DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 19, 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Please change the phrase “The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 17” to “The method of Claim 17”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 12 – 14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cyzs (US 2021/0258029).
Regarding Claim 1, Cyzs teaches a radio frequency front end device, comprising: an antenna interface, configured to receive a signal representing a radio transmission (Figure 2, Section 0135, there are antennas (206A-B) thus there will be an antenna interface); a radio frequency detector (Figure 2, Section 0138, receiver processor (208) is the detector), wherein the signal comprises a first signal in a first frequency range and a second signal in a second frequency range, adjacent to the first frequency range (Section 0143, harmonic components on adjacent frequencies), and wherein the radio frequency detector is configured to detect the second signal within the second frequency range (Section 0139, can receive in different frequency bands and/or spectrums); and a processor (Figure 2, processor (220)), configured to: select, based on the second signal, a sampling window size for a sampling window of a signal windowing procedure for the first signal in the first frequency range (windowing overlap and adding (WOLA) procedure is used (Section 0194), specific window, which has an associated window size is selected (Section 0210)); and implement the signal windowing procedure on the first signal at the sampling window size (interference samples (Section 0175) are removed via interference mitigation via WOLA on the interfering signals (Section 0234)).
Regarding Claim 13, Cyzs teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium, comprising instructions which, if executed by one or more processors, are configured to cause the one or more processor to: receive a signal representing a radio transmission (Figure 2, Section 0135, memory (222)), comprising a first signal in a first frequency range and a second signal in a second frequency range, adjacent to the first frequency range (Section 0143, harmonic components on adjacent frequencies); detect the second signal within the second frequency range (Section 0139, can receive in different frequency bands and/or spectrums); select, based on the second signal, a sampling window size for a sampling window of a signal windowing procedure for the first signal in the first frequency range (windowing overlap and adding (WOLA) procedure is used (Section 0194), specific window, which has an associated window size is selected (Section 0210)); and implement the signal windowing procedure on the first signal at the sampling window size (interference samples (Section 0175) are removed via interference mitigation via WOLA on the interfering signals (Section 0234)).
Regarding Claim 17, Cyzs teaches a method of signal processing, comprising: receiving a signal representing a radio transmission (Figure 2, Section 0135), wherein the signal comprises a first signal in a first frequency range and a second signal in a second frequency range, adjacent to the first frequency range (Section 0143, harmonic components on adjacent frequencies); detecting the second signal within the second frequency range (Section 0139, can receive in different frequency bands and/or spectrums); selecting, based on the interference signal, a sampling window size for a sampling window of a signal windowing procedure for the first signal in the first frequency range (windowing overlap and adding (WOLA) procedure is used (Section 0194), specific window, which has an associated window size is selected (Section 0210)); and implementing the signal windowing procedure on the first signal at the sampling window size (interference samples (Section 0175) are removed via interference mitigation via WOLA on the interfering signals (Section 0234)).
Regarding Claim 3, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Cyzs further teaches wherein the second signal is a blocker signal (Section 0143, interfering signals are the blockers).
Regarding Claim 12, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 1. Cyzs further teaches wherein the radio frequency detector is configured as a narrowband detector (Section 0144).
Regarding Claim 14, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 13. Cyzs further teaches wherein the signal windowing procedure is an overlap and add procedure (Section 0194, WOLA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyzs (US 2021/0258029) in view of Backstrom et al. (NPL “Introduction to Speech Processing).
Regarding Claim 2, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor extracting an end portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted end portion to a beginning portion of the sampling window, and extracting a beginning portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted beginning portion to an end portion of the sampling window.
Backstrom, which also teaches WOLA, teaches the processor extracting an end portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted end portion to a beginning portion of the sampling window, and extracting a beginning portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted beginning portion to an end portion of the sampling window (Section 3.2.1.2, extract overlapping windows of the signal, apply some processing, and reconstruct by windowing a second time and then adding overlapping segments renders a scenario of extracting an end portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted end portion to a beginning portion of the sampling window, and extracting a beginning portion of the sampling window and adding the extracted beginning portion to an end portion of the sampling window).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above feature of Backstrom for the purpose of providing efficient processing of long signals which is a benefit of WOLA.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyzs (US 2021/0258029) in view of Yagil et al. (US 2018/0254927)
Regarding Claim 4, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor performing the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor multiplying the first signal with a window shaped as a raised cosine.
Yagil, which also teaches windowing, teaches wherein the processor performing the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor multiplying the first signal with a window shaped as a raised cosine (Section 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Yagil for the purpose of providing efficient bandwidth use which is a benefit of raised cosine windowing.
Claim(s) 5 – 8, 11, 15, 16, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyzs (US 2021/0258029) in view of Chen et al. (WO 2019/157892)
Regarding Claim 5, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting the sampling window size based on a proximity of a frequency of the second signal to the first frequency range.
Chen, which also teaches interference mitigation, teaches processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting the sampling window size based on a proximity of a frequency of the second signal to the first frequency range (Section 0011, the longer the length the better the interference suppression one can logically conclude that: an interference that is further away does not require as long of a window length and a close interference requires a longer window length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Chen for the purpose of combatting severe spectral leakage as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claims 6, 15, 18, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claims 5, 13, 17. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the second signal is closer to the first frequency range and selecting a smaller sampling window when the second signal is farther from the first frequency range.
Chen, which also teaches interference mitigation, teaches wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the second signal is closer to the first frequency range and selecting a smaller sampling window when the second signal is farther from the first frequency range (Section 0011, the longer the length the better the interference suppression one can logically conclude that: an interference that is further away does not require as long of a window length and a close interference requires a longer window length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Chen for the purpose of combatting severe spectral leakage as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claim 7, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting the sampling window size based on a detected power level of the second signal.
Chen, which also teaches interference mitigation, teaches selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting the sampling window size based on a detected power level of the second signal (Section 0011, the longer the length the better the interference suppression one can logically conclude that: an interference that is further away, which produces a lower interference power, does not require as long of a window length and a close interference, which produces a greater interference power, requires a longer window length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Chen for the purpose of combatting severe spectral leakage as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claims 8, 16, 19, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claims 7, 13, 17. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the second signal has a greater power and selecting a smaller sampling window when the second signal has less power.
Chen, which also teaches interference mitigation, teaches wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the second signal has a greater power and selecting a smaller sampling window when the second signal has less power (Section 0011, the longer the length the better the interference suppression one can logically conclude that: an interference that is further away, which produces a lower interference power, does not require as long of a window length and a close interference, which produces a greater interference power, requires a longer window length).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Chen for the purpose of combatting severe spectral leakage as taught by Chen.
Regarding Claim 11, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein if the radio frequency detector detects no second signal in the second frequency range, the processor is further configured to discontinue using the signal windowing procedure.
Chen, which also teaches interference mitigation, teaches wherein if the radio frequency detector detects no second signal in the second frequency range, the processor is further configured to discontinue using the signal windowing procedure (Section 0011, the longer the length the better the interference suppression one can logically conclude that there is no need for a windowing procedure when there is no interference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of Chen for the purpose of combatting severe spectral leakage as taught by Chen.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyzs (US 2021/0258029) in view of He (US 2003/0021359)
Regarding Claim 9, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claim 1. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor is further configured to estimate a delay spread of the radio transmission; wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises selecting the sampling window size based on the estimated delay spread.
He, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to estimate a delay spread of the radio transmission; wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises selecting the sampling window size based on the estimated delay spread (Section 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of He for the purpose of improving performance in both long delay spread channels such as hilly terrain and short delay spread channels such as typical urban as taught by He.
Regarding Claims 10, 20, Cyzs teaches all of the claimed limitation recited in Claims 9, 17. Cyzs does not teach wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the estimated delay spread is larger and selecting a smaller sampling window when the estimated delay spread is smaller.
He, which also teaches wireless communications, teaches wherein the processor selecting the sampling window size for the signal windowing procedure comprises the processor selecting a larger sampling window when the estimated delay spread is larger and selecting a smaller sampling window when the estimated delay spread is smaller (Section 0028, a varying window sizing adaptive to the actual delay spread renders a scenario of selecting a larger sampling window when the estimated delay spread is larger and selecting a smaller sampling window when the estimated delay spread is smaller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cyzs with the above features of He for the purpose of improving performance in both long delay spread channels such as hilly terrain and short delay spread channels such as typical urban as taught by He.
Conclusion
/RAYMOND S DEAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
January 15, 2026