Response to Arguments
Regarding First Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that the technical features of independent claims overcome previous 101 rejection
Examiner has reviewed claim language, specification and agrees with Applicant assertion. The language of independent claim 1 and the specification set forth a technical improvement to computer functionality that comprises a complete technical solution. As such, the previous 101 rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding Second Argument:
Applicant argues in substance that amended independent claims overcome previous 102(a)(1) rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant argues that He does not disclose monitoring the WUS signal in a first time period, where the first time period is a skipped PDCCH monitoring period. He shows that a DRX occasion can be skipped, He also states that a DRX occasion and a PDCCH monitoring period are the same and also discloses that a WUS may be monitored before a next DRX cycle. One of ordinary skill in the art would see this as reading on the claim language as currently written. For at least these reasons, the rejection is proper and thus maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by He (US 20190254110 A1) hereafter He.
Regarding Claim 1:
He discloses:
A transmission processing method,([Abstract] A method) comprising: acquiring, by a terminal, configuration information of a wake-up signal; and monitoring, by the terminal, the wake-up signal based on the configuration information within a first time period, wherein the first time period is a time period in which first-physical-downlink-control-channel (PDCCH) monitoring is skipped; ([Abstract] reduce power consumption in response to an outcome of a signal reception. The outcome can indicate whether or not the UE needs to be active at a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The signal can also provide configurations of parameters for transmissions or receptions during the next DRX cycle and be used by the UE for measurements and to obtain channel state information. [¶0010] configure the receiver to receive on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle based on determination of a first outcome for whether the receiver received the signal; and configure the receiver to skip reception on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next DRX cycle based on determination of a second outcome for whether the receiver received the signal. [¶0106] UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. In LTE, power saving schemes include a network separately configuring a UE with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for idle and connected mode operation. The UE wakes up in each configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication in idle mode or to decode PDCCH candidates in order to detect potential DL/UL DCI formats in connected mode.) wherein the configuration information of the wake-up signal comprises at least one of the following: wake-up signal type; transmission configuration of the wake-up signal; monitoring start time point of the wake-up signal; monitoring duration of the wake-up signal; monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal; or monitoring period of the wake-up signal. ([¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling such as, for example, CCE aggregation levels and candidates per CCE aggregation level, to dynamically control a number of PDCCH decoding operations a UE needs to perform in the following DRX cycle. [¶0189] A WUS can provide some or all of the above information as described in the following. In one example, a DCI format providing a WUS includes only one type of additional information. One flag field that includes one or more bits in the DCI format can be used to indicate the type of additional information that is contained in the DCI format. For example, a value 0 of a flag field can indicate transmission types, a value of 1 can indicate DRX parameters, a value of 2 can indicate a BWP, and a value of 3 can indicate other information. [¶0190] A CSI-RS can also be used as a WUS when the WUS provides only a few bits of information such as 1 bit for indicating whether or not the UE wakes up in the next DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 2:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring start time point is associated with at least one of the following: quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet; jitter range of service packet; or DRX on duration start position; or wherein the monitoring duration is associated with at least one of the following: jitter range of service packet; positive jitter range of service packet; or negative jitter range of service packet. ([¶0298] WUS can be used to initiate aperiodic/periodic beam management that is configured to be completed before the next DRX cycle starts.)
Regarding Claim 3:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
further comprising: performing a downlink channel monitoring operation in a case that the terminal has detected the wake-up signal. ([¶0143] A positive WUS detection indicates to the UE to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message in the next paging DRX cycle as shown in the first paging DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 4:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the performing a downlink channel monitoring operation comprises at least one of the following: monitoring a second PDCCH; or monitoring a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). ([¶0143] A positive WUS detection indicates to the UE to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message in the next paging DRX cycle as shown in the first paging DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 5:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring a second PDCCH comprises at least one of the following: starting a DRX on duration timer or a DRX inactivity timer; starting a DRX onduration timer, and adjusting a start time point of the DRX onduration timer based on the monitored wake-up signal. ([¶0037] FIG. 21 illustrates a flow chart of a method for interactions among WUS, BWP inactivity timer, and DRX inactivity timer according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [¶0136] The UE switches to a default DL BWP when the timer expires. [¶0211] The UE may restart the inactivity timer following a DCI format detection only for a first/initial transmission of a transport block [¶0212] The UE restarts the BWP inactivity timer upon a successful PDCCH decoding [¶0209] BWP inactivity timer stops in step 2114, and the UE performs WUS detection in the default BWP )
Regarding Claim 6:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring a PDSCH comprises: receiving a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) PDSCH. ([¶0253] A value of the counter DAI field in DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 denotes the accumulative number of {BWP per serving cell, PDCCH monitoring occasion}-pair(s) in which PDSCH reception(s) associated with DCI format 1_0 or DCI format 1_1 or DCI format 1_0 indicating downlink SPS release is present,)
Regarding Claim 8:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the first time period comprises at least one of the following: discontinuous reception (DRX) outside active time; DCI-indicated period in which the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped; active time of dormant bandwidth part (BWP); or active time of dormant search space group, wherein within the active time of dormant search space group, the first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped. ([¶0211] When DRX is configured to a UE, the UE does not have to continuously monitor PDCCH. DRX is characterized by an on-duration that is the duration that the UE waits for, after waking up, to detect a DCI format before going back to sleep mode. If the UE detects a DCI format, the UE stays awake and starts the inactivity timer. The inactivity-timer determines a duration that the UE waits to detect a DCI format, after a last DCI format detection, and if the UE does not detect a DCI format before the inactivity timer expires, the UE can go back to sleep.)
Regarding Claim 9:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring period is associated with at least one of the following: DRX cycle; or quasi-period of service packet. ([¶0211] When DRX is configured to a UE, the UE does not have to continuously monitor PDCCH. DRX is characterized by an on-duration that is the duration that the UE waits for, after waking up, to detect a DCI format before going back to sleep mode. If the UE detects a DCI format, the UE stays awake and starts the inactivity timer. The inactivity-timer determines a duration that the UE waits to detect a DCI format, after a last DCI format detection, and if the UE does not detect a DCI format before the inactivity timer expires, the UE can go back to sleep.)
Regarding Claim 10:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the performing a downlink channel monitoring operation in a case that the terminal has detected the wake-up signal comprises: performing the downlink channel monitoring operation at a first time point after the terminal has detected the wake-up signal, wherein a time interval between the first time point and a time point at which the wake-up signal has been detected is configured or defined. ([¶0171] If a PDCCH conveying a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message has a one-to-one association with a PDSCH providing an SIB, a PDCCH conveying a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH for a SIB reception, or a SS/BPCH block, one WUS for one paging occasion can be configured. If a PDCCH conveying a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message has a many-to-one association with a PDCCH conveying a DCI format scheduling a SIB reception, or a SS/PBCH block, one WUS for multiple paging occasions can be configured. [¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling such as, for example, CCE aggregation levels and candidates per CCE aggregation level, to dynamically control a number of PDCCH decoding operations a UE needs to perform in the following DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 11:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein that the wake-up signal has been detected comprises: the wake-up signal has been detected; or that the wake-up signal indicates wakeup has been detected; wherein that the wake-up signal has been detected comprises: matching a currently detected signal sequence against a wake-up signal sequence, and determining that the wake-up signal has been detected after the matching has succeeded; or comparing signal strength of a currently detected signal with a preset detecting threshold, and determining that the wake-up signal has been detected in a case that the signal strength of the currently detected signal is greater than or equal to the preset detecting threshold; wherein the preset detecting threshold is associated with the wake-up signal type. ([¶0143] FIG. 11 shows an exemplary WUS operation for the NR idle and inactive modes. Before WUS detection, a UE wakes up to perform re-synchronization. If the UE is to be paged in the next paging DRX cycle, a correct WUS detection may be positive. A positive WUS detection indicates to the UE to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message in the next paging DRX cycle as shown in the first paging DRX cycle. Otherwise, if the UE is to not be paged in the next paging cycle, the correct WUS detection may be negative and the UE can go back to a sleep mode as shown in the second paging DRX cycle. In the first paging DRX cycle, the UE needs to perform WUS detection in addition to PDCCH monitoring for detecting a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message. In the second DRX cycle, the UE can avoid monitoring PDCCH. If the paging rate is low and WUS detection requires much less UE power consumption than monitoring PDCCH, the overall effect would be lower UE power consumption compared to the case without a WUS.)
Regarding Claim 12:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein a wake-up signal carries indication information associated with the downlink channel monitoring operation; and the performing a downlink channel monitoring operation comprises: performing, by the terminal, the downlink channel monitoring operation based on the indication information. ([¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling such as, for example, CCE aggregation levels and candidates per CCE aggregation level, to dynamically control a number of PDCCH decoding operations a UE needs to perform in the following DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 13:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
further comprising: in a case that the wake-up signal has not been detected within N consecutive monitoring occasions, stopping, by the terminal, subsequent wake-up signal monitoring, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1. ([¶0167] each WUS in a MIB of a PBCH indicates all paging occasions associated with all PBCH transmissions in each MIB modification period. Since more UEs are indicated by each WUS, a probability that a UE is indicated a paging message reception without the paging message actually addressing the UE increases. Also, the UE needs to receive PBCH in order to obtain a corresponding MIB in every DRX cycle in order to determine if the UE needs to decode PDCCH conveying a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message at the paging occasion.)
Regarding Claim 14:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
further comprising: skipping, by the terminal, monitoring the wake-up signal within a second time period, wherein the second time period comprises at least one of the following: DRX active time; first-PDCCH monitoring period; active time of non-dormant BWP; or active time of non-dormant search space group. ([Abstract] The outcome can indicate whether or not the UE needs to be active at a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. [¶0108] switching for a UE where an active BWP for a UE is switched to a smaller BWP for PDCCH monitoring when there is temporarily no PDSCH transmission to or PUSCH transmission from a UE.)
Regarding Claim 15:
He discloses:
A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: ([¶0010] a user equipment (UE) is provided. The UE includes a receiver and a processor operably connected to the receiver. [¶0072] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process.[¶0074] The memory 230 is coupled to the controller/processor 225. Part of the memory 230 could include a RAM, and another part of the memory 230 could include a Flash memory or other ROM.) acquiring configuration information of a wake-up signal; and monitoring, by the terminal, the wake-up signal based on the configuration information within a first time period, wherein the first time period is a time period in which first-physical-downlink-control-channel (PDCCH) monitoring is skipped; ([Abstract] reduce power consumption in response to an outcome of a signal reception. The outcome can indicate whether or not the UE needs to be active at a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The signal can also provide configurations of parameters for transmissions or receptions during the next DRX cycle and be used by the UE for measurements and to obtain channel state information. [¶0010] configure the receiver to receive on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle based on determination of a first outcome for whether the receiver received the signal; and configure the receiver to skip reception on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next DRX cycle based on determination of a second outcome for whether the receiver received the signal. [¶0106] UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. In LTE, power saving schemes include a network separately configuring a UE with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for idle and connected mode operation. The UE wakes up in each configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication in idle mode or to decode PDCCH candidates in order to detect potential DL/UL DCI formats in connected mode.) wherein the configuration information of the wake-up signal comprises at least one of the following: wake-up signal type; transmission configuration of the wake-up signal; monitoring start time point of the wake-up signal; monitoring duration of the wake-up signal; monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal; or monitoring period of the wake-up signal. ([¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling such as, for example, CCE aggregation levels and candidates per CCE aggregation level, to dynamically control a number of PDCCH decoding operations a UE needs to perform in the following DRX cycle. [¶0189] A WUS can provide some or all of the above information as described in the following. In one example, a DCI format providing a WUS includes only one type of additional information. One flag field that includes one or more bits in the DCI format can be used to indicate the type of additional information that is contained in the DCI format. For example, a value 0 of a flag field can indicate transmission types, a value of 1 can indicate DRX parameters, a value of 2 can indicate a BWP, and a value of 3 can indicate other information. [¶0190] A CSI-RS can also be used as a WUS when the WUS provides only a few bits of information such as 1 bit for indicating whether or not the UE wakes up in the next DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 16:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring start time point is associated with at least one of the following: quasi-periodic arrival position of service packet; jitter range of service packet; or DRX on duration start position; or wherein the monitoring duration is associated with at least one of the following: jitter range of service packet; positive jitter range of service packet; or negative jitter range of service packet. ([¶0298] WUS can be used to initiate aperiodic/periodic beam management that is configured to be completed before the next DRX cycle starts.)
Regarding Claim 17:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the following steps are further implemented: performing a downlink channel monitoring operation in a case that the terminal has detected the wake-up signal. ([¶0143] A positive WUS detection indicates to the UE to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message in the next paging DRX cycle as shown in the first paging DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 18:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the performing a downlink channel monitoring operation comprises at least one of the following: monitoring a second PDCCH; or monitoring a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). ([¶0143] A positive WUS detection indicates to the UE to monitor PDCCH for a DCI format scheduling a PDSCH with a paging message in the next paging DRX cycle as shown in the first paging DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 19:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the monitoring a second PDCCH comprises at least one of the following: starting a DRX on duration timer or a DRX inactivity timer; starting a DRX onduration timer, and adjusting a start time point of the DRX onduration timer based on the monitored wake-up signal. ([¶0037] FIG. 21 illustrates a flow chart of a method for interactions among WUS, BWP inactivity timer, and DRX inactivity timer according to embodiments of the present disclosure; [¶0136] The UE switches to a default DL BWP when the timer expires. [¶0211] The UE may restart the inactivity timer following a DCI format detection only for a first/initial transmission of a transport block [¶0212] The UE restarts the BWP inactivity timer upon a successful PDCCH decoding [¶0209] BWP inactivity timer stops in step 2114, and the UE performs WUS detection in the default BWP )
Regarding Claim 20:
He discloses:
A network-side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the following steps are implemented: ([¶0068] the gNB 102 includes multiple antennas 205a-205n, multiple RF transceivers 210a-210n, transmit (TX) processing circuitry 215, and receive (RX) processing circuitry 220. The gNB 102 also includes a controller/processor 225, a memory 230, and a backhaul or network interface 235. [¶0072] The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS. The controller/processor 225 can move data into or out of the memory 230 as required by an executing process.) transmitting configuration information of a wake-up signal, wherein the configuration information is used for a terminal to monitor the wake-up signal within a first time period; the first time period is a time period in which first-PDCCH monitoring is skipped; ([Abstract] reduce power consumption in response to an outcome of a signal reception. The outcome can indicate whether or not the UE needs to be active at a next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle. The signal can also provide configurations of parameters for transmissions or receptions during the next DRX cycle and be used by the UE for measurements and to obtain channel state information. [¶0010] configure the receiver to receive on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle based on determination of a first outcome for whether the receiver received the signal; and configure the receiver to skip reception on each cell in the set of cells at a respective next DRX cycle based on determination of a second outcome for whether the receiver received the signal. [¶0106] UE data typically arrives in bursts and a UE may be in idle or inactive mode most of time. In LTE, power saving schemes include a network separately configuring a UE with a discontinuous reception (DRX) cycle for idle and connected mode operation. The UE wakes up in each configured DRX cycle to detect if there is a paging indication in idle mode or to decode PDCCH candidates in order to detect potential DL/UL DCI formats in connected mode.) and the configuration information of the wake-up signal comprises at least one of the following: wake-up signal type; transmission configuration of the wake-up signal; monitoring start time point of the wake-up signal; monitoring duration of the wake-up signal; monitoring occasion of the wake-up signal; or monitoring period of the wake-up signal. ([¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling such as, for example, CCE aggregation levels and candidates per CCE aggregation level, to dynamically control a number of PDCCH decoding operations a UE needs to perform in the following DRX cycle. [¶0189] A WUS can provide some or all of the above information as described in the following. In one example, a DCI format providing a WUS includes only one type of additional information. One flag field that includes one or more bits in the DCI format can be used to indicate the type of additional information that is contained in the DCI format. For example, a value 0 of a flag field can indicate transmission types, a value of 1 can indicate DRX parameters, a value of 2 can indicate a BWP, and a value of 3 can indicate other information. [¶0190] A CSI-RS can also be used as a WUS when the WUS provides only a few bits of information such as 1 bit for indicating whether or not the UE wakes up in the next DRX cycle.)
Regarding Claim 21:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the performing a downlink channel monitoring operation in a case that the terminal has detected the wake-up signal comprises: performing the downlink channel monitoring operation after a specific time interval in a case that the terminal has detected the wake-up signal. ([¶0140] In one example for a UE in the RRC_IDLE or RRC_INACTIVE state, a WUS can be provided by one or more of a SIB; a PDCCH that includes a DCI format scheduling a SIB; a SS/PBCH block; a CSI-RS; a new sequence. [¶0188] A WUS can also provide dynamic indication of DRX parameters, including the length of onDurationTimer, the drx-InactivityTimer, and the DRX cycle duration. A WUS can also provide information related to PDCCH monitoring for PDSCH or PUSCH scheduling [¶0278] A PDCCH conveying a DCI format that the UE detects on a scheduling cell, such as the PCell, and schedules PDSCH/PUSCH on a SCell can be used as a WUS for the SCell. No additional activation signal for the SCell is required. A bit field, such as a carrier indicator field (CIF) field, corresponding to the SCell in the DCI format is used to activate the SCell in a current DRX cycle. No cross-carrier scheduling is used because of large activation delay for SCells. If cross-carrier activation is supported in this case, candidate K2/K0 values in the DCI format 1_1 may be modified to not include small values in order to be able to support a large activation delay for the SCell. After the activation for the SCell by a DCI format on the scheduling cell, the UE can perform PDCCH monitoring on the SCell. If a dormant SCell state is introduced, cross-carrier scheduling can be used to activate a SCell as well as to schedule PDSCH/PUSCH on the SCell due to the smaller activation delay.)
Regarding Claim 22:
He discloses the limitations of parent claims.
He discloses:
wherein the transmission configuration of the wake-up signal comprises at least one of time-frequency resources occupied by the wake-up signal, transmission power of the wake-up signal, and a wake-up signal sequence; or wherein one or more monitoring occasions of the wake-up signal are present within the monitoring duration of the wake-up signal. ([¶0141] In one example for a UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state, a WUS can be provided by a CSI-RS or a PDCCH that includes a DCI format. The PDCCH DMRS or the DCI format or both can provide a WUS and the DCI format can provide configuration information for various parameters associated with the UE operation. A PDCCH providing a WUS can be in a same CORESET as a PDCCH for a UE-specific search space in a default DL BWP. A search space for PDCCH providing a WUS can be configured to a UE by higher layers. The DCI format conveyed by the PDCCH providing the WUS can include information such as transmission types for PDSCH/PUSCH or a BWP indicator for transmissions/receptions in the following DRX cycle. The information provided by the DCI format can be configured to a UE by higher layers A serving gNB (or eNB) can also configure a UE the WUS reception parameters.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463