DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 24 June 2026. Claims 1-7 and 9 are currently amended. Claims 8 and 10 are canceled. Claims 11-14 are newly added. Claims 1-7, 9 and 11-14 are pending review in this action.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication No. EP 3926749, hereinafter Chen in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0134480, hereinafter Dawson and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0321511, hereinafter Browne.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a battery module. The battery module comprises a plurality of rechargeable battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) (paragraphs [0044, 0045]).
A connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) electrically connects the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) (paragraph [0048]).
Each of the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) includes a battery case (figure 4).
The connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) includes a breakage guide portion (24) intended to be cut when disconnecting a battery unit (1, “secondary battery”) from the battery module (abstract, paragraphs [0050, 0063-0065, 0072, 0077-0080] and figures 4, 8, 12 and 14).
Chen fails to teach that the battery module is provided with a code or an RFID including information on a cut position of the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) in disassembling the battery module.
Dawson teaches attaching a tape on a busbar. The tape includes a QR code or an RFID, which provides information including installation information for the busbar (paragraphs [0185, 0186]). Browne teaches applying machine readable information in the form of a full use label (FUL), which includes information such as disassembly instructions (paragraphs [0034, 0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach a label to the busbar, which would include a QR code or an RFID and which would provide instructions on how to disassemble the battery module by disconnecting the batteries, which are connected by the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) including the breakage guide portion (24).
Such a QR code or RFID would include information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”).
Regarding claim 2, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches a QR code or an RFID containing information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). The QR code or RFID is attached to the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”).
Regarding claim 3, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches that the QR code or RFID containing information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”) is provided by an attached label (“seal”).
Regarding claim 4, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches a QR code or an RFID containing information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). The QR code or RFID is attached to a surface of the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”).
Absent a reference point the designation “upper” has no absolute meaning. Specifically, the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) may be rotated such that the surface with the QR code or RFID is an “upper” surface.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to position the QR code or RFID in a location immediately visible by the user – such as an “upper” surface - for the purpose of ease of access.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a method for disassembling a battery module. The method comprises preparing a battery module in which a plurality of rechargeable battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) are electrically connected by a connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) (paragraphs [0044, 0045, 0048]). Each of the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) includes a battery case (figure 4).
The battery module is provided with a breakage guide portion (24) (abstract, paragraphs [0050, 0063-0065, 0072, 0077-0080] and figures 4, 8, 12 and 14). The breakage guide portion (24) is intended to be cut when disconnecting a battery unit (1, “secondary battery”) from the battery module.
The method includes determining a cut position and cutting the bus bar at the cut position (paragraphs [0072, 0080]).
Chen fails to teach a code or an RFID including information on a cut position of the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) in disassembling the battery module.
Dawson teaches attaching a tape on a busbar. The tape includes a QR code or an RFID, which provides information including installation information for the busbar (paragraphs [0185, 0186]). Browne teaches applying machine readable information in the form of a full use label (FUL), which includes information such as disassembly instructions (paragraphs [0034, 0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery module with a barcode or a QR code which would provide instructions on how to disassemble the battery module by disconnecting the batteries, which are connected by the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) including the breakage guide portion (24).
Such a barcode or QR code would include information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). A barcode or a QR code are intended to be read by a reading device.
It would thus further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a step of scanning the barcode or QR code with a reading device and determining the cut position prior to cutting the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) at the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches a QR code or an RFID including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”) (Dawson’s paragraph [0186]). A QR code and an RFID store information that is readable by a reading device.
Regarding claim 12, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches a QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”) (Dawson’s paragraph [0186]).
Regarding claim 13, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches a QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”) (Dawson’s paragraph [0186]). A QR code is a “two-dimensional code”.
Regarding claim 14, Chen as modified by Dawson and Browne teaches an RFID including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”) (Dawson’s paragraph [0186]).
Claims 1, 5-7, 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Publication No. EP 3926749, hereinafter Chen in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2016/0011270, hereinafter Poirier and U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2009/0321511, hereinafter Browne.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a battery module. The battery module comprises a plurality of rechargeable battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) (paragraphs [0044, 0045]).
A connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) electrically connects the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) (paragraph [0048]).
Each of the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) includes a battery case (figure 4).
The connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) includes a breakage guide portion (24) intended to be cut when disconnecting a battery unit (1, “secondary battery”) from the battery module (abstract, paragraphs [0050, 0063-0065, 0072, 0077-0080] and figures 4, 8, 12 and 14).
Chen fails to teach a code or an RFID including information on a cut position of the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) in disassembling the battery module.
Poirier teaches a battery module (24) comprising a plurality of battery cells (26). A label (30) is attached to a side surface of the battery case of each battery cell (26). The label (30) includes a barcode or a QR code providing data related to the battery cells, the battery module and surrounding structures (paragraphs [0036, 0038, 0040, 0043] and figures 2-4).
Browne teaches applying machine readable information in the form of a full use label (FUL), which includes information such as disassembly instructions (paragraphs [0034, 0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery module with a barcode or a QR code which would provide instructions on how to disassemble the battery module by disconnecting the batteries, which are connected by the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) including the breakage guide portion (24).
Such a barcode or QR code would include information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”).
Regarding claim 5, Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). The label (30) is attached to the battery case (Poirier’s paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30, “seal”) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). The label (30, “seal”) is attached to the battery case (Poirier’s paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen that each of the battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) includes a battery case having a flat rectangular shape (figures 4, 11 and 13).
Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). The label (30) is attached to a side surface of the battery case along an arrangement direction in which the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) are arranged (Poirier’s figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a method for disassembling a battery module. The method comprises preparing a battery module in which a plurality of rechargeable battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) are electrically connected by a connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) (paragraphs [0044, 0045, 0048]). Each of the plurality of battery units (1, “secondary batteries”) includes a battery case (figure 4).
The battery module is provided with a breakage guide portion (24) (abstract, paragraphs [0050, 0063-0065, 0072, 0077-0080] and figures 4, 8, 12 and 14). The breakage guide portion (24) is intended to be cut when disconnecting a battery unit (1, “secondary battery”) from the battery module.
The method includes determining a cut position and cutting the bus bar at the cut position (paragraphs [0072, 0080]).
Chen fails to teach a code or an RFID including information on a cut position of the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) in disassembling the battery module.
Poirier teaches a battery module (24) comprising a plurality of battery cells (26). A label (30) is attached to a side surface of the battery case of each battery cell (26). The label (30) includes a barcode or a QR code providing data related to the battery cells, the battery module and surrounding structures (paragraphs [0036, 0038, 0040, 0043] and figures 2-4).
Browne teaches applying machine readable information in the form of a full use label (FUL), which includes information such as disassembly instructions (paragraphs [0034, 0051]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery module with a barcode or a QR code which would provide instructions on how to disassemble the battery module by disconnecting the batteries, which are connected by the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) including the breakage guide portion (24).
Such a barcode or QR code would include information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). A barcode or a QR code are intended to be read by a reading device.
It would thus further have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artist before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a step of scanning the barcode or QR code with a reading device and determining the cut position prior to cutting the connecting sheet (2, “bus bar”) at the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”).
Regarding claim 11, Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). A barcode and a QR code store information that is readable by a reading device.
Regarding claim 12, Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”).
Regarding claim 13, Chen as modified by Poirier and Browne teaches a label (30) having the barcode or QR code including the information on the breakage guide portion (24, “cut position of the bus bar”). A barcode is a “one-dimensional code”. A QR code is a “two-dimensional code”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s newly added limitations have been considered. However, after further search and consideration, the previously presented combination of the Chen, Dawson and Browne references and the combination of the Chen, Poirier and Browne references were found to address the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LILIA V. NEDIALKOVA
Examiner
Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724