DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 April 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 15 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 4 January 2024 and 3 June 2024 have been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: recuperator element(s) 110, mixer element(s) 120, monoliths 130 (see [0030] of the Specification of the present application). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 3, "recuperator zone" should read "recuperation zone" for consistency with the language used in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 1 and 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The quantity associated with the direction of flow of claim 1 and the fluid communication of reforming flow channels and heating flow channels of claim 9 is therefore rendered indefinite by the use of the term "substantially".
Claim 1, line 18 and Claim 10, line 3 recite “reforming conditions”. It is unclear what is included/excluded by the use of the term “reforming conditions.
Claims 2-9 and 11-17 are indefinite as they depend from an indefinite base and fail to cure the deficiencies of the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naito (US 4,714,593).
Regarding Claim 1, Naito discloses a method for performing a reforming reaction (Col. 2, lines 27-28), comprising using a fuel gas inlet pipe 16 (fuel gas inlet pipe meets the limitation of a fuel flow path) for injecting fuel (Col. 4, lines 28-31; Fig. 1A), an air duct 14 (air duct meets the limitation of an oxidant flow path) for injecting an oxygen-containing gas (Col. 4, lines 24-27; Fig. 1A), such that the fuel gas inlet pipe 16 and air duct 14 of the apparatus of Fig. 1A meet the limitation of a recuperation zone of a reactor volume.
Naito further discloses a raw material gas consisting mainly of hydrocarbons and steam (a raw material gas consisting mainly of hydrocarbons and steam meets the limitation of a reforming input flow comprising at least on hydrocarbon) is introduced into each endothermic reaction vessel 10 packed with a steam reforming catalyst bed 54 (vessel packed with a steam reforming catalyst meets the limitation of the reforming channels comprising a reforming catalyst in the reforming zone; Col. 8, line 65-Col. 9, line 4), wherein the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66). Two or more reaction vessels 10 meets the limitation of a plurality of reforming flow channels in a reforming zone of the reactor volume. Naito further discloses countercurrent flow of the raw material gas relative to the flow of the fuel gas (Col. 14, lines 48-52), meeting the limitation wherein a flow direction of the reforming input flow is substantially counter-current to a flow direction of the fuel, and a method for performing counter-current reforming.
Naito further discloses and a mixing chamber 18 (mixing chamber meets the limitation of a mixing zone of the reactor volume) for mixing the fuel and the oxygen-containing gas (Col. 4, lines 28-31; Fig. 1A), and therefore, a fuel mixture is necessarily formed. Naito further discloses the mixing chamber 18 is within the heat generation units 12 (Fig. 1A), wherein the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 (heat generation units meet the limitation of heating flow channels) at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), such that the fuel and oxygen-containing gas are mixed in one or more heating flow channels. Naito further illustrates the mixing zone 18 is adjacent to the recuperation zone (fuel gas inlet pipe 16 and air duct 14), and an opposing side of the mixing zone is adjacent to reforming zone (reforming catalyst bed 54 in reaction vessel 10) (Fig. 1A).
Naito further discloses a combustion reaction of the gaseous fuel-air mixture in catalyst bed 26 and combustion chamber 30 of heat generation units 12, thereby generating heat (Col. 5, lines 43-65; Fig. 1A), wherein the catalyst bed and combustion chamber 30 are parallel the steam reforming catalyst bed 54 such that the combustion reaction takes place in the reforming zone. The apparatus of Naito may comprise two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), such that the reacting takes place in one or more heating flow channels, and the one or more hating flow channels (heat generation units 12) are arranged around the plurality of reforming flow channels (reaction vessel 10).
Naito further discloses a steam reforming reaction of a raw material-containing gas (raw material-containing gas contains hydrocarbons such that at least a portion of the at least one hydrocarbon is reformed in the reforming channels under reforming conditions) and steam to produce a reformed gas (reformed gas meets the limitation of a reforming product flow). Naito further discloses the product gas of the reforming of hydrocarbons flows through a catalyst bed supporting mesh 56 and a catalyst bed lower space 58 (catalyst bed lower space 58 is parallel recuperation zone 14) and into the product gas recovery passages 60 (Col. 8, line 65-Col. 9, line 14; Fig. 1A), such that the reforming product flow is exhausted from the recuperation zone.
Naito further discloses a duct 40 for discharging the gaseous products of combustion (gaseous products of combustion meet the limitation of an oxidized product flow) of the fuel (Col. 4, lines 44-46), which is parallel the reforming catalyst bed 54 in reaction vessel 10, and therefore is exhausted from the reforming zone.
Regarding Claim 7, Naito discloses the reaction vessels 10 (aka the reforming flow channels) comprise the product gas recovery passages 60, which are typically composed of a plurality of tubes (Col. 9, lines 12-14; Fig. 1A), such that the plurality of reforming flow channels comprise a plurality of tubes. Alternatively, the apparatus of Naito may comprise two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), wherein the two or more reaction vessels meet the limitation wherein the plurality of reforming flow channels comprise a plurality of tubes. Naito further discloses the apparatus (the apparatus of Naito comprising the reaction vessels 10 and heat generation units 12 meets the limitation of a reactor volume) has a surrounding insulating wall 80 (surrounding insulating wall 80 meets the limitation of a reactor shell; Col. 4, line 66; Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 9, Naito discloses the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 (heat generation units 12 meet the limitation of heating flow channels) at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 (reaction vessels 10 meet the limitation of reforming flow channels) and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66). Therefore, the reforming flow channels and the heating flow channels of Naito are separate vessels, such that the reforming flow channels of Naito are substantially free of fluid communication with the heating flow channels (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 10, Naito discloses the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 (heat generation units 12 meet the limitation of heating flow channels) at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 (reaction vessels 10 meet the limitation of reforming flow channels) and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66). Therefore, the reforming flow channels and the heating flow channels of Naito are separate vessels, such that reforming the at least a portion of the at least one hydrocarbon comprises reforming without exposing a portion of the fuel, a portion of the oxidant flow, or a portion of the oxidized product flow to the reforming conditions (See Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 11, Naito is silent to mixing the reforming input flow and the reforming product flow with the fuel, the oxygen-containing gas, and the oxidized product flow within the reforming flow channels.
Regarding Claim 13, Naito discloses the apparatus (the apparatus of Naito meet the limitation of a reactor) has a surrounding insulating wall 80 (surrounding insulating wall 80 meets the limitation of a shell; Col. 4, line 66; Fig. 1A). Naito further discloses mixing chamber 18 houses a fuel gas inlet pipe 16 (Col. 4, lines 28-31), and the mixing chamber is within the reactor volume in the shell (See Fig. 1A) such that the fuel flow path of Naito necessarily comprises a portion of the reactor volume within the shell. Naito further discloses an air duct 14 (air duct 14 meets the limitation of an oxidant flow path comprising one or more conduits; air duct 14 is the end of the recuperation zone of Naito (See Fig. 1A)) for injecting an oxygen-containing gas into the mixing chamber 18 (Col. 4, lines 24-28), such that the conduits provide fluid communication between an end of the recuperation zone and the mixing zone.
Regarding Claim 14, Naito further discloses a combustion reaction of the gaseous fuel-air (air contains oxygen) mixture (Col. 5, lines 43-65; Col. 5, lines 34-41; Fig. 1A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US 4,714,593) in view of Skoulidas (US 2021/0061657).
Regarding Claim 2, Naito teaches the elements as described above with regards to claim 1.
Naito is silent to a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels is greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at an end of the recuperator zone by 200°C or more.
Skoulidas discloses, during regeneration, a fuel and oxygen can be introduced into the reactor (introducing a fuel and oxygen into a reactor meets the limitation of passing a fuel and an oxygen-containing gas into a reactor volume) and combusted, and introducing the fuel and oxidant via separate channels (fuel channel meets the limitation of a fuel flow path; oxidant channel meets the limitation of an oxidant flow path; [0035]). Skoulidas further discloses the fuel and oxidant pass through the recuperation zone as they travel from the regeneration end of the reactor toward the reaction zone [0021]. Skoulidas further discloses reforming hydrocarbons in the reverse flow reactor [0021]. Skoulidas further discloses the bed and/or monoliths in the reforming portion (reforming portion meets the limitation of a reforming zone) of the reactor can include a catalyst for reforming [0022], wherein honeycomb monoliths can be extruded structures that comprise small gas flow passages or conduits, arranged in parallel fashion with thin walls in between [0065], such that the reforming input flow of Skoulidas is passed into a plurality of reforming flow channels in a reforming zone of the reactor volume, and the reforming channels comprise a reforming catalyst in the reforming zone. Skoulidas further discloses the reactants for reforming flow in effectively the opposite direction relative to the flow during regeneration [0022].
Skoulidas further discloses a peak temperature within the reforming zone of 800°C to 1500°C [0039]. Skoulidas further discloses reacting the fuel mixture under combustion conditions in the recuperation zone to form a flue gas [0078], wherein the flue gas comprises a temperature of 420°C or more [0089], resulting in a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at the end of the recuperator zone by 1080°C or less, which overlaps the claimed range of 200°C or more such that the range taught by Skoulidas obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Skoulidas further discloses by delaying combustion during regeneration until the reactants reach a central portion of the reactor, the non-reforming end of the reactor can be maintained at a cooler temperature [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels is greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at an end of the recuperator zone by 200°C or more in order to maintain the non-reforming end of the reactor at a cooler temperature, as recognized by Skoulidas [0035].
Regarding Claim 3, Naito teaches the elements as described above with regards to claim 1.
Naito is silent to a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels is greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at an end of the recuperator zone by 200°C or more.
Skoulidas discloses, during regeneration, a fuel and oxygen can be introduced into the reactor (introducing a fuel and oxygen into a reactor meets the limitation of passing a fuel and an oxygen-containing gas into a reactor volume) and combusted, and introducing the fuel and oxidant via separate channels (fuel channel meets the limitation of a fuel flow path; oxidant channel meets the limitation of an oxidant flow path; [0035]). Skoulidas further discloses the fuel and oxidant pass through the recuperation zone as they travel from the regeneration end of the reactor toward the reaction zone [0021]. Skoulidas further discloses reforming hydrocarbons in the reverse flow reactor [0021]. Skoulidas further discloses the bed and/or monoliths in the reforming portion (reforming portion meets the limitation of a reforming zone) of the reactor can include a catalyst for reforming [0022], wherein honeycomb monoliths can be extruded structures that comprise small gas flow passages or conduits, arranged in parallel fashion with thin walls in between [0065], such that the reforming input flow of Skoulidas is passed into a plurality of reforming flow channels in a reforming zone of the reactor volume, and the reforming channels comprise a reforming catalyst in the reforming zone. Skoulidas further discloses the reactants for reforming flow in effectively the opposite direction relative to the flow during regeneration [0022].
Skoulidas further discloses a peak temperature within the reforming zone of 800°C to 1500°C [0039]. Skoulidas further discloses reacting the fuel mixture under combustion conditions in the recuperation zone to form a flue gas [0078], wherein the flue gas comprises a temperature of 420°C or more [0089], resulting in a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at the end of the recuperator zone by 1080°C or less, which overlaps the claimed range of 50°C or more such that the range taught by Skoulidas obviates the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Skoulidas further discloses by delaying combustion during regeneration until the reactants reach a central portion of the reactor, the non-reforming end of the reactor can be maintained at a cooler temperature [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein a peak temperature in the reforming flow channels is greater than a temperature in the reforming flow channels at an end of the recuperator zone by 50°C or more in order to maintain the non-reforming end of the reactor at a cooler temperature, as recognized by Skoulidas [0035].
Regarding Claim 4, Naito discloses hydrocarbons and steam are introduced into each endothermic reaction vessel 10 packed with a steam reforming catalyst bed 54 (Col. 8, line 65-Col. 9, line 4), wherein the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66). Two or more reaction vessels 10 meets the limitation of a plurality of reforming flow channels. Naito further discloses a steam reforming catalyst bed (Col. 9, line 2).
Naito is silent to the plurality of reforming flow channels comprising a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths.
Skoulidas discloses a bed and/or monoliths in the reforming zone of the reactor, which can include a catalyst for reforming [0022], wherein honeycomb monoliths can be extruded structures that comprise many (e.g., a plurality, meaning more than one) small gas flow passages or conduits, arranged in parallel fashion with thin walls in between [0065], such that the reforming input flow of Skoulidas is passed into a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths. Skoulidas further discloses monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein the plurality of reforming flow channels comprises a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths, because monoliths are attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop, as recognized by Skoulidas [0065].
Regarding Claim 5, Naito discloses the mixing chamber 18 is within the heat generation units 12 (Fig. 1A), wherein the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 (heat generation units meet the limitation of heating flow channels) at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), such that the fuel and oxygen-containing gas are mixed in one or more heating flow channels. Naito further discloses combustion catalyst beds 26 (Col. 5, line 39).
Naito is silent to the one or more heating flow channels comprise a plurality of channels in the one or more monoliths.
Skoulidas discloses the fuel and oxidant pass through the recuperation zone as they travel from the regeneration end of the reactor toward the reaction zone, and the bed and/or monoliths in the recuperation zone of the reactor can absorb heat [0021], wherein honeycomb monoliths can be extruded structures that comprise many (e.g., a plurality, meaning more than one) small gas flow passages or conduits, arranged in parallel fashion with thin walls in between [0065], such that the fuel and oxidant of Skoulidas are passed into a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths. Skoulidas further discloses monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein the one or more heating flow channels comprise a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths, because monoliths are attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop, as recognized by Skoulidas [0065].
Regarding Claim 6, Naito discloses an apparatus comprising two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), such that the reacting takes place in one or more heating flow channels, and the one or more hating flow channels (heat generation units 12) are arranged around the plurality of reforming flow channels (reaction vessel 10), and the reforming zone of Naito comprises a plurality of reforming flow channels and a plurality of heating flow channels. Naito further discloses combustion catalyst beds 26 (Col. 5, line 39) and a steam reforming catalyst bed (Col. 9, line 2).
Skoulidas discloses a bed and/or monoliths in the reforming zone of the reactor, which can include a catalyst for reforming [0022], wherein honeycomb monoliths can be extruded structures that comprise many (e.g., a plurality, meaning more than one) small gas flow passages or conduits, arranged in parallel fashion with thin walls in between [0065], such that the reforming input flow of Skoulidas is passed into a plurality of channels in one or more monoliths. Skoulidas further discloses monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas to utilize monoliths in place of catalyst beds, such that the reforming zone comprises a plurality of first monoliths and a plurality of second monoliths, the plurality of first monoliths comprising the plurality of reforming flow channels, the plurality of second monoliths comprising the plurality of heating flow channels, because Naito teaches a reforming zone comprising a plurality of reforming flow channels and a plurality of heating flow channels, and monoliths are attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop, as recognized by Skoulidas [0065].
Regarding Claim 8, Naito discloses the apparatus may comprise two heat generation units 12 at the opposite lateral ends thereof, two or more reaction vessels 10 and additional heat generation units 12 alternately arranged between the reaction vessels 10 (Col. 3, lines 59-66), wherein the two or more reaction vessels meet the limitation wherein the plurality of reforming flow channels comprise a plurality of tubes.
Naito is silent to the plurality of tubes comprising a plurality of monoliths contained within the plurality of tubes.
Skoulidas discloses the reforming portion of the reactor comprising monoliths [0022], such that a plurality of monoliths is contained in the reactor. Skoulidas further discloses monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein the plurality of tubes comprising a plurality of monoliths contained within the plurality of tubes, because using a plurality of monoliths in the reforming zone is a process parameter well-known in the art of counter-current reforming, and monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop, as recognized by Skoulidas [0065].
Regarding Claim 12, Naito is silent to the fuel flow path and the oxidant flow path comprising channels in one or more recuperator monoliths.
Skoulidas discloses the fuel and oxidant pass through the recuperation zone as they travel from the regeneration end of the reactor toward the reaction zone, and the bed and/or monoliths in the recuperation zone of the reactor can absorb heat [0021], such that the fuel and oxidant passing through the recuperation zone would necessarily pass through the monoliths of the recuperation zone, meeting the limitation wherein the fuel flow path and the oxidant flow path comprise channels in one or more recuperator monoliths. Skoulidas further discloses monoliths can be attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Skoulidas wherein the fuel flow path and the oxidant flow path comprise channels in one or more recuperator monoliths, because monoliths are attractive as reactor internal structures because they provide high heat transfer capacity with minimum pressure drop, as recognized by Skoulidas [0065].
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US 4,714,593) in view of Trainer (US 2020/0307997).
Regarding Claim 15, Naito teaches the elements as described above with regards to claim 1.
Naito discloses oxidation combustion of the fuel gas (Col. 14, lines 19-21).
Naito is silent to partial oxidation of the fuel, and the oxidized product comprising CO, CO2, and H2O.
Naito, however, does not require complete oxidation of the fuel, as Naito discloses an excess of oxygen is generally supplied, based on the primary fuel gas, to form a fuel-air mixture (Col. 7, lines 10-11).
Trainer discloses reforming or partial oxidation of hydrocarbons (hydrocarbons meets the limitation of fuel) in order to obtain a synthesis gas containing at least hydrogen, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, steam, etc. [0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Trainer, wherein the reacting comprises partial oxidation of the fuel, the oxidized product comprising CO, CO2, and H2O, because Naito teaches oxidation combustion of the fuel gas (Col. 14, lines 19-21), and complete oxidation is not required by Naito (Col. 7, lines 10-11).
Regarding Claim 16, Naito discloses oxidation combustion of the fuel gas (Col. 14, lines 19-21). Naito further discloses the combustion reaction of the gaseous fuel-air mixture takes place in catalyst bed 26 and combustion chamber 30 of heat generation units 12, thereby generating heat (Col. 5, lines 43-65; Fig. 1A), such that Naito meets the limitation of exposing at least a portion of the fuel in the heating flow channels to a second catalyst within the heating flow channels.
Naito is silent to reforming at least a portion of the fuel by exposing at least a portion of the fuel in the heating flow channels to a second reforming catalyst within the heating flow channels.
Trainer discloses reforming or partial oxidation of hydrocarbons (hydrocarbons meets the limitation of fuel) in order to obtain a synthesis gas containing at least hydrogen, carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, steam, etc. [0014], wherein reformer tubes are filled with catalysts [0075].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Naito to incorporate the teachings of Trainer to reform at least a portion of the fuel by exposing at least a portion of the fuel in the heating flow channels to a second reforming catalyst within the heating flow channels, because Naito discloses oxidation combustion of the fuel gas (Col. 14, lines 19-21), and both oxidation and reforming of hydrocarbons are produce an oxidized product comprising CO, CO2, H2O, and H2, as recognized by Trainer [0014].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US 4,714,593) in view of Trainer (US 2020/0307997) and Oku (US 2002/0011152).
Regarding Claim 17, Naito and Trainer teach the elements as described above with regards to claim 16.
Naito discloses hydrocarbons and steam are introduced into each endothermic reaction vessel 10 packed with a steam reforming catalyst bed 54 (Col. 8, line 65-Col. 9, line 4), and a combustion reaction of the gaseous fuel-air mixture in catalyst bed 26 and combustion chamber 30 of heat generation units 12 (Col. 5, lines 43-65; Fig. 1A), such that Naito teaches the presence of a catalyst in the heating flow channels and the reforming flow channels.
Naito is silent to a total weight of the second reforming catalyst in the heating flow channels is 25% or less of a total weight of the reforming catalyst in the reforming flow channels.
Oku discloses a method for decomposing (reforming) hydrocarbons in a gas reforming plant comprising a large amount of catalyst for gas reforming to enhance the efficiency of the hydrocarbon decomposing (reforming) reaction [0038].
As the efficiency of the hydrocarbon reforming reaction is a variable that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amount of catalyst, the precise amount would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of reforming catalyst in the reforming flow channels to obtain the desired efficiency of the hydrocarbon reforming reaction, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/S.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1735
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735