DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 02/26/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment/Arguments
The amendment filed 02/26/2026 has been entered and applicant’s arguments filed 02/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding double patenting rejections:
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s request to hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance. However, to maintain clarity of the record, the examiner has updated the double patenting rejections in this Office action to reflect the filed claim amendments.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b):
Applicant has argued that the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are overcome by the claim amendments. The examiner agrees and has withdrawn these rejections accordingly.
Regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments regarding the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection which are necessitated by the filed amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informality: It appears that claim 16 should be changed to recite “The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises: determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant.” Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,788,852 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim differences substantially amount to additional limitations being recited in the claims of related patent US 11,788,852 B2 as shown in the table below:
Instant application 18/477501
Related patent US 11,788,852 B2
1. A method performed by a transport, the method comprising:
determining that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain a subscription to a service;
determining that a different profile, which includes the subscription, from an additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement; and
in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant, sharing the subscription with the transport occupant.
1. A method, comprising:
executing a profile-sharing blockchain transaction via a blockchain ledger stored on and replicated among a plurality of transports which are peers of the blockchain ledger;
receiving, by a transport from among the plurality of transports, a request for a service based on an input to a processing device of the transport by a transport occupant of the transport;
accessing, via the processing device of the transport, a mobile device of the transport occupant to identify the transport occupant and matching an identity of the transport occupant to an occupant profile stored on the blockchain ledger;
determining, by the transport, that the occupant profile of the transport occupant stored on the blockchain ledger does not contain a subscription to the requested service therein;
identifying, by the transport, conditions for sharing a different profile from an additional transport with the profile of the transport occupant from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction committed to the blockchain ledger;
determining, via a blockchain smart contract running on the blockchain ledger, that the different profile is authorized for use by the profile of the transport occupant based on the conditions identified from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction committed to the blockchain ledger;
executing a blockchain consensus process among the plurality of transports to verify that peer-to-peer sharing of the subscription service from the additional transport to the transport is based on the at least one shared profile read from the blockchain ledger; and
in response to the verification, outputting content for the service via the processing device of the transport.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises: determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on information acquired from the mobile device of the occupant.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises: determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on biometrics of the transport occupant.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on biometrics of the transport occupant acquired by at least one sensor.
4. The method of claim 1, comprising: identifying a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising reading a time stamp indicating a time period for which the at least one additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant.
5. The method of claim 4, comprising: verifying that the time period has not elapsed.
5. The method of claim 4, further comprising verifying that the time period has not elapsed.
6. The method of claim 1, comprising: receiving the service based on input from the transport occupant.
1. … receiving, by a transport from among the plurality of transports, a request for a service based on an input to a processing device of the transport by a transport occupant of the transport… and in response to the verification, outputting content for the service via the processing device of the transport.
7. The method of claim 1, comprising: verifying that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising executing the blockchain smart contract to verify that the additional profile is shared with the transport occupant.
8. A system, comprising:
a hardware-implemented processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to configure the hardware-implemented processor to:
determine that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain a subscription to a service;
determine that a different profile, which includes the subscription, from an additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement; and
in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant, share the subscription via a processing device of the transport.
7. A system, comprising:
a hardware processor;
a memory on which are stored machine readable instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the hardware processor to:
execute a profile-sharing blockchain transaction via a blockchain ledger stored on and replicated among a plurality of transports which are peers of the blockchain ledger;
receive a request for a service based on an input to a device by a transport occupant of a transport from among the plurality of transports;
access, via the transport, a mobile device of the transport occupant to identify the transport occupant and matching an identity of the transport occupant to an occupant profile stored on the blockchain ledger;
determine that the occupant profile of the transport occupant stored on the blockchain ledger does not contain a subscription to the requested service therein;
identify conditions for sharing a different profile from an additional transport with the profile of the transport occupant from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction committed to the blockchain ledger;
determine, via a blockchain smart contract running on the blockchain ledger, that the different profile is authorized for use by the profile of the transport occupant based on the conditions identified from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction committed to the blockchain ledger;
execute a blockchain consensus process among the plurality of transports to verify that peer-to-peer sharing of the subscription service from the additional transport to the transport is based on the at least one shared profile read from the blockchain ledger; and
in response to determining the different profile is authorized for use, retrieve content associated with the service and output the content for the service via the device of the transport.
9. The system of claim 8, wherein, when the hardware-implemented processor determines that the profile does not include the subscription to the service, the hardware-implemented processor is configured to:
determine that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant.
8. The system of claim 7, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on information acquired from the mobile device of the occupant.
10. The system of claim 8, wherein, when the hardware-implemented processor determines that the profile does not include the subscription to the service, the hardware-implemented processor is configured to:
determine that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on biometrics of the transport occupant.
9. The system of claim 7, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on biometrics of the transport occupant acquired by at least one sensor.
11. The system of claim 8, wherein the hardware-implemented processor is configured to:
identify a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp.
10. The system of claim 7, wherein the instructions are further to cause the hardware processor to read a time stamp indicating a time period for which the at least one additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the hardware-implemented processor is configured to: verify that the time period has not elapsed.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further to cause the hardware processor to verify that the time period has not elapsed.
13. The system of claim 8, wherein the hardware-implemented processor is configured to: receive the service based on input from the transport occupant.
7. … receive a request for a service based on an input to a device by a transport occupant of a transport from among the plurality of transports… and in response to determining the different profile is authorized for use, retrieve content associated with the service and output the content for the service via the device of the transport.
14. The system of claim 8, wherein the hardware-implemented processor is configured to: verify that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant.
12. The system of claim 7, wherein the instructions are further to cause the hardware processor to execute the blockchain smart contract to verify that the additional profile is shared with the transport occupant.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor of a transport, cause the processor to perform:
determining that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain a subscription to a service;
determining that a different profile, which includes the subscription, from an additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement; and
in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant, sharing the subscription with the transport occupant.
13. A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions, that when read by a processor, cause the processor to perform:
executing a profile-sharing blockchain transaction via a blockchain ledger stored on and replicated among a plurality of transports which are peers of the blockchain ledger;
receiving, by a transport from among the plurality of transports, a request for a service based on an input to a processing device of the transport by a transport occupant of the transport;
accessing, via the processing device of the transport, a mobile device of the transport occupant to identify the transport occupant and matching an identity of the transport occupant to an occupant profile stored on the blockchain ledger;
determining, by the transport, that the occupant profile of the transport occupant stored on the blockchain ledger does not contain a subscription to the requested service therein;
identifying, by the transport, conditions for sharing a different profile from an additional transport with the profile of the transport occupant from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction committed to the blockchain ledger;
determining, via a blockchain smart contract running on the blockchain ledger, that the different profile is authorized for use by the profile of the transport occupant based on the conditions identified from the profile-sharing blockchain transaction;
executing a blockchain consensus process among the plurality of transports to verify that peer-to-peer sharing of the subscription service from the additional transport to the transport is based on the at least one shared profile read from the blockchain ledger; and
in response to determining the different profile is authorized for use, retrieving content associated with the service and outputting the content for the service via the device of the transport.
16. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises:
determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant.
14. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on information acquired from the mobile device of the occupant.
17. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises:
determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on biometrics of the transport occupant.
15. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, wherein the profile of the transport occupant is determined based on biometrics of the transport occupant acquired by at least one sensor.
18. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
Identifying a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp.
16. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions, that when read by the processor, cause the processor to read a time stamp indicating a time period for which the at least one profile is to be shared with the transport occupant.
19. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
verifying that the time period has not elapsed.
11. … the instructions are further to cause the hardware processor to verify that the time period has not elapsed.
20. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions cause the processor to perform:
verifying that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant.
17. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 13, further comprising instructions, that when read by the processor, cause the processor to execute the blockchain smart contract to verify that the additional profile is shared with the transport occupant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15:
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed to a method. Claim 8 is directed towards the corresponding system, and claim 15 is directed towards the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Step 2A, prong 1: Claims 1, 8, and 15 recite the abstract concept of making a determination in accordance with a profile-sharing agreement. This abstract idea is described in claims 1, 8, and 15 by the mental process steps of determining that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain a subscription to a service; and determining that a different profile, which includes the subscription, from an additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement. These steps fall into the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas because they encompass a human being mentally assessing information to determine that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain a subscription to a service but that a different profile which includes the subscription from ana additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement. These limitations as drafted are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover their performance in the human mind if not for the recitation of generic computing components.
With respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, other than reciting “a transport,” “a hardware-implemented processor,” and “a processor of a transport,” nothing in the claims precludes the abstract idea from being practically performed in the human mind. If not for the “transport” and “processor” language, the claims encompass a human assessing information to mentally make the claimed determinations.
Step 2A, prong 2: The claims recite elements additional to the abstract concepts. However, these additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Claim 1 recites a transport which comprises generic computing components (as supported by ¶ 57 of the instant specification) that are simply employed as tools for performing the abstract idea. The use of the such generic computing components for executing the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Claim 1 also recites that the processor is configured to share the subscription with the transport occupant in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant. This step amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity, as it is a data output step that does not impose meaningful limits on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention. Such insignificant extra-solution activity does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 8 recites the use of a hardware-implemented processor that executes instructions stored in a memory; these are generic computing components (as supported by ¶¶ 57 and 103 of the instant specification) that are simply employed as tools for performing the abstract idea. The use of such generic computing components for executing the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Claim 8 also recites a step of sharing the subscription via a processing device of the transport in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant. This step is insignificant extra-solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application using the same reasoning applied to claim 1 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 15 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that are executable by a processor of a transport; these are generic computer components (as supported by ¶ 103 of the instant specification) that are employed as tools for performing the abstract idea. The use of such generic computing components for executing the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Claim 15 further recites a step of sharing the subscription with the transport occupant in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant. This step is insignificant extra-solution activity that does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application using the same reasoning applied to claim 1 above, mutatis mutandis.
Step 2B: The additional elements are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The instant specification provides no indication that the transport computer components, hardware-implemented processor, memory, and non-transitory computer-readable medium are anything other than conventional computer components that can be included within a vehicle. The use of such generic and conventional computer components for executing the abstract idea does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, the step of sharing the subscription with the transport occupant in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant is merely insignificant extra-solution activity that does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
For the above reasons, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself, whether considered individually or in combination. Therefore, when considering the combination of elements and the claimed invention as a whole, claims 1, 8, and 15 are not patent-eligible.
Regarding claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20:
Claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 14, and 16-20 recite the additional mental process steps of determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant; determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on biometrics of the transport occupant; identifying a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp; verifying that the time period has not elapsed; and verifying that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant. These steps are considered mental process steps because they encompass a human mentally assessing information to determine that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant or based on biometrics of the transport occupant, mentally identifying a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp, mentally comparing the time period to a current time to verify that the time period has not elapsed, and mentally verifying that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant.
Claims 6 and 13 each recite the additional step of receiving the service based on input from the transport occupant. This step is considered additional insignificant extra-solution activity, as it is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to data gathering that does not impose meaningful limits on the claims such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention. The mere recitation of such insignificant extra-solution activity does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). Further, as explained in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), the mere receipt or transmission of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Accordingly, the claimed step does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
As explained above, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 only recite additional mental process steps and additional insignificant extra-solution activity. These additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, when considering the combination of elements and the claimed invention as a whole, claims 2-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Maney, Jr. et al. (11,351,941 B1), hereinafter referred to as Maney, in view of Bannick (US 2010/0251349 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Maney discloses the following limitations:
“A method performed by a transport, the method comprising: determining that a profile of a transport occupant does not contain … a service.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 51-61: “To determine the appropriate user customization profile to retrieve from a remote server, a vehicle can include components that facilitate user identification.” Also, Maney col. 3 ll. 27-40: “The system can be implemented in multiple vehicles so that user customization profiles can be used across multiple vehicles. For example, the system could be implemented in customer owned vehicles, rental vehicles, and ride sharing vehicles. This allows each user to bring their customized vehicle settings with them as they change from driving their own vehicle to driving a rental car and/or a ride sharing vehicle.” Allowing the user customization profiles to be shared among customer-owned vehicles, rental vehicles, and ride share vehicles as described by Maney reasonably implies a step of determining that a user does not have a service covered for a specific vehicle, but that the vehicle can receive the service due to the user’s profile associated with another vehicle.)
“determining that a different profile, which includes the [service], from an additional transport is authorized for use by the transport occupant based on a profile-sharing agreement.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 51-61: “a vehicle can include one or more physical interfaces 306 that can be used to identify and/or authenticate a user.” Also, Maney col. 3 ll. 46-64: “User customization profile 100 may be received by systems within multiple vehicles that a user may drive (or ride in) at some point. These include a first user vehicle 110, a second user vehicle 112 (i.e., a second car owned and driven by the same user), a rental vehicle 114, and a ride sharing vehicle 116. … Thus, it may be appreciated that the exemplary systems and methods provide a vehicle customization platform that facilitates the transfer and implementation of customized vehicle settings across multiple vehicles and for different users.”)
“and in response to the different profile being authorized for use by the transport occupant, sharing the [service] with the transport occupant.” (Maney col. 7 ll. 44-49: “In step 806, the user customization profile is received from the remote server in response to the request sent in step 804. Next, in step 808, one or more vehicle control systems are operated to change vehicle settings according to the customized settings associated with the user customization profile.”)
Maney does not specifically disclose the method being related to profiles containing or not containing “a subscription to a service” and “sharing the subscription with the transport occupant.” However, Bannick does teach these limitations. (Bannick ¶ 13: “the combination of an authorized and subscribed ESN and the portable authorization media device allows the receiver to play XM content. This allows XM radio service under a given subscription to be used in any one of a plurality of authorized vehicles and devices associated with the subscriber.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Maney by applying the method to work with a subscription service as taught by Bannick, because this is a simple substitution of one known element (i.e., the subscription service of Bannick) for another (i.e., the user customization profile of Maney) to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)). A person having ordinary skill in the art could have replaced the user customization profile of Maney with the subscription service of Bannick to achieve the predictable result of allowing a user to use a paid subscription across multiple vehicles.
Regarding claim 2:
The combination of Maney and Bannick teaches “The method of claim 1,” and Maney further teaches “wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises: determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on information from a mobile device of the transport occupant.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 51-61: “To determine the appropriate user customization profile to retrieve from a remote server, a vehicle can include components that facilitate user identification. In some embodiments, user identification can be accomplished using mobile phone 340.”)
Regarding claim 3:
The combination of Maney and Bannick teaches “The method of claim 1,” and Maney also teaches “wherein the determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service comprises: determining that the profile does not include the subscription to the service based on biometrics of the transport occupant.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 51-61: “To determine the appropriate user customization profile to retrieve from a remote server, a vehicle can include components that facilitate user identification. In some embodiments, user identification can be accomplished using mobile phone 340. In other embodiments, a vehicle can include one or more physical interfaces 306 that can be used to identify and/or authenticate a user. As seen in FIG. 4, exemplary interfaces that could be used include, but are not limited to: physical buttons 400, keypads 402 (both digital and physical) and biometric sensors 404. Exemplary biometric sensors include fingerprint readers and retina scanners.”)
Regarding claim 6:
The combination of Maney and Bannick teaches “The method of claim 1,” and Maney further teaches the method “comprising receiving the service based on input from the transport occupant.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 51-61: “To determine the appropriate user customization profile to retrieve from a remote server, a vehicle can include components that facilitate user identification. In some embodiments, user identification can be accomplished using mobile phone 340. In other embodiments, a vehicle can include one or more physical interfaces 306 that can be used to identify and/or authenticate a user. As seen in FIG. 4, exemplary interfaces that could be used include, but are not limited to: physical buttons 400, keypads 402 (both digital and physical) and biometric sensors 404. Exemplary biometric sensors include fingerprint readers and retina scanners.” Further, Maney col. 7 ll. 44-49: “In step 806, the user customization profile is received from the remote server in response to the request sent in step 804. Next, in step 808, one or more vehicle control systems are operated to change vehicle settings according to the customized settings associated with the user customization profile.”)
Regarding claim 7:
The combination of Maney and Bannick teaches “The method of claim 1,” and Maney additionally teaches the method “comprising: verifying that the different profile is shared with the transport occupant.” (Maney col. 5 ll. 62-66: “a user customization profile could be associated with a blockchain system that facilitates keeping the user customization profile secure, facilitates transferability, and maintains a log of how the profile has been used.”)
Regarding claim 8:
Maney teaches “A system, comprising: a hardware-implemented processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to configure the hardware-implemented processor to” perform operations. (Maney col. 9 ll. 9-24: “The processes and methods of the embodiments described in this detailed description and shown in the figures can be implemented using any kind of computing system having one or more central processing units (CPUs) and/or graphics processing units (GPUs). … The processes and methods of the embodiments may also be implemented on computing systems including read only memory (ROM) and/or random access memory (RAM), which may be connected to one or more processing units.”)
The remaining limitations of claim 8 are taught by the combination of Maney and Bannick using the same rationale applied to claim 1 above, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claims 9-10 and 13-14:
Claims 9-10 and 13-14 are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 2-3 and 6-7 above, respectively.
Regarding claim 15:
Maney discloses “A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when read by a processor of a transport, cause the processor to perform” operations. (Maney col. 9 ll. 9-53: “The processes and methods of the embodiments described in this detailed description and shown in the figures can be implemented using any kind of computing system having one or more central processing units (CPUs) and/or graphics processing units (GPUs). … The processes and methods of the embodiments can be stored as instructions and/or data on non-transitory computer-readable media.” Further, Maney col. 4 ll. 57-64 and FIG. 3 disclose that the vehicle control systems 308 can be included as part of the vehicle 300.)
The remaining limitations of claim 15 are taught by the combination of Maney and Bannick using the same rationale applied to claim 1 above, mutatis mutandis.
Regarding claims 16-17 and 20:
Claims 16-17 and 20 are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 2-3 and 7 above, respectively.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maney in view of Bannick as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Kurian (US 2017/0364842 A1).
Regarding claim 4:
The combination of Maney and Bannick teaches “The method of claim 1,” but does not specifically teach the method “comprising: identifying a time period during which the additional profile is to be shared with the transport occupant based on a timestamp.” However, Kurian does teach this limitation. (Kurian ¶ 80: “the process 600 continues by identifying any expiration or non-payment users of the shared service. In this way, there may be one or more users that have expired passes for the shared use service, missed fares, or the like for a shared use service.” Checking for the expiration of the shared use service implies identifying a time period for which the shared use service is valid.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method that is disclosed by the combination of Maney and Bannick by checking a time period for which the user has access to the shared-use service as taught by Kurian with a reasonable expectation of success. A person having ordinary skill in the art could have been motivated to do this since Kurian ¶ 80 teaches that “In this way, there may be one or more users that have expired passes for the shared use service, missed fares, or the like for a shared use service. The system may identify the one or more users that have not provided sufficient resources for use of the shared use service.”
Regarding claim 5:
The combination of Maney, Bannick, and Kurian teaches “The method of claim 4,” and Kurian additionally discloses the method “comprising verifying that the time period has not elapsed.” (Kurian ¶ 80: “the process 600 continues by identifying any expiration or non-payment users of the shared service. In this way, there may be one or more users that have expired passes for the shared use service, missed fares, or the like for a shared use service.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method that is disclosed by the combination of Maney and Bannick by determining whether the user’s time-limited access to the shared-use service has expired as taught by Kurian with a reasonable expectation of success. A person having ordinary skill in the art could have been motivated to do this because Kurian ¶ 80 teaches that “In this way, there may be one or more users that have expired passes for the shared use service, missed fares, or the like for a shared use service. The system may identify the one or more users that have not provided sufficient resources for use of the shared use service.”
Regarding claims 11-12:
Claims 11-12 are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 4-5 above, respectively.
Regarding claims 18-19:
Claims 18-19 are rejected with the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 4-5 above, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shah et al. (US 2020/0413234 A1) ¶¶ 16 and 20 disclose that a user can obtain a secondary subscription for a personal vehicle, and that “the user 102 may also wish to use the secondary subscription with a shared vehicle 110, e.g., a rental vehicle or other vehicles shared by multiple users, at random periods of time (car rental/long commute) scenarios. In the example scenario of FIG. 1B, the shared vehicle 110 is a shared device. Thus, the shared vehicle 110 may have a temporary ‘owner,’ e.g., one who takes ownership of the shared vehicle 110 for a finite duration (e.g., car rental or taxi service).”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Madison R. Inserra/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662