Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: ***Each “module” in claims 13-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolleri (US 2018/0068173) in view of WILLIAMS (US 2021/0084451).
As to claim 1, Kolleri discloses a method implemented by a processor, comprising:
obtaining a living face image (para. 0074) and generating a face retrieval demand signal (para. 0075, 0076)
calling the distributed face library based on the face retrieval demand signal, the distributed face library including a plurality of sub-libraries (para. 0050, 0091, e.g., graph database which comprises nodes corresponds to distributed face library including a plurality of sub-libraries);
matching the living face image through the distributed face library based on a preset retrieval strategy (para. 0039, e.g., a potential match image can be presented to a user of the mobile device for verification that the potential match image depicts the same person as the captured image. If the images are indicated as depicting the same person, profile information associated with the potential match image in a graph database can be retrieved and presented to the user via the mobile device; para. 0076-0080);
in response to a determination that the living face image is not matched, returning a first risk result (para. 0065, 0081, 0101, 0102, 0106, 0109-0111, 0143, 0176, e.g., malicious images either marked either as invalid, or coming from a device with a low trust score can be quarantined); or
in response to a determination that the living face image is matched, returning a second result (para. 0079, 0080, 0082, e.g., new profile information can be added to, merged with, and/or replace all or part of the retrieved profile information. The updated profile information can then be transmitted by the mobile device to the identity verification server).
Kolleri is silent regarding controlling a risk and returning a second risk result.
WILLIAMS teaches monitoring for and preempting risks (para. 0054, 0179, 0184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate WILLIAMS’s teaching into Kolleri since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and further enhance risk levels of whether the face image is malicious or authentic.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sub-libraries are determined by at least one of: dividing the distributed face library into the plurality of sub-libraries corresponding to a plurality of first attributes, respectively, by using a common attribute of a plurality of types of documents as a division medium; determining a data differentiation within each data medium, selecting a data medium that exceeds a preset differentiation threshold, and dividing the distributed face library into the plurality of sub-libraries corresponding to a plurality of second attributes, respectively, according to a data feature of the data medium; or mixing data of a plurality of data mediums, performing modulo slicing based on a preset hash function, and dividing the distributed face library into the plurality of sub-libraries corresponding to a plurality of third attributes, respectively, according to a data slicing result (Kolleri, para. 0050, 0091, 0135, e.g., graph database which comprises nodes corresponds to distributed face library including a plurality of sub-libraries)
As to claim 3, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining a living face image and generating a face retrieval demand signal includes: in response to a determination that a face feature is recognized in a detection region, capturing a current face image of a target subject (Kolleri, Fig., 6, para. 0115, 0116, 0127); and obtaining a preset action image of the target subject and performing real person verification combined with the current face image of the target subject (Kolleri, Fig. 6, para. 0114, 1118).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the calling the distributed face library based on the face retrieval demand signal includes: generating a data request field based on the face retrieval demand signal (Kolleri, para. 0091, 0149); determining a name, a location, and network configuration of the distributed face library based on the data request field (Kolleri, Fig. 9, para. 0131, 0135-0139); and calling a query statement based on the data request field and the name, the location, and the network configuration of the distributed face library, determining connection information of the distributed face library, and sending the data request field to a preset node of the distributed face library to make a data connection be established between the preset node and at least one sub-library of the distributed face library (Kolleri, Fig. 9, 10, para. . 0131, 0135-0139, 0153-0155).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the matching the living face image through the distributed face library based on a preset retrieval strategy includes: obtaining a standardized image based on a detected face by performing an alignment operation on the living face image (Kolleri, 0055, 0056, 0059, 0127, 0128); extracting a face feature based on the standardized image to calculate a feature vector of the living face image(Kolleri, para. 0051, 0056); and searching for a face image whose coincidence degree with the feature vector exceeds a first coincidence threshold in the distributed face library (Kolleri, para. 0057, 0058, 0060, 0090-0092).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: in response to a determination that a matching misjudgment of the living face image occurs, adjusting the first coincidence threshold or retraining the distributed face library (Kolleri, para. 0057, 0058, 0060, 0090-0092).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in response to a determination that the living face image is not matched, the returning a first risk result includes: storing the living face image to a sub-library corresponding to the living face image of the distributed face library based on a preset library division strategy (Kolleri, para. 0081, 0109-0111).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kolleri and WILLIAMS discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising: recording a calling duration of the distributed face library (Kolleri, para. 0095, 0108); and in response to a determination that the calling duration exceeds a preset duration threshold, generating a warning notification to redistribute the sub-library of the distributed face library (Kolleri, para. 0095, 0108).
As to claims 13-18, 20, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references disclose the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required by each of dependent claims 7, 10, 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Benkreira discloses a system that receives an image including a live facial image of the user and an identity document including a photograph of the user. Moreover, the system calculates a facial match score by comparing facial features in the live facial image to facial features in the photograph.
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668