DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 17 October 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 October 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 17 October 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because though Applicant asserts that any or all of the various shaped pegs and hooks could be included, this is not disclosed in the application as filed. That is, at least Figures 13-15 clearly show different coupling variations as different, distinct embodiments, and they are described as such in the specification.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 17 October 2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Italy on 11 November 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 102022000023310 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. While a copy of the application has been retrieved, no certified copy is present in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lowered central seat as a hole through the padding must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the shape coupling means introduced in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “in a single piece with an inner wall of the padding.” It is unclear to what this is directed. Perhaps eliminating the preceding comma would clarify.
Claim 4 recites “to make an undercut with the fixing holes.” It is unclear how an undercut of the base would include the fixing holes.
Claim 6 recites “mak[ing] an undercut with an outer peripheral wall.” It is unclear how an undercut of the padding would include the body.
Claim 8 recites “said shape coupling means comprise pegs…” As the shape coupling means have already been defined as a plurality of pegs (see claim 1), it is unclear how this language is intended to be interpreted (i.e. are these intended to be different pegs? is this language a further limit on the prior pegs?).
Claim 9 recites “said shape coupling means comprise slits and ribs…” As the shape coupling means have been twice defined as pegs (see claims 1 and 8), it is unclear how this language is intended to be interpreted (i.e. are these intended to be different coupling means? is this language a further limit on the prior pegs?).
Claim 14 recites “mak[ing] an undercut with an inner peripheral wall.” It is unclear how an undercut of the padding would include the body.
Claim 16 recites “said shape coupling means comprise pegs…” As the shape coupling means have already been defined as a plurality of pegs (see claim 1), it is unclear how this language is intended to be interpreted (i.e. are these intended to be different pegs? is this language a further limit on the prior pegs?).
Claim 17 recites the “lowered central seat is a hole.” It is unclear how a presumably positive element (i.e. a “seat”) could be a negative space (i.e. a “hole”). Moreover, it is unclear how such a hole would relate to the central hole the seat is “counter-shaped” to and/or how a hole in padding would form an undercut, etc. as claimed.
Claims 4, 5, 7-13, and 15-17 are deemed indefinite because they are dependent on indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102, 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0189421; hereinafter “Yu et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, Yu et al. discloses a saddle for bicycles comprising: a frame (at least 232) having a peripheral structure, configured to be fixed to a corresponding upright of a bicycle frame (see at least paragraph 24), a body (231 and/or 21) overlapping said frame, along a vertical direction, substantially perpendicular to said body, and anchored to the frame by shape coupling means (214, 224, and/or 234), a padding (221 or 222 formed with members 224; note that the same elements appear with different reference numbers in different figures of Yu et al.) comprising a cushion (main body) overlapping said body along said vertical direction, made of an elastic polymeric material (the plastic is viewed as such), wherein said shape coupling means comprise a plurality of pegs (224) and relative fixing holes (214 and/or 234), wherein said pegs are in a single piece with the cushion of the padding and facing toward the body (this is the general arrangement), and wherein said pegs are embedded in said fixing holes, provided on the body (this is the general arrangement).
Regarding claim 2, Yu et al. further discloses said fixing holes are through the body (see figures).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yu et al.
Regarding claim 3, Yu et al. discloses a saddle as explained above and further discloses pegs have a base, in a single piece with an inner wall of the padding, facing the body, and a head, cantilevered with respect to the base (see at least Figures 5 and 6 showing this shape for member 224). While Yu et al. is thus viewed as disclosing the device as claimed, the shape of the pegs may not be explicitly described. Changes in shape require only routine skill in the art however, and it accordingly would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide pegs shaped as claimed based on normal variation to improve safety and comfort for various users.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Yu et al. further discloses said base is configured so as to make an undercut with the fixing holes of the body, along the vertical direction (at least as best understood and/or as modified above), and wherein the head has a front flare configured to facilitate an insertion of the head through the fixing holes (again, at least as modified).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. Yu et al. discloses a saddle as explained above and further discloses the use of ethylene vinyl acetate (see at least paragraph 21) but may not explicitly disclose such material for the padding. Material selection is a routine design choice and the use of the claimed materials are well-known as noted above. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide padding of materials as claimed based on normal variation to improve manufacture and comfort for various users.
Claim(s) 6-10 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Yu (US Patent Number 5348369; hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding claim 6, Yu et al. discloses a saddle as explained above but may not clearly disclose an undercut on the padding as claimed. Yu discloses a related device including an outer peripheral edge of a padding (60, 60’, and/or 70) makes an undercut with an outer peripheral wall of a body (50), along a vertical direction (at least as best understood; see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide an undercut arrangement as taught by Yu in Yu et al.’s device because this could improve safety and comfort for various users.
Regarding claims 7-10, Yu et al., modified as described, further discloses at least one male-female coupling is included between the outer peripheral edge of the padding and the outer peripheral wall of the body (much as in Yu), wherein said shape coupling means comprise pegs arranged between the outer peripheral edge of the padding and the outer peripheral wall of the body (in the combination at least as best understood), wherein said shape coupling means comprise slits and ribs at the outer peripheral wall of the body which engage with corresponding pegs on the padding (at least in the combination much as in Figure 7 of Yu and at least as best understood), wherein said slits are configured to facilitate an insertion of the pegs and the ribs are configured to make an undercut coupling with the padding (in the combination and as best understood; see again at least Figure 7 of Yu).
Regarding claim 13, Yu et al., modified as described, discloses a saddle as explained above but may not disclose welding. The making of connections by welding is old and well-known in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a welding connection as claimed in Yu et al.’s device as previously modified because this could provide a simple and secure connection to ensure user comfort and safety.
Regarding claim 14, Yu et al. discloses a saddle as explained above including a central hole in the body but may not clearly disclose a central seat as claimed. Yu discloses a related device including a body comprising a central hole (51, 52, 51’, and/or 52’) and padding (60, 60’, and/or 70) comprising a corresponding lowered central seat (of and/or at 60 and/or 60’) counter-shaped to the central hole, wherein at respective perimeters of the central hole and the lowered central seat, the padding includes an inner peripheral edge that makes an undercut with an inner peripheral wall of the body, along the vertical direction (at least as best understood; see figures). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide a central seat arrangement as taught by Yu in Yu et al.’s device because this could improve safety and comfort for various users.
Regarding claims 15-17, Yu et al., modified as described, further discloses at least one male-female coupling and/or an engagement and/or at least one connection by welding are included at said respective perimeters of the central hole and the lowered central seat (engagements and/or couplings as claimed much as in Yu would be present in the combination), wherein said shape coupling means comprise pegs arranged at said respective perimeters of the central hole and the lowered central seat (in the combination at least as best understood), and wherein said lowered central seat is a hole through the padding (at least inasmuch as in the invention and as best understood).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because they provide a range of prior art saddle designs.
/PHILIP F GABLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636