DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 3/9/2026. Claims 2-4, 7-8, 12-14 and 17-18 have been canceled and claims 1, 5-6, 9-11, 15-16 and 19-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, 15 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The limitation of the first modulation scheme is 16QAM is already recited in claims 1, 6, 11 and 16. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 9-11, 15-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan [US 2023/0199768] in view of Ratasuk [US 2022/0322307].
As claims 1, 6, 11 and 16, Yan [US 2023/0199768] discloses a data transmission method comprising: generating downlink control information (DCI) [Fig 2, Ref 202 discloses DCI, Par. 0119 disclose base unit], wherein the DCI is used to indicate a first modulation scheme or a second modulation scheme [Par. 0070, 0116, 0120 discloses DCI for indicating 16QAM or QPSK], the first modulation scheme is 16 quadrature amplitude modulation (16QAM) [Par. 0070, 116 discloses 16QAM] and the DCI comprises a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field and a repetition field [Fig 2, Ref 202 discloses DCI comprising MCS field and repetition field], wherein the DCI indicates the 16QAM when the MCS field is in "1111" [Par. 0056-0057 discloses DCI indicates 16QAM when MCS field is 14 or 15 wherein 15 is 1111 or 14 is 1110] or the DCI indicates the second modulation scheme and an MCS index of the second modulation scheme when the MCS field is other than "1111" and "1110" in "0000-1111" [Par. 0057-0059 discloses MCS indicating 0-13]; and sending the DCI [Fig 2, Ref 202]. However, Yan fails to disclose all bits of the repetition field is converted into a field that indicates an MCS index of the 16QAM. In the same field of endeavor, Ratasuk [US 2022/0322307] discloses all bits of the repetition field is converted into a field that indicates an MCS index of the 16QAM [Par. 0030-0033 discloses one or more bits of the repetition field is converted into MCS field to denote MCS indexes].
Since Yan suggests the repetition field can be joined with MCS field to indicate TBS, repetition and MCS. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for using all the bits in the repetition field to denote MCS indexes as disclosed by Ratasuk into the teaching of Yan. The motivation would have been to reduce overhead.
As claims 5, 9, 15 and 19, Yan [US 2023/0199768]/Ratasuk [US 2022/0322307] discloses the first modulation scheme is 16QAM, and the second modulation scheme is quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK) [Yan discloses Par. 0018 and Ratasuk discloses Par. 0029].
As claims 10 ad 20, Yan [US 2023/0199768]/Ratasuk [US 2022/0322307] discloses the receiving or sending data based on the DCI comprises: receiving or sending the data based on the first modulation scheme and the MCS index of the first modulation scheme that are indicated by the DCI [Par, 0037 for Ratasuk and Par. 0057 for Yan], or the second modulation scheme and the MCS index of the second modulation scheme that are indicated by the DCI [Par, 0037 for Ratasuk and Par. 0057 for Yan].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414