Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacot et al. (USPGPUB 20220028106) “Jacot”, in view of David et al. (USPGPUB 20220341892) “David”.
Regarding claim 1, Jacot discloses a detection device (100) adapted to determine welding quality, comprising: a housing (112); a moving assembly (114) arranged on the housing (112) and movable vertically relative to the housing (112); and a contact probe (122) adapted to push the moving assembly (114) to move a movement distance in the vertical direction ([0073]).
Jacot does not disclose a mounting bracket, nor a rotating assembly, including: a rotating member rotatably connected to the mounting bracket; adapted to slidingly contact and push a second component welded on a first component.
David teaches a mounting bracket (Fig. 9; 20) and a rotating assembly (1), including: a rotating member (1) rotatably connected to the mounting bracket (20); adapted to slidingly contact and push a second component welded on a first component ([0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s mounting bracket and rotating assembly in Jacot’s detection device to apply a known technique for reducing friction during contact-based inspection. David’s mounting bracket and rotating assembly allows Jacot’s contact probe to slide smoothly over welds, improving measurement accuracy and ensuring the inspection result is reliable.
Regarding claim 2, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 1.
Jacot further discloses the contact probe (122).
As mentioned above, Jacot does not disclose the rotating assembly.
David teaches the rotating assembly has a rotating member including: a first rotating arm (2402) having a first end; and a second rotating arm (2404) having a first end connected to a second end of the first rotating arm (2402), wherein: a connecting part between the first rotating arm (2402) and the second rotating arm (2404) is rotatably connected to the mounting bracket (20) such that the first rotating arm (2402) and the second rotating arm (2404) are rotatable around a horizontal axis extending along a first horizontal direction (Fig. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to fix Jacot’s contact probe to the second end of David’s second rotating arm, allowing smooth and consistent contact of Jacot’s contact sensor with welded surfaces and improving inspection accuracy.
Regarding claim 3, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 2. Jacot further discloses that during operation, the detection device (100) moves in a second horizontal direction (F3), and the contact probe (122) is adapted to slide in contact with the second component (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Jacot’s detection device move in a second horizontal direction perpendicular to David’s first horizontal direction, enabling full weld coverage for more accurate defect detection.
Regarding claim 4, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 3. Jacot further discloses when the welding quality of the inspected second component (50) is qualified, the contact probe (122) slides along the outer surface of the second component (50) and drives the moving assembly (114) to move a predetermined distance in the vertical direction (F1).
Jacot does not disclose the first or second rotating arm.
David teaches the first rotating arm (2402) and the second rotating arm (2404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to drive Jacot’s moving assembly a predetermined vertical distance through David’s first and second rotating arm, enabling precise and multi-directional weld inspection.
Regarding claim 5, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 4.
Jacot does not disclose when the welding quality of the inspected second component is unqualified, the second component will detach from the first component, resulting in the movement distance of the moving assembly along the vertical direction being less than the predetermined distance.
David teaches when the welding quality of the inspected second component is unqualified, the second component will detach from the first component (not shown), resulting in the movement distance of the moving assembly along the vertical direction being less than the predetermined distance ([0173] and [0229]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s predetermined vertical distance and vertical measurements in Jacot’s detection device to more accurately determine faulty welds.
Regarding claim 6, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 2. Jacot further discloses the moving assembly (114) includes: a moving rod (143) slidably arranged in a mounting hole (not shown) of the housing (112).
Jacot does not disclose a moving block movably connected the first end of the first rotating arm.
David teaches a moving block (2630) movably connected the first end of the first rotating arm (2402).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s moving block with Jacot’s moving assembly and moving rod, allowing more precise and controlled inspection.
Regarding claim 7, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 6.
Jacot does not disclose a sliding slot extending horizontally is formed in the moving block, the rotating assembly including a roller installed in the sliding slot in a rolling manner; and the roller is rotatably connected to the first end of the first rotating arm such that the first rotating arm is movable along the sliding slot relative to the moving block.
David teaches a sliding slot (2630) extending horizontally is formed in the moving block (2630), the rotating assembly including a roller (2406) installed in the sliding slot in a rolling manner; and the roller is rotatably connected to the first end of the first rotating arm (2402) such that the first rotating arm is movable along the sliding slot relative to the moving block (2630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s moving block with sliding slot with Jacot’s detection device, allowing more precise and controlled inspection.
Regarding claim 8, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 6.
Jacot does not disclose a sliding slot extending horizontally is formed in the moving block, and the rotating assembly includes a slider that is slidably installed in the sliding slot.
David teaches a sliding slot extending horizontally is formed in the moving block (2630), and the rotating assembly (1) includes a slider (2402) that is slidably installed in the sliding slot (2630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s rotating assembly with slider with Jacot’s detection device, allowing more precise and controlled weld inspection.
Regarding claim 9, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 8
Jacot does not disclose the slider is rotatably connected to the first end of the first rotating arm such that the first rotating arm is movable along the sliding slot relative to the moving block.
David teaches the slider (2402) is rotatably connected to the first end of the first rotating arm (2402) such that the first rotating arm is movable along the sliding slot (2630) relative to the moving block (2630).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s sliders and rotating arms in Jacot’s detection device, allowing more precise and controlled weld inspection.
Regarding claim 10, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 6.
Jacot further discloses the moving rod (143), the housing (112), and the moving assembly (114).
Jacot does not disclose a positioning flange, a positioning step, nor the rotating assembly.
David teaches a positioning flange (2704), a positioning step (2624), and the rotating assembly (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s positioning flange at the upper end of Jacot’s moving rod to accurately position Jacot and David’s moving and rotating assemblies, allowing more precise and controlled weld inspection.
Regarding claim 11, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 10.
Jacot does not disclose when the moving assembly and the rotating assembly are in the initial position, the movement distance of the moving assembly in the vertical direction is zero, and the rotation angle of the rotating assembly around the horizontal axis is zero.
David teaches when the moving assembly and the rotating assembly are in the initial position, the movement distance of the moving assembly in the vertical direction is zero, and the rotation angle of the rotating assembly around the horizontal axis is zero (6708 and [0279]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s initial position of zero in Jacot’s detection device, establishing a reliable reference point and ensuring more reliable and consistent measurements are obtained.
Regarding claim 12, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 2.
Jacot discloses the contact probe (122).
Jacot does not disclose the first rotating arm extends a first length along its length direction, and a total extension length of the second rotating arm is equal to a second length.
David teaches the first rotating arm (2402) extends a first length along its length direction, and a total extension length of the second rotating arm (2404) and the length direction of the second rotating arm (2404) is equal to a second length.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s first and second rotating arms at first and second lengths with Jacot’s contact probe, allowing more precise and controlled contact of the probe to a weld.
Regarding claim 13, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 12.
Jacot does not disclose the second length is greater than the first length, and an angle between the first rotating arm and the second rotating arm is greater than zero degrees and less than 90 degrees.
David teaches the second length is greater than the first length, and an angle between the first rotating arm and the second rotating arm is greater than zero degrees and less than 90 degrees (1702).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the angle of David’s rotating arms in Jacot’s detection device, allowing more controlled contact of Jacot’s probe to a weld.
Regarding claim 14, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 13.
Jacot further discloses a length of the contact probe (122) is adjustable such that the second length and the movement distance of the moving assembly (114) in the vertical direction (F1) are adjustable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Jacot’s moving assembly be adjustable in the vertical direction in Jacot and David’s detection device, making it easier to collect vertical distance measurements of a weld for inspection.
Regarding claim 15, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 13.
Jacot further discloses the contact probe (122) is detachably installed such that the second length and the movement distance of the moving assembly (114) in the vertical direction (F1) are capable of being changed by replacing the contact probe (122).
Jacot does not disclose the second rotating arm.
David teaches the second rotating arm (2404).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jacot’s detachable contact probe in David’s second rotating arm, allowing different contact probes to be used in different situations and making it easier to collect accurate vertical distance measurements.
Regarding claim 16, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 13.
Jacot further discloses the movement distance of the moving assembly (114) in the vertical direction (F1).
Jacot does not disclose the rotating member is detachably connected to the mounting bracket and at least one of the first length, the second length and the angle are changeable by replacing the rotating member.
David teaches the rotating member (1) is detachably connected to the mounting bracket (20) such and at least one of the first length, the second length and the angle (1702) are changeable by replacing the rotating member (1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have David’s rotating member able to detach and change David’s angle or Jacot’s vertical moving distance, allowing different rotating members to be used in different situations and making it easier to collect accurate vertical distance measurements
Regarding claim 17, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 13.
Jacot does not disclose the rotating assembly further includes a pivot shaft fixed to the rotating member and rotatably installed on the mounting bracket such that the rotating member is rotatable around the horizontal axis.
David teaches the rotating assembly (1) further includes a pivot shaft (17) fixed to the rotating member (1) and rotatably installed on the mounting bracket (20) such that the rotating member (11) is rotatable around the horizontal axis (not labelled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have David’s rotating assembly include a pivot shaft in Jacot and David’s detection device, allowing the rotating assembly to pivot around a horizontal axis, making it easier for Jacot and David’s detection device to determine if there is a faulty weld.
Regarding claim 18, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 1.
Jacot discloses the housing (112) and the moving assembly (114).
Jacot does not disclose a sensor or a welding quality judgment device.
David teaches a sensor (2202) adapted to detect the movement distance along the vertical direction, wherein the sensor (2202) is communication with a welding quality judgment device (Fig. 67; 6722) for transmitting the detected movement distance to the welding quality judgment device (Fig. 67; 6722).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s sensor in communication with David’s welding quality judgement device in Jacot and David’s detection device, allowing the weld quality determination to be conveyed to the user more clearly.
Regarding claim 19, Jacot and David disclose the detection device according to claim 18.
Jacot does not disclose an ultrasonic distance sensor.
David teaches the sensor is a laser distance sensor or an ultrasonic distance sensor ([0118]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use David’s ultrasonic distance sensor in Jacot and David’s detection device, providing more accurate distance measurements.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over David, in view of Jacot.
Regarding claim 20, David discloses a welding quality inspection system (100), comprising: a detection device (1), including: a housing (102), a mounting bracket fixed to the housing (20); and a rotating assembly (1), including: a rotating member (2402) rotatably connected to the mounting bracket (20); and a welding quality judgment device (Fig. 67; 6722) adapted to determine whether the welding quality of a second component welded on a first component (not shown) is qualified based on a movement distance.
David does not disclose a moving assembly adapted to be movable vertically, nor a contact probe adapted to slidingly contact a second component welded on a first component and to push the moving assembly to move in the vertical direction.
Jacot teaches a moving assembly (114) adapted to be movable vertically (F1), and a contact probe (122) adapted to slidingly contact a second component welded on a first component (50) and to push the moving assembly (114) to move in the vertical direction (F1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Jacot’s moving assembly and contact probe in David’s welding quality inspection system, allowing David’s rotating assembly to move in a vertical and horizontal direction to gather more precise measurements and inspect weld quality more accurately.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855