DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 9/29/2023. Claims 1-19 are pending in the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris (US 20160132847 A1) in view of Shoroff et al. (US 20040267938 A1, hereinafter Shoroff).
As to independent claim 1, Sarris teaches a system for personalized user engagement and assistance (“It is a system for conducting online banking transactions whereby an online customer (41), using a personal communication device (10), engages in live, two-way audio, video, and/or text communication with a human financial institution representative (42) who is using a bank communication device (30).” Paragraph 0110), the system comprising:
a first agent processing system associated with a first agent, wherein the first agent processing system is configured to create a first virtual room uniquely associated with the first agent (“The bank representative (42) has a bank communication device (30) on his or her own desk which would typically be a desktop computer but could also be a laptop or notebook computer as well. These bank communication devices (30) also have video and text conferencing features installed as part of the general configuration of the personal communications device.” Paragraph 0119);
a second agent processing system associated with a second agent, wherein the second agent processing system is configured to create a second virtual room uniquely associated with the second agent (“The bank representative (42) has a bank communication device (30) on his or her own desk which would typically be a desktop computer but could also be a laptop or notebook computer as well. These bank communication devices (30) also have video and text conferencing features installed as part of the general configuration of the personal communications device.” Paragraph 0119, Fig. 1B, shows at least two agents 42);
a first user processing system associated with a first user (“A customer (41) of a particular financial institution may wish to engage the services or assistance of a bank representative (42) such as a teller, loan officer, branch manager, or the like. Each customer (41) has a personal communication device (10) such as a desktop computer, a laptop or notebook computer, a mobile phone, or a wearable communication device such as a Smart Watch®, Google Glass®, or the like. Such devices (10) typically have text and/or video conferencing features installed as part of the general configuration of the personal communications device (10).”, paragraph 0118); and
create and associate a first virtual lounge with the first virtual room and the second virtual room (a virtual lobby (55), paragraph 0128, Fig. 2, 6);
provide the first user, access to the first virtual lounge upon establishing a secured connection between the first user processing system and the server (“After this customer (412, 413) has gained access to the financial institution's banking functions (50) with the intent to engage the services of a bank representative (42), he/she would immediately be added to the bank's customer queue (53) and wait in a virtual line in a virtual lobby (55) for the next available bank representative (42) to provide assistance. .” Paragraph 0128); and
establish a secured connection between the first user processing system and any one of the first agent processing system or the second agent processing system upon receiving a first input from any one of the first agent processing system or the second agent processing system and allow the first user into the first virtual room (“When the bank representative (42) is ready to accept the next customer (411) waiting in the customers' queue (53), he/she, as with the transactions dealing with the customer using a mobile communication device to bank online (412), highlights the customer (41) at the head of the line in the speaker's queue (53) and then presses or clicks the enter speaker's box key (311) which initiates the enter speakers' box function (313) on behalf of the next customer (41) in line.” Paragraph 0161).
Sarris does not appear to expressly teach a server, comprising one or more processors configured to:
host the first virtual room and the second virtual room created by the first agent processing system and second agent processing system, respectively;
create and associate a first virtual lounge with the first virtual room and the second virtual room;
provide the first user, access to the first virtual lounge upon establishing a secured connection between the first user processing system and the server.
Shoroff teaches a server, comprising one or more processors (server 221 may include one or more processors) configured to:
host the first virtual room and the second virtual room created by the first agent processing system and second agent processing system, respectively (“The lobby server may also optionally be capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a conference object 222.” Paragraph 0034, 0043, see Fig. 2, this implies conference object 222 created by the conference organizers 212a-f);
create and associate a first virtual lounge with the first virtual room and the second virtual room (“a lobby server 221 that is capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a lobby object 223. The lobby server may also optionally be capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a conference object 222.” Paragraph 0034, Fig. 2, conference object 222 created by organizers 212a-f);
provide the first user, access to the first virtual lounge upon establishing a secured connection between the first user processing system and the server (“The external computing system desiring access to the data conference then receives the invitation to join the lobby (act 308). The external computing system then generates a request to join the lobby and/or data conference (act 309) [….], the lobby server determines that the external computing system is authorized to join the lobby…. If the lobby server 221 determines that the external computing system is authorized to join the lobby, the lobby server 221 joins the external computing system to the lobby (act 312). The lobby server then notifies an intranet computing system (which may or may not be the conference organizing computing system) that the external computing system has requested access to the data conference (act 313) and/or has joined the lobby.” Paragraph 0044-0046); and
establish a secured connection between the first user processing system and any one of the first agent processing system or the second agent processing system and allow the first user into the first virtual room (“The lobby server receives the authorization (act 317) and then joins the external computing system to the data conference (act 318).” Paragraph 0047).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise a server, comprising one or more processors configured to: host the first virtual room and the second virtual room created by the first agent processing system and second agent processing system, respectively; create and associate a first virtual lounge with the first virtual room and the second virtual room; provide the first user, access to the first virtual lounge upon establishing a secured connection between the first user processing system and the server. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 2, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 1, Sarris further teaches wherein the server is configured to notify the first agent and the second agent of the presence of the first user in the first virtual lounge (“The desktop financial services application (54) also alerts the bank representative (42) to the fact that a customer (412, 413) has entered the bank's customer queue (53).” Paragraph 0129).
As to dependent claim 4, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 1, Sarris further teaches wherein the system comprising:
a third agent processing system associated with a third agent, wherein the third agent processing system is configured to create a third virtual room uniquely associated with the third agent (“The bank representative (42) has a bank communication device (30) on his or her own desk which would typically be a desktop computer but could also be a laptop or notebook computer as well. These bank communication devices (30) also have video and text conferencing features installed as part of the general configuration of the personal communications device.” Paragraph 0119,0070-0071);
a fourth agent processing system associated with a fourth agent, wherein the fourth agent processing system is configured to create a fourth virtual room uniquely associated with the fourth agent (“The bank representative (42) has a bank communication device (30) on his or her own desk which would typically be a desktop computer but could also be a laptop or notebook computer as well. These bank communication devices (30) also have video and text conferencing features installed as part of the general configuration of the personal communications device.” Paragraph 0119, 0070-0071); wherein the server is configured to:
Sarris does not appear to expressly teach host the third virtual room and the fourth virtual room created by the third agent processing system and fourth agent processing system, respectively ;
create and associate a second virtual lounge with the third virtual room and the fourth virtual room; and
receive a second input from the first user; and provide the first user access to the second virtual lounge, wherein the second input comprises request to enter the second virtual lounge room.
Shoroff teaches host the third virtual room and the fourth virtual room created by the third agent processing system and fourth agent processing system, respectively (“The lobby server may also optionally be capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a conference object 222.” Paragraph 0034, 0043, see Fig. 2, this implies conference object 222 created by the conference organizers 212a-f);
create and associate a second virtual lounge with the third virtual room and the fourth virtual room (“The lobby object is an object or group of objects that permits authorization of potential participating computing systems in the external network without directly allowing access to the subject data of the data conference.” Paragraph 0042,0034); and
receive a second input from the first user; and provide the first user access to the second virtual lounge, wherein the second input comprises request to enter the second virtual lounge room (“The external computing system desiring access to the data conference then receives the invitation to join the lobby (act 308). The external computing system then generates a request to join the lobby and/or data conference (act 309)…, the lobby server determines that the external computing system is authorized to join the lobby…. If the lobby server 221 determines that the external computing system is authorized to join the lobby, the lobby server 221 joins the external computing system to the lobby (act 312). The lobby server then notifies an intranet computing system (which may or may not be the conference organizing computing system) that the external computing system has requested access to the data conference (act 313) and/or has joined the lobby.” Paragraph 0044-0046, the first user may be any of the participants 232a-f requesting access to join the second lobby 223).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise create and associate a second virtual lounge with the third virtual room and the fourth virtual room; and receive a second input from the first user; and provide the first user access to the second virtual lounge, wherein the second input comprises request to enter the second virtual lounge room. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 5. Sarris teaches the system according to claim 4, Sarris further teaches wherein upon establishing the secured connection between the first user processing system and the first agent processing system, the server is configured to initiate a first video call between the first user and the first agent (“a customer image (312) is seen on the left-hand side of the bank representative's (42) video display (314) which means that the customer (41) is already in the speaker's box (56) and either speaking or texting with the bank representative (42).” Paragraph 0162).
As to dependent claim 6, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 5, Sarris further teaches wherein the server, upon receiving a third input from the first agent (press end button 313 in Fig. 5), is configured to:
disconnect the first video call between the first agent and the first user (“To the right of the customer information screen (318) is the remove customer key (313) which allows the bank representative to end the video session with the customer (41) or terminate a customer online banking application (52) in the event a departing customer (41) does not exit explicitly.” paragraph 0162);
disconnect the secured connection between the first user processing system and the first agent processing system (“To the right of the customer information screen (318) is the remove customer key (313) which allows the bank representative to end the video session with the customer (41) or terminate a customer online banking application (52) in the event a departing customer (41) does not exit explicitly.” paragraph 0162);
establish a second video call between the first user processing system and any one of the third agent processing system or the fourth agent processing system (“As mentioned previously, the transfer customer function (534) electronically matches the customer (41) with another available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) with sufficient experience, expertise, or authority to assist that customer (41). The bank representative (42) would review the agent repository (530) (see FIG. 2) to ascertain which representatives (42) and/or officers (421) are available and electronically match and transfer the customer (41) needing additional assistance to that other available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421).” Paragraph 0163).
Sarris does not appear to expressly teach transfer the first user from the first virtual room to the second virtual lounge; establish a secured connection between the first user processing system and any one of the third agent processing system or the fourth agent processing system upon receiving a fourth input from any one of the third agent or the fourth agent.
However, Sarris paragraph 0163 teaches “the transfer customer button (319) allows the bank representative to transfer a customer (41) to another bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) by activating the transfer customer function (534). As mentioned previously, the transfer customer function (534) electronically matches the customer (41) with another available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) with sufficient experience, expertise, or authority to assist that customer (41).” transfer the customer to the virtual lounge is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise transfer the first user from the first virtual room to the second virtual lounge. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 7, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 5, Sarris further teaches wherein the server, upon receiving a fifth input from the first agent, is configured to:
disconnect the first video call between the first agent and the first user (selecting “end” button 313 in Fig. 5 disconnects the call between the customer and the bank representative);
disconnect the secured connection between the first user processing system and the first agent processing system (selecting “end” button 313 disconnects the call between the customer and the bank representative); and
establish a secured connection between the first user processing system and the second agent processing system and allow the first user into the second virtual room; and establish a third video call between the first user processing system and the second agent processing system (“As mentioned previously, the transfer customer function (534) electronically matches the customer (41) with another available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) with sufficient experience, expertise, or authority to assist that customer (41). The bank representative (42) would review the agent repository (530) (see FIG. 2) to ascertain which representatives (42) and/or officers (421) are available and electronically match and transfer the customer (41) needing additional assistance to that other available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421).” Paragraph 0163).
Sarris does not appear to expressly teach transfer the first user from the first virtual room to the first virtual lounge.
However, Sarris paragraph 0163 teaches “the transfer customer button (319) allows the bank representative to transfer a customer (41) to another bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) by activating the transfer customer function (534). As mentioned previously, the transfer customer function (534) electronically matches the customer (41) with another available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) with sufficient experience, expertise, or authority to assist that customer (41).” transfer the customer to the virtual lounge is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise transfer the first user from the first virtual room to the first virtual lounge. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 8, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 5, Sarris further teaches wherein the server is configured to: provide plurality of users (users 232a-f), access to the first virtual lounge upon establishing a secured connection between plurality of user processing systems and the server (“After this customer (412, 413) has gained access to the financial institution's banking functions (50) with the intent to engage the services of a bank representative (42), he/she would immediately be added to the bank's customer queue (53) and wait in a virtual line in a virtual lobby (55) for the next available bank representative (42) to provide assistance.” Paragraph 0128); and
wherein each of the plurality of user processing systems is associated with each of the plurality of users; provide a second user among the plurality of users access to the first virtual room, when the first agent allows the second user into the first virtual room (“When the bank representative (42) is ready to accept the next customer (411) waiting in the customers' queue (53), he/she, as with the transactions dealing with the customer using a mobile communication device to bank online (412), highlights the customer (41) at the head of the line in the speaker's queue (53) and then presses or clicks the enter speaker's box key (311) which initiates the enter speakers' box function (313) on behalf of the next customer (41) in line.” Paragraph 0161), wherein:
a first secured connection is established between second user processing system and the first agent processing system; and a fourth video call is initiated between the second user and the first agent (establish a live audio-video and/or text session between said customer and said human representative, paragraph 0029); receive a sixth input from the first agent to disconnect the first video call between the first agent and the first user (select end button 313 to end the video call);
Sarris does not appear to expressly teach transfer the second user from the first virtual room to the first virtual lounge.
However, Sarris paragraph 0163 teaches “the transfer customer button (319) allows the bank representative to transfer a customer (41) to another bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) by activating the transfer customer function (534). As mentioned previously, the transfer customer function (534) electronically matches the customer (41) with another available bank representative (42) or bank officer (421) with sufficient experience, expertise, or authority to assist that customer (41).” transfer the customer to the virtual lounge is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise transfer the second user from the first virtual room to the first virtual lounge; and provide access to a third user among the plurality of users when the first agent allows the third user into the first virtual room, wherein: a second secured connection is established between third user processing system and the first agent processing; and a fifth video call is initiated between the third user and the first agent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 17, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 1, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach the first user processing system is configured to create a first user virtual room associated uniquely with the first user; and
the server is configured to create and associate a first user virtual lounge to the first user virtual room.
Shoroff teaches wherein:
the first user processing system is configured to create a first user virtual room associated uniquely with the first user (“The lobby server may also optionally be capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a conference object 222.” Paragraph 0034, Fig. 2); and
the server is configured to create and associate a first user virtual lounge to the first user virtual room (“a lobby server 221 that is capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a lobby object 223. The lobby server may also optionally be capable of creating and managing an in-memory object in the form of a conference object 222.” Paragraph 0034);
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise the first user processing system is configured to create a first user virtual room associated uniquely with the first user; and the server is configured to create and associate a first user virtual lounge to the first user virtual room. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve agent experience with conferencing sessions.
Claim 19 is substantially the same as claim 1 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale as presented above.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris et al. in view of Shoroff et al. and Shiner (US 20220067666 A1).
As to dependent claim 3, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 1, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein the server is configured to notify the second agent when: the first user leaves the first virtual lounge; or the first user enters the first virtual room.
Shiner teaches wherein the server is configured to notify the second agent when: the first user leaves the first virtual lounge; or the first user enters the first virtual room (“The process 400 can further include providing a meeting host for a corresponding online meeting a list of the plurality of users currently in virtual waiting rooms.” Paragraph 0084),
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein the server is configured to notify the second agent when: the first user leaves the first virtual lounge; or the first user enters the first virtual room. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve user experience with conferencing sessions.
Claims 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris in view of Shoroff et al. further in view of Orsolini et al. (US 20170221073, hereinafter Orsolini).
As to dependent claim 9, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 5, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein the server is configured to display, on the first user processing system, an availability status associated with the first agent, wherein the availability comprises of Available, Away, Busy, Do Not Disturb and Offline.
Orsolini teaches wherein the server is configured to display, on the first user processing system, an availability status associated with the first agent, wherein the availability comprises of Available, Away, Busy, Do Not Disturb and Offline (“if no matching service personnel are available, the user may be notified. For example, the user may be notified via a message displayed in the display (228) of the wearable computing device (208). In this example, the message may state no service personnel are available at this time.” Paragraph 0075).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein the server is configured to display, on the first user processing system, an availability status associated with the first agent, wherein the availability comprises of Available, Away, Busy, Do Not Disturb and Offline. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve user experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 11, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 9, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to:
allow the first user to record a message;
notify any one of the first agent or the second agent regarding the message, when the availability status of any one of the first agent or the second agent updates to Available.
Orsolini teaches allow the first user to record a message (“As mentioned above, the wearable computing device (208) may send and receive content via some of the feature.” Paragraph 0076, content may be a message);
notify any one of the first agent or the second agent regarding the message, when the availability status of any one of the first agent or the second agent updates to Available (“As mentioned above, the wearable computing device (208) may send and receive content via some of the feature.” Paragraph 0076).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to: allow the first user to record a message; notify any one of the first agent or the second agent regarding the message, when the availability status of any one of the first agent or the second agent updates to Available. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve user experience with conferencing sessions.
As to dependent claim 12, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 9, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to:
monitor the availability status of the first agent and the second agent; and
establish a secured connection between the first user and the first agent, when the availability status of the first agent updates to Available before the second agent.
Orsolini teaches monitor the availability status of the first agent and the second agent; and establish a secured connection between the first user and the first agent, when the availability status of the first agent updates to Available before the second agent (“the service personnel attributes may include if a service personnel is available to transfer the digital representation of the user from a virtual waiting room to a virtual private room. As will be described below, the user attributes and/or service personnel attributes may be represented as a matrix to determine when the transfer engine (214-6) transfers the digital representation of the user from a virtual waiting room to a virtual private room.” Paragraph 0064).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise monitor the availability status of the first agent and the second agent; and establish a secured connection between the first user and the first agent, when the availability status of the first agent updates to Available before the second agent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve the user experience.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris in view of Shoroff et al. further in view of Orsolini et al. and Fieldman (US 11562657 B1).
As to dependent claim 10, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 9, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to:
store a historical data related to at least one first video call or at least one third video call between first user and the first agent or the second agent, wherein the historical data comprises information on the duration of the at least one first video call or at least one third video call between the first user and the first agent or the second agent;
generate a waiting time based on the historical data when the first user is in the first virtual room or the second virtual room, wherein the waiting time is the time taken to allow a second user into the first virtual room or the second virtual room; notify the second user of the waiting time, when the second user is in the first virtual lounge.
Fieldman teaches store a historical data related to at least one first video call or at least one third video call between first user and the first agent or the second agent, wherein the historical data comprises information on the duration of the at least one first video call or at least one third video call between the first user and the first agent or the second agent (“an automated estimate of the expected time in queue for students (which is also helpful for the professor and for subsequent students who join), which may be built from the following data: Average time of the last five-ten people in the queue that day (or some other number of people). Average time of the questions for that specific subject (or topic) that have already happened during the current session. Average time of the particular students in the queue.” Col. 23 lines 24-33);
generate a waiting time based on the historical data when the first user is in the first virtual room or the second virtual room, wherein the waiting time is the time taken to allow a second user into the first virtual room or the second virtual room; notify the second user of the waiting time, when the second user is in the first virtual lounge (“In step 626 application 101 displays on the new student computer the estimated wait time for that student (i.e., the time before the student may speak with the professor) such as shown in box 608. Col. 23 lines 18-21)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise store a historical data related to at least one first video call or at least one third video call between first user and the first agent or the second agent, wherein the historical data comprises information on the duration of the at least one first video call or at least one third video call between the first user and the first agent or the second agent; generate a waiting time based on the historical data when the first user is in the first virtual room or the second virtual room, wherein the waiting time is the time taken to allow a second user into the first virtual room or the second virtual room; notify the second user of the waiting time, when the second user is in the first virtual lounge. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve user experience with conferencing sessions.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris in view of Shoroff et al., Orsolini et al., and Zhakov US 2012/010865).
As to dependent claim 13, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 9, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein the server is configured to determine a performance metric for the first agent and the second agent, wherein the first agent and the second agent are ranked based on the performance metric.
Zhakov teaches wherein the server is configured to determine a performance metric for the first agent and the second agent, wherein the first agent and the second agent are ranked based on the performance metric (“an interactive rating interface; (e) rating the agents by the customers using the interactive interface; (f) updating agent profiles with rating results of customer ratings,” paragraph 0013, ranking the agents based on their rating is well known technique in the art).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein the server is configured to determine a performance metric for the first agent and the second agent, wherein the first agent and the second agent are ranked based on the performance metric. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance customer experience.
As to dependent claim 14. Sarris teaches the system according to claim 13, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein when:
the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available, the server is configured to:
display the performance metric of the first agent and the second agent to the first user; and receive a seventh input from the first user, wherein the seventh input allows the first user to choose between the first agent and the second agent.
Zhakov teaches the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available, the server is configured to: display the performance metric of the first agent and the second agent to the first user; and receive a seventh input from the first user, wherein the seventh input allows the first user to choose between the first agent and the second agent (“ In one embodiment where agent ratings are published to customers, the agents may be independent agent competing for customers such as, for example independent certified tax advisors may compete through a Web portal or site like Website 117. These agents may be explicitly rated with the ratings published. The amount of their allowable service rate may be based upon the rating. In this case a customer in a virtual waiting room, for example, may see this published information along with agent availability information and may actually pick their agent or may ask to be routed to one with a specific published rating. That agent might be busy in which case the customer would wait for the agent to become available.” Paragraph 0044).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available, the server is configured to: display the performance metric of the first agent and the second agent to the first user; and receive a seventh input from the first user, wherein the seventh input allows the first user to choose between the first agent and the second agent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance customer experience.
As to dependent claim 15, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 13, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein when: the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available, the server is configured to allow the first user in to the first virtual room, wherein the performance metric of the first agent is higher than the performance metric of the second agent.
Zhakov teaches wherein when: the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available (“agent availability information.” Paragraph 0044), the server is configured to allow the first user in to the first virtual room, wherein the performance metric of the first agent is higher than the performance metric of the second agent (“For routing purposes, a single point value or score from a scale or range might be attributed to both agents and customers where matching scores or values during routing indicates some level of compatibility between the agent and the customer. In one embodiment, an agent that possesses a lower score or value might best serve a customer that has a high score or value. In another embodiment if the score is the same, it is a best match (customer to agent).” Paragraph 0065).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein when: the first user is allowed into the first virtual lounge; and the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is Available. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance customer experience.
As to dependent claim 16, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 13, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to:
allow the first user to record a message;
notify the first agent regarding the recorded message, wherein the performance metric of the first agent is higher than the performance metric of the second agent; and
notify the first user regarding the received message by the first agent.
Orsolini teaches allow the first user to record a message (“As mentioned above, the wearable computing device (208) may send and receive content via some of the feature.” Paragraph 0076, content may be a message);
notify the first user regarding the received message by the first agent. (“As mentioned above, the wearable computing device (208) may send and receive content via some of the feature.” Paragraph 0076).
Zhakov teaches wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to: wherein the performance metric of the first agent is higher than the performance metric of the second agent; and notify the first user regarding the first agent (“ In one embodiment where agent ratings are published to customers, the agents may be independent agent competing for customers such as, for example independent certified tax advisors may compete through a Web portal or site like Website 117. These agents may be explicitly rated with the ratings published. The amount of their allowable service rate may be based upon the rating. In this case a customer in a virtual waiting room, for example, may see this published information along with agent availability information and may actually pick their agent or may ask to be routed to one with a specific published rating. That agent might be busy in which case the customer would wait for the agent to become available. In one embodiment customers may also rate service departments in addition to individual agents. Statistics may also be used to help rate service departments.” Paragraph 0044)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise wherein upon allowing the first user into the first virtual lounge, when the availability status of the first agent and the second agent is other than Available, the server is configured to: wherein the performance metric of the first agent is higher than the performance metric of the second agent; and notify the first user regarding the first agent. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance customer experience.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarris et al. in view of Shoroff et al. and Coffman et al. (US 20160234264 A1, hereinafter Coffman).
As to dependent claim 18, Sarris teaches the system according to claim 17, Sarris does not appear to expressly teach wherein the server is configured to: provide the first agent, access to the first user virtual lounge;
notify the first user presence of the first agent in the first user virtual lounge; and
receive an eighth input from the first user to allow the first agent into the first user virtual room.
Coffman teaches provide the first agent, access to the first user virtual lounge; notify the first user presence of the user in the first user virtual lounge (Fig. 8, The names of the attendees in the virtual waiting room may also be included in the textual notification 550); and
receive an eighth input from the first user to allow the first agent into the first user virtual room (Fig. 8, a user interface control, shown at reference numeral 560, to bring attendees in the virtual waiting room into the virtual meeting room).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sarris to comprise provide the first agent, access to the first user virtual lounge;
notify the first user presence of the first agent in the first user virtual lounge; and receive an eighth input from the first user to allow the first agent into the first user virtual room. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to make the waiting room to become ready for attendees/invitees, for waiting room attendees to interact with each other while in the virtual waiting room, and for meeting room owner interactions with the virtual waiting room interactions (Coffman [0020]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chau et a. US 20240187525 A1 teaches establishing a virtual waiting room for users awaiting contact center agent interactions.
Farmer et al. US 20240244162 A1 teaches virtual lobby chat with external anonymous guests.
Rajagopal et al. US 20220276879 A1 teaches personalized virtual lobby in a meeting application.
Walia et al. US 20220353468 A1 teaches a method for providing dynamic content to video conference waiting rooms.
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171