DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are pending in this office action. Claims 3 and 10 stand canceled. Claims 26-27 have been newly added.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/16/2025, have been fully considered.
Priority
No foreign priority is claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/16/2025, have been fully considered wherein the applicant presents arguments regarding the presence or absence of claimed limitations in the prior art. The arguments are moot in view of new grounds of rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-18, 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Snellman et al. (US 2021/0209077 A1, Snellman hereinafter).
For claim 1, Snellman teaches a processor-implemented method, the method comprising: identifying two or more users (Abstract; para 0006, 0008, 0035 - plurality of system or application users);
identifying one or more data regulation requirements (para 0006-0007, 0010-0011, 0063 - data policy as data regulation requirement);
determining a set of data rules from the one or more data regulation requirements (Abstract; para 0054, 0063 - rules associated with regulation requirements);
identifying a data set (Abstract; para 0011, 0054 - identifying data for accessing);
determining, in response to a request for a subset of data from the data set, an access state to the subset of data for a user from the two or more users based on one or more data rules from the set of data rules (para 0009, 0011, 0040, 0288, 0304 - accessing data subset from the data set with rules pertaining to access regulations or permissions associated with users); and
generating filtered data based on the subset of data according to the determined access state (Abstract; para 0079, 0290, 0304, 0343, 0345 - permission state determining access state and determining filtered/masked data based on regulatory rules associated with permission levels).
For claim 2, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches providing the filtered data to the user from the two or more users (Abstract; para 0290, 0304, 0343, 0345).
For claim 4, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches identifying a change in at least one data regulation requirement, wherein a change may include introduction of a new data regulation requirement or removal of an existing data regulation requirement; and modifying at least one data rule based on the change (para 0308-0310, 0351, 0355 - policy or data regulation update, and application-level user rules are specified to be applied based on the policy update).
For claim 6, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches preparing evidence of authenticity of the filtered data (para 0063, 0079, 0111, 0115, 0245 - data validator, authenticity and utilizing mechanisms such as hash comparison for data integrity or correctness).
For claim 7, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches wherein the data regulation requirements include at least one agreement between at least two of the two or more users (para 0080, 0115, 0117, 0155 - consensus or agreement among parties with regards to regulations rules or permissions).
As to claim 8, the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 1, except claim 8 is drawn to a computer system, the computer system comprising: one or more processors, one or more computer-readable memories, one or more computer-readable tangible storage media, and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage media for execution by at least one of the one or more processors via at least one of the one or more memories (Snellman - Fig. 1, 15; para 0013, 0098, 0365-0366), wherein the computer system is capable of performing the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 8 is rejected according to claim 1.
As to claims 9, 11, 13-14, the claim limitations are similar to those of claims 2, 4, 6-7 respectively. Therefore claims 9, 11, 13-14 are rejected according to claims 2, 4, 6-7 respectively as above.
As to claim 15, the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 1, except claim 15 is drawn to a computer program product, the computer program product comprising: one or more computer-readable tangible storage media and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage media (Snellman - Fig. 1, 15; para 0013, 0098, 0365-0366), the program instructions executable by a processor capable of performing the method of claim 1. Therefore claim 15 is rejected according to claim 1.
As to claims 16, 18, 20-21, the claim limitations are similar to those of claims 2, 4, 6-7 respectively. Therefore claims 16, 18, 20-21 are rejected according to claims 2, 4, 6-7 respectively as above.
For claim 17, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches preparing documentation of the generating (para 0220, 0271, 0278, 0280, 0290, 0352 - instructions based on comments (documented) pertaining to processing of the rules and generation of modified or filtered data, and also creating logs or audit logs pertaining to data modifications).
For claim 22, Snellman teaches a processor-implemented method, the method comprising: identifying one or more data regulation requirements (para 0006-0007, 0010-0011, 0063 - data policy as data regulation requirement);
determining a set of data rules from the one or more data regulation requirements (Abstract; para 0054, 0063 - rules associated with regulation requirements);
identifying a data set (Abstract; para 0011, 0054 - identifying data for accessing);
determining, based on one or more data rules from the set of data rules, an access state to a subset of data from the identified data set (para 0009, 0011, 0040, 0288, 0304 - accessing data subset from the data set with rules pertaining to access regulations or permissions associated with users); and
generating filtered data according to the determined access state (Abstract; para 0079, 0290, 0304, 0343, 0345 - permission state determining access state and determining filtered/masked data based on regulatory rules associated with permission levels);
preparing documentation of the generating (para 0220, 0278, 0280, 0290, 0352 - instructions based on comments (documented) pertaining to processing of the rules and generation of modified or filtered data, and also creating logs or audit logs pertaining to data modifications).
For claim 23, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches wherein the preparing includes identifying the underlying data regulation requirements that led to the data rules that in turn led to the determined access state (para 0205-0206, 0288-0290, 0351--0352 - rules based on policies, maintained by security driver, and providing comments, creating logs etc. as part of tracking applied policies/rules by security driver).
As to claim 24, the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 22, except claim 24 is drawn to a computer program product, the computer program product comprising: one or more computer-readable tangible storage media and program instructions stored on at least one of the one or more tangible storage media (Snellman - Fig. 1, 15; para 0013, 0098, 0365-0366), the program instructions executable by a processor capable of performing the method of claim 22. Therefore claim 24 is rejected according to claim 22.
As to claims 25, the claim limitations are similar to those of claim 23. Therefore claim 25 is rejected according to claim 23 as above.
For claim 26, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above. Snellman further teaches wherein determining the access state to the subset of data for the user is completed by a trained machine learning model based on a description of the subset of data (para 0236 - risk metrics based on access requests for entities, applications, devices etc., based on historical log events, to predict the likelihood of various types of access requests such as to particular units of content or data sets, types of data, amounts and frequencies of access requests etc. and predicting using the trained model, maliciousness and thus the access state of the request).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Snellman et al. (US 2021/0209077 A1, Snellman hereinafter), in view of Roth et al. (US SG 10201803844T A, Roth hereinafter).
For claims 5, 12 and 19, Snellman teaches the claimed subject matter as discussed above in claim 4. Snellman further teaches location-based rules wherein the requested data undergoes restriction or processing based on location of the requested object (para 0054). Snellman does not appear to explicitly disclose, however Roth discloses wherein the change is based on a change in a location of the identified data (para 0020, 0025, 0042, 0072, 0082, 0089, 0091 - policy generations/modifications associated with jurisdiction regulations and enforcement of data compliance). Based on Snellman in view of Roth, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to utilize teachings of Roth in the system of Snellman, in order to apply additional entity or data security mechanisms including criteria such as location or jurisdiction area-based conditions to enforce security features, thereby improving security robustness of Snellman’s system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 27 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim and parent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in addition to overcoming the above-mentioned objections/rejections associated with their parent claims.
Conclusion
/JAYESH M JHAVERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433