Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered. (US 20140022097 appears in the IDS, but it is not what the spec describes. It’s a likely typo in the spec, and Examiner tried a few likely errors but did not find what Applicant referenced in the spec.)
Claim Interpretation
“adjustment mechanism” in Claims 1-15.
“cleaning sequence” in Claims 1-15 (synonymous with “any steps for cleaning”)
“gas pressure source” in Claim 11, 12 (synonymous with “any means for providing pressurized gas”)
“locking means” in Claim 14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 20180162507 A) in view of Sensibar (US 4030435 A) and further in view of Forslund (US 20170185080 A1)
Regarding Claim 1, Gibson discloses A drive system for a marine vessel comprising a first housing (Element 23)fixed to an opening in a hull of the marine vessel, and a drive unit arranged inside the first housing, where the drive unit is provided with a second housing comprising a drive motor and a marine propulsion system attached to the second housing, where the marine propulsion system comprises a leg (In way of Element 31) and a hub (Element 12) provided with at least one propeller, where the drive system comprises an adjustment mechanism (Element 18) arranged to adjust the position of the drive unit in the first housing, where the drive system is provided with a parking position in which the marine propulsion system is positioned inside the first housing and a drive position (Fig. 2.) in which the marine propulsion system is positioned outside of the first housing, characterized in:
that the drive system is provided with cleaning sequence in which the drive unit is moved from the parking position to the drive position and back to the parking position at least once, where the cleaning sequence is adapted to mechanically clean the thruster support pipe (Element 20) from the movement of the drive unit from the parking position to the drive position back to the parking position, and horizontal foundation plate 22 moves along the length of chamber 23. Gibson does not explicitly disclose that the drive system is provided with a programmable automatic cleaning sequence when the marine vessel is parked with the drive unit in the parking position, nor cleaning sequence is adapted to mechanically clean the inside of the first housing from the movement of the drive unit from the parking position to the drive position back to the parking position.
Sensibar discloses wherein cleaning sequence is adapted to mechanically clean the inside of the first housing from the movement of a horizontal plate. (C17, L30-39, seal 280 on housing ). It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to add a seal on foundation plate 22 of Gibson to clean chamber 23 which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Gibson is that the sides of chamber 23 are in a similar environment as the support tube of Gibson and would therefore benefit from the cleaning gasket of Sensibar. Gibson in view of Sensibar does not explicitly disclose that the drive system is provided with a programmable automatic cleaning sequence in which the drive unit is moved from the parking position to the drive position and back to the parking position at least once when the marine vessel is parked with the drive unit in the parking position.
Forslund discloses surfaces have biofouling during parking (paragraph 8) and that the actuatoris provided with a programmable automatic cleaning sequence in which the actuator is moved from the parking position to along its range of motion to sweep marine growth. (paragraph 44). It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to program an automatic cleaning sequence in which the drive unit is moved from the parking position to the drive position and back to the parking position at least once when the marine vessel is parked with the drive unit in the parking position into the drive system of Gibson in view of Sensibar which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Gibson in view of Sensibar is to sweep off marine growth periodically when parked.
Regarding Claim 2, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the drive motor is an electric drive motor. (This is an alternative in Gibson paragraph 3)
Regarding Claim 3, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the drive motor is an internal combustion engine. (This is an alternative in Gibson paragraph 3)
Regarding Claim 4, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the programmable cleaning sequence is programmed to be performed with a predetermined interval when the marine vessel is parked. (Forslund paragraph 45)
Regarding Claim 5, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined interval is less than 48 hours.
Regarding Claim 6, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 4, wherein the predetermined interval is less than 24 hours.
Regarding Claim 7, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the cleaning sequence is repeated at least two times. (paragraph 43, 45)
Regarding Claim 8, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the first housing and the second housing is cylindrical. (Gibson 23 shows a cube which is in the BRI of a cylinder.)
Regarding Claim 9, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the shape of the first housing and the second housing is non-cylindrical, having an oval shape, an elliptical shape, a parallelogram shape or a prismatic shape. (Gibson 23 is prismatic.)
Regarding Claim 10, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, wherein the adjustment mechanism arranged to adjust the position of the drive unit in the first housing are hydraulic cylinders (Gibson, paragraph 39), but does not explicitly disclose the cylinders are adapted to be controlled automatically by an ECU of the vessel.
Forslund discloses that cylinders are adapted to be controlled automatically by an ECU of the vessel. (paragraph 52, paragraph 60) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to adapt the cylinders of Gibson to be controlled automatically by an ECU of the vessel which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Gibson is to save labor by automating a process.
12. Regarding Claim 15, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a vessel, comprising at least one drive system according to claim 1. (Gibson, paragraph 1)
Claims 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 20170185080 A) in view of Sensibar (US 4030435 A) and further in view of Forslund (US 20190072948 A1) and further in view of Brandt (US 4501560 A)
Regarding Claim 11, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive unit is provided with a gas pressure source having an outlet in the lower side of the second housing, such that gas can be inserted into the first housing when the drive unit is in the parking position.
Brandt discloses the drive unit is provided with a gas pressure source having an outlet in the lower side of the second housing, such that gas can be inserted into the first housing when the drive unit is in the parking position. (4G Fig. 9.) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to use a propeller hub for exhaust such that the drive unit is provided with a gas pressure source having an outlet in the lower side of the second housing, such that gas can be inserted into the first housing when the drive unit is in the parking position which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Gibson is to use a known location to for the exhaust gas that reduces fumes in the air.
13. Regarding Claim 12, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund and further in view of Brandt discloses a drive system according to claim 11, wherein the gas comprises one or more components counteracting biofouling. (Exhaust prevents biofouling to at least some degree. See Carli in Prior art of record below.)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 20170185080 A) in view of Sensibar (US 4030435 A) and further in view of Forslund (US 20190072948 A1) and further in view of Breems (US 20010029133 A1)
12. Regarding Claim 13, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1 where the hub as one propeller, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the hub is provided with two propellers.
Breem discloses a retractable drive wherein the hub is provided with two propellers. (Fig.4.) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to use a to add a second propeller to the hub which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to provide two propellers is to increase the blade area without increasing the depth (diameter) of the propeller.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 20170185080 A) in view of Sensibar (US 4030435 A) and further in view of Forslund (US 20190072948 A1) and further in view of Reginensi (US 4075971 A)
Regarding Claim 14, Gibson in view of Sensibar and further in view of Forslund discloses a drive system according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the drive system is provided with a locking means that is adapted to lock the adjustment mechanism in the selected position.
Reginensi discloses a retractable drive the drive system is provided with a locking means that is adapted to lock the adjustment mechanism in the selected position.(C1, L59-65) It would have been obvious at the time of filing for a person of ordinary skill in the marine art to add a locking means to the drive system of Gibson which can be accomplished with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify Gibson is to use a known a known means to help keep the drive system in place.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Carli (US 20150259035 A1) uses exhaust to inhibit biofouling.
/ANDREW POLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 20 Dec 2025