DETAILED ACTION
Applicant has amended the title of the invention to overcome the objection to the specification provided in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/30/2026 with respect to claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 7 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Please refer to the following office action, which clearly sets forth the reasons for non-persuasiveness.
Applicant argues Kitagawa fails to teach wherein the support rib is disposed at a position spaced from an orbit of the instant film in a case where the instant film is transported while maintaining a planar state without being curved, and at a position where the support rib slides in a case where the instant film is curved due to an own weight.
Examiner notes Kitagawa clearly teaches wherein the support rib is disposed at a position spaced from an orbit of the instant film in a case where the instant film is transported while maintaining a planar state without being curved (figure 1 item 13; wherein the support rib is disposed at a position spaced from an orbit of the instant film in a case where the instant film is transported while maintaining a planar state without being curved when not touching to bend and/or door 11 opened), and at a position where the support rib slides in a case where the instant film is curved due to an own weight (figure 1 item 13, at a position where the support rib slides in a case where the instant film is curved due to an own weight when touching and inserted and door 11 closed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kitagawa (US PgPub No. 2002/0071668).
Regarding claim 1, Kitagawa teaches printer (figure 1 item 1; digital camera including a printer) comprising: a loading room into which an instant film pack is loaded (figure 1 item 10 camber into which item 9 film pack is loaded), the instant film pack including at least a plurality of instant films (figure 3 items 26, instant films) that each have a developer pod (figures 3 7A – 7C items 28 and 56, pod regions also paragraphs 0032 and 0050 - 0056) and a case that accommodates the instant films in a stacking manner (figure 1 item 9 and paragraphs 0027, 0030, 0032, and 0047) and that has a feeding port for feeding the instant film formed therein (figures 1 and 3, area near item 15); an exposure head that exposes an image to the instant film transported from the loading room (figures 3 and 5 item 23; exposure head); a transport roller that is disposed on a downstream side in a transport direction of the instant film with respect to the exposure head, the transport roller transporting the instant film discharged from the instant film pack to a further downstream side in the transport direction (figures 3, 5, and 7A – 7C item 36); a spreading roller that is disposed on the downstream side in the transport direction with respect to the transport roller, the spreading roller spreading a developer by crushing the developer pod in a state of pinching the instant film (figures 3, 5, and 7A – 7C items 30a – 30b; also paragraphs 0036); and a support rib that is provided between the loading room and the exposure head in the transport direction, the support rib supporting the instant film from a side facing the exposure head (figure 1 and 3 item 13); wherein the support rib is disposed at a position spaced from an orbit of the instant film in a case where the instant film is transported while maintaining a planar state without being curved (figure 1 item 13; wherein the support rib is disposed at a position spaced from an orbit of the instant film in a case where the instant film is transported while maintaining a planar state without being curved when not touching to bend and/or door 11 opened), and at a position where the support rib slides in a case where the instant film is curved due to an own weight (figure 1 item 13, at a position where the support rib slides in a case where the instant film is curved due to an own weight when touching and inserted and door 11 closed).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Kitagawa teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Kitagawa teaches wherein a plurality of the support ribs are provided in a width direction orthogonal to the transport direction, each of the support ribs includes a sliding surface that slides on one surface of the instant film, and the sliding surface is formed in a curved shape (figure 5 items 46 and 47 and 35).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Kitagawa teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Kitagawa teaches wherein the support rib is formed integrally with a support member that protrudes from the exposure head toward the instant film, and the support member is fixed to the exposure head (figures 1 and 3 item 13 pushes item 32 towards item 26).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Kitagawa teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Kitagawa teaches wherein the loading room is formed in a box shape of which one surface is opened (figure 1 item 10 camber box shaped, into which item 9 film pack is loaded), a loading lid that covers the opened surface of the loading room is provided (figures 1 and 3 item 11, lid), a film holding portion is provided in the loading lid, the film holding portion pressing a film press plate stored in the case, and the film holding portion includes a pressing member that touches the film press plate and a biasing member that biases the pressing member (figure 3 plurality of items 13 with plurality of items 32 -34 including a film holding portion is provided in the loading lid (figure 3 i.e. plurality of items 13), the film holding portion pressing a film press plate stored in the case, and the film holding portion includes a pressing member that touches the film press plate and a biasing member that biases the pressing member (figure 3 i.e. plurality of items 32 -34)), and a plurality of the film holding portions are provided in the transport direction and a width direction orthogonal to the transport direction in the loading lid (figure 3 plurality of items 13 with plurality of items 32 - 34).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 5, Kitagawa teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Kitagawa teaches wherein the biasing member is a spring member, and the spring member has a spring constant different for each film holding portion (figure 3 items 13 each including springs).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Kitagawa teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Kitagawa teaches a digital camera including a printer (paragraphs 0025 – 0026, figure 1 digital instant camera 1 including a printer) comprising; the printer according to claim 1 (please see claim 1 above); and an imaging unit that includes an imaging optical system (paragraphs 0025 and 0038; digital instant camera 1 comprises an imaging unit in which a CCD image sensor is disposed behind a taking lens), and images a subject image to output image data to the printer (paragraph, 0029, a subject image taken; figure 2 items from item 39 going to item 23, also abstract and paragraph 0048 – 0049 printing).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mizuno (US PgPub No. 2003/0165338) teaches a camera system with film and internal components.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
02/12/2026