode, a distance from the first position to the detection position is defined as a first distance, a distance from the second position to the detection position is defined as a second distance, and the first distance and the second distance are different from each other, as recited by claims 1 and 14.
…….
Thus, in Sasaki, the first position (at which the first electrode is disposed) from which the first spin wave propagates to the detection position (electrode 12C/20C) corresponds to electrode 12B (20B), and the second position (at which the second electrode is disposed) from which the second spin waves propagates to the detection position corresponds to electrode 12D (20D). In such a case, however, the distance from electrode 12B to 12C is equal to the distance from electrode 12D to 12C. In other words, the electrodes 12A or 12D should not be considered as the claimed first or second electrodes disposed at the first or second positions.
Even if, arguendo, the electrodes 12A or 12D were considered as the claimed first or second electrodes, electrodes 12A and 12D do not satisfy that the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode, as recited by claims 1 and 14 (Remarks-Page 7).
Applicant further submits that Sasaki also discloses “The third ferromagnetic layer 12C is disposed at a center of the distance between the second ferromagnetic layer 12B and the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D. As a result, the influences of the spin currents conducted from the second ferromagnetic layer 12B and the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D become equivalent, and thus maximum spin output can be obtained” (see, [0030] of Sasaki). Thus, there is no reason to set the distances to be different from each other in Sasaki.
As such, Sasaki fails to disclose the aforementioned features of claims 1 and 14. Khitun does not cure the deficiencies of Sasaki.
Based on the foregoing, the applied combination of the cited references, alone or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest each and every feature of amended independent claims 1 and 14, which are believed to be in condition for allowance. The dependent claims depend from their respective base claims and add further limitations thereto. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103 are therefore respectfully requested (Remarks-Page 8)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6-8 (stated above), filed 8/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of C Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 11 and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 4, 6- 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘524 A1 in view of Khitun in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200081079 A1 have been fully considered and is partially persuasive.
Applicant argues that electrode 12A cannot be the first electrode is not persuasive because in paragraph [0008] Sasaki discloses, “spins flowing between the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B are rotated by an external magnetic field so that a component rotated or attenuated depending on the strength of the external magnetic field is detected as the voltage.”. Therefore, both 12A and 12B can be the first electrode as previously recited claim 1. However, applicant has amended the claims and added the limitation, “a first electrode that is disposed at the first position and excites a first spin wave to be propagated from the first position to the detection position; a second electrode that is disposed at the second position and excites a second spin wave to be propagated from the second position to the detection position; and a detection electrode that is disposed at the detection position and extracts a signal from the detection position, wherein: the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode, a distance from the first position to the detection position is defined as a first distance, a distance from the second position to the detection position is defined as a second distance, and the first distance and the second distance are different from each other.” which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Claim 1 now recites, “the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode” which changes the scope of the claim. Therefore, electrode 12A now cannot be considered as the first electrode as the electrode 12A is not the closest electrode of the detection electrode. Present amendment for claim 1 therefore changes the scope of the claim. Therefore applicant’s argument, “Even if, arguendo, the electrodes 12A or 12D were considered as the claimed first or second electrodes, electrodes 12A and 12D do not satisfy that the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode, as recited by claims 1 and 14” is persuasive. However, applicant has amended the claim. Ito et al. (US 20130147579 A1) is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/16/2025 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1, as set forth below.
Again, the limitation, “the first electrode is an electrode is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode, and the second electrode is an electrode is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode’ is just a design choice and can be rejected using case law as Applicant has not disclosed that position of the electrode solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. However, for expedite prosecution claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1., as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied reference. See the rejection set forth below.
Similarly independent claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1, because of the same reason as stated above. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied reference. See the rejection set forth below.
New dependent claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1, as set forth below, see the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SASAKI et al. (Hereinafter, “Sasaki”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130258524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor (a spin conduction element and a magnetic sensor and magnetic head which use spin conduction: Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3) comprising:
a waveguide [7A] in Figure 4 (channel 7A as the waveguide) (FIG. 1- 6 is a schematic perspective view of a general spin conduction element. The spin conduction element mainly includes a substrate 21, a channel 7A; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-3), in which a first position [72] (first region 71 and the second region 72 is the first portion), a detection position [73] (third region 73 as the detection position), and a second position [74] (a fourth region 74 is the second position) are arranged in this order (The spin conduction element includes the main channel layer 7A having a first region 71, a second region 72, a third region 73, a fourth region 74, and a fifth region 75 and extending in a first direction; Paragraph [0051] Line 9-12; Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki below shows the waveguide 7A in which a first position 72, a detection position 73, and a second position 74 are arranged in this order);
a first electrode [20B] (20B in the second ferromagnetic layer 12B in the second region 72 as the first electrode) (A first electrode 20A mounted on the first region 71, a second electrode 20B mounted on the second region 72, a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73, a fourth electrode 20D mounted on the fourth region 74, and a fifth electrode 20E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0051] Line 12-17; A second ferromagnetic layer 12B, a third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the second region 72, the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 19-22; The first electrode 20B includes the first ferromagnetic layer 12B; Paragraph [0063] Line 4-5) that excites a first spin wave to be propagated from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] (In this case, when a current for injecting spins is passed between the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B, spins in the same direction are injected into the main channel layer 7A from both the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B; Paragraph [0064] Line 7-12; As shown in FIG. 9, for example, a current is passed through the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B by connecting the first electrode 20A and the second electrode 20B to a current source 70. When a current is passed through the nonmagnetic main channel layer 7A from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B composed of a ferromagnetic material through the insulating film 81, electrons having spins in the same direction are injected into the channel 7 from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B. The injected spins diffuse toward the third ferromagnetic layer 12C; Paragraph [0093] Line 1-14);
a second electrode [20D] (20D in the ferromagnetic layer 12D in the fourth region 74 or 20E in the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E in the fifth region 75 as the second electrode) (A first electrode 20A mounted on the first region 71, a second electrode 20B mounted on the second region 72, a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73, a fourth electrode 20D mounted on the fourth region 74, and a fifth electrode 20E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0051] Line 12-17; A second ferromagnetic layer 12B, a third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the second region 72, the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 19-22; The fifth electrode 20E is composed of the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-7) that excites a second spin wave to be propagated from the second position [74 ] to the detection position [73] (Similarly, when a current for injecting spins is passed between the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E, spins in the same direction are injected into the main channel layer 7A from both the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E; Paragraph [0064] Line 12-17; Similarly, for example, a current is passed through the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E by connecting the fourth electrode 20D and the fifth electrode 20E to a current source 71. When a current is passed through the nonmagnetic main channel layer 7A from the fourth and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12D and 12E composed of a ferromagnetic material through the insulating film 81, electrons having spins in the same direction are injected into the channel 7 from the fourth and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12D and 12E. The injected spins diffuse toward the third ferromagnetic layer 12C. As a result, a structure can be formed, in which the current and spins flowing in the channel 7 mainly flow in the first direction (X-axis direction); Paragraph [0093] Line 14-27); and
Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki
a detection electrode [20C] (a third electrode 20C as the detection electrode in the ferromagnetic layer 12C mounted on the third region 73 as the detection position) (a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73; Paragraph [0051] Line 14-15; A third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 20-22) that extracts a signal from the detection position [73] (In this case, spins injected from the first, second, fourth, and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12A, 12B, 12D, and 12E can be detected by measuring a voltage between the third ferromagnetic layer 12C and the sixth electrode 20F; Paragraph [0065] Line 4-8; A voltmeter was installed between the third electrode 20C and the sixth electrode 20F to detect as a voltage the spins flowing in the channel 7; Paragraph [0082] Line 6-8; The output can be measured by, for example, an output measuring device such as a voltage measuring device 80 connected to the third ferromagnetic layer 12C and the sixth electrode 20F; Paragraph [0094] Line 11-14); wherein
the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode);
and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode);
a distance from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] is defined as a first distance, a distance from the second position [74] to the detection position [73] is defined as a second distance (Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki below shows a first distance and a second distance: a distance from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] is defined as the first distance, a distance from the second position [74] to the detection position [73] is defined as the second distance).
However, Sasaki fails to teach that wherein the first distance and the second distance are different from each other.
Ito teaches a waveguide, and an element, using a spin wave as an information-transmission medium, and an operation circuit using the waveguide (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein: the first electrode [Terminal A] is an electrode [301] (Reference numeral 301 denotes an electrode; Paragraph [0037] Line 1) which excites the first spin wave (a spin wave excited by the input terminal A, and a spin wave excited by the input terminal B; Paragraph [0055] Line 3-5) and is closest to the detection electrode [303] (The ferromagnetic film 303; Paragraph [0037] Line 2; An insulating film, and an electrode film are stacked in this order in the part of the ferromagnetic thin film; Paragraph [0015] Line 9-10) at one side of the detection electrode [303], and the second electrode [Terminal B] is an electrode [301] which excites the second spin wave (a spin wave excited by the input terminal A, and a spin wave excited by the input terminal B; Paragraph [0055] Line 3-5) and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at another side of the detection electrode [303] (Figure 6B shows the first electrode [Terminal A] is an electrode [301] which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at one side of the detection electrode [303], and the second electrode [Terminal B] is an electrode [301] which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at another side of the detection electrode [303]), and the first distance and the second distance are different from each other (FIG. 6B shows an example in which NAND logic is realized. In FIG. 6B, a distance between an input terminal A and an output terminal O is (n+1/2) times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave, and a distance between an input terminal B and the output terminal O is n-times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, to operate at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing, to provide a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first distance and second distance of Sasaki in view of Ito, because Ito teaches to have the first distance and the second distance different from each other provides a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, operates at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing (Paragraph [0014]), provides a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide (Paragraph [0023]).
Again, although Sasaki in view of Ito discloses the claimed limitation, Sasaki can be cued to reject the limitation of claim 1. Because.
Sasaki discloses the c1aimed invention except for the first distance and the second distance different from each other. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the first distance and the second distance different from each other since Applicant has not disclosed that the first distance and the second distance different from each other solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the invention of Sasaki.
Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor,
wherein the first position [72], the second position [74], and the detection position [73] are arranged on a line (A first electrode 20A mounted on the first region 71, a second electrode 20B mounted on the second region 72, a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73, a fourth electrode 20D mounted on the fourth region 74, and a fifth electrode 20E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0051] Line 12-17; The spin conduction element includes the main channel layer 7A having a first region 71, a second region 72, a third region 73, a fourth region 74, and a fifth region 75 and extending in a first direction; Paragraph [0051] Line 9-12; Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the waveguide 7A in which a first position 71, 72, a detection position 73, and a second position 74, 75 are arranged on a line).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor, further comprising
a detector [80] (measuring device 80 in Figure 9 as the detector) connected to the detection electrode [12C] (The output can be measured by, for example, an output measuring device such as a voltage measuring device 80 connected to the third ferromagnetic layer 12C and the sixth electrode 20F; Paragraph [0094] Line 11-14).
Regarding claim 11, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor,
wherein the waveguide [7A] has a film shape (Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the waveguide has a film shape), and
a longitudinal direction of the film shape [7A] is a direction that connects between the first position [72] and the second position [74] (Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows a longitudinal direction of the film shape [7A] is a direction that connects between the first position [72] and the second position [74]).
Regarding claim 13, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor,
wherein the first spin wave and the second spin wave are surface spin waves, and the first spin wave and the second spin wave are backward volume spin waves, or the first spin wave and the second spin wave are forward volume spin waves (A method proposed as a method for resolving this problem is to detect a magnetic field from a minute area with high sensitivity by detecting a component with spins rotated by an external magnetic field based on a spin-current conduction phenomenon referred to as the "Hanle effect"; Paragraph [0004] Line 15-20; Sasaki discloses spin wave and it propagates in a ferromagnetic material and therefore the first spin wave and the second spin wave are backward volume spin waves, or the first spin wave and the second spin wave are forward volume spin waves. Because, the definition of volume spin wave: Volume spin waves, also known as magnons, are collective excitations of magnetic moments in a ferromagnetic or antiferromagnetic material. They are disturbances in the magnetic order that propagate through the material. Two main types are forward volume spin waves (FVSWs) and backward volume spin waves (BVMSWs); https://www.google.com/search?q=volume+spin+waves&safe=active&sca_esv=23d642d60e6ce234&rlz=1C1GCEA_enUS1098US1098&ei=M64haPC3GNrJp84Pz56hmAw&ved=0ahUKEwiwnd_ivp2NAxXa5MkDHU9PCMMQ4dUDCBA&uact=5&oq=volume+spin+waves&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiEXZvbHVtZSBzcGluIHdhdmVzMgYQABgFGB4yBhAAGAUYHjIIEAAYBRgHGB4yCxAAGIAEGIYDGIoFMgsQABiABBiGAxiKBTIIEAAYogQYiQUyCBAAGKIEGIkFMggQABiiBBiJBUidFVAAWOYPcAB4AZABAJgBmwGgAYwFqgEDMy4zuAEDyAEA-AEBmAIGoAKpBcICCBAAGAcYCBgewgIIEAAYgAQYogTCAgUQABjvBZgDAJIHAzEuNaAHmyWyBwMxLjW4B6kF&sclient=gws-wiz-serp).
Regarding claim 14, Sasaki teaches a magnetic detection method (a spin conduction element and a magnetic sensor and magnetic head which use spin conduction: Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3; A method proposed as a method to detect a magnetic field from a minute area with high sensitivity by detecting a component with spins rotated by an external magnetic field; Paragraph [0004] Line 15-18) comprising:
providing a waveguide [7A] in Figure 4 (channel 7A as the waveguide) (FIG. 1- 6 is a schematic perspective view of a general spin conduction element. The spin conduction element mainly includes a substrate 21, a channel 7A; Paragraph [0048] Line 1-3), in which a first position [72] (first region 71 and the second region 72 is the first portion) having a first electrode [20B] (20A in the ferromagnetic layer 12A in the first region 71 or 20B in the second ferromagnetic layer 12B in the second region 72 as the first electrode) (A first electrode 20A mounted on the first region 71, a second electrode 20B mounted on the second region 72, a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73, a fourth electrode 20D mounted on the fourth region 74, and a fifth electrode 20E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0051] Line 12-17; A second ferromagnetic layer 12B, a third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the second region 72, the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 19-22; The first electrode 20B includes the second ferromagnetic layer 12B; Paragraph [0063] Line 4-5), a detection position [73] (third region 73 as the detection position) having a detection electrode [20C] (a third electrode 20C as the detection electrode in the ferromagnetic layer 12C mounted on the third region 73 as the detection position) (a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73; Paragraph [0051] Line 14-15; A third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 20-22), and a second position [74] (a fourth region 74 and a fifth region 75 is the second position) having a second electrode [20D] (20D in the ferromagnetic layer 12D in the fourth region 74 or 20E in the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E in the fifth region 75 as the second electrode) (A first electrode 20A mounted on the first region 71, a second electrode 20B mounted on the second region 72, a third electrode 20C mounted on the third region 73, a fourth electrode 20D mounted on the fourth region 74, and a fifth electrode 20E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0051] Line 12-17; A second ferromagnetic layer 12B, a third ferromagnetic layer 12C, and a fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D are disposed on the second region 72, the third region 73, and the fourth region 74, respectively; Paragraph [0051] Line 19-22; The fifth electrode 20E is composed of the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E mounted on the fifth region 75; Paragraph [0013] Line 1-7) are arranged in this order (The spin conduction element includes the main channel layer 7A having a first region 71, a second region 72, a third region 73, a fourth region 74, and a fifth region 75 and extending in a first direction; Paragraph [0051] Line 9-12; Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the waveguide 7A in which a first position 71, 72, a detection position 73, and a second position 74, 75 are arranged in this order), to
applying a first alternate current to the first electrode [20B] to excite a first spin wave to be propagated from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] (In this case, when a current for injecting spins is passed between the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B, spins in the same direction are injected into the main channel layer 7A from both the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B; Paragraph [0064] Line 7-12; As shown in FIG. 9, for example, a current is passed through the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B by connecting the first electrode 20A and the second electrode 20B to a current source 70. When a current is passed through the nonmagnetic main channel layer 7A from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B composed of a ferromagnetic material through the insulating film 81, electrons having spins in the same direction are injected into the channel 7 from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B. The injected spins diffuse toward the third ferromagnetic layer 12C; Paragraph [0093] Line 1-14) and
applying a second alternate current to the second electrode[20D] to excite a second spin wave to be propagated from the second position [74] to the detection position [73] (Similarly, when a current for injecting spins is passed between the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E, spins in the same direction are injected into the main channel layer 7A from both the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E; Paragraph [0064] Line 12-17; Similarly, for example, a current is passed through the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E by connecting the fourth electrode 20D and the fifth electrode 20E to a current source 71. When a current is passed through the nonmagnetic main channel layer 7A from the fourth and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12D and 12E composed of a ferromagnetic material through the insulating film 81, electrons having spins in the same direction are injected into the channel 7 from the fourth and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12D and 12E. The injected spins diffuse toward the third ferromagnetic layer 12C. As a result, a structure can be formed, in which the current and spins flowing in the channel 7 mainly flow in the first direction (X-axis direction); Paragraph [0093] Line 14-27), and
extracting a signal from the detection electrode [20D] (In this case, spins injected from the first, second, fourth, and fifth ferromagnetic layers 12A, 12B, 12D, and 12E can be detected by measuring a voltage between the third ferromagnetic layer 12C and the sixth electrode 20F; Paragraph [0065] Line 4-8; A voltmeter was installed between the third electrode 20C and the sixth electrode 20F to detect as a voltage the spins flowing in the channel 7; Paragraph [0082] Line 6-8; The output can be measured by, for example, an output measuring device such as a voltage measuring device 80 connected to the third ferromagnetic layer 12C and the sixth electrode 20F; Paragraph [0094] Line 11-14); wherein:
the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the first electrode is an electrode which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at one side of the detection electrode);
and the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode (Figure 4: Modified Figure 4 Sasaki above shows the second electrode is an electrode which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode at another side of the detection electrode);
a distance from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] is defined as a first distance, a distance from the second position [74] to the detection position [73] is defined as a second distance (Figure 4 (a): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki below shows a first distance and a second distance: a distance from the first position [72] to the detection position [73] is defined as the first distance, a distance from the second position [74] to the detection position [73] is defined as the second distance).
However, Sasaki fails to teach that wherein the first distance and the second distance are different from each other.
Ito teaches a waveguide, and an element, using a spin wave as an information-transmission medium, and an operation circuit using the waveguide (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein: the first electrode [Terminal A] is an electrode [301] (Reference numeral 301 denotes an electrode; Paragraph [0037] Line 1) which excites the first spin wave (a spin wave excited by the input terminal A, and a spin wave excited by the input terminal B; Paragraph [0055] Line 3-5) and is closest to the detection electrode [303] (The ferromagnetic film 303; Paragraph [0037] Line 2; An insulating film, and an electrode film are stacked in this order in the part of the ferromagnetic thin film; Paragraph [0015] Line 9-10) at one side of the detection electrode [303], and the second electrode [Terminal B] is an electrode [301] which excites the second spin wave (a spin wave excited by the input terminal A, and a spin wave excited by the input terminal B; Paragraph [0055] Line 3-5) and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at another side of the detection electrode [303] (Figure 6B shows the first electrode [Terminal A] is an electrode [301] which excites the first spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at one side of the detection electrode [303], and the second electrode [Terminal B] is an electrode [301] which excites the second spin wave and is closest to the detection electrode [303] at another side of the detection electrode [303]), and the first distance and the second distance are different from each other (FIG. 6B shows an example in which NAND logic is realized. In FIG. 6B, a distance between an input terminal A and an output terminal O is (n+1/2) times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave, and a distance between an input terminal B and the output terminal O is n-times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-6). The purpose of doing so is to provide a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, to operate at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing, to provide a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first distance and second distance of Sasaki in view of Ito, because Ito teaches to have the first distance and the second distance different from each other provides a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, operates at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing (Paragraph [0014]), provides a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide (Paragraph [0023]).
Again, although Sasaki in view of Ito discloses the claimed limitation, Sasaki can be cued to reject the limitation of claim 1. Because.
Sasaki discloses the c1aimed invention except for the first distance and the second distance different from each other. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the first distance and the second distance different from each other since Applicant has not disclosed that the first distance and the second distance different from each other solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the invention of Sasaki.
Regarding claim 15, Sasaki fails to teach a magnetic sensor, wherein a distance from an edge of the first electrode closest to the detection electrode to the detection electrode is different from a distance from an edge of the second electrode closest to the detection electrode to the detection electrode.
Ito teaches a waveguide, and an element, using a spin wave as an information-transmission medium, and an operation circuit using the waveguide (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein a distance from an edge of the first electrode [301 in terminal A] closest to the detection electrode [303] to the detection electrode [303] is different from a distance from an edge of the second electrode [301 in Terminal B] closest to the detection electrode [303] to the detection electrode [303](FIG. 6B shows an example in which NAND logic is realized. In FIG. 6B, a distance between an input terminal A and an output terminal O is (n+1/2) times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave, and a distance between an input terminal B and the output terminal O is n-times as long as the wavelength .lamda. of the spin wave; paragraph [0057] Line 1-6; Figure 6B: Modified Figure 6B of Ito below shows a distance from an edge of the first electrode [301 in terminal A] closest to the detection electrode [303] to the detection electrode [303] is different from a distance from an edge of the second electrode [301 in Terminal B] closest to the detection electrode [303] to the detection electrode [303]). The purpose of doing so is to provide a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, to operate at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing, to provide a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the distance of Sasaki in view of Ito, because Ito teaches to have a distance from an edge of the first electrode closest to the detection electrode to the detection electrode different from a distance from an edge of the second electrode closest to the detection electrode to the detection electrode provides a spin-wave waveguide high in performance, operates at room temperature, to be capable of substituting for an ME effect element, and exciting a spin wave, and writing (Paragraph [0014]), provides a spin-wave waveguide ultra-low power consumption, compatible with an existing synchronous operation circuit, and an operation circuit using the spin-wave waveguide (Paragraph [0023]).
Figure 6B: Modified Figure 6B of Ito
Regarding claim 16, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor, wherein:
a distance from a geometric center of the first position to a geometric center of the detection position is defined as the first distance (Figure 4 (b): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki below shows a distance from a geometric center of the first position to a geometric center of the detection position is defined as the first distance), and
a distance from a geometric center of the second position to the geometric center of the detection position is defined as the second distance (Figure 4 (b): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki below shows a distance from a geometric center of the second position to the geometric center of the detection position is defined as the second distance).
Figure 4 (b): Modified Figure 4 Sasaki
Claim(s) 4, 6-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasaki ‘524 A1 in view of Ito et al. (Hereinafter, “Ito”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20130147579 A1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Khitun in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20200081079 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki teaches a magnetic sensor, further comprising
at least one current source [70, 71] (current source 70 or 71) in Figure 9 connected to the first electrode [12A, 12B] and the second electrode [12D, 12E] (As shown in FIG. 9, for example, a current is passed through the first ferromagnetic layer 12A and the second ferromagnetic layer 12B by connecting the first electrode 20A and the second electrode 20B to a current source 70. When a current is passed through the nonmagnetic main channel layer 7A from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B composed of a ferromagnetic material through the insulating film 81, electrons having spins in the same direction are injected into the channel 7 from the first and second ferromagnetic layers 12A and 12B. The injected spins diffuse toward the third ferromagnetic layer 12C. As a result, a structure can be formed, in which the current and spins flowing in the channel 7 mainly flow in the first direction (X-axis direction). Similarly, for example, a current is passed through the fourth ferromagnetic layer 12D and the fifth ferromagnetic layer 12E by connecting the fourth electrode 20D and the fifth electrode 20E to a current source 71; Paragraph [0093] Line 1-17).
Sasaki teaches a current source.
However, the combination of Sasaki and Ito do not teach that the current source is at least one alternating-current power source.
Khitun teaches a magnetic field detector and associated methods are shown. One example of a magnetic field detector uses spin wave interference to detect information about an external magnetic field (Abstract), wherein
the current source is at least one alternating-current power source (RF generator in Figure 5) (The spin wave generating antennas are connected to the same RF source via the splitter and a set of the phase shifters and attenuators. The output antennas are connected to the detectors. The cross structure is placed on top of the magnetic substrate, which is aimed to provide a DC bias magnetic field (e.g. in-plane magnetic field directed along a virtual line connecting antennas 1 and 3). The principles of operation of our proposed device can be described in a following way. The input spin waves are excited by passing an RF current through the antennas 1 and 2. AC electric current generates an alternating magnetic field around the current carrying wires and excites spin waves in the magnetic material beyond the antennas; Paragraph [0062] Line 11-23). The purpose of doing so is to limit the sensitivity by the thermal noise in the sensor element as well as the noise in the electronic devices (e.g. RF source and voltmeter), to provide high-sensitive, portable and robust magnetometers for a variety of applications including tracking of vehicles, to monitor ambient magnetic conditions, biotechnology, and public safety, to provide high sensitivity, simplicity, micrometer scale resolution and low cost.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the current source of Sasaki in view of Ito by the alternating power source as disclosed by Khitun, because Khitun discloses to include at least one alternating-current power source limits the sensitivity by the thermal noise in the sensor element as well as the noise in the electronic devices (e.g. RF source and voltmeter) (Paragraph [0040]), provides high-sensitive, portable and robust magnetometers for a variety of applications including tracking of vehicles, monitors ambient magnetic conditions, biotechnology, and public safety, provides high sensitivity, simplicity, micrometer scale resolution and low cost (Paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sasaki and Ito fails to teach a magnetic sensor, further comprising a magnetic field source that applies a bias magnetic field to the waveguide.
Khitun teaches a magnetic field detector and associated methods are shown. One example of a magnetic field detector uses spin wave interference to detect information about an external magnetic field (Abstract),
further comprising a magnetic field source (RF Generator in Figure 5) that applies a bias magnetic field to the waveguide (magnetic substrate as the waveguide) (The schematic of the sensor is shown in FIG. 1. Sensing element is a magnetic cross made of a material with low spin wave damping (e.g. made of yttrium iron garnet Y.sub.3Fe.sub.2(Fe0.sub.4).sub.3). It is a four-terminal device, where the terminals are micro-antennas fabricated on the edges of the cross (e.g. II-shaped antennas made of copper). The antennas are directly placed on the top of the cross. Two of these antennas (i.e. ports 1 and 2) are used for spin wave excitation, and the other two (i.e. ports 3 and 4) are used for the spin wave detection via the inductive voltage measurements. Spin wave generating antennas are connected to the same RF source via the system of phase shifters and attenuators as shown in FIG. 2. The output antennas are connected to the detector via amplifiers. The cross structure is placed on top of the magnetic substrate, which is aimed to provide a DC bias magnetic field (e.g, directed along a virtual line connecting ports 1 and 3); Paragraph [0024] Line 1