DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Murakami et al. (6,383,022).
Regarding claim 1, Murakami et al. disclose a connector, comprising:
a plurality of contacts (W, Fig. 2A);
a housing (11, Fig. 2A) having:
a mating portion adapted to be mated with a mating connector (not shown) and defining a front opening (15, Fig. 2A); and
a waterproofed portion (14, Fig. 2A) into which the plurality of contacts are plugged (Fig. 1A), the waterproofed portion including: a rear opening (pointed at 14, Fig. 2A); and an inner wall surface (a wall of 14) defining the rear opening; and
a waterproofing element (12 and 13, Fig. 2A) arranged within the waterproofed portion (Fig. 1A) and adapted to prevent the entry of water into the connector, including: a seal element (12) having: a plurality of first waterproofing portions (17, Fig. 2A) each defining a plug hole (a hole between 17 and 18, Fig. 2A) into which one of the contacts is plugged (Fig. 1A) and adapted to prevent water from entering an area surrounding the contact; and a second waterproofing portion (18, Fig. 2A) arranged in sealing contact with the inner wall surface of the waterproofed portion (Fig. 1A) and adapted to prevent water to enter a space between the inner wall surface and the seal element, and
a supporting element (13, Fig. 2A) defining a plurality of through holes (28 and a hole between 22a, 22b) and surrounding the first waterproofing portions (Fig. 1A) and adapted to prevent a misalignment of the first waterproofing portions, the supporting element pressing the second waterproofing portion against the inner wall surface (Fig. 1A) and, in a state of being free from an external force, is in watertight contact with the seal element, the first waterproofing portions are respectively arranged in the through holes (holes between 22a and 22b) of the supporting element.
Regarding claim 13, a waterproofing element, comprising:
a seal element (12, Fig. 2A) having:
a plurality of first waterproofing portions (17, Fig. 2A) each defining a plug hole (a hole between 17 and 18, Fig. 2A) adapted to receive and form a seal with a conductive contact (W, Fig. 1A); and a second waterproofing portion (18, Fig. 2A) adapted to sealingly contact an inner wall surface (an inner wall of 14, Fig. 2A) of a housing (11); and
a supporting element (13, Fig. 2A) defining a plurality of through holes (28 and a hole between 22a and 22b, Fig. 2A) and surrounding the first waterproofing portions (Fig. 1A) and adapted to prevent misalignment of the first waterproofing portions, the supporting element is arranged within and pressing the second waterproofing portion in a radially outward direction for sealingly engaging therewith, the first waterproofing portions are respectively arranged in the through holes (holes between 22a and 22b, Fig. 2A) of the supporting element (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 2A shows the first waterproofing portions are discrete from the second waterproofing portion.
Regarding claim 20, a connector comprising:
a housing (11, Fig. 2A) including: a mating portion adapted to be mated with a mating connector (not shown) and defining a first opening (15); and
a waterproofed portion (14, Fig. 2A) adapted to receive a plurality of contacts (W), having: a second opening (pointed at 14, Fig. 2A); and an inner wall surface (an inner wall of 14) defining the second opening; and
a waterproofing element (12 and 13, Fig. 2A) arranged at least partially within second opening (Fig. 1A), including: a supporting element (13 and 22, Fig. 2A) defining a plurality of through holes (28 and a holes between 22a and 22b); and a seal (12, Fig. 2A), having: a plurality of discrete first waterproofing portions (17, Fig. 2A) arranged in a respective one of the plurality of through holes (the hole between 22a and 22b) of the supporting element (Fig. 1A), each first waterproofing portion defining a plug hole (a hole between 17 and 18) adapted to receive one of the plurality of contacts (Fig. 1A); and a second waterproofing (18, Fig. 2A) arranged about an outer circumference of the supporting element (22) and in sealing contact with the inner wall surface of the waterproofed portion (Fig. 1A or 3C).
Regarding claim 21, Fig. 1A or 3C shows the first waterproofing portions respectively contact inner wall surfaces of the through holes (holes between 22 and 22b) of the supporting element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. in view of Kilian et al. (11,362,496).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Murakami et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the seal element and the supporting element are integrally molded.
Kilian et al., Figs. 1 and 2 show a seal part (4/5) and a holder part (6) are integrally molded (Kilian, column 3, lines 17-25). It would have been obvious to modify Murakami et al. to have the seal element and the supporting element are integrally molded, as taught by Kilian et al. for better engaging.
Regarding claim 4, Murakami et al., Fig. 2A shows the seal element and the supporting element are formed from distinct materials.
Claims 5-8, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murakami et al. in view of Kuroda et al. (8,647,132).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Murakami et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the waterproofing element defines a drain groove formed into a rear end face.
Kuroda et al., Fig. 2 shows a waterproofing element (20) defines a drain groove (23) formed into a rear end face. It would have been obvious to modify Murakami et al. to have the waterproofing element defines a drain groove formed into a rear end face, as taught by Kuroda et al. for the water passes through the drain groove in order to protect the connector.
Regarding claim 6, it is noted that Kuroda et al., Fig. 2 shows the drain groove extends in a direction normal to a front-rear direction of the connector.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Murakami et al. and Kuroda et al. disclose the supporting element protrudes from the rear opening, and the drain groove is formed in the supporting element and is not formed in the seal element.
Regarding claim 8, Murkami et al., Fig. 1A shows the seal element is arranged entirely within the rear opening.
Regarding claim 11, Murkami et al., Fig. 1A shows a rear end of the supporting element is oriented further forward in a direction toward a front of the connector than a rear end of the seal element and the rear opening.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Murakami et al. and Kuroda et al. disclose rear end faces of the supporting element and the seal element are arranged offset from one another in the axial direction, and the drain groove is formed only in the rear end face of the supporting element or the rear end face of the seal element, that is arranged closest to a rear side of the waterproofing element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Amended claim 1, amended in part with a portion of claim 2, claims, in relevant part, the first waterproofing portions are respectively arranged in the through holes of the supporting element.
Regarding claim 2, the Examiner cited Murakami as disclosing "the supporting element defines a plurality of through holes (28, FIG. 2A) in which the respective ones of the plurality of first waterproofing portions are separately arranged." (pg. 3, Non-Final Office action dated February 3, 2026).
As shown in Figure 1A of Murakami, the cited plurality of through holes 28 are set apart from the cited plurality of first waterproofing portions 17,18. Consequently, the cited plurality of first waterproofing portions 17,18 are clearly not respectively arranged in the cited through holes 28. Murakami therefore does not disclose the first waterproofing portions are respectively arranged in the through holes of the supporting element, as claimed in amended claim 1. Independent claim 1 is therefore allowable over Murakami.
Amended claim 13 claims, in relevant part, the first waterproofing portions are
respectively arranged in the through holes of the supporting element. For the same reasons as described above under amended claim 1, independent claim 13 and dependent claim 15 are therefore allowable over Murakami.
Original claim 20 claims, in relevant part, a plurality of discrete first waterproofing
portions arranged in a respective one of the plurality of through holes of the supporting element .... As described under claim 1 above, the cited plurality of through holes 28 are set apart from the cited plurality of first waterproofing portions 17,18. Consequently, the cited plurality of first waterproofing portions 17,18 are clearly not arranged in a respective one of the plurality of through holes 28. Murakami therefore does not disclose a plurality of discrete first waterproofing portions arranged in a respective one of the plurality of through holes of the supporting element, as claimed in original claim 20. Independent claim 20 is therefore allowable over Murakami.”
The Examiner disagrees.
Murakami, Figs., 1A and 2A show a supporting element (13) defining a plurality of through holes (28 and also a hole between 22a and 22b). Since the through holes are not including 28 only, that also including holes between 22a and 22b; therefore, Fig. 1A shows the supporting element (13) defining a plurality of through holes (28 and holes between 22a and 22b) and surrounding the first waterproofing portions.
For the above reasons, it is believed that the rejection is sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 04/23/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov