DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed November 28, 2025. Applicant has amended claims 1, 11, 14 and 17. Claim 18 has been cancelled. New claim 20 has been added. Currently, claims 1-17 and 19-20 remain pending in the application.
The objection of the first line of the specification for not reciting that U.S. Parent Application Serial No. 18/314,068 has issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965 is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the broad recitation “hard surface”, followed by the narrow recitation of “such as glass or stainless steel” is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, for containing the limitation “and the like” is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claims 11 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the Markush language “selected from a group consisting of” is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks.
The rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the limitation “wherein said essential oils and said colorants are provided to create a pleasant fragrance and distinctive appearance” is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments and remarks. Specifically, claim 18 has been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-8, 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tang, CN 105694813, is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-8, 10 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qian, CN 114806728, is maintained for the reasons of record.
The rejection of claims 1-17 and 19 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965 is maintained for the reasons of record.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. In the present case, independent claim 1, from which claim 20 depends from, recites the broad recitation “hard surface”, followed by the narrow recitation of “such as glass or stainless steel”. See MPEP 2173.05(c). Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected for being dependent upon claim 1. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Specifically, claim 20, which depends from claim 2, recites that the silicone oil comprises polydimethylsiloxane. The examiner notes that this limitation already appears in claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tang, CN 105694813.
Tang, CN 105694813, discloses a glass cleaner comprising 85-99% by weight of soft water, 1-15% by weight of a solvent, 0.1-2% by weight of an anti-mist agent, 0.05-0.3% by weight of a preservative, 0.001-0.05% by weight of a defoamer, and 0.01-0.05% by weight of an essence (see claim 2 of the English Translation of CN 105694813). It is further taught by Tang that the cleaner contains a betaine surfactant (see claims 3 and 4 of the English Translation of CN 105694813), that a suitable solvent includes isopropanol (see claim 8 of the English Translation of CN 105694813), and that the cleaner contains 0.05-0.2% by weight of an organosilicone, such as polydimethylsiloxane (see page 3, lines 22-26 and 46-50 of the English Translation of CN 105694813), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Embodiments 1-5 and Tables 1-4. Therefore, instant claim 20 is anticipated by Tang, CN 105694813.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Qian, CN 114806728.
Qian, CN 114806728, discloses a cleaning agent comprising 1-20% by weight of a silicone resin, 0.01-10% by weight of a silicone oil, 0.01-10% by weight of a nonionic surfactant, 3-10% by weight of alcamines, 1-10% by weight of a lower alcohol, 0.5-1% by weight of walnut oil, 0.5-1% by weight of silver ion bactericide, and deionized water to balance (see the abstract of the English Translation of Qian, CN 114806728). It is further taught by Qian that suitable lower alcohols include isopropanol (see claim 3 of the English Translation of Qian, CN 114806728), and that suitable silicone oils include polydimethylsiloxane (see claim 6 of the English Translation of Qian, CN 114806728), per the requirements of the instant invention. Specifically, note Examples 1-5. Therefore, instant claim 20 is anticipated by Qian, CN 114806728.
In the alternative that the above disclosure is insufficient to anticipate the above listed claims, it would have nonetheless been obvious to the skilled artisan to produce the claimed composition, as the reference teaches each of the claimed ingredients within the claimed proportions for the same utility.
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965 claims a similar cleaner composition comprising 0.66 mL of polydimethylsiloxane, 1.32 grams of sodium dodecyl sulfate, distilled water, isopropyl alcohol, an essential oil, such as bergamot essential oil, and 0.0026-0.132 mL of a colorant, such as FD&C blue and green (see claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965), as required in the instant claims. Therefore, instant claim 20 is an obvious formulation in view of claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, the examiner makes of record that the objection of the first line of the specification for not reciting that U.S. Parent Application Serial No. 18/314,068 has issued as U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965 is maintained for the reasons of record.
Also, the examiner asserts that the rejection of claims 1-17 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, for containing the broad recitation “hard surface”, followed by the narrow recitation of “such as glass or stainless steel” is maintained for the reasons of record.
Applicant argues that Tang, CN 105694813, and Qian, CN 114806728, do not teach or suggest in general that their silicone oil droplets are in suspension with an aqueous solution, as required by applicant in the instant claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Tang, CN 105694813, clearly teaches that their composition contains 0.05% by weight of an organosilicone, such as polydimethylsiloxane (see page 3, lines 22-26 and 46-50 of the English Translation of CN 105694813), and that Qian, CN 114806728, clearly teaches that their composition contains 0.01% by weight of a silicone oil, such as polydimethylsiloxane (see the abstract and claim 6 of the English Translation of Qian, CN 114806728). Accordingly, the examiner asserts that both references teach low amounts of silicone oil (i.e., less than 0.1% of the aqueous solution) to form a suspension with the aqueous solution. Furthermore, both references teach that their silicone oil is polydimethylsiloxane, and thus, the examiner asserts that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. It is also noted that instant claim 1, as presently written, does not require silicone oil droplets, since 0% is less than 0.1%. Also, the examiner asserts that independent claim 1 contains the transitional phrase “comprising”, and thus, is open to contain any additional components.
The examiner notes that applicant has not provided any arguments to the rejection of claims 1-17 and 19 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,820,965. Accordingly, this rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN P MRUK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
Brian P Mruk
February 3, 2026