DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is more than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20190346780) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Zhu discloses a positively charged multilayer photoconductor for electrophotography ([0031], [0033], Fig.3). The positively charged multilayer photoconductor includes a charge transport layer comprising a hole transport material and binder, and a charge generation which also contains the hole transport material, a binder, and an electron transport material ([0046], Fig. 3). Zhu further discloses the charge generation layer includes a charge generation material ([0069]). The photoconductor comprises a conductive substrate with the photosensitive layer(s) formed on it, using General Formula (1) as the hole transport material, which matches that of (HT1) of Instant Claim 7 ([0020], [0035]).
Zhu further discloses R1 represents a hydrogen or optionally substituted C1-3 alkyl group; R2 to R11 each independently represent a hydrogen, a halogen, an optionally substituted C1-6 alkyl group or optionally substituted C1-6 alkoxy group; m and n each represent an integer of 0-4; and R represents a hydrogen atom or optionally substituted C1-3 alkyl group ([0020]). The charge transport layer, #5, and charge generation layer, #4, are sequentially laminated on the conductive substrate, #1, with an undercoat layer between the substrate and charge transport layer ([0033], Fig. 3). However, Zhu does not disclose a cyclohexanedimethanol-diaryl ester compound in the charge transport layer.
Takaki teaches an electrophotographic photoconductor which comprises a cyclohexane dimethanol diaryl ester compound represented by formula (I) in the photosensitive layer ([0037]).
Takaki further teaches R1 through R10 represent independently a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group with 1-5 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted alkoxy group with 1-5 carbon atoms ([0037]). Takaki further teaches by inclusion of the cyclohexane dimethanol-diaryl ester compound prevents void formation in the photosensitive layer during manufacture, leading to improved wear resistance and electric performance by preventing gas and moisture influx ([0034]-[0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the cyclohexane dimethanol-diaryl ester compound taught by Takaki in the photoconductor of Zhu to improve wear resistance and electrical property performance over time.
Regarding claim 2, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takaki further discloses the cyclohexane dimethanol-diaryl ester compound is contained in the range of 0.1-30 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts of resin binder in the layer containing the ester compound ([0041]). Takaki further teaches a charge transport material is added in an amount of 2-50 parts per 100 parts binder resin ([0062]). Therefore, the ester compound is added in an amount of 0.1/(50+100) * 100 to 30/(2+100) * 100, or 0.067 to 29.4 parts per 100 parts binder and transport material.
Regarding claim 8, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhu further discloses titanyl phthalocyanine may be used as the charge generation material for both single layer or multilayer photoconductors ([0059]-[0061], [0067]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takaki further teaches the specific examples (I-1) though (I-6) as viable formulations of General Formula (I), with (I-1) and (I-2) noted as preferable (page 4-6, [0053]).
Regarding claims 11 and 14, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhu further discloses the preferred coating method for forming the layers of the photoconductor is dip coating, to produce a good quality photoconductor with low cost and high productivity ([0078]). Zhu further discloses the positively charged multilayer photoconductor Examples are produced by preparing the coating liquids and dip coating the charge transport layer and the charge generation layer ([0118]-[0120]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhu further discloses the positively charged multilayer photoconductor is produced using an aluminum cylinder with a diameter of 24 mm as the conductive substrate ([0118]).
Claims 3-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20190346780) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fuse (US 5102759).
Regarding claims 3-6 and 10, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. However, Zhu does not disclose inclusion of a compound meeting the claimed General Formula (AD2).
Fuse teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a photosensitive layer including an amine compound represented by formula (I) (abstract, Col 2 line 52- Col 3 line 11).
In the amine compound A represents (i)-CH2X, (ii)-CH2CH2X, (iii) a cycloalkyl group or hetrocycloalkyl group, or (iv) an aromatic carbocyclic ring residue or aromatic hetorcyclic ring residue. In (i) and (ii) X representing an aromatic carbocyclic ring residue, an aromatic heterocyclic ring residue, a cycloalkyl group or heterocycloalkyl group which may or may not have a substituent. B represents one of (i), (ii), and (iii), and R represents a hydrogen, alkyl group, or aralkyl group (abstract, Col 2 line 52- Col 3 line 11). Fuse further teaches the addition of the amine compound improves ozone resistance for the photoreceptor (Col 2 line 41-49). Fuse further teaches the amine compound is added to all of the layers of the photosensitive layer, including carrier generation and carrier transport layers. The amine compound is added in an amount of 0.1-20% by weight of the layer (Col 15 line 36-47). Fuse further teaches tribenzylamine as compound (7) in the specific examples of the amine compound which may be used (Col 9-10). Compound (7) is further used in Example 1D (Tabled 2 Col 19-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate an amine such as tribenzylamine into the layers of the photoconductor of modified Zhu, as taught by Fuse, to improve ozone resistance.
Claims 1, 12, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20180329318) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 15, and 17, Takeuchi discloses a positively chargeable electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a conductive support, a charge transport layer, and a charge generation layer. The charge transport layer contains a hole transport material and a binder resin. The charge generation layer contains a charge generation material, a hole transport material, an electron transport material and a binder resin. The charge transport layer is on the conductive support, with the charge generation layer on the charge transport layer ([0021]). However, Takeuchi does not disclose a cyclohexanedimethanol diaryl ester compound representing (AD1) from the Instant Claim.
Takaki teaches an electrophotographic photoconductor which comprises a cyclohexane dimethanol diaryl ester compound represented by formula (I) in the photosensitive layer ([0037]).
Takaki further teaches R1 through R10 represent independently a hydrogen atom, a halogen atom, a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group with 1-5 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group, or a substituted or unsubstituted alkoxy group with 1-5 carbon atoms ([0037]). Takaki further teaches by inclusion of the cyclohexane dimethanol-diaryl ester compound prevents void formation in the photosensitive layer during manufacture, leading to improved wear resistance and electric performance by preventing gas and moisture influx ([0034]-[0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the cyclohexane dimethanol-diaryl ester compound taught by Takaki in the photoconductor of Takeuchi to improve wear resistance and electrical property performance over time.
Regarding claim 12, modified Takeuchi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takeuchi further discloses the conductive support is an aluminum tube having a 30 mm diameter ([0113]).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, modified Takeuchi discloses all limitations as set forth above. Takeuchi further discloses the photoreceptor is installed in an electrophotographic apparatus which is then used for a monochrome or tandem color printing with a printing rate of 40 ppm or faster ([0108]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 20180329318) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Nagai (US 20060078809).
Regarding claim 16 modified Takeuchi discloses all limitations as set forth above. However, Takeuchi does not disclose the drum life of the photoreceptor.
Nagai teaches a long life photoreceptor with good abrasion resistance and electrical properties ([0011]). Nagai teaches the inclusion of crosslinked resin comprising compound B results in the long life, abrasion resistance and improved electrical properties of the photoreceptor ([0015]-[0017], [0026]).
Nagai further teaches even after 50,000 images the crosslinked layer keeps the surface smooth, and produces good images with few defects ([0191]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the crosslinked coating of Nagai on the photoreceptor of Takeuchi to ensure a long life and good abrasion resistance, able to produce good images after over 50,000 images have been formed.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20190346780) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Takeuchi (US 20180329318).
Regarding claim 18, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. However, Zhu does not disclose the print speed of the image forming apparatus.
Takeuchi teaches a similar electrophotographic photoreceptor. Positively chargeable, comprising a conductive support, a charge transport layer containing a hole transport material and a binder on the support, and a charge generation layer containing a charge generation material, a hole transport material, an electron transport material, and a binder resin ([0021]). Takeuchi further teaches the contact angle of water is between 81-87° ([0021]). Takeuchi further teaches the photoreceptor may be mounted in a high speed printer using cleaner-less process, without generation of fine black spots or color spots, and prevents filming in high temp and high humidity environments ([0027]). Takeuchi further defines high speed printing as 40 ppm or faster ([0108]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to ensure the photoreceptor of Zhu has a water contact angle of 81-87°, as taught by Takeuchi, to prevent fine color spots and filming when used in a high speed printer.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (US 20190346780) in view of Takaki (US 20100028791) as applied to claim13 above, and further in view of Nagai (US 20060078809).
Regarding claim 19, modified Zhu discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhu further discloses the photoconductor can be used in a color printer, and evaluation is carried out using a Canon Image Runner Color 288 digital copier, which is a tandem color electrophotographic apparatus ([0081], 0100]). However, Zhu does not disclose the drum life of the photoconductor.
Nagai further teaches even after 50,000 images the crosslinked layer keeps the surface smooth, and produces good images with few defects ([0191]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the crosslinked coating of Nagai on the photoreceptor of Zhu to ensure a long life and good abrasion resistance, able to produce good images after over 50,000 images have been formed.
Conclusion
/C.C.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737